Mega Thread Delist/Trade/Draft Supermegaultrathread - Now Starts A Long Offseason

I believe Waterman and Sheed made a pretty good inside tandem at last year's Champs. Sheed, Waterman, Yeo, Shuey, Scooter seems like a decent crop of IM's provided Sheed and Waterman develop as expected. If you look at Sheed vs this year's IM's, I'd say he'd come out as close to the best.

At the start of this season the best prospects were Smith, Lamb, Goddard. All 3 seem to have dropped of for whatever reason, but if the past has taught us anything it's that guys who drop off in their final juniors season (e.g, Rich, Darling, Dunstan, Aish,etc) often come good in an AFL environment. Hence I wouldn't be surprised if we picked one of them.

Thanks for sharing. Pretty good pace but he did get a lot of sheppards on his behalf which helped I think. Would certainly be valuable to our team, but I think we have greater needs for our 1st pick.

His pace is way better than pretty good, I have watched a shit loan of this kid play and he will end up being in the
top 2 or 3 players in the AFL for pace.
As for needs he is exactly what we need, and something we dont have.
He also plays subiaco oval very well, its hard to describe how exciting this kid can be when he is on, he is breathtaking.
He has elite kicking and pace and can shake of a tackle as he has great core strength.

He can tackle very very well just doesn't do it very often.

My main concern is his ignoring his opponent, who can work of him as he goes only one way at this stage.

Did anyone watch the footy show on thursday night ?
I missed it.
There's a post on the draft board that said O'meara wanted out of GC.
Is this true ?
I thought he was contracted to 2015 or 2016 ?

Did anyone watch the footy show on thursday night ?
I missed it.
There's a post on the draft board that said O'meara wanted out of GC.
Is this true ?
I thought he was contracted to 2015 or 2016 ?

Maybe we got in his ear last weekend? If so, pull out the cheque book and start talking to his manager. Pick 10 plus our best & fairest seems fair?

Can't beleive people say Pickett doesn't have a contested game. Generally he's small, and doesn't win a whole lot of hard ball but his agility and speed is elite, making him exceptionally good in congestion.

agree Masto , and think everyone is forgetting about Waterman as well ..

what do you think about Ryan Lim and Francis Watson ?

Lim's last month of football has been better. But Lim has a lot of ball handling and disposal issues that he needs to correct, but he's an elite runner and a great all rounder in terms of his inside and outside balance. I rate Harrison Court higher, not in the ball winning stakes but in terms of his disposal and ability to play the modern game due to his size. Just needs to realize his abilities.

Dark Sharks you mentioned DeGoey as a first rounder.

You do realise he's not a mid he is a utility player that doesn't get a lot of the footy.
Averages 17 possesion's a game, I would be extremely pissed of if we drafted him.
We need mids and cant see him ever being one.

Dark Sharks you mentioned DeGoey as a first rounder.

You do realise he's not a mid he is a utility player that doesn't get a lot of the footy.
Averages 17 possesion's a game, I would be extremely pissed of if we drafted him.
We need mids and cant see him ever being one.

I refuse to believe Sharks made a mistake, you sure your numbers are correct? :)

Im sure its all completely bullcrap, but one can dream.
Offer him 650-700k

Selwood + Brown > melb for Pick 2
Pick 2 + 10 > GC

Still don't think it would do it.
Mate, I like JOM, but that's Judd compo. Scooter/Brown plus Pick 10 plus extras should get it done, don't believe GC would be interested in picks anymore, though you never know.

Can't beleive people say Pickett doesn't have a contested game. Generally he's small, and doesn't win a whole lot of hard ball but his agility and speed is elite, making him exceptionally good in congestion.

Lim's last month of football has been better. But Lim has a lot of ball handling and disposal issues that he needs to correct, but he's an elite runner and a great all rounder in terms of his inside and outside balance. I rate Harrison Court higher, not in the ball winning stakes but in terms of his disposal and ability to play the modern game due to his size. Just needs to realize his abilities.

From the champs footage he seemed to avoid the contest, but seemed to gravitate toward players when with the ball (I'm assuming to draw them in or juke them).

What's the goss on DeLuca? Chance of a rookie pick for us or will he get drafted?

