D4 D4 2008

Hi All, Would like to say SFX will be hard to beat but have utmost respect from what West Brunswick and Kew may have to offer in their quests to rebound and gain promotion. From looking at previous posts their looks to be a logjam between Mt Lilydale, Eley park, Box Hill, Richmond and Albert Park for minor roles this season?

It's funny... I'm not hearing much about Eley Park, they may be good...but people should be ready for South Mornington. If their young players stick around they'll be very good. They were fit and fast when we played them early last year, but they struggled with numbers. If their committee has done a good job securing players then they will push for finals.

meh... nothing good on TV so going to put in my tips for round 1.....

Richmond v Noth Brunswick (ground to be determined??) - Richmond by 1 point in an old fashioned stouch!

Box Hill v Albert Park (Beaver Mountain Reserve) - Box Hill (which used to be called simply "Hill" until all the box moved in) by 20 points.

Syndal v South Morn (Chadstone carpark) - South Morn(how come the VAFA let them into the league wearing that jumper anyway?) in blazing early season form by 5 goals.

Bulleen v Kew (Best damn ground in the VAFA) -Kew to overcome the coaches box advantage by 8 goals.

Eley Park v SFX (Great White Park) - SFX get their D4 debut off to a flying start with a 10 goal win over the man eaters.

Mt Lilydale v West Brunswick (the paddock) - 2007 D4 finalists v 2007 D3 relegation side. I'd love to say that D4 will prevail, but I think the zoo keepers will win it by 5 goals.

Had a little run yesterday,anyone who doesn't respect Centrals this year does so at their peril;)

dont think the central boys are too excited yet, guarantee 80% of the latrobe boys were on the cans til about 5am Sat morning!...aahh i still remember those uni days..:D

Just got word that Papa is playing seniors for Box Hill.

I've heard that too. Any other results from practice matches on the weekend? Any news from the Mt Lilydale / Eley Park intraclubs?

La Trobe boys usually take a few weeks to get back into footy mode and transfer their big drinking sessions from Friday nights to Saturdays... but RC did put on a good show from all accounts

I've heard that too. Any other results from practice matches on the weekend? Any news from the Mt Lilydale / Eley Park intraclubs?

La Trobe boys usually take a few weeks to get back into footy mode and transfer their big drinking sessions from Friday nights to Saturdays... but RC did put on a good show from all accounts

Word is Mt Lilydale won, and so did Eley Park.;)

Heard Kew lost some good key position players which could hurt.

You would hope they would be up and around the four this year considering they weren't disgraced in D3 last year against some good teams

We have lost our Ruckman and CHB from last year but have replaced them with a guy coming back from o/s and one back from Injury. These are the only 2 key position players of any note that I am aware of. Have recruited some handy onballers which was definately our defiency last year. We are hoping that we will be competitive.

Don't want to be overconfident!!

Have heard that Papa is at Box Hill Central, not North, will probably hear more soon anyway.

VAFA website says Mt Lilydale V West Brunswick is at Elsternwick on Sunday. What's wrong with Mt Lilydale's ground?

Albert Park ressies beat Moonee Valley by 5 goals. Seniors lost by about the same margin. Pretty scrappy hit out, neither side looked all that together I heard. Can't take much out of it!

meh... nothing good on TV so going to put in my tips for round 1.....

Richmond v Noth Brunswick (ground to be determined??) - Richmond by 1 point in an old fashioned stouch!

Box Hill v Albert Park (Beaver Mountain Reserve) - Box Hill (which used to be called simply "Hill" until all the box moved in) by 20 points.

Syndal v South Morn (Chadstone carpark) - South Morn(how come the VAFA let them into the league wearing that jumper anyway?) in blazing early season form by 5 goals.

Bulleen v Kew (Best damn ground in the VAFA) -Kew to overcome the coaches box advantage by 8 goals.

