David Koch - The Chairman of the Board

"Success in the AFL is not about one or two people – it is a whole program – list management, coaching, player development, high performance etc – and you have to add to it year on year."

Success in the AFL might not be about one or tow people but we are proving that failure can be, if those people are the Chairman and the coach. They, with the CEO and the GM set the club's and the mens' team's path. To say that success is not about them is just a sop, particularly when both the coach and the Chairman would definitely make any success they happened upon all about them.

Most of his "Financial Expert" stuff is basic Barefoot Investor tier any rate.
None of these financial journalists are experts per se, in the doing, just in the reporting of what is done. Be it the guys from Bloomberg, CNBC, Sky Business News, Fox Business channel, AFR, Financial Times, the Economist etc.

At least a guy like Scott Phillips who is the finance guy on 9's Late News, is The Motley Fool’s Chief Investment Officer in Australia, so he does a lot more of the doing than the majority of the financial journalists you see on TV, hear on the radio and read in papers/online.

If they were true experts in the doing, they would be doing and be very wealth individuals - just that they are good at reporting what the wealthy are doing and how they do it.

To be fair, Koch has done well with his media businesses, that talk about doing business, but they are small niche players. You don't have to be Coles or Woolies to do well in retailing, there are lots of niche retailers who do well.

Koch made his name - after working for Fairfax business magazine group, and was sent to London by Robert Gottliebsen after they purchased a group of British business magazines and he helped run them - when he started/financed his first publication Personal Investment magazine in the late 80's, which was aimed at the average person, whereas Business Review Weekly where he started under Robert Gottliebsen, was aimed at the corporate professional. He was there at the early days of consumer finance focused journalism, so that's why he gets the financial expert tag.

Personal Investment magazine, and others he published, was a Barefoot Investor type articles magazine, with a bit of the high end stuff thrown in there. I used to buy it for a couple years in the early 90's. He was doing alright, and in second half of the 90's, he bought shares in the Sydney Kings, got a gig as the Sky News business reporter in the studio, and then the reporting in the business section of 7 News Sydney.

I reckon the first time I saw him on 7 was in 1997 when I returned to Sydney from 18 months in Qld, and then I got pay TV, Optus Vision in early 1998 so I could watch Port games live on Channel 7's pay TV 24 hour sports channel C7, and most days he was on Sky News on their business report show and doing the short summary of business matters in their main news shows. Sky Business News channel started a few years after he went to Sunrise.

He got very lucky in 2002 and was asked to fill in on Sunrise whilst the host was on holidays, the audience liked him, 7 liked him, and soon after that, he got the gig full time.

Cue Punxsutawney Phil

Did you hear 'em talkin' 'bout it on the radio?
Did you try to read the writing on the wall?
Did that voice inside you say I've heard it all before?
It's like deja vu all over again

I punched in Robert Gottliebsen and David Koch into google and got this SMH article from April 2004, 16 months into his permanent gig at Sunrise. I reckon I read it back then.

There are too many gems in it to quote slabs of it. Read it and you can see that the more things change, the more they stay the same.

Kock is a poor mans Tom Piotrowski

tom-piotrowski-20121_1D0E24C0-02D3-11E6-8DA606B2CCB88DF3.jpg

I mean, to be fair to him, the stuff you guys are watching him on is literally aimed at people who have no or limited idea about money/business. Watch him on the ausbiz channel and you'll see that he knows his stuff.

The issue with Koch is that he doesn't know how to run a successful football club. A stable, mediocre football club, maybe. But not a successful one.

Koch doesn't make as many errors as Tom.

Can't remember who, but someone on Big Footy about 10 years ago deliberately called him Pitrovsky or something similar, saying he will deliberately make an error in spelling his name to acknowledge all the errors Tom makes. Edit think it might have been black cat.

Koch doesn't make as many errors as Tom.

Can't remember who, but someone on Big Footy about 10 years ago deliberately called him Pitrovsky or something similar, saying he will deliberately make an error in spelling his name to acknowledge all the errors Tom makes.

He looks like he modelled his wardrobe on Wall Street. That's what successful people must look like!

Anyone catch that excerpt on AA today about a function today attended by Koch where he discusses “for the first time” about him and John Olsen not getting along and referring back to 2012 where Olsen as SANFL chairman or whatever was trying to screw us over in a one on one conversation? Something about Olsen saying we were servants to the SANFL and had to toe the line rather than have our own license.

This is old news.

Koch as usual is full of turgid sludge and is only coming out with this (again) because of the looming Showdown and him feeling under pressure as chairman in the perceived opinion of much more than a ‘tiny minority’ of the member / supporter demographic.

He’s as easy to read as an Enid Blyton primary school primer.

