Trade Requested Daniel Rioli [UFA 2027] - Wants to join Gold Coast

So apparently this will be the Suns best team in 2025.
One big thing to note is the lack of the Academy players even being named. If the Suns pull their finger out and actually make finals with this team and the kids aren't getting games we know what is going to happen don't we?
They will be cheap as chips and wanting to get games from Victorian clubs in the next couple of years. So I'm not sure why they even bother with the Academy kids when they will hardly play them.

CaptureS.JPG

One big thing to note is the lack of the Academy players even being named. If the Suns pull their finger out and actually make finals with this team and the kids aren't getting games we know what is going to happen don't we?
They will be cheap as chips and wanting to get games from Victorian clubs in the next couple of years. So I'm not sure why they even bother with the Academy kids when they will hardly play them.

View attachment 2137196
There are 5 academy players there and they missed Clohesy who is best 22.

Season 7 Oops GIF by Workaholics

You honestly think it won’t get done?
It probably will since Gold Coast haven’t walked away.

All I said they should walk away. Move on to someone else.

He is contracted and Richmond have the right to keep him unless they get paid what they want. If it’s too much Gold Coast should walk away. Suns should never of targeted a contracted player.

Loving the melts from opposition supporters here but seriously thank you all for your valuable contributions as its extremely appreciated. Is pick #6 overs ?? Maybe is #6 + #23 overs - Bloody oath it is
Pick #6 + #13 well that would be totally disgusting and the AFL should step in to stop it.

LOL, dont be silly, we will be back, and even before we are, players will prefer big crowds at a big club over playing for the suns, likely for the rest of our lives thats for sure.
These guys dont get it

Richmond will finish on the bottom 3 years collecting 12 -15 1st round picks
Then get PP just as Tassie come in and raid the other teams with free Agency

Back top 4 in 5 years

View attachment 2137196
Noble Sub :D

LOL, dont be silly, we will be back, and even before we are, players will prefer big crowds at a big club over playing for the suns, likely for the rest of our lives thats for sure.
The “ home of football” and huge crowds will always have appeal.
Even during our poor years we still managed very good attendances. I’m sure our supporters will take these years coming after winning 3 premierships recently.
Far better than being a middling team that struggles to get into the finals let alone win anything.

We’ve timed this fairly well. Knowing Dusty, Cotch, Jack, Grimes etc would be retiring. That was no surprise. Having Bolton and Baker looking to head home was no surprise either. Hence the long term deal to Bolton, giving us control over his moving on. Baker has stipulat3d he’d only move if a fair deal could be done for Richmond.

DRioli was a surprise to me. To the club? Maybe not. He’s still got 3 years so he can stay. He’s only looking to go because of Hardwick and his gf’s influencer business. So he hasn’t fallen out, just piss poor reasons. He stays if a deal in our favour can’t be reached. He’ll provide leadership to the young group and his uncle MRioli jr recently re-signed with Richmond. So he still has family there and will settle back in quickly. His gf can move on or do her influencing in Melbourne.

As WilWA and SA players returning home. They draw decent crowds. The new stadium in Perth allows great crowds.
Sydney doesn’t have the appeal as with other footy mad states/cities.supporters drop off the swans quickly if they aren’t winning. Same as Brisbane. GCs and GWS still finding their feet 14/13 years after starting. Still to draw a decent fan base let alone decent crowds.
What’s a decent crowd for a home GC game? 15,063
We get that at training.

Pick 6 is overs and Richmond not thinking it’s enough is one of the funnier stories
So better to take the first offer even if good? Is that your negotiation tip of the day? These clubs have been talking for months. Suns first pick was always on the table, tigers trying to extract more, brilliantly played by Blair and the team.

Contracted STAR???

Wasn’t he rated like number 88 in the AFL this year, I assume you think the winner of “the Voice” is a STAR
He is Richmond's Best and Fairest

I don't care about the wider AFL, he is our current elite player

knows how to get it done in big games, 3 flags, 4(?) goals to win a prelim

GCS tapped him up for a reason.

So better to take the first offer even if good? Is that your negotiation tip of the day? These clubs have been talking for months. Suns first pick was always on the table, tigers trying to extract more, brilliantly played by Blair and the team.
Yep 6 will still be there whenever this shit eventually ends

It's clearly not that simple though. Gold Coast are motivated buyers but we can't ignore Richmond being motivated sellers.

They're very prepared to sell Rioli because they know where they're at as a club and the opportunity it presents. They also know they'll get a great deal.

If they weren't, this would've been shut down a long time ago.

Not sure why anyone would read too much into the statement from Hartley. Isn't that exactly what he'd be expected to say? He's not going to come out and say anything that weakens their hand but we can also read between the lines and understand the situation for what it is.
You see teams offload their Best & Fairest every year, don't you.

The better a guy plays, the more you are motivated to sell them.

Yep.

Suns might laugh and run from the deal who knows, who’s knows what the first offer was, just because it was the first reported.

You see teams offload their Best & Fairest every year, don't you.

The better a guy plays, the more you are motivated to sell them.

Yep.

It's pretty clear the Tigers are prepared to move Rioli on. I'm not sure why it's proving so difficult for some Richmond fans to acknowledge.

It's as if they're in denial or if they wish hard enough the circumstances will suddenly change.

He's gone. And the universe has aligned such that it'll be an amazing result for the Tigers.

Good on him for winning the Best & Fairest, but it's not particularly relevant to the discussion. It was also for the bottom placed side in a year when no Tiger played every senior game and he played the equal most.

Pick 6 is overs and Richmond not thinking it’s enough is one of the funnier stories
We're doing GC a solid by pretending to want more. Distracting the AFL world from the absolute reaming that is pick 6 for an aging half back flanker. :)

It's pretty clear the Tigers are prepared to move Rioli on. I'm not sure why it's proving so difficult for some Richmond fans to acknowledge.
Just who hasn’t acknowledged it?
Richmond is prepared to release Rioli if they receive an acceptable offer. One that is deemed acceptable by Richmond.
Not “everyone” or other clubs supporters or the media.
That shouldn’t be too hard to acknowledge. But obviously is.
It's as if they're in denial or if they wish hard enough the circumstances will suddenly change.
No denial. Richmond have said from the start what is an acceptable price. Funnily enough they are negotiating with the GCS list managers, not BF or media recruiters.
Circumstances will no doubt change when an acceptable deal is made. If it’s not acceptable to Richmond, he stays and plays.
He's gone. And the universe has aligned such that it'll be an amazing result for the Tigers.
He’s gone? Oh not he hasn’t. If he does go it will be an amazing result for the price of losing a highly valued player.
Good on him for winning the Best & Fairest, but it's not particularly relevant to the discussion.
Of course it is. That is highly disparaging to any player who has won an afl B&F
It was also for the bottom placed side in a year when no Tiger played every senior game and he played the equal most.
So what. His performance showed that he played at a high level, was consistent and led a young team by example.
You’re trying to win a few fans over by disparaging a player in an endeavour to downplay his worth.

Regardless of what you or “everyone” or the media says, none of you have any idea what the actual discussions entail.
You have no sense of value because you don’t want to see Richmond get a very good deal.
Parachialism at its finest

Richmond will bend over and do 6+23, all of this posturing and hard balling is just talk, they don't have it in them to stick fat I reckon, never really have at the trade table.

6 & 23 isn't us bending over. 6 alone isn't us bending over either. 😂😂😂

Trade Requested Daniel Rioli [UFA 2027] - Wants to join Gold Coast