List Changes Candidates:
Confirmed:
Darren Glass (retired)
Dean Cox (retired)

Pick 3 to 5 from the below...

Not yet signed:

Jacob Brennan
Ashley Smith
Blayne Wilson
Adam Carter
Simon Tunbridge

Signed:
Beau Waters (Retire?)
Sharrod Wellingham (delist/ trade?)

What do folks here think of Brayden Maynard as one of WC's selections? If you don't know much about him, here's a little on him:

http://boundforglorynews.com/2014-draft-profile-brayden-maynard/

Given WC's 2nd rounder will likely be in the early 30's, I think Maynard's potential to eventually become predominantly an IM rather than merely a defensive HFF, or at the very least a midfield rotation, may make for reasonable value given the pick. (Read the article as to his pros and cons.)

OK, let me give you an example Eastern Rangers. In the Vic M game, 3 VM players were streaming down the wing. Closest player was Pickett. He was trotting down the middle, didn't change direction and angle his run towards the 3 players, just dawdling back towards the defensive goal. Blind freddy could see the ball was going to go down the wing to the 3 free players, which eventually happened. The VM got the ball and ran towards the 50, outer HF and Pickett almost ran him down. Wow, he's so fast my son said. You can guess my response? They still scored, so he didn't prevent that.;)

agree Masto , and think everyone is forgetting about Waterman as well ..

what do you think about Ryan Lim and Francis Watson ?

Wouldn't go for Ryan Lim. I've seen a few of his games and some highlights and it seems as though every time he gets it he's too eager to just slam it on the boot. As Masto said, he just blazes away too often and it just doesn't look like he has a lot of composure with the ball in hand.

List Changes Candidates:
Confirmed:
Darren Glass (retired)
Dean Cox (retired)

Pick 3 to 5 from the below...

Not yet signed:

Jacob Brennan
Ashley Smith
Blayne Wilson
Adam Carter
Simon Tunbridge

Signed:
Beau Waters (Retire?)
Sharrod Wellingham (delist/ trade?)

I am not sure I see a lot of value in retaining any of the five 'yet to be signed' list. IMO they have all been given enough time to develop/improve or don't have the skills set/mindset required to succeed at AFL level.

As I am chopping a lot of mid sized defenders the only proviso I would put on my previous comment is to make sure we have sufficient coverage there. This could come via the draft, FA or trading.

Tunbridge is the interesting one. Fits in with the physical profile we require and has showed goal kicking nous at WAFL level.

Unfortunately he can't seem to ever get a clear injury run or significant game time (it's bullshit the amount of times he's been sub).

What's the take on Lachie Weller? Looks impressive from what I've seen and should be available at our first pick

Tunbridge is the interesting one. Fits in with the physical profile we require and has showed goal kicking nous at WAFL level.

Unfortunately he can't seem to ever get a clear injury run or significant game time (it's bullshit the amount of times he's been sub).

Understand what you're saying.

My take is - if he was knocking down the door (I don't think he is) then he would have been in the team towards the end of the year when we collected our share of injuries. Methinks he has been on our list for (2yrs) and still looks like he has heaps to learn.

Wouldn't go for Ryan Lim. I've seen a few of his games and some highlights and it seems as though every time he gets it he's too eager to just slam it on the boot. As Masto said, he just blazes away too often and it just doesn't look like he has a lot of composure with the ball in hand.

I would have little to no interest in Lim as a defender but as a medium forward he is intriguing. Still probably nothing more than a late pick/rookie.

Tunbridge isn't much of an outside player - he doesn't run to the right spots and struggles to anticipate how the play develops. This is why his disposal numbers are so low. He might learn these things but i'm skeptical. I'd probably move him into the midfield as another Colledge-type project but that's probably a long-shot as well.

Mate, I like JOM, but that's Judd compo. Scooter/Brown plus Pick 10 plus extras should get it done, don't believe GC would be interested in picks anymore, though you never know.

JOM would be amazing for us! genuine A grader, he would make all of our midfielders that 5% better. Gold Coast need a power defender if they want to make finals next year, they would want MacKenzie + Pick#10 because JOM is contracted. Anything less then that and they wont trade him this year anyway...