D4 Section Ammos pt 1 (2005-2007)

Re: D4 Section Ammos

buckaz said:
"Back to back to back spoons!!!!!! ha ha ha ha ha. King Cobra #35"

Yes king Cobra, thanks for the update on our ladder position.
get a new hobby tosser

what r u talking about never have put the snakes down

port-man_fc said:
mate its not hard to get that info mate its on the website, private msg me if u want to talk about the turtles more n stop this crap banter that every1's knows is rubbish......

thanks hollywood :thumbsu: wld b great if it was a E.C vs Bulleen GF... cant see it happening tho think its near on impossible know i think of it, with us playing them R18, we win there out, they win we play them 1st final!!! :mad:
Good luck with staying in d2, its harder than u think 2 go up a Div....:thumbsu:

Still may make it even if we do lose to u guys and powerhouse knock off boxhill so will be a ripper of a last round

Any truth in it King Cobra that you are already in the gym for season 2007 and on a strict diet of cream cakes and beer.

Looks like Hawthorn will be hard to beat in the finals. Having not dropped a game since round 5, they look to be on FIRE and way ahead of the pack with their game.

Anyone got any ideas as to who might just be good enough to beat them? Whether it be in finals or last tow rounds?

JP the Chinaman said:
Bulleen's ground on Saturday was absolutely Perrrrrrrrfect, it makes anyone playing on it just play that bit better...must be said to the Cobras...well done for keeping the ground in shape this time of the season. Centre was even firm enough for the Umpires to have a bounce...none tried...shame really...I said to the 2s umpire just have a go...the game was already over so why not!!!

Bulleen's ground is magnificent! Saw both games last weekend - ground perfect. They won best ground award for the last few years in the Eastern Cricket Association - they hold rep matches, etc. there.

Well done Bulleen.

Lucky7 said:
Bulleen's ground is magnificent! Saw both games last weekend - ground perfect. They won best ground award for the last few years in the Eastern Cricket Association - they hold rep matches, etc. there.

Well done Bulleen.

Only problem with the Bulleen ground is it makes playing on the crap grounds even worse. I'm sure that's why the club had such a crap record at Old Westbourne. Something like one win in 12 games there (6 ones, 6 twos). I think that the win was in 2001.

Have never travelled all that well.

Rathmines is going to have a nice surface next year as well, but I think it makes a huge difference when you play on a ground like Eltham and then have a game at Eley Park, the contrast is too big...Eltham is like twice the size of Eley Park...

JP the Chinaman said:
Rathmines is going to have a nice surface next year as well, but I think it makes a huge difference when you play on a ground like Eltham and then have a game at Eley Park, the contrast is too big...Eltham is like twice the size of Eley Park...

Forgot about Eley Park.

Never found Eltham that big a ground. Every tme we play there it's so f***ing wet that the ball just stays in one spot most of the day. Another ground the Cobras have a crap record on - and cold showers every year. No wonder most years we blue with them!

Hate the turtles. Crap song as well.

ALFY said:
Any truth in it King Cobra that you are already in the gym for season 2007 and on a strict diet of cream cakes and beer.

All lies my friend that was my 2006 fitness program heading in a new direction for 2007.....Krispy Kremes and Bourbon with diet coke of course.

hey wit u blokes not alowed to drink while the game is going on do u get the slab put in the middle of the rooms after a good win in the magoos or do u just have to put up wit the pain for 2 hours b4 u guys crack a can?

melbdocker said:
hey wit u blokes not alowed to drink while the game is going on do u get the slab put in the middle of the rooms after a good win in the magoos or do u just have to put up wit the pain for 2 hours b4 u guys crack a can?

that has been known to happen but ssssssssssshhhhhhhhhhh just keep it between us ok................lol

Last week, the President, Secretary, Treasurer and Senior coach of each club had to submitt affidavits declaring that no one of their players was being paid in any way, shape or form.
If we were to believe all the allegations as has been speculated on many occassions on this forum, it makes me wonder; how do these people with all clear conscience, were able to sign the declarations.
If its true that there are clubs paying players, then the people who signed the forms are pigs that have absolutely no integrity.
It seems to me that those clubs that are constantly accussed of abusing the integrity and spirit of the VAFA competition, are the ones who have ultimately fallen on their swords over the years!
Is this competition actually about who can buy the best players, who can hide it the best or who can deny it the best?

Any further thoughts about this?