Eley Park v SFX (Great White Park) - SFX get their D4 debut off to a flying start with a 10 goal win over the man eaters.

Mt Lilydale v West Brunswick (the paddock) - 2007 D4 finalists v 2007 D3 relegation side. I'd love to say that D4 will prevail, but I think the zoo keepers will win it by 5 goals.

Kew is also looking a treat at the moment. New summer grass was laid at the end of last season.

out west said:
Latrobe are struggling for numbers and were easily beaten on the weekend by Richmond Central. Don't have their usual home ground advantage as for the first half of the year are playing on a postage stamp. Eltham to win easily!!

Saw this on the D3 Thread.

What are you trying to hide from us Mr. Bracken?

From your own players after a couple of ales on Sat night. The margin they talked about may have been exaggerated, even so, was still a good win.

Ruck Machine - how did you guys go??

Round 1 Odds

Game 1 Win Under 39.5 Over 39.5
North Brunswick $3.00 $ 3.40 $ 20.40
Richmond Central $1.35 $ 2.20 $ 2.80

Big win for Big Waz's mob against a D3 finalist last year on the weekend has shortened Centrals odds for the weekend, and will win here easily

Game 2 Win Under 39.5 Over 39.5
Box Hill North $1.85 $ 3.20 $ 3.50
Albert Park $1.85 $ 3.20 $ 3.50

Can;t split these two, could be fighting it out for the one finals spot come the end of the year too. Box Hill North at home for me

Game 3 Win Under 39.5 Over 39.5
Syndal Tally Ho $3.60 $ 4.00 $ 28.80
South Mornington $1.25 $ 2.40 $ 2.10

Syndal Tally Ho lost their two best players to St John's last year and still haven't recovered. South Mornington will continue to improve and will win here

Game 4 Win Under 39.5 Over 39.5
Bulleen Cobras $4.00 $ 5.00 $ 16.00
Kew $1.20 $ 2.60 $ 1.80

Kew could be fielding 25+ new players to last year on Saturday, fortunately for them, the Cobras aren't much chop.

Game 5 Win Under 39.5 Over 39.5
Eley Park $3.60 $ 5.10 $ 9.80
St Francis Xavier $1.25 $ 2.30 $ 2.20

St. Francis Xavier to give themselves a perfect senior record. 10+ goals

Game 6 Win Under 39.5 Over 39.5
Mt Lilydale $5.50 $ 7.00 $ 20.55
West Brunswick $1.10 $ 3.40 $ 1.30

Mt Lilydale's only hope was to hope it snowed over the weekend in the hills and the game was postponed until 2010, but now the game is at Sportcover Arena, WB will be far too good on pre season form winning by 15 goals.

Re: Round 1 Odds

Game 1 Win Under 39.5 Over 39.5 North Brunswick $3.00 $ 3.40 $ 20.40 Richmond Central $1.35 $ 2.20 $ 2.80

Game 2 Win Under 39.5 Over 39.5 Box Hill North $1.85 $ 3.20 $ 3.50 Albert Park $1.85 $ 3.20 $ 3.50

Game 3 Win Under 39.5 Over 39.5 Syndal Tally Ho $3.60 $ 4.00 $ 28.80 South Mornington $1.25 $ 2.40 $ 2.10

Game 4 Win Under 39.5 Over 39.5 Bulleen Cobras $4.00 $ 5.00 $ 16.00 Kew $1.20 $ 2.60 $ 1.80

Game 5 Win Under 39.5 Over 39.5 Eley Park $3.60 $ 5.10 $ 9.80 St Francis Xavier $1.25 $ 2.30 $ 2.20

Game 6 Win Under 39.5 Over 39.5 Mt Lilydale $5.50 $ 7.00 $ 20.55 West Brunswick $1.10 $ 3.40 $ 1.30

Odds are a little short for the SFX, WB and SM wins.

I'd be backing all three were the odds not so short. Odds for Kardinia park yesterday were a bit short considering the result - did you put your house on Geelong to win back an extra foot of verandah on your dog kennel?

