Player Watch Darcy Fogarty - Re-Signed to End of 2031

How many goals will Darcy Fogarty kick in 2023?

Tex is hampered by his calf injury, naturally we don't give him a few weeks off to get it right and then we can play Fog in his role.

In true AFC fashion we keep playing the injured senior player in a rebuild year - see how well it turned out for Lynch....

Have to laugh at Lynch. Got exactly what we and he deserve. Late in the year with a finals campaign looming you run the gauntlet with jabs. 3 games into a rebuild year off the spoon, ****ing hilarious.

Have to laugh at Lynch. Got exactly what we and he deserve. Late in the year with a finals campaign looming you run the gauntlet with jabs. 3 games into a rebuild year off the spoon, ******* hilarious.

I don't think it was Lynchs call, it was the clubs and that's who I blame.

The Adelaide crows football team train on a sunny autumn day at a West Lakes building site. Coach Matthew Nicks pulls the club's talented young forward Darcy Fogarty aside for a chat.

Nicks: How do you think you're travelling in the SANFL side, Darce?

Fogarty: Haven't really been able to deliver my best footy if I'm honest.

Nicks: Yeah, no one that plays forward of centre has ever developed to an acceptable level in that side. It's a sh*t show ahead of the ball. You look at how bad our AFL midfield is... then you appreciate the dregs that fall back to the SANFL side. Then there's all the top ups.

Fogarty: *raises eyebrows

Nicks: Your kicking for goal is your weapon, Darcy. But you will never be able to use your weapon playing ahead of our SANFL midfield.

Fogarty: *eyes widen as a wave of hope spreads across the young man's face

Nicks: So what I'm gonna do Foggers, is put you in the AFL side.

Fogarty: Oh awesome.

Nicks: Yeah I am. But you have to stay out of Tex's way. Tex is a leader and senior warrior of this footy club. If we're going to make the 8, we need all our supply going to Tex.

Fogarty: So where do I play?

Nicks: Just stay out of the V. Lead out into the pockets and try to take defenders with you. Push up the ground and take defenders with you.

Fogarty: But haven't you been telling our midfielders all year to just kick to the V? That's all we hear... predictable entries into the V?

Nicks: Yes that's so Tex knows where to lead and our mids know where to kick. They're not the brightest bunch, just between you and me.

Laird: You talking about us, Nicksy?

Nicks: No Lairdy. You're doing a great job as a senior warrior of this footy club.

Laird: Yeah I am. Did you see how high I kicked that last one, Nicksy?

Nicks: Good stuff Lairdy. Keep training your weapon.

Fogarty: *shields eyes from sun while watching Laird's kick return from orbit

Nicks: So as I was saying Foggers, if our entries are predictable, everyone will be on the same page.

Fogarty: But won't our entries be predictable to oppo defenders too?

Nicks: Huh? You've lost me Darcy. Try to stay focused.

Fogarty: Sorry.

Nicks: Just stay out of Tex's way.

Fogarty: So, while I'm staying out of Tex's way and leading defenders away from his space, how am I going to score?

Nicks: Not important Foggers. You'll be doing the team thing for Tex.

Fogarty: Ok, got it. Team thing for Tex.

Nicks: That's right. He's a senior warrior of this footy club. Plus, I've got a cunning plan... if you can't hit the scoreboard I'm going to move you to the midfield.

Fogarty: Wait, didn't you say scoring isn't important because I'll be playing a team role?

Nicks: Yeah, but you know what the fans and media are like. If they come after you for not hitting the scoreboard I'll move you to the midfield.

Fogarty: Midfield?

Nicks: Yeah. I reckon you could be the next Dustin Martin.

Fogarty: Dusty?

Nicks: Yes Foggers. Or Patty Cripps.

Fogarty: Cripps?

Nicks: Yup. And I'm willing to invest the games in you so you can master this new role.

Fogarty: Wow. How many games will you invest in me developing in this new role?

Nicks: Three.

Fogarty: Three weeks in an AFL midfield?

Nicks: You betcha. I believe in you Darcy.

Fogarty: And what if I can't thrive as a forward when we predictably funnel all our supply through Tex while I'm leading defenders out of his way, and then I don't set the world on fire in the midfield after 3 weeks?

Nicks: Back to the SANFL mate. Probably need to work on your weapon back in the twos.

It's always a worry if it's not Spackler, but that was good.

Both parties are at fault, but the club should know better after our senior players have consistently burnt us whilst playing injured over the years.

It's just dumb dumb dumb by the club, we are not needing to win to make the top four or play in a final, we should be playing the new guys over injured guys - we shouldn't even be having this conversation in a rebuild year.

He's a senior player and he knows his own body and what he can and can't deliver. I accept that the club's selection philosophy centered around continuity and experience makes it easy for players to put their hand up when they shouldn't, but they're still putting their hand up and declaring themselves fit. We've had the selection problem for ages, but ultimately, this is 100% on Lynch.

Both parties are at fault, but the club should know better after our senior players have consistently burnt us whilst playing injured over the years.

It's just dumb dumb dumb by the club, we are not needing to win to make the top four or play in a final, we should be playing the new guys over injured guys - we shouldn't even be having this conversation in a rebuild year.

