• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

D2 Ammos

We are having a rough pre season. So far we have been scrounging beach space and paddocks around Port Melbourne to train on. South are traditionally slow starters as far as numbers on the track go, so we haven't broken any attendance records but what we have lacked in quantity we have gained in quality. Word around the club is we've probably only lost 1 or 2 of last years GF team. Also lost D3 full back of the year, deregistered by VAFA.
Have a couple of absolute guns training, hopefully they sign on soon!

How? Who? When? Why? The public needs to know

Dean Bell. Repeat offender and unrepentant thug who couldn't control himself on the field chucked an amazing wobbly at the tribunal and got life instead of a few months.

The public already knows, it was all over bigfooty and the papers last year. Have a look at the D3 thread in mid September.

SM is far better off without him, as this year will prove.

Tigernuts

Dean Bell. Repeat offender and unrepentant thug who couldn't control himself on the field chucked an amazing wobbly at the tribunal and got life instead of a few months.

The public already knows, it was all over bigfooty and the papers last year. Have a look at the D3 thread in mid September.

SM is far better off without him, as this year will prove.

Tigernuts

Sorry Nuts missed it on BF back then, have had a look back and could only have a chuckle.

Dean obviously wasn't a fan of anyone on the tribunal, too bad for South! (they obviously rated him as a player).

Do you reckon it may sway any umps involved in South Melbournes games this year?

If it did sway any umps, they wouldn't be umpiring D2 for long once word filtered back (and it would).

Having said that, I've seen a game where SM went out of their way to surround and intimidate an ump, and it would be a fair call to become pretty anal about infringements (for both sides) until the players got the message and pulled their heads in.

The danger would be in the opposition using such a situation to their advantage, by goading the SM players and trying to milk frees - that could lead to a one-sided count, which would test the on-field discipline of SM. Perhaps without Bell there, a bit more sanity could prevail? Hope so anyway.

Tigernuts

If it did sway any umps, they wouldn't be umpiring D2 for long once word filtered back (and it would).

Having said that, I've seen a game where SM went out of their way to surround and intimidate an ump, and it would be a fair call to become pretty anal about infringements (for both sides) until the players got the message and pulled their heads in.

The danger would be in the opposition using such a situation to their advantage, by goading the SM players and trying to milk frees - that could lead to a one-sided count, which would test the on-field discipline of SM. Perhaps without Bell there, a bit more sanity could prevail? Hope so anyway.

Tigernuts

I'm starting to wish I didn't mention Deano a few posts ago so hopefully this can be the final word on this topic. Dean, as with the whole club were having a steller season last year with a much more disciplined approach than previous seasons thanks mainly to new coach Gez. Unfortunately due to an over zealous umpireing report (my opinion only) in the semi final mixed with Dean's shocking tribunal history his fate was sealed.
Clubs this year will see an even more disciplined South Melbourne as we try to push for finals action in our first trip into D2. I have enough faith in VAFA umpires that if our opposition try to "milk" free kicks all they will achieve is hearing "Cheer, Cheer the Red and the White" around 4.30pm each Saturday.

I have played for 2 senior teams in my time. South Districts and Port Colts and i can tell you that both sides get absolutely crucified by the umps. There is a view out there that both clubs have a thuggish side to them and this does transfer to the umps. Neither side goes out of their way to have a skirmish. The level of umpiring in VAFA has to improve and so does the tribunal system. No-one gets off via appeal EVER.
Does anyone agree that you should not get sent off for swearing? we are playing senior footy.

Swearing after missing a goal or a pass to a team mate is usually ignored by the umps as it should be.
Swearing that can be considered abuseing the umpire or player is just dumb football, easiest skill in the game is to let your actions do the talking.
If I were umpireing I'd sendoff a player that abused/ swore at me because I could within the rules. Love 'em or hate 'em our game needs more of them and perhaps by giving them an option to send an abusive player off umps may want to stay in the game.

Any umpires want to contribute?..........Nuffy?

