Sep 1, 2005
Fraggle Rock
Gearing up to be a huge season in 2006.

A little whisper that somes clubs have recruited very well and bar sales should increase dramatically!!!!!

Who are the teams to beat onfield in 2006? :D

Re: D4 Section Ammos

If we were allowed to sell beer during the game we'd be much more financial, that's for sure!

I play for Box Hill North, apparently we have some new recruits but then again I suppose every other team does too. Our first pre-season session is this friday.

Teams to beat? Despite being a bunch of bad blokes, Hawthorn can play footy and are my pick for the flag. If them and Bulleen happened to be the ones promoted at the end of the season, I'd be disappointed that they were successful yet at the same time pleased that we wouldn't have to play them anymore.

Having watched a few games last year (live in Hawthorn), I would say if Box Hill North recruited a few bigger blokes they would be in the mix.

Eltham might surprise a few - recruiting has been good apparantly.

What number are you Squeak? I will look out for you this season.

Cheers

Flowerpower

39. Better get to the game early though, I don't tend to play the later game!

It wouldn't surprise me one bit if Eltham won the flag. Best young squad by far, their best is pretty darn good.

Flowerpower said:
Eltham might surprise a few - recruiting has been good apparantly.

do you know who the new recruits are?

apparently dumby red is floating around box hill for a game next year

A Bulleen Cobra here. Like Squeak, I normally play in the early game;) . I've heard on the grapevine that Richmond Central's stocks may be bolstered this year.

Rusty Brookes said:
A Bulleen Cobra here. Like Squeak, I normally play in the early game;) . I've heard on the grapevine that Richmond Central's stocks may be bolstered this year.

The Snakes' list would want to be bolstered after last year!

BlueBoy41 said:
The Snakes' list would want to be bolstered after last year!

Have to agree. Watched them play against Elsternwick and the Reserves had to give them enough to play a scratch match. I hate to see that happen in any footy.

New to Ammo's footy. Last year if I am correct the teams that were up there were Bulleen, Elsternwick, Hawthorn and St Marys. Always interesting to see what happens over the silly season with recruiting, etc.

I too am a fan of the early game...

Watch out backmen for an absolute gun recruit for Powerhouse. Will kick a bagful every week. On the other side of the coin might lose some quality mid fielders chasing coin and better quality footy

Eltham have some decent footballers that could be playing real footy in the DVFL. But they party ********ing hard up at Turtle land, which is such a strong attraction to many! knowing quite a few of them i'd be suprised if they don't get better in the coming seasons and move up a few grades.

mitch_fc said:
Eltham have some decent footballers that could be playing real footy in the DVFL. But they party ********ing hard up at Turtle land, which is such a strong attraction to many! knowing quite a few of them i'd be suprised if they don't get better in the coming seasons and move up a few grades.

Typical comment from an Eltham bloke. They are playing "real footy" and they still couldn't make the GF. I will be surprised if they get better in the coming seasons and move up the grades.... a club like Eltham is built on a culture of reserves flags and honest defeats of the seniors in the prelim/elimination finals. Had a good team when Doody, Gas, Horsburgh, etc were playing well and still couldn't get promoted so they're not going to now. Particularly when they have supporters/players??? thinking that they're not playing real footy.

Old Warrior said:
Typical comment from an Eltham bloke. They are playing "real footy" and they still couldn't make the GF. I will be surprised if they get better in the coming seasons and move up the grades.... a club like Eltham is built on a culture of reserves flags and honest defeats of the seniors in the prelim/elimination finals. Had a good team when Doody, Gas, Horsburgh, etc were playing well and still couldn't get promoted so they're not going to now. Particularly when they have supporters/players??? thinking that they're not playing real footy.
i'm neither a supporter or player. i just wish some of them had stayed with their DVFL club as there are some good blokes and good footballers up there.

im pretty sure you'll see them win a flag soon, if the boys all stay and play a whole season. a mate of mine rang the coach mid season after several bags of goals and said "im not playing any more" coach asked why, he said "sick of kicking bags of goals against duds"

if some of these types theyve got get serious they'll romp in.

My predicition is Richmond Centrals will fold midway through the season, and the rest of D4 can at least have that entire weekend off, instead of having to front up and belt them by 40 goals. It is a virtual bye anyway.

Tibia said:
My predicition is Richmond Centrals will fold midway through the season, and the rest of D4 can at least have that entire weekend off, instead of having to front up and belt them by 40 goals. It is a virtual bye anyway.