What is it that makes you think the selection philosophy has changed? Our focus remains maximising opportunity to win 4 points on a week to week basis. There has been no sacrifice of that end for future benefit whatsoever. Not even once, not this year and not last year.

It's standard - and all clubs do it. It's not just an Adelaide thing, and it's not just a senior player thing.

Step 1 - Player attempts to play with the injury, resting during the week, hoping that the injury will improve.
Step 2 - Coaches accept that the injury isn't improving, so they instruct the player to rest.
Step 3 - Injury doesn't respond to rest, so they opt for surgery.

Given that surgery means being out of action for 2 months, it's entirely understandable why they'd go with the less extreme measures first.

Yes, it looks bad when they eventually have to bite the bullet and move to Step 3 - but more often than not it doesn't get that far.

What is it that makes you think the selection philosophy has changed? Our focus remains maximising opportunity to win 4 points on a week to week basis. There has been no sacrifice of that end for future benefit whatsoever. Not even once, not this year and not last year.

Like you I don't think it has changed, list management have forced the selection committee to choose a younger team but as we have seen they still have managed to select the oldest team available - even preferring injured senior players.

What you refuse to acknowledge is that this is done by design - we've discarded all of the senior players who would otherwise be playing in the SANFL (only exception being Mackay), and kept those we thought were the good ones who would take the team forward.

It's standard - and all clubs do it. It's not just an Adelaide thing, and it's not just a senior player thing.

Step 1 - Player attempts to play with the injury, resting during the week, hoping that the injury will improve.
Step 2 - Coaches accept that the injury isn't improving, so they instruct the player to rest.
Step 3 - Injury doesn't respond to rest, so they opt for surgery.

Given that surgery means being out of action for 2 months, it's entirely understandable why they'd go with the less extreme measures.

Yes, it looks bad when they eventually have to bit the bullet and move to Step 3 - but more often than not it doesn't get that far.
You forgot step 1.5 where we picked him as sub.
We’d been playing him for weeks injured.

Would you settle for calling it 1.8 - they were clearly hoping not to need him, and for that to be a full week of rest.
We've used the sub 2 weeks out of 7 haven't we ?? Calculated gamble but it was always going to be needed the week we pick an injured player

What you refuse to acknowledge is that this is done by design - we've discarded all of the senior players who would otherwise be playing in the SANFL (only exception being Mackay), and kept those we thought were the good ones who would take the team forward.

It was done by design by list management (I've acknowledged that a few times) interesting you would think our discarded senior players would be playing in the SANFL if they were still on our list.

Do you think Hartigan would be playing SANFL if he was still on our list?

The selection committee have made it quite clear they will continue to pick out of form and/or injured senior players over the young guys.

You list MacKay as we have seen (still this season) he will be selected in front of youngsters. Could Jones have played last week across hb instead of MacKay? Of course he could, maybe try Murph back there for a game or two until Brown is back.

If the senior player is on the list our philosophy is to select them. End of Story.

Would love to know the make up of the list management team compared to the selection committee, how much overlap there is.

It was done by design by list management (I've acknowledged that a few times) interesting you would think our discarded senior players would be playing in the SANFL if they were still on our list.

The selection committee have made it quite clear they will continue to pick out of form and/or injured senior players over the young guys.

You list MacKay as we have seen (still this season) he will be selected in front of youngsters. Could Jones have played last week across hb instead of MacKay? Of course he could, maybe try Murph back there for a game or two until Brown is back.

If the senior player is on the list our philosophy is to select them. End of Story.

Would love to know the make up of the list management team compared to the selection committee, how much overlap there is.
We've had a lot of relatively senior players clogging things up in the SANFL for the last few years. Think Thompson, CEY, Grigg, etc. We've done away with all of these players, leaving only the core players (plus Mackay). The 2021 SANFL class is the youngest & least experienced we've every fielded - which is why Daniel Jackson has had to come out of retirement to help them out.

Rubbish, I've seen absolutely nothing from EH that indicates he can play at this level.
... and yet he performs better than Fogarty.

You do realise that these two statements aren't actually in conflict?
  • EH performs better than Fogarty.
  • EH is unlikely to succeed at AFL level.
The problem is the implication... Fogarty doesn't & probably won't make it at AFL level either.

I'd be inclined to ask what exactly is it that our Football Strategy Committee influences. The name implies that they strongly influence the way we go about game day. "Football Strategy", you'd assume they're influencing something, I'd have to guess it would be how we go about playing football. Selection metrics would be a component of that. Nicks spewed the "experience" bullshit this arvo when explaining why Lynch was playing injured. Could have brought a fit Dmac in for that. The luminaries on this Committee outside of footy Ops people were Fagan, bean counter, Chapman & Roo. Presumably Pyke and Burton would have rounded out the group. What strategy decisions did these dimwits drive?

There's a good player in there. He's a very frustrating player, great kick and attacks the contest hard but he's too heavy and slow to keep up with the pace of AFL football consistantly so he doesn't get it nearly enough.

I'd give him 1 year, challenge him to shed some weight, improve his aerobic fitness over the off season and give him a consistant run as a genuine forward next year. If he's still not cutting it, move on.

Player Watch Darcy Fogarty - Re-Signed to End of 2031