D4 Section Ammos pt 1 (2005-2007)

Re: D4 Section Ammos

JP the Chinaman said:
Tough gig for the Shark boys this weekend too, having got beaten by us by 200 plus points, but they kept fighting...good to see boys....keep your spirit up!!!

Yep, was always going to be a struggle against you guys when we started with 16 players. JP, there was a period where you were dominating the centre clearances then they moved you off the ball, couldn't work that out!

Really looking forward to this week's game against North Brunny - our numbers should be good as it's the final game of the year and we have players player and B & F that night. Personally hope my shoulder pulls through and I can take the park this week.

Hi Flossy mate, do me a favour and beat NB...hahaha....that'd make the last week interesting for Syndal...yeah, you were meant to play two games too...hahaha...bad luck man, hopefully that shoulder goes alright this week...

never question a coach's move mate...especially 2 weeks out from the finals...

King C, ru guys playing the Turtles this week at Bulleen, if so I might come down and have a look. You can introduce yourself and I`ll have a Justin Langer with you. Our guys are playing on Sunday. I`m sure the boys from both sides will look forward having a chat with me about all the football goss.

Abba Lonie said:
Agree with that, Richmond's ground is probably my favourite to play on.

Good to hear the kind words about us on this forum. We have been down for a long time, this is my second year and 1 win in 2 years is hard to stomach. :eek:
But we have a great group of guys down there who love playing footy with their mates. We are moving forward though, looking for a good senior coach and new players who are willing to stick around the club for a couple of years and build us up to become a team that can make finals. If anyone knows anyone who would like a challenge and help us out, www.richmondcentral.com is the place to go, email anyone in the committee.
cheers all, good luck with the rest of the season and finals.
GO SNAKES!!

Didn't know you guys were the snakes, always thought Richmond Tigers...oh well, that's something new for a Tuesday!!! :thumbsu: Tell Burgeo to get on the forum!!!

Brutal, King Cobra will be the bloke leaning up against the canteen with a pie in one hand a pastie in the other and 2 or 3 mars bars in each pocket, then will wash it down with at least 2 liters of coke.(diet of course)
"That's for entree"
Good Luck King Cobra against Eltham. For me they will be the team to beat come finals time.

Brutal said:
King C, ru guys playing the Turtles this week at Bulleen, if so I might come down and have a look. You can introduce yourself and I`ll have a Justin Langer with you. Our guys are playing on Sunday. I`m sure the boys from both sides will look forward having a chat with me about all the football goss.

Yer brutal we are playing at home this week in what i believe will be a cracker of a game as a finals spot is on the line for us and a double chance for eltham. Its good to see a the diamond valley guys supporting us with there games on sunday, as well as urself there will also be some boys from greensbourgh and ressa there aswell.

ALFY said:
Brutal, King Cobra will be the bloke leaning up against the canteen with a pie in one hand a pastie in the other and 2 or 3 mars bars in each pocket, then will wash it down with at least 2 liters of coke.(diet of course)
"That's for entree"
Good Luck King Cobra against Eltham. For me they will be the team to beat come finals time.

Whats the fasination with throwing the pies and cakes insults at me, do u actaully know me?

King_Cobra said:
Whats the fasination with throwing the pies and cakes insults at me, do u actaully know me?

Seems like they might have you mistaken with Billy or Plugger?

Or it might be me!!!!!!!!!

No sight of the Italian dwarf on here recently?

JP the Chinaman said:
Didn't know you guys were the snakes, always thought Richmond Tigers...oh well, that's something new for a Tuesday!!! :thumbsu: Tell Burgeo to get on the forum!!!

Yeah Burgeo loves his mighty Richmond Centrals! Great to see that he's crossed over to the dark side from umpiring.

He made good coin over in the dark side tho...can't hold that against him...financed his life for years!!!

King_Cobra said:
what is it pick on king cobra day today......lol.....who the hell is alfy anyway....what club u from alfy.

About the drinking if u kept it in the clubrooms for members of both clubs only then it is very controlable. Would be a good idea to have a 1 year trial to see what happens. it would sure beat standing in a carpark of a tennis club having a drink eg powerhouse magoos

While I have no problems with the idea of the majority of clubs having a beer or 2 during matches, can you imagine what could have happened at Glenferrie between North Brunswick and the umpire? Could have been a hell of a lot worse - tho on the bright side, they might have beek kicked out of the comp....

Lucky7 said:
While I have no problems with the idea of the majority of clubs having a beer or 2 during matches, can you imagine what could have happened at Glenferrie between North Brunswick and the umpire? Could have been a hell of a lot worse - tho on the bright side, they might have beek kicked out of the comp....

Fair point well made.

Hopefully the first final is between Hawthorn & Nth in the magoos. Given the North boys predisposition to get amongst it; and the dislike of each other, it may well be a game to watch. Although it could be over by 1/4 time if multiple players from one side get sent off. (Which is a fair chance..)

InFineForm said:
Fair point well made.

Hopefully the first final is between Hawthorn & Nth in the magoos. Given the North boys predisposition to get amongst it; and the dislike of each other, it may well be a game to watch. Although it could be over by 1/4 time if multiple players from one side get sent off. (Which is a fair chance..)