The districts get 'crucified' because time and time again certain players lose their marbles during the game and do something stupid and then others tend to follow. I have seen and expierenced this first hand and am the first to admit that you boys may have toned it down a bit, but as they say a leopard never changes it spots. Mind you the reserve umpire more than squares up the ledger i can recall 2 games that he sent off a player that he has made perfectly clear that he hates. Teams that haven't had the pleasure of him umpiring beware this guy is a blatant cheat, shame though with the exception of one or two the ressie umpire's were very good in 2006 hopefully they will be just as good this year.

No-one cares about the reserve umpires. Get over it.

Districts can play some great footy but are also sometimes their own worst enemy's. They had this guy that wore number 43 who was an absolute nut job, bad thing was he could play a bit but let himself down with several acts of madness, including nearly decapatating a young Werribee player in 05.

Back on the topic, what does everyone this of South Melbournes and Bentleigh changes of making finals this year if not winning a flag! Heard South are in talks with numerous players and Bentleigh has lost their Coach. Do both have U/19s coming through to play seniors??

Also what are Acquinas chance this year?

No-one cares about the reserve umpires. Get over it.
Mate from what i hear you should be very concerned about the state of umpiring in the two's. Have heard that the Werribee boys are ticking over nicely and new recruit Perry"midori" Meka was very impressive at training last night. Shight Bloke you may have to set your alarm a little earlier this season.

There is no chance that Shight Bloke will play in the reserves this season. The only way was if they changed the rules to say all bald blokes were not allowed in the senior side.

Either way - whether I do play reserves or not - no-one cares about reserves umpires. They're usually ringins anyway.

Good to see you're at least keeping tabs on the club that you abandonned.

Either way - whether I do play reserves or not - no-one cares about reserves umpires. They're usually ringins anyway.

Good to see you're at least keeping tabs on the club that you abandonned.

Well gentlemen, I have been waiting for the right time to make my debut post and this site and it looks like I just got it.

LFK - South Melbourne, will be a deinate finals contender, dominated D3 and will be right up there, whether they can match the improving sides already there like Aquinas, Werribee and Glen Eira remains to be seen. Bentleigh - bottom half I say. Off field instability and no word of significant recruits and until we hear otherwise, this is where they are at.

Aquinas - As I mentioned, will be right up there and this stage I think they are favourites. Lost no one, good U19's coming through along with other recruits.

Now, ck, SB and Baldi. Loose the egos boys, not required. ck made some valid points and meka did look good on the track last night. Will be good. Baldi, where do we start. One with your infrequent appearances on the track and the excess you are carrying, you might make the bench in the 2's at best, which btw, will require significant reinforcement with the amount of time you will be spending on there. Another tip, loose the sunglasses while training, you do not look cool, and if you took them off, you might see evryone laughing at you and you might see the ball better, which should help you hold some marks and hit some targets. Your are right SB might not be playing 2's, but neither will you, he has an excuse, he will be in the 1's, you on the other hand, well... sharpen the knife boy, we need an orange boy.

Hello boys. Long time reader first time poster. I think willy will be up there this year. Young side will only get better and they lost alot of close games last year and werent that far off the mark. Aquinas will be strong. Huge numbers on the track and as someone previously posted, lost no one, talented young guys coming through especially Maskaant. A few recruits that walk into the senior side and a really talented guy coming back from overseas. Salesain are shot in my opinion. Still got some more than handy footballers but lost some also. Everyone seems to be strengthening their list where as Salesain seem to be going backwards. Is buckle playing this year for St Leo's?

Back on the topic, what does everyone this of South Melbournes and Bentleigh changes of making finals this year if not winning a flag! Heard South are in talks with numerous players and Bentleigh has lost their Coach. Do both have U/19s coming through to play seniors??

Also what are Acquinas chance this year?

The mail is that Bentleigh will announce its new Senior coach tomorrow night. Does anyone have the inside word on who it is?

Well gentlemen, I have been waiting for the right time to make my debut post and this site and it looks like I just got it.

LFK - South Melbourne, will be a deinate finals contender, dominated D3 and will be right up there, whether they can match the improving sides already there like Aquinas, Werribee and Glen Eira remains to be seen. Bentleigh - bottom half I say. Off field instability and no word of significant recruits and until we hear otherwise, this is where they are at.

Aquinas - As I mentioned, will be right up there and this stage I think they are favourites. Lost no one, good U19's coming through along with other recruits.

Now, ck, SB and Baldi. Loose the egos boys, not required. ck made some valid points and meka did look good on the track last night. Will be good. Baldi, where do we start. One with your infrequent appearances on the track and the excess you are carrying, you might make the bench in the 2's at best, which btw, will require significant reinforcement with the amount of time you will be spending on there. Another tip, loose the sunglasses while training, you do not look cool, and if you took them off, you might see evryone laughing at you and you might see the ball better, which should help you hold some marks and hit some targets. Your are right SB might not be playing 2's, but neither will you, he has an excuse, he will be in the 1's, you on the other hand, well... sharpen the knife boy, we need an orange boy.

T7 - GB (aka:Orange Boy) - will show his wares in the 1's this season. He's merely adjusting the old fan belt on the engine before before blowing off the cobwebs and turning it on.

Have a little faith in the old boy. He can play and, No - the sunnies aren't cool!

Hello boys. Long time reader first time poster. I think willy will be up there this year. Young side will only get better and they lost alot of close games last year and werent that far off the mark. Aquinas will be strong. Huge numbers on the track and as someone previously posted, lost no one, talented young guys coming through especially Maskaant. A few recruits that walk into the senior side and a really talented guy coming back from overseas. Salesain are shot in my opinion. Still got some more than handy footballers but lost some also. Everyone seems to be strengthening their list where as Salesain seem to be going backwards. Is buckle playing this year for St Leo's?

I think your right Ricky, will definately improve and push for a final 4 spot. Have you recruited many from the Williamstown U18's premiership side of last year? Is Tim Wheeler going around again? There were reports late last year he was giving it away?

T7 - GB (aka:Orange Boy) - will show his wares in the 1's this season. He's merely adjusting the old fan belt on the engine before before blowing off the cobwebs and turning it on.

Have a little faith in the old boy. He can play and, No - the sunnies aren't cool!

As I said SB, 2's player at best, and that is stretching it. If he was a few inches shorter, he wouldn't even be that.

Gee T7 sounds like your a bit jealous that Baldi has taken over your position at the club. Orange boy sounds a bit better than crap your trying to dish out. Or is it because reading over the threads, Shight Bloke and Baldi seem to be friends and they have just left you out.

Notice to the rest of the league. Werribee boys fighting and sledging between themselves and behind the comfort of the internet. Could be the new South Melbourne of league, maybe easier to get them offside with the umps when it gets hard on the ground.

Bentleigh’s off-field instability isn’t as dramatic as has been made out in these parts.
The coach reluctantly left because of his growing family and work commitments. He will still endeavour to get to as many games as he can as a supporter, so no bad blood there.
Our assistant has stepped up to the reigns as senior coach. He knows the playing list well, has overseen our entire pre-season and has good football nous, plus he is well respected by the entire club. So the whole process hasn’t been as dramatic as it could have been.
As for new players, there are quite a few of last year’s Under 19s who will play a lot of senior footy, not to mention the dozen or so regular senior players in the 20-22 age bracket who will naturally improve. There’s also a couple returning from long-term injury and James Robertson is back from overseas.
Anyone who has seen Robbo (skinny part-Indian, half-forward flanker who wears no. 5), knows that he can tear a game apart in five minutes.
I’m still convinced that if he was in Australia for the Grand Final, we would have won the D3 flag, but I don’t want to start making excuses.
So to sum up, the Dees are looking formidable this season. Write them off at your own peril.