Player Watch Darcy Fogarty - Re-Signed to End of 2031

How many goals will Darcy Fogarty kick in 2023?

It's probably a reflection of the era. A lot of players in that time didn't undergoe any further education. Many would have barely matriculated, if they did at all. It just wasn't a priority for talented young footy players, in fact it would have been seen as lame in many cases.

However they were good at footy and had a public persona so were given jobs that are probably beyond their level of intelligence or education.

In the 90's and early 00's they could get away with being mediocre, politically incorrect or prickly in demeanor. But now with the extreme media focus and public scrutiny it's becoming exceedingly clear when Football Talent doesn't equate to a good personality or Coaching / Administrative talent.
Football talent not translating to good management or coaching skills is so true.

It's why all us BF experts make such phenomenally accurate and nuanced observations. Because we can't play...

It's probably a reflection of the era. A lot of players in that time didn't undergoe any further education. Many would have barely matriculated, if they did at all. It just wasn't a priority for talented young footy players, in fact it would have been seen as lame in many cases.

However they were good at footy and had a public persona so were given jobs that are probably beyond their level of intelligence or education.

In the 90's and early 00's they could get away with being mediocre, politically incorrect or prickly in demeanor. But now with the extreme media focus and public scrutiny it's becoming exceedingly clear when Football Talent doesn't equate to a good personality or Coaching / Administrative talent.

You realise none of this is true?

Those 5 odd touches in the first quarter was far better then anything he was dishing up to start the season. Been a great 4 weeks worth of football from him so hopefully gets the confidence needed to keep working hard in games and have more impact. Love when either him or Tex swing around in the middle of the ground as you know we're going to get a kick to advantage for the majority of the time.

Thanks Ben Hart for allowing that habit to set

People need to stop jumping at self serving statements from coaches.

Was Rahilly really working on turning around Fog's forward craft when he was part of a coaching team that negligently tried to convert him to a midfielder last year?

The best part with Fog is his quality of possessions. His skills are sublime for a big fella. I think this year he’s breaking out with his improved level of fitness, and it’s resulting in a more consistent output, particularly in the past month. If only we had midfielders that could kick like Fog, to Fog..

People need to stop jumping at self serving statements from coaches.

Was Rahilly really working on turning around Fog's forward craft when he was part of a coaching team that negligently tried to convert him to a midfielder last year?

When did they try and make him a midfielder in 2021? Dude played 17 of 22 possible AFL games and every single one of them was up forward.

He only played 4 SANFL games (for 5 goals) last year. Now do you think they played him more through the midfield so that he could work on his known deficiencies -IE: Fitness, impacting the game across 4 quarters and finding more of the footy? Or do you think they used those 4 games to try and make him a midfielder?

Maybe you and your astonishingly large cranium saw something completely different to the above. I will of course defer to your amazing intellectual footy nous.

When did they try and make him a midfielder in 2021? Dude played 17 of 22 possible AFL games and every single one of them was up forward.
I seem to recall, while being at the game down in Tassie vs Hawthorn, that Fog was unsuccessfully trialled in the middle of the ground?

Now whether this was a one-off occurrence or not, I’m not sure

The best part with Fog is his quality of possessions. His skills are sublime for a big fella. I think this year he’s breaking out with his improved level of fitness, and it’s resulting in a more consistent output, particularly in the past month. If only we had midfielders that could kick like Fog, to Fog..

He has a quality football brain and skills, that's never been in question. Fog has the tools to be absolutely A grade.

I seem to recall, while being at the game down in Tassie vs Hawthorn, that Fog was unsuccessfully trialled in the middle of the ground?

Now whether this was a one-off occurrence or not, I’m not sure

Possibly. That was the game we stupidly went in ridiculously tall with a forward structure of Walker, Himmelburg, Fog, and Titlhorpe (with Tom Lynch as sub). Walker (3), Tilly (5) and Himmelburg (2) combined for 10 goals and I just don't think there was space for old Fog.

Those 5 odd touches in the first quarter was far better then anything he was dishing up to start the season. Been a great 4 weeks worth of football from him so hopefully gets the confidence needed to keep working hard in games and have more impact. Love when either him or Tex swing around in the middle of the ground as you know we're going to get a kick to advantage for the majority of the time.

And then 6 combined for the next 3 quarters. Derm acknowledged it during the commentary about how we all know he can do it, but he needs that work rate and ability to influence the game across 4 quarters.

2 games until he hits the 50 game mark. Will he be the first AFL player to reach 50 games without ever having reached 14+ disposals in an AFL game?

And then 6 combined for the next 3 quarters. Derm acknowledged it during the commentary about how we all know he can do it, but he needs that work rate and ability to influence the game across 4 quarters.

2 games until he hits the 50 game mark. Will he be the first AFL player to reach 50 games without ever having reached 14+ disposals in an AFL game?
I couldn’t really give a shit if he hits 14 disposals or not, as long as he’s consistently presenting and trying to make an impact, which he’s been doing recently

Up until the Geelong game he was failing to do so this year, but he’s been very good in his role the past few weeks

Just checking again:

You realise this is complete fiction right? Utter nonsense

I couldn’t really give a s**t if he hits 14 disposals or not, as long as he’s consistently presenting and trying to make an impact, which he’s been doing recently

Up until the Geelong game he was failing to do so this year, but he’s been very good in his role the past few weeks

This 3 game stretch has been promising and he has looked good, but we have seen this before. I still want to see just 1 game where he influences the game for 4 quarters.

2019 - Rds 20 - 22: 32 disposals, 17 marks, 9 goals, 1 behind 10 I50's
2021 - Rds 10-12: 23 disposals,10 marks, 7 goals, 2 behinds, 7 I50's
2022 - Rds 11-14: 34 disposals, 15 marks, 8 goals, 1 behind, 9 I50's

Hopefully this is the stretch where it continues.

This 3 game stretch has been promising and he has looked good, but we have seen this before. I still want to see just 1 game where he influences the game for 4 quarters.

I’d argue that he’s been presenting at the ball a lot more than he has in the past two 1/2 years. Agree that he has to keep it up, but this is stuff I haven’t consistently seen from Fog since that 2019 period you mention

Have we confirmed that as fact yet?
I can't get an answer from any if the stat's gurus around.

There must be an easy way

He only played 4 SANFL games (for 5 goals) last year. Now do you think they played him more through the midfield so that he could work on his known deficiencies -IE: Fitness, impacting the game across 4 quarters and finding more of the footy? Or do you think they used those 4 games to try and make him a midfielder?

Maybe you and your astonishingly large cranium saw something completely different to the above. I will of course defer to your amazing intellectual footy nous.

Oh right. It never happened but it also happened for a really good reason.

I don't remember asking Siri to show me a plodder who can't work out that the problem's been his talent and performance assessment.

Yeah, that's why he fell off in the second. Personal laziness. It's not like it happened to every single one of our key forwards because we got destroyed up the ground.

Walker three touches, Thilthorpe 2, McAdam 2 in the second. When will Fogarty's effort improve their outputs?

They did. Spent the 4 SANFL games rotating as a mid/forward.

In that time he would either have a quarter where he looked good in the midfield and nothing else, or a quarter where he looked good as a forward and nothing else. Still, there was definitely some upside to it, as it probably killed the idea that Fog could make it as a forward/mid (noting Fog was drafted as one, due to how Glenelg used him). Still this improvement is on Fog, he got fitter/faster and he's worked out how to stop being a man child in the last month.

You don't play a lad in the midfield just for fitness reasons. You're trialing an idea. If you're worried about fitness, you flog the lad in preseason.

Player Watch Darcy Fogarty - Re-Signed to End of 2031