One they often have on the ABC is Craig James, who I reckon is the brother of our one time CEO John James - possibly even twin brother going by the resemblance:

1660898476405.png

1660898508193.png

Wouldn't be surprised if they're related to the late Clive James - they've all got the same head.

We got Koch for the high profile? Apparently? Because the Hawks had Kennett and Collingwood had McGuire? We needed to make the club relevant so we got the TV host?
We got Koch for his finance expertise?

Yet other clubs in debt have made ground on it and other premiers you wouldn't have known who their presidents were until they became premiers.

Melbourne win a flag and are now relevant. So to Richmond.

We don't need Koch.

We got Koch for the high profile? Apparently? Because the Hawks had Kennett and Collingwood had McGuire? We needed to make the club relevant so we got the TV host?
We got Koch for his finance expertise?

Yet other clubs in debt have made ground on it and other premiers you wouldn't have known who their presidents were until they became premiers.

Melbourne win a flag and are now relevant. So to Richmond.

We don't need Koch.
You're always one flag away from relevance and one salary cap/drugs saga away from extended time in the doldrums

I dont really like Koch, but really the only questions are - has he been able to resource/lead the football club in the short term so that it can compete at its very best. Is the future plan looking strong?

Everyone’s just pissed at him cause he didn’t sack Ken.

In the end it’s all about winning a flag or two in a Vic centric competition. There are so many advantages being a Victorian club, less travel, greater recruitment options, more media money for players, higher and more suitable level reserves comp, playing GFs on home ground, the father-sons which still give Geelong advantage.

Sydney and WC are the only interstate clubs who have won flags after their initial recruitment into the comp. (Brisbane we’re given a super team after buying Fitzroy). Freo/GC/GWS never got there.

So anyway PAFC has to almost have everything going right for us from a board level down to be able to win a GF. We r also still embroiled in Prison bar debate/disadvantages in SANFL comp, and so on. Protesting and working through the actual disadvantages takes up a lot of resource/time.

Koch and Thomas (and Ken) did do a whole lot right. It is pretty frustrating as a fan, when basically we have been in a slow rebuild for a long time. The list was awful when Ken came on board. Now it still has holes, but there is a big core of youth coming through, who have had finals experience, and we have cash for recruitment.

I love that our club is united - look at Essendon.

Anyway, I still wouldn’t mind a changing of the guard, more so Ken, but at Koch’s level the club is actually going ok considering.

I dont really like Koch, but really the only questions are - has he been able to resource/lead the football club in the short term so that it can compete at its very best. Is the future plan looking strong?

In the end it’s all about winning a flag or two in a Vic centric competition. There are so many advantages being a Victorian club, less travel, greater recruitment options, more media money for players, higher and more suitable level reserves comp, playing GFs on home ground, the father-sons which still give Geelong advantage.

Sydney and WC are the only interstate clubs who have won flags after their initial recruitment into the comp. (Brisbane we’re given a super team after buying Fitzroy). Freo/GC/GWS never got there.

So anyway PAFC has to almost have everything going right for us from a board level down to be able to win a GF. We r also still embroiled in Prison bar debate/disadvantages in SANFL comp, and so on. Protesting and working through the actual disadvantages takes up a lot of resource/time.

Koch and Thomas (and Ken) did do a whole lot right. It is pretty frustrating as a fan, when basically we have been in a slow rebuild for a long time. The list was awful when Ken came on board. Now it still has holes, but there is a big core of youth coming through, who have had finals experience, and we have cash for recruitment.

Anyway, I still wouldn’t mind a changing of the guard, more so Ken, but at Koch’s level the club is actually going ok considering.
Koch has been chairman for 10 years.
Inherited a debit of 5m. Since then move to Adelaide Oval, 3 major sponsors, exponential growth in membership, revised and supposedly better stadium deal, now debt of 12m. Stability and unwavering belief in their 'fully funded' football programme has netted zero premierships, embarrassing SANFL presence and donuts Hinkley.
Onya Kochie and Board.

If we had moved Ken on people would forget Koch, trouble is he hasn’t and I fear we are now on a slippery slope to being front and centre next year for the wrong reason if and when things fall apart.

The old saying insanity is doing the same thing expecting a different result is Ports 2023. Sure assistants come and go but the one constant in Kenny will run it as he sees fits and piss off the next assistant.

I feel like we are biding time now, and I hate that. Other teams will keep going past us.

It feels we are locked in with Saints, Bulldogs, GC, GWS, Hawks for the next 3 years.

How so?

We are in massive amounts of debt and last year we lost a senior assistant and an assistant without really replacing them.

The program is not fully funded nor successful

On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app

David Koch - The Chairman of the Board