Been a while since I'm been online...

To catch up with the latests posts....

The Hawthorn reserves umpire is an absoluted disgrace and should hang up his whisle at the end of theseason if not beforehand. If he umpires the NB final he will be aking for trouble... without a doubt....

Best ground in D4 this season is Bulleen by far. Our ground has held up well this season, but Bulleen's is supurb. I took a walk around down there on Monday afternoon and it was a picture of green. Richmond's ground is very average, worst ground in the comp would have to be NB or Box Hill's beach.

My bet is Hawthorn for the flag in the 1s, and Powerhouse in the 2s.

Based on insider knowledge I have been supplied with King Cobra needs to back off the cream cakes by the sounds of things... Maybe he can get the midget to change his eating habbits as well....

I also hear that a couple of clubs may be staring down the barrel of a closure or merger at the end of the season... ?? Is there any truth in this fellas??

I will watch more closely in the coming days than I have over the last few weeks as I now have my account reactivated.... Forgot the password. Gotta hate that.

Finals umpires are provided by VAFA, magoos too...

I still reckon his job would be easier if there is a counterpart from the opposition, most of the time he umpires alone. It is a hard gig.

BHN beach...that's a nice description.:thumbsu:

JP the Chinaman said:
BHN beach...that's a nice description.:thumbsu:

Ah, you precious young things. The beach at Elgar Park was once the norm throughout suburban footy. If you were playing on a turf wicket centre then it would take a week to clean the kit of Merri Creek glue. If there was an artificial wicket then the 'beach' would be piled high. At least now the have synthetic covering covered by plastic then put sand on top. In our day it was common to step fron 18 inches of sand to bare exposed concrete. Good for tearing the skin of knees, elbows and faces.

And then there was the rain; it used to rain so hard every Saturday that we lost a boundary umpire one day at Sparks Reserve. Tide clean swept him and the errant Sherrin away. Of coarse we didn't have studs in boots in them days; just used to bang in a few 3 inch nails before the game and then there was .................

Mrs Spy here.
Sorry about that. Spy has been given his cocoa and valiumn and is having his afternoon nap. We will let him back on when he promises not to regale all the nice young people about his long lost football career.

King_Cobra said:
Yer brutal we are playing at home this week in what i believe will be a cracker of a game as a finals spot is on the line for us and a double chance for eltham. Its good to see a the diamond valley guys supporting us with there games on sunday, as well as urself there will also be some boys from greensbourgh and ressa there aswell.

Sounds good, I look forward to making your aquaintence. I`ll try and drag a few Lower boys with me.

Won't Bulleen Play the College again next week if they win Saturday?

Might have to come and check out the rematch if that happens?:thumbsu:

Brutal can come also after Lower are knocked out on Sunday.

D4 Section Ammos

As an old BHN boy here, who moved over to the Essendon District FL, it's great to see the boys are thereabouts for finals action. Hopefully the results go their way this week and they finally get a taste of finals action, as it's been a long time coming. Best of luck to the boys and it will be a just reward for Coach Army. He is a king of a man. :thumbsu: ;)

spy1 said:
Ah, you precious young things. The beach at Elgar Park was once the norm throughout suburban footy. If you were playing on a turf wicket centre then it would take a week to clean the kit of Merri Creek glue. If there was an artificial wicket then the 'beach' would be piled high. At least now the have synthetic covering covered by plastic then put sand on top. In our day it was common to step fron 18 inches of sand to bare exposed concrete. Good for tearing the skin of knees, elbows and faces.

And then there was the rain; it used to rain so hard every Saturday that we lost a boundary umpire one day at Sparks Reserve. Tide clean swept him and the errant Sherrin away. Of coarse we didn't have studs in boots in them days; just used to bang in a few 3 inch nails before the game and then there was .................

Mrs Spy here.
Sorry about that. Spy has been given his cocoa and valiumn and is having his afternoon nap. We will let him back on when he promises not to regale all the nice young people about his long lost football career.

Gezz.... you poor old barstard..... You must've been one of the tough guys who used to walk to school in shorts through 2 feet of snow
Sob... "violin playing in the background" LoL

Will any of the top 3 teams be game enough to rest their guns this weekend leading into the finals or are they all desperate to secure the double chance?

Possible injury but fresh players v's double chance.

What to do, what to do.

Spy you are from the times when petrol price were cheaper than a packet of chewies...and there were no Chinamen running around on the footy field!!! hahaha...

Milestones for this week: King Cobra to eat 10 pies at 1/2 time.
: Badanjek to fit into his jumper, saw his game against Hawthorn the big bloke has been a good paddock and a very big one at that. Good Luck on Saturday King Cobra.

Regarding the Hawks magoos umpire, last week was the first chance I'd managed to see him in action (assume we're talking about the blonde guy who looks a bit like Michael Clarke).

Anyway I must say he called a very fair game, paid frees against his team that were there to be paid and joked with guys from both sides.

Anyway, he may call the game differently when the scores a bit closer, so I'm not saying he's been unbiased in every game this season, but he certainly seemed fair last week.

Like other people have mentioned, at least he's willing to give up his time. Wouldn't be easy if he were the only ump.