Player Watch Darcy Fogarty - Re-Signed to End of 2031

How many goals will Darcy Fogarty kick in 2023?

Playing RT in the ruck last week might just be a sign we know we can't carry both he and Bill/Berg.

I thought we'd hide RT from the ruck as long as we could. It's time to shelve the extra tall to get Fog back in.

Playing RT in the ruck last week might just be a sign we know we can't carry both he and Bill/Berg.

I thought we'd hide RT from the ruck as long as we could. It's time to shelve the extra tall to get Fog back in.
Play talent. Fog has more talent than EH and BF, is a better kick, mark, and better below his knees. Thilthorpe or someone else can ruck for the 8 minutes ROB doesn’t.

Let Tex ruck for the ~3 minutes a quarter; makes perfect sense.

I don't know why this has fired me up so much today, but I'm really frustrated by it.

I was very positive re Nicks and his approach this year, but we're making the same old stupid decisions that we've been making for years.

We punish guys for being talented, can't let them have an easy run, gotta make them earn it; meanwhile we give rookies and late picks all of the chances in the world.

It's such a dumb, immature approach.

I don’t disagree with that and I’m not suggesting delisting. Just frustrated that yet another first round pick of ours is not even in the best 22 let alone making an impact.
It’s frustrating for sure. Though he’s not a regular as yet due to relative weak fitness base, rather than a lack of aggression or talents. As opposed to the likes of Gooch, Polhoke, Jones, McHenry who have much better fitness from the outset, but they haven’t shown enough eye candy as much as Fog has shown thus far.

Already Fog has shown elite kicking for goals, and the fitness will naturally improve over time. The other thing is that our midfield is probably the weakest it’s ever been in our club history, so our forwards generally are starved of good opportunities to make a major impact.

Tex, Fogarty, Tilthrope.

Two are the future of our forward line, one can give them support in establishing themselves.

It's so bloody obvious.

The problem is that Tex isn't the support act. He commands a heap of the ball and it's not by accident. Whilst he's there, Fog gets little opportunity to play to his strengths.

Of course it's not by accident, he's comfortably the best forward.

People make excuses for Fog, but perhaps the truth is too hard for people to hear..... He's just not as good as people want him to be

Tex, Fogarty, Tilthrope.

Two are the future of our forward line, one can give them support in establishing themselves.

It's so bloody obvious.
The other kids will be very much aware that Fog is our future KPF.

I wonder if they were a bit flat watching their mate and future KPF getting dropped and Dmac getting a jumper...

He's the obvious Tex replacement.

But hard for him to do much as a lead up key forward while Tex demands the V.

Has to clear out of Tex's space and try to eek out a living on the margins while our mids, who are all crap kicks, are instructed to put predictable entries into the V.

It's a conundrum. He realistically can't prosper until Tex is gone, or at least gives up the V. The longer Tex stays and demands the V, the less chance Fog has of establishing a successful career to take over from Tex. The coaches won't want to give the V away from Tex, because they are focused on short term wins.

But we then played Murray up forward for the last quarter. I think they reckon they can out-height opponents.

Of course it's not by accident, he's comfortably the best forward.

People make excuses for Fog, but perhaps the truth is too hard for people to hear..... He's just not as good as people want him to be

He's not now that his body is on the skids again. Fog would look a lot better than he does if he picked up the opportunity put before Tex. But we both know that will never happen and like Lynch, Tex's hand will be up every week until he physically can't walk.

He's still kicking multiple goals every week, and setting up the play. Fog doesn't and has never had the talent of Tex.

The much more valid question is whether or not we play Fog instead of the 2nd ruck.

He's still kicking multiple goals every week, and setting up the play. Fog doesn't and has never had the talent of Tex.

The much more valid question is whether or not we play Fog instead of the 2nd ruck.
Or can we play a 3 headed monter in Tex, RT and Fog

In playing this 3 headed moster are we prepared to put a line through Lynch, and allow RT to ply the 2ND ruck / forward role

On SM-G973F using BigFooty.com mobile app

In playing this 3 headed moster are we prepared to put a line through Lynch, and allow RT to ply the 2ND ruck / forward role

This needs to be the plan, no point playing billy or EH just because they chop out in the ruck occasionally.

That was my point. Drop the 2nd ruck and play RT, Tex and Fog

The other kids will be very much aware that Fog is our future KPF.

I wonder if they were a bit flat watching their mate and future KPF getting dropped and Dmac getting a jumper...

He's the obvious Tex replacement.

