Mega Thread Dayne Beams trade (Its over, thread closed)

What do you support the club to do? (Opposition respondents will be carded)

Though my head says "don't get involved in this #$@&fight whilst the hounds are baying for blood" some realism is always a good point of view. Beamer has requested a trade back home for family reasons. Some want to call him a liar, I'm not one of them. If he wants to be closer to his dad for what's left then good on him. Watching him play you could never doubt the boy's loyalty and here is just another example.
For all of us that deal with cancer, you don't beat it, you escape it for a while and then it catches you and you try and escape it again. You always know what is going to happen in the end. For Beamer to want to be there for his dad, I take great personal solace in that. Having your family close is the best medicine you can get.
Do any of you remember when Jimmy Clement retired? He did so at the peak of his powers because his wife was very ill. Did you all cry "blue murder" back then? FGS this is bigger than footy its about family and responsibility.
If Beamer does go, I wish him all the best. He was a wonderful number 17 after Burnsy and has given the club consummate effort in his time here. You go with the love and respect of at least one Collingwood family mate and I suspect when the rubbish cools down the greater % of the larger Collingwood family will understand and support your decision too.
Play well Beamer, and all the best to your family.

And to those of you that want to criticise a boy for wanting to support his dad....I'm ashamed of you....you're all better than that.

and to the mighty troll "Hysteria" or whatever his name is....it's profound that name: it's exactly what he's trying to achieve. Smother fires before they get out of hand folks, starve this tiny man of oxygen by simply IGNORING him.

We are re building, as much as I'd love to have dangerfield we don't need him right now. We need aish and pick 4 that is it. Pick 4 is no where near enough for beams in his own. He is a premiership player and in the top 20 players in the league. 2nd best at collingwood and is just coming into his prime. Will a player at pick 4 guarantee you that. Probably not, pick 1 yes, but not pick 4 in this years draft.

Guess I better leave as it getting to Emotional in here

No Dave you don't have to leave, just be mindful that other supporters have their favourite players too.
They aren't all just merchandise to us. Some of them are special.

Don't blame the club or Beams on this one people.

Yes I don't think our future is anywhere near as great as other people think but such is life, it hurts but we will always be ahead of clubs like Brisbane, StKilda and Melbourne unless the AFL give them a 2 million extra cap.

If we get draft picks for him, we will probably finish lower than this season.

Bugger. If it's for family reasons then we should do what we can.

As for compensation, Dangerfield has to be asked about. Pick 4 and Aish seems right for him, danger for Beams feels too much like a win for us and pick 4 and Aish might be a bit much for Lions.

A fringe player or our 3rd round for Lions 4th might be needed. I'd be ok with this if we could use that 4th to nab Clark somehow.

Im not sure why a lot of people seem to think that pick 4 + another player is a good deal. AA midfields don't come along very often and Beams would be a serious Brownlow chance with the rubbish midfield squad they have at Brisbane. We can honestly do better than that. Gold Coast have some serious young stock and can offer us much more.

If we could attract O'meara or Prestia (both of which Gold Coast would give up for Beams), and then make a serious run at Dangerfield with our leftover funds. Pendles, Danger, O'meara, Adams, Steele would be a well above average midfield in the coming years.

Anything less than legit, guaranteed, proven young talent is honestly a massive loss for us and could send us into years of mediocrity.

With respect, Martin stayed at Richmond because no other club wanted him. That will not be the case with Beams.
Essendon and GWS wanted him.
Leon Cameron has stated publicly he honestly thought dusty wanted to stay at richmond.

Beams and Dustys off field rumours are very similar mate

Just trying to give some perspective, it's impossible not to overrate your own players.

I still think it will work out good for you guys.

You'll get Mitch Clark for almost nothing, get another 2 top 10 picks. Remember that there's no clear number 1 this year, the top 4 are really even.

Then you'll have the cap space next year (with swan getting a reduced deal) to sign danger for nothing.

I reckon you guys are hard on Buckley, I reckon his building a pretty talented list with this mini rebuild.
Geez, if it all turned out like that I wouldn't even be mad...but I can't see us getting Dangerfield yet.

Beams still could stay.
Dusty walked around GWS last year because he wanted to be with his dad and he stayed.
Dusty did name Cotch and Hardwick as his idols.

If beams really does love collingwood he will stay.
It would obviously be harder because his old man is sick.

I think in Dusty's case, if reports are too be believed, it was also because he and his agent realised that this his value (because of all the off-field concerns) was nowhere near where it could have been... in which case that was another reason it made sense to just stay at Richmond.

Though I do agree with the sentiment... and hope there is some way the club can comprimise and keep him happy to stay... I just don't think that is practical or likely.

No Dave you don't have to leave, just be mindful that other supporters have their favourite players too.
They aren't all just merchandise to us. Some of them are special.

I get it. I am also Pissed that he is Leaving but I am just trying to put a Positive On it

Im not sure why a lot of people seem to think that pick 4 + another player is a good deal. AA midfields don't come along very often and Beams would be a serious Brownlow chance with the rubbish midfield squad they have at Brisbane. We can honestly do better than that. Gold Coast have some serious young stock and can offer us much more.

If we could attract O'meara or Prestia (both of which Gold Coast would give up for Beams), and then make a serious run at Dangerfield with our leftover funds. Pendles, Danger, O'meara, Adams, Steele would be a well above average midfield in the coming years.

Anything less than legit, guaranteed, proven young talent is honestly a massive loss for us and could send us into years of mediocrity.

If they gave us O'Meara I'd drive Beams to the airport myself.

Ain't happening.