Dahlhaus appreciation thread

You’re a little confused, Mike
That’s actually a report on Bevos response to a rumour.
Where’s the media report on Dahl being up for trade ?
Damian Barrett on the footy show and triple m at the time.
I remember it vividly. If you'd like I can try to find a link to the episode.
Or you can admit to being incorrect and we can move on with our night and lives.

Damian Barrett on the footy show at the time.
Or you can admit to being incorrect and we can move on with our night and lives.

Every reporter on every radio station was all over it

But it’s me so he won’t back down, oh well that’s life.

Moving on

Damian Barrett on the footy show at the time.

Right, so everything the football journalists report is gospel ? Righto.
Where’s the media report saying the dogs put him up for trade ?

Good luck Dahl, you will be missed even though you can’t kick, can’t mark, don’t work both ways, can’t kick goals and have basically done nothing for 2 years apparently.

There was obviously something brewing in the background that led to this because he definitely did not seem like he wanted to be anywhere but footscray after the flag.

If it is something the club did then I'm pretty disappointed - he was one of my favourite modern bulldogs.

Hope he kills it on the new team but I hope the rest of that team steps on a Lego.

This kid bled for the jumper, no way he goes unless pushed

The mismanagement of this club since 16 has been nothing short of spectacular. What's most ironic about this is that our Gaff is supposed to be 'The'... Man Manager.

Since the flag, we have had a mass exodus of key people, public executions and more leaks than an old sponge. Yet supposedly, 'only the adults' are left in the room. Looks like he will finally get his wish, The Macca era, rat pack and nay sayers are gone and he will go on to 'man manage' his merry team of yes men. This puts much of the selection debauchery in 2017 - 18 into perspective.

I must have a different understanding of the term 'Man Management'.

Wish Dahl all the best. One of the best images from the 2016 GF was Dahl's eyes popping out of his head with excitement after the final siren. A true heart and soul player who put his body on the line numerous times.
I think we're backing Dunkley, Jong, and Wallis to fill the gap moving forward, and let's not forget Libba is still to return. Rylee West will add to that mix also.
Dahl is a good fit for Geelong and I reckon he'll do well there.

I can see all the football reasons (kicking, speed, lack of goals ...), though culturally I'm deeply concerned right now. My kids (both Dahlhaus members, were like ... what???). Dahl has stated his passion for and desire to be a 1 club player previously.

What changed this? Stringer? Exit interviews? Mates moving on? Or is this the era that is free agency and we need to start removing the human element from the equation? The later was key in what won us a flag in 2016. Without it we won't be back at the big dance again.

Love the bloke and thank him for everything but this isn't a horrible decision if it came down to coin.

An end of first round compensation would be beneficial given our midfield strength and dahls inability to go forward with any damage. Couple that with the probability of adding West, we'd need players that can hurt inside 50.

If that occurs, win/win.

So much re-writing of history here.

Multiple sources repored him being up for trade. Rumour or media report - what the hell is the difference these days- but there were heaps and heaps of reporting that he was offered up.

Now I’m not one to believe everything in the media but I’m not one to believe everything out of the club either.
Clubs lie as much as anyone. Remember Campbell brown was never put up for trade “we would never trade a premiership player”... but he absolutely was. Our club has lied on numerous occasions and did through the stringer trade period - I know this for fact.

For the record the media reports and reporting last year stating he was up for trade quoted sources in the list management / recruiting of other clubs that said we definitely brought his name up in talks. I have asked people for two different clubs in those roles and one has told me his name was discussed because he was one year out from free agency. It didn’t go far but was discussed.

I’m quite sure it lead to Tom Morris and bevo having words - and quite sure that Bevo wasn’t in the room for those discussions either

Anyway back to the thread subject matter.

I wish I could be an generous to dalhaus as most in here. I’m not wishing him luck at all as he moves on.

I just can’t get past the fact that he had a 3 year deal infront of him with above average salary (after two years of only average form) at a club he proclaimed to love and want to give everything back for, a club that rookied and developed him and he knocked it back.

I’m not going to pretend to know whether it was about money or a break down of relationship. But I would have liked him running out in a dogs jumper still in 2019 and hopefully beyond.

Love the bloke and thank him for everything but this isn't a horrible decision if it came down to coin.

An end of first round compensation would be beneficial given our midfield strength and dahls inability to go forward with any damage. Couple that with the probability of adding West, we'd need players that can hurt inside 50.

If that occurs, win/win.

West’s kicking is the knock on him btw. Just getting that out there. Not sure it’s worse than dalhs but we shouldn’t expect a big jump in fwd line efficiency cause West is coming in.

Please don't tell me that JJ .
Dahls kicking is amonst the worst in in the comp , I expect West to be a massive upgrade !
Tell me it is so ?

I can see all the football reasons (kicking, speed, lack of goals ...), though culturally I'm deeply concerned right now. My kids (both Dahlhaus members, were like ... what???). Dahl has stated his passion for and desire to be a 1 club player previously.

What changed this? Stringer? Exit interviews? Mates moving on? Or is this the era that is free agency and we need to start removing the human element from the equation? The later was key in what won us a flag in 2016. Without it we won't be back at the big dance again.

Are you saying he deserved more than a three year deal? The offer was on the table.

Dahlhaus appreciation thread