Ifeellikechickentonight said:
Last week, the President, Secretary, Treasurer and Senior coach of each club had to submitt affidavits declaring that no one of their players was being paid in any way, shape or form.
If we were to believe all the allegations as has been speculated on many occassions on this forum, it makes me wonder; how do these people with all clear conscience, were able to sign the declarations.
If its true that there are clubs paying players, then the people who signed the forms are pigs that have absolutely no integrity.
It seems to me that those clubs that are constantly accussed of abusing the integrity and spirit of the VAFA competition, are the ones who have ultimately fallen on their swords over the years!
Is this competition actually about who can buy the best players, who can hide it the best or who can deny it the best?

Our club has been the main 1 that everone seems to think is paying its players which, to the best of my knowlege, is utter crap. I have know idea why these rumours have started against us, as we struggle to field 2 teams each week and if we were paying players im sure that this wouldnt be the case as coin would attract more players to our club!

King_Cobra said:
Our club has been the main 1 that everone seems to think is paying its players which, to the best of my knowlege, is utter crap. I have know idea why these rumours have started against us, as we struggle to field 2 teams each week and if we were paying players im sure that this wouldnt be the case as coin would attract more players to our club!

I heard the same thing KG and it may surprise you but the rumour came from one of your 1`s players that a B.Cookson was on $100 per game. On the point of you guys struggling, I heard that your senior coach is pulling the pin after this season and that also you guys might not be around next year, as financially it is all starting to catch up. Once again a rumour from a 1`s player.

what beers after a good win? I'd like to ask which club does that??? hahaha...I reckon Ammos should allow drink zone and a dry zone, opposite of each other on the ground, so some of the boys don't have to go to the pub after the game to have a drink, ( magoos of course )...This boosts revenue for the club, ( not so they can buy players, I don't want to touch on this sensitive subject ) but just for the wellbeing of the footy club...like it or not, alcohol is the number one seller at Footy...used to play at Keysborough footy club...yes, the club that made 30k in profit, after paying their players and etc...and not win a game, but their boys, supporters, all have a drink at the club...during the Seniors game...so that's may be something to think about...make the game more sociable too...not saying people are allowed to drink all over the ground, but just a drinkers zone some one...away from the main spectators, the kids and the ladies, so the boys can get together to have a drink.....

JP the Chinaman said:
what beers after a good win? I'd like to ask which club does that??? hahaha...I reckon Ammos should allow drink zone and a dry zone, opposite of each other on the ground, so some of the boys don't have to go to the pub after the game to have a drink, ( magoos of course )...This boosts revenue for the club, ( not so they can buy players, I don't want to touch on this sensitive subject ) but just for the wellbeing of the footy club...like it or not, alcohol is the number one seller at Footy...used to play at Keysborough footy club...yes, the club that made 30k in profit, after paying their players and etc...and not win a game, but their boys, supporters, all have a drink at the club...during the Seniors game...so that's may be something to think about...make the game more sociable too...not saying people are allowed to drink all over the ground, but just a drinkers zone some one...away from the main spectators, the kids and the ladies, so the boys can get together to have a drink.....
I'd drink to that.

This is purely a soft piece of cloth.
Get the club's leaders to sign it , then those in charge at HQ can put it over their eyes and continue to ride their blonkered high horse. "We run a truely ammatuer competition!"
Don't get me wrong; this is the best suburban competition by some margin, but who do they think they are fooling?

It certainly doesn't surprise me that a club, or club benifactor, may be paying a player and that the teamate next to him on the rubbing table has no idea this arrangement exists. The art of secretion relies on as few people having the knowledge as possible. This should not be held against the players, who in good faith play as true ammatuers, are unaware a team mate is being remunirated for doing the same job.

No club in the lower reaches, 'District' end of the sections, could afford to sustain a campaign of paying players. The no sale of grog during games puts paid to that. But it makes me smirk to think of all those well regarded citizens of our community, who hold positions of power in clubs where the 'old school tie' means plenty, happily signing these declarations that no player in their club recieves any financial gain for his services.
It is the bad smell rather than the cream which rises to the top in this instance.

In truth their is nothing wrong with paying a player or players, it is the deception that it is not happening that is immoral. Why not allow a salary cap for each section. With A section being allowed say 100 k, B - 70k, right down to D4 having a 8 k limit. These are just ball park figures to give an idea of scale. Then it would allow clubs to deal honestly, those who are good with spending wisely would be valued at a club for thier skills and every team would be on a fair plaing field. Like AFL, you would not have to spend all your cap should you so desire. You can spend it on one player or across the whole playing group.

