Andrew Yoa
- Sep 29, 2014
- AFL Club
- Collingwood
Would your trade Treloar for Viney or Oliver?
Mature age players as KPP depth likeDunn or Roughead or a Ben Hudson is fine. Recruiting broken body 32 year old midfielders like Wells to a 3 year deal was something else.
It was obvious half way through last year that Varcoe was past his best. And Reid has been cooked for years.
Big difference between having an older player in the list as emergency depth and playing them (in the home and away season) over kids like Bianco and Rantall.
Varcoe should not have played 9 games this year. And we’ll be saying the same thing about Mayne next year when he is past his best but the coach refuses to concede that and give another kid a go
You lost me at A1 listI have gone in to bat for Buckley for years, as anyone on here who has been around a while will know. I preferred Buckley over Malthouse in the succession, a move I still think was right, but we're now at the point where we need to ask is Buckley maximising what I believe to be an A+ list.
Like Melbourne and GWS, we have a fantastic squad. But we need to ask is Buckley extracting maximum value from the team that Hine has constructed?
I doubt it. If we look across all lines, we have champion players everywhere. Moore, Maynard, Crisp, Pendlebury, Sidebottom, Adams, De Goey, Grundy (more later), Elliot. In isolation, they're all threats. But they are not being drawn together to become a potent force. The systems are in crisis.
What of the game plan? Geelong played well tonight, brilliantly, but we regularly saw Geelong players in paddocks of space. At one point there were four Cats players to one Pie near half forward in the 4th quarter. You can blame the players for not being in the position they were instructed to be in, or not giving clear instructions. But any way you want to dice that particular play, it rests with the coaching panel, and ultimately with Buckley.
Or does it? Partly, but not entirely I'd suggest.
Eddie McGuire is someone else I've defended over the years, and make no mistake his razzle dazzle was vital to reinvigourating the club in the dark years of the late 90s. But right now, the place is stale. There's no competition in talent, no fresh ideas to breath life into the place, just patch minding and arse covering. Collingwood is now like a mid 20th century American Union. McGuire is like Jimmy Hoffa. Once a hero that built a movement, but now just so far away from where we need to be it's not funny.
The zeitgeist is beyond him now. It's Vaudeville. It's a parody, sloppy sentimentalism.
I thank Eddie for his contribution but he has to go. We need a flat structure where football science is king, not a dominating figure that gets his way through force of personality. Over the last few years, no one has challenged Eddie and that's poor for innovation and ideas.
To be sure we needed to garner the Collingwood spirit and emotion to survive in the late 90s, but now we need to be in the channel of winning and ruthless decision making.
Moving Grundy and Stephenson on are two ruthless moves we should make while they still have value. McGuire cuddles are of no value to us. They have let us down. Not just on performance but attitude. I've found it disgusting if I'm frank, the way their poor efforts have been rewarded. I've seen on multiple occasions Stephenson berate his team mates, and Grundy has been a massive pea heart through the year. Barely getting off the ground in centre bounces.
If the culture was the problem, we need to address it. The Lumumba stuff has been a disruption and possibly a disaster in the group. How much of that mud stuck? It feels from the outside that it might have mattered and was possibly poorly handled. But who would know. The culture is opaque.
If we are rebuilding this club, the safest position should be Hine's. We need a clean sweep of the kind that the Tigers had with Brendan Gale: smart, modern, strategic. We're a massive club with massive brand value. We should be braining the competition and moving from emotion to systems.
Make no mistake. The Beams deal was well in tow by the time Ned Guy was officially allowed to start.It's an 18 team competition. We just finished 6th overall and 8th at the end of the home and away season. It was an unprecedentedly difficult season for Victorian teams.
Our big losses came after crossing a wounded West Coast at home. Melbourne in our 3rd game