David Koch - The Chairman of the Board

I dont really like Koch, but really the only questions are - has he been able to resource/lead the football club in the short term so that it can compete at its very best. Is the future plan looking strong?

Everyone’s just pissed at him cause he didn’t sack Ken.

In the end it’s all about winning a flag or two in a Vic centric competition. There are so many advantages being a Victorian club, less travel, greater recruitment options, more media money for players, higher and more suitable level reserves comp, playing GFs on home ground, the father-sons which still give Geelong advantage.

Sydney and WC are the only interstate clubs who have won flags after their initial recruitment into the comp. (Brisbane we’re given a super team after buying Fitzroy). Freo/GC/GWS never got there.

So anyway PAFC has to almost have everything going right for us from a board level down to be able to win a GF. We r also still embroiled in Prison bar debate/disadvantages in SANFL comp, and so on. Protesting and working through the actual disadvantages takes up a lot of resource/time.

Koch and Thomas (and Ken) did do a whole lot right. It is pretty frustrating as a fan, when basically we have been in a slow rebuild for a long time. The list was awful when Ken came on board. Now it still has holes, but there is a big core of youth coming through, who have had finals experience, and we have cash for recruitment.

I love that our club is united - look at Essendon.

Anyway, I still wouldn’t mind a changing of the guard, more so Ken, but at Koch’s level the club is actually going ok considering.

Wtf. These are the blokes that have been weak as piss with the sanfl. Typical hot air Koch taking a swipe at them but not leading a fight. KT the worse negotiator to ever have in such pivotal time of our history. A board that doesn’t get its hands dirty for what it wants. They wait for the worse decision and try to turn decisions around nicely. They're flowers, all of them. Soft as. Yeah some of the disadvantages are not their fault but their action is nice. Instead of being hard nosed they try to resolve it nicely. So we're meek and unsuccessful talking up a deal rubber. Gutless.

I dont really like Koch, but really the only questions are - has he been able to resource/lead the football club in the short term so that it can compete at its very best. Is the future plan looking strong?

Everyone’s just pissed at him cause he didn’t sack Ken.

Well we've increased the debt significantly under his watch and I have a strong suspicion that the reason we're keeping Ken for 2023 is financial. That's not a win

There is also the 3 early, long extensions which have got us into this serious mess. If we didn't blow our loads and give him an early extension in 2014, we could have sacked him in 2016. If we didn't give him an absolutely horrendous early extension in 2017, he's gone in 2018 or 2019.

Well we've increased the debt significantly under his watch and I have a strong suspicion that the reason we're keeping Ken for 2023 is financial. That's not a win

There is also the 3 early, long extensions which have got us into this serious mess. If we didn't blow our loads and give him an early extension in 2014, we could have sacked him in 2016. If we didn't give him an absolutely horrendous early extension in 2017, he's gone in 2018 or 2019.

18/19 should have been the last bites of the cherry and thats being a little generous. Here we are looking toward 2023...

The 2017 extension is perhaps the worst thing the club have ever done.

You've got this guy who looked pretty good for his first 18 months. He then has 2 awful, indefensible years in 2015 and 2016. In 2017 we have a soft draw, beat nobody worth talking about, manage 5th and then get knocked out by 8th in a home final, and he gets another 3 years with a 4th year if we make the finals(!) once(!) in the next 3 years(!).

There should be an ESPN 30 for 30 about that f***ing contract extension.

The first extension in 2014 was fair enough I think. He exceeded expectations two years running and everyone thought we were the next big thing. I can certainly understand why we did it and it seemed like the right move at the time.

The second extension in 2017 was diabolical. Complete opposite scenario, three years of failure on the trot with only one finals appearance in which we were immediately eliminated. Well within our rights to take a wait and see approach for 2018 and under no circumstances should we have extended his contract.

Probably no point going over it really, but when looking at decisions in retrospect it’s important to consider the context and what was known at the time.

m8 we've done like four worse things than that in the last 6 months alone

You've got this guy who looked pretty good for his first 18 months. He then has 2 awful, indefensible years in 2015 and 2016. In 2017 we have a soft draw, beat nobody worth talking about, manage 5th and then get knocked out by 8th in a home final, and he gets another 3 years with a 4th year if we make the finals(!) once(!) in the next 3 years(!).