To help with a rise in salary cap for promoted teams they should win a purse for premierships and runner ups. Where does that money come from? How about taking the copious amounts thrown away on rep teams?
Trips for the boys up in A and B grade. Not exactly a fair and eqitable sharing of the wealth. If you want to go to Ireland, go book a holiday and pay for it yourself, or be good enough to be the best in the land and represent at the highest level. If you want to test your strength against other leagues around the country, have a carnival once every three/four years. Let states take turns in hosting it. Invite evey league in the land outside the AFL to take part. Run it like a Comm games over two weeks and really sell it to the media. Look at the success of the International Cup. I for one would be prouder of my competition being able to say we are the Australian champion league as opposed to we beat Southern footy or another 'ammo' team from West Oz. Get smart marketing people involved and the state hosting should make money. Any player who had to travel to the carnival should be sponsored directly by his own club. Why levy a struggling D4 club to give a free trip to an A grade player, who is probably earning more than most D4 clubs turn over in a year.

That's my thoughts Chickee Babe.

spy1 said:
In truth their is nothing wrong with paying a player or players, it is the deception that it is not happening that is immoral. Why not allow a salary cap for each section. With A section being allowed say 100 k, B - 70k, right down to D4 having a 8 k limit. These are just ball park figures to give an idea of scale. Then it would allow clubs to deal honestly, those who are good with spending wisely would be valued at a club for thier skills and every team would be on a fair plaing field. Like AFL, you would not have to spend all your cap should you so desire. You can spend it on one player or across the whole playing group.quote]

I like the idea and where it is coming from - but the reality of the comp is that any money that goes to players never actually enters club 'coffers' anyway. It is paid directly out of benefactors of each club.

I would be surprised to find if there was one single club in the VAFA that didn't 'assist' players; whether it came as cash - or kind. Many of the ex AFL / VFL players in the A/B grades of the comp are given 'jobs' at sponsors work places where the activity expected of them varies from very little to none.

The amateurs is not as clean as they like to think it is. But I agree with the sentiment that it's the best suburban comp in Melbourne.

The biggest problem that the Ammo's has is that f***ing Hawthorn reserves umpire. (A little tongue in cheek - but he's a c^^t of a man.)

come on man, he comes in week in and week out to do his job, wether he's good or bad, there is no need to be calling any one that...everyone has something to say about every umpire, but at the end of the day, he didn't steal your car, he didn't rape your sister, he didn't try to bomb your house...so he doesn't deserve to be called that...Let's keep this a sporting thing...go Hawks...hehehe...

JP the Chinaman said:

here here JP. it would be good for the 2s to be able to have a drink after there game. when playing 2s u dont get to socialise with the guys for the other team as most guys leave before the end of the 1s because they arnt able to have a drink. Maybe keep in confined to the club/social rooms with strict rules regarding how much is being consumed with each club being responsable for there players. would make the burdon on clubs alot easier if they were getting that little bit extra from bar sales

JP the Chinaman said:
come on man, he comes in week in and week out to do his job, wether he's good or bad, there is no need to be calling any one that...everyone has something to say about every umpire, but at the end of the day, he didn't steal your car, he didn't rape your sister, he didn't try to bomb your house...so he doesn't deserve to be called that...Let's keep this a sporting thing...go Hawks...hehehe...

Spot on JP. "InFineForm" - you are an absolute discrace. I know it is an age old argument but there is not enough respect for umpires in D4 (whether they be field or boundary). I salute the Hawthorn 2's umpire for continuing to do his job week after week (especially after being surrounded by NB players yelling death threats at him a few weeks ago), it takes courage.

And no, I'm not a Hawthorn supporter.

Twirl21 said:
Spot on JP. "InFineForm" - you are an absolute discrace. I know it is an age old argument but there is not enough respect for umpires in D4 (whether they be field or boundary). I salute the Hawthorn 2's umpire for continuing to do his job week after week (especially after being surrounded by NB players yelling death threats at him a few weeks ago), it takes courage.

I'll take that - but only because it was intended to get a response. I was poking the mickey before. I will say though JP - he is not a great advertisement for your club.

I've done a bit of umpiring & hate it. The only reason I hate it is that I like to play footy - not officiate it. I understand why someone who wants to play football and is 'forced' into umpiring by club necessity could be bitter. I don't know if this is the case with the Hawthorn guy. (Maybe forced retirement because of injury?)

Twirl21 said:

As if youre not a Hawthorn supporter.

Word has it the Hawthorn 2s umpire did play but started umpiring after being picked on because he waddled around instead of running around

Because they are heartless and have NO conscience. Thats why they dont care.