The club has not really had too big a problem with player numbers or money(no more thank most other clubs in d3 or d4) it is more the lack of quality players . The d4 standard is pretty ordinary and you only need 5-6 good players come to the club at once for fortunes to be turned around. The last few years have been tough but it wasn't so long ago that we were flogging many of the side who now flog us. Things can change very quickly. The sad fact is there are very few safe clubs in the lower grade ammos unless you have a strong junior or school affiliate .

You sound like you want the centrals to fould and I think anyone who wishes that on another football club needs to take a good hard look at themselves

ant22 said:
The club has not really had too big a problem with player numbers or money(no more thank most other clubs in d3 or d4) it is more the lack of quality players . The d4 standard is pretty ordinary and you only need 5-6 good players come to the club at once for fortunes to be turned around. The last few years have been tough but it wasn't so long ago that we were flogging many of the side who now flog us. Things can change very quickly. The sad fact is there are very few safe clubs in the lower grade ammos unless you have a strong junior or school affiliate .

You sound like you want the centrals to fould and I think anyone who wishes that on another football club needs to take a good hard look at themselves

Lets not kid ourselves, no one running around in D4 is likely to go and play AFL. 5-6 good players to any club makes a huge difference. Elsternwick probably proved that last year, flogging sides left right and centre and being promoted to D3. Not saying they didn't have some talent, but they did get a few from other clubs. Hope Richmond Central improve this year for you boss.

randallbone said:
Lets not kid ourselves, no one running around in D4 is likely to go and play AFL. 5-6 good players to any club makes a huge difference. Elsternwick probably proved that last year, flogging sides left right and centre and being promoted to D3. Not saying they didn't have some talent, but they did get a few from other clubs. Hope Richmond Central improve this year for you boss.

Elsternwick were a good side in D4 the year before last as well, but had a form slump mid-season when they got a bit too big for their boots. A couple of players to the list, and a bit more focus and discipline were the main reasons for their premiership, as well as the fact that I believe the standard in D4 had dropped from the previous year with Kew and Westbourne being promoted.

As for Richmond, I agree, no one likes to see a club fold, however, when they are getting belted by 40 goals each week, is that really doing anyone any good?

It might meant the differance in % you beat them by 30 goals your competition cops em in the wet and only wins by 10.

Tibia said:
Elsternwick were a good side in D4 the year before last as well, but had a form slump mid-season when they got a bit too big for their boots. A couple of players to the list, and a bit more focus and discipline were the main reasons for their premiership, as well as the fact that I believe the standard in D4 had dropped from the previous year with Kew and Westbourne being promoted.

As for Richmond, I agree, no one likes to see a club fold, however, when they are getting belted by 40 goals each week, is that really doing anyone any good?

The standard will lift now Syndal have dropped down. They have to be red hot favourites to be heading straight back up to D3 next year with a premiership flag to boot.

I hear Box Hill North have picked up a key position-ruckman with VFL-EFL experience. Pace is an issue but the lack of hair on his scone will aid this.

Fwaygo said:
The standard will lift now Syndal have dropped down. They have to be red hot favourites to be heading straight back up to D3 next year with a premiership flag to boot.

Guys, powerhouse are the team. do you realise how good a pick up Paul Edwards is? He will 150 goals. They have a coach running the club like an AFL team and will win the flag.

Edwards is the man!

overtheline said:
Guys, powerhouse are the team. do you realise how good a pick up Paul Edwards is? He will 150 goals. They have a coach running the club like an AFL team and will win the flag.

Edwards is the man!

Who's Paul Edwards? What's his history? Plenty of blokes come to the lower grades with huge reps and don't do much.

Old Warrior said:
Who's Paul Edwards? What's his history? Plenty of blokes come to the lower grades with huge reps and don't do much.

Paul Edwards won the C Grade goalkicking last year with about 80 goals. Played for Therry.

He is a man mountain. I agree with the last guy. I think he could kick 150 goals this year.

Won't have anyone good enough or strong enough to play on him.

oldtimer said:
Paul Edwards won the C Grade goalkicking last year with about 80 goals. Played for Therry.

He is a man mountain. I agree with the last guy. I think he could kick 150 goals this year.

Won't have anyone good enough or strong enough to play on him.

my information is that he is a very astute thinker of the game and brings with him a heap of knowledge that have had some much higher ranking clubs interested at one stage.

if he remains injury-free, they will get themselves out of d4 this year.