But hard for him to do much as a lead up key forward while Tex demands the V.

Has to clear out of Tex's space and try to eek out a living on the margins while our mids, who are all crap kicks, are instructed to put predictable entries into the V.

It's a conundrum. He realistically can't prosper until Tex is gone, or at least gives up the V. The longer Tex stays and demands the V, the less chance Fog has of establishing a successful career to take over from Tex. The coaches won't want to give the V away from Tex, because they are focused on short term wins.

I think Vogarty needs to pull his big V boy pants on and command not only the v but the ball, I think ve as supporters need to stop making vexcuses for him.

The Adelaide crows football team train on a sunny autumn day at a West Lakes building site. Coach Matthew Nicks pulls the club's talented young forward Darcy Fogarty aside for a chat.

Nicks: How do you think you're travelling in the SANFL side, Darce?

Fogarty: Haven't really been able to deliver my best footy if I'm honest.

Nicks: Yeah, no one that plays forward of centre has ever developed to an acceptable level in that side. It's a shit show ahead of the ball. You look at how bad our AFL midfield is... then you appreciate the dregs that fall back to the SANFL side. Then there's all the top ups.

Fogarty: *raises eyebrows

Nicks: Your kicking for goal is your weapon, Darcy. But you will never be able to use your weapon playing ahead of our SANFL midfield.

Fogarty: *eyes widen as a wave of hope spreads across the young man's face

Nicks: So what I'm gonna do Foggers, is put you in the AFL side.

Fogarty: Oh awesome.

Nicks: Yeah I am. But you have to stay out of Tex's way. Tex is a leader and senior warrior of this footy club. If we're going to make the 8, we need all our supply going to Tex.

Fogarty: So where do I play?

Nicks: Just stay out of the V. Lead out into the pockets and try to take defenders with you. Push up the ground and take defenders with you.

Fogarty: But haven't you been telling our midfielders all year to just kick to the V? That's all we hear... predictable entries into the V?

Nicks: Yes that's so Tex knows where to lead and our mids know where to kick. They're not the brightest bunch, just between you and me.

Laird: You talking about us, Nicksy?

Nicks: No Lairdy. You're doing a great job as a senior warrior of this footy club.

Laird: Yeah I am. Did you see how high I kicked that last one, Nicksy?

Nicks: Good stuff Lairdy. Keep training your weapon.

Fogarty: *shields eyes from sun while watching Laird's kick return from orbit

Nicks: So as I was saying Foggers, if our entries are predictable, everyone will be on the same page.

Fogarty: But won't our entries be predictable to oppo defenders too?

Nicks: Huh? You've lost me Darcy. Try to stay focused.

Fogarty: Sorry.

Nicks: Just stay out of Tex's way.

Fogarty: So, while I'm staying out of Tex's way and leading defenders away from his space, how am I going to score?

Nicks: Not important Foggers. You'll be doing the team thing for Tex.

Fogarty: Ok, got it. Team thing for Tex.

Nicks: That's right. He's a senior warrior of this footy club. Plus, I've got a cunning plan... if you can't hit the scoreboard I'm going to move you to the midfield.

Fogarty: Wait, didn't you say scoring isn't important because I'll be playing a team role?

Nicks: Yeah, but you know what the fans and media are like. If they come after you for not hitting the scoreboard I'll move you to the midfield.

Fogarty: Midfield?

Nicks: Yeah. I reckon you could be the next Dustin Martin.

Fogarty: Dusty?

Nicks: Yes Foggers. Or Patty Cripps.

Fogarty: Cripps?

Nicks: Yup. And I'm willing to invest the games in you so you can master this new role.

Fogarty: Wow. How many games will you invest in me developing in this new role?

Nicks: Three.

Fogarty: Three weeks in an AFL midfield?

Nicks: You betcha. I believe in you Darcy.

Fogarty: And what if I can't thrive as a forward when we predictably funnel all our supply through Tex while I'm leading defenders out of his way, and then I don't set the world on fire in the midfield after 3 weeks?

Nicks: Back to the SANFL mate. Probably need to work on your weapon back in the twos.

He’s starting to put one hand up again in marking contests 😜

Getting pushed off line easily and can't arrest the momentum. Cliff is very near, needs a rest.

Tex is hampered by his calf injury, naturally we don't give him a few weeks off to get it right and then we can play Fog in his role.

In true AFC fashion we keep playing the injured senior player in a rebuild year - see how well it turned out for Lynch....

Player Watch Darcy Fogarty - Re-Signed to End of 2031