Mt Lilydale's only hope was to hope it snowed over the weekend in the hills and the game was postponed until 2010, but now the game is at Sportcover Arena, WB will be far too good on pre season form winning by 15 goals.

Ahh Rooster....refused to be sucked in, to date the 'mountain' boys haven't said to much and we will remain that way.
FYI our ground is unavailable this week due to school sports/athletics. We play our first game at home round 4.

Did manage to sit in the car and watch the Eltham/WB game on Saturday, it was a real crap game.....What I mean by that comment is that morning they must have had dog obedience training as there was dog crap all over the ground, almost felt sorry for those who landed in it. (almost)

By the way WB did look very good, but Eltham not as good as last season.

I'd be backing all three were the odds not so short. Odds for Kardinia park yesterday were a bit short considering the result - did you put your house on Geelong to win back an extra foot of verandah on your dog kennel?

I agree all 3 are short, but there's less value in backing the other guys who aren't going to win......

SFX are untested in D4 and are playing an always solid team in Eley Park, no shoe it to win. SFX Win more like $1.45

South Morninton finished the year terribly and Syndal won't have players doubling up from the 2's this week (will be close). SM win more like $1.50

WB are playing last years finalists and should win but at $1.10? More like $1.25-$1.30.

Game 1 Win Under 39.5 Over 39.5
North Brunswick $3.00 $ 3.40 $ 20.40
Richmond Central $1.35 $ 2.20 $ 2.80

Big win for Big Waz's mob against a D3 finalist last year on the weekend has shortened Centrals odds for the weekend, and will win here easily

Game 2 Win Under 39.5 Over 39.5
Box Hill North $1.85 $ 3.20 $ 3.50
Albert Park $1.85 $ 3.20 $ 3.50

Can;t split these two, could be fighting it out for the one finals spot come the end of the year too. Box Hill North at home for me

Game 3 Win Under 39.5 Over 39.5
Syndal Tally Ho $3.60 $ 4.00 $ 28.80
South Mornington $1.25 $ 2.40 $ 2.10

Syndal Tally Ho lost their two best players to St John's last year and still haven't recovered. South Mornington will continue to improve and will win here

Game 4 Win Under 39.5 Over 39.5
Bulleen Cobras $4.00 $ 5.00 $ 16.00
Kew $1.20 $ 2.60 $ 1.80

Kew could be fielding 25+ new players to last year on Saturday, fortunately for them, the Cobras aren't much chop.

Game 5 Win Under 39.5 Over 39.5
Eley Park $3.60 $ 5.10 $ 9.80
St Francis Xavier $1.25 $ 2.30 $ 2.20

St. Francis Xavier to give themselves a perfect senior record. 10+ goals

G'day Rooster, First time I've posted on this site, just reading your odd's for round one. Pretty Good bar two games i think. Eley park V st. francis.... This will be much closer than you think and may well go the other way from what I hear about the eley boys! Also West.B V MT.LIL..... Big statement I would have thought, the mountain men enjoy sportscover arena after winning there club 18 flag there two years ago and I know a few boys up at the club who are ultra keen to welcome the new guys to D4! So I gues I'd take your odds on both with a $20

Hey pete, didn't get a chance to speak to you on saturday... I umpired the reserves match. Its not as much fun as you make it out to be :)
Yes I saw you Waz,fitness level not great and you need to work on your positioning :p,as for being fun,one of the players had a crack at you,your reply,DON'T TELL ME WHAT TO DO!!!!!!!!:mad:,I had to have a little chuckle to myself.Pretty sure it was your own player too:eek:
Keep going mate,it will get harder I promise,just wait till Sat.when the ressies are player for 4,the visitors will give you heeps,a very serious tip mate,push out to get square on to the contest rather than chase the players from behind,don't worry if this puts you a little further away,square on is best if you can.