Completely agree. And the second worst thing was the 2020 extension.

The thing about the 2020 extension is that I was reasonably OK with the extension it self. But why wouldn't you put performance incentives into the contract? If Hinkley wasn't happy about it for whatever reason then we should've just told him to piss off. It was always going to be a massive risk he was going to shit the bed going into the final year of his contract.

How on earth have we fell into more debt than 2010-2012 when we have twice the amount of members, at least 30-40k to our games each week, no licence fees and better stadium deal?

They should all be sacked.

2016 is the one year I can actually forgive. We were smashed by injuries that year and lost Ryder through suspension.

That said, he should have been sacked after the second showdown in 2017. If not then, after the Elimination Final.

2016 is the one year I can actually forgive. We were smashed by injuries that year and lost Ryder through suspension.

That said, he should have been sacked after the second showdown in 2017. If not then, after the Elimination Final.
It was 2015 that was horrible , we were meant to "flick the switch" in 2016 , we never did. There was always excuses. Later on Ken got a free pass due to covid and the leg up we got out of that.

Completely agree. And the second worst thing was the 2020 extension.

The thing about the 2020 extension is that I was reasonably OK with the extension it self. But why wouldn't you put performance incentives into the contract? If Hinkley wasn't happy about it for whatever reason then we should've just told him to piss off. It was always going to be a massive risk he was going to s**t the bed going into the final year of his contract.
If we're talking diabolical, I think the lack of accountability is right up there with the extensions. It's everyone else's fault, but Teflon Kenny seems to have a perennial escape clause.

Koch is a w***er and needs to get out of the club and off sunrise. This morning reporting that Essendon are "into Ken" and Koch quickly mentions, "tell them they are dreaming" and "why would Ken want to go to a club like Essendon"

Extension imminent
I really dont know what else you expected him to say. Seeing they didn't sack him 3 weeks ago, he needs to publicly back him.
I just hope deep down its a front and its like here have him essendon, we have Kingsley anyway.

I really dont know what else you expected him to say. Seeing they didn't sack him 3 weeks ago, he needs to publicly back him.
I just hope deep down its a front and its like here have him essendon, we have Kingsley anyway.
You're talking the bloke who has extended ken infinitum because of 'reasons'

Dude is scared to lose the loser just incase he's successful anywhere else.

How on earth have we fell into more debt than 2010-2012 when we have twice the amount of members, at least 30-40k to our games each week, no licence fees and better stadium deal?

They should all be sacked.

We’re still paying off our AFL license (again) to 2028 or 2029.

Stadium deal is still terrible. The sweetener is home finals are essentially clean (cue back to back QF/PF’s with heavy COVID restrictions).

Koch is a w***er and needs to get out of the club and off sunrise. This morning reporting that Essendon are "into Ken" and Koch quickly mentions, "tell them they are dreaming" and "why would Ken want to go to a club like Essendon"

Extension imminent

Every day this dilletante is at our club is further embarrassment for us.

Nothing. I expect him to shut the **** up. But that is beyond him.

The thing is he thinks he's Eddie but doesn't have an ounce of the leverage.

He clearly predicates the bulk of his bluster on entertainment value, reach, clicks, attention and vanity.

When McGuire got on his soapbox on behalf of Collingwood, it was realpolitik.

Therein lies the ultimate difference.

Sydney theatregoer versus genuine footy lifer.

You're talking the bloke who has extended ken infinitum because of 'reasons'

Dude is scared to lose the loser just incase he's successful anywhere else.
I reckon he's more scared that the new coach won't be his mate, and will make him feel uncomfortable. It's such a toxic situation!!!!!

He clearly predicates the bulk of his bluster on entertainment value, reach, clicks, attention and vanity.

When McGuire got on his soapbox on behalf of Collingwood, it was realpolitik.

Therein lies the ultimate difference.

Sydney theatregoer versus genuine footy lifer.

You're right. I should have said, he models these kinds of things on Eddie as something a chairman is supposed to say in these kinds of situations. There is no strategy behind it. It is just a bloke playing a part.

We really need a board that pulls him the **** into line.

David Koch - The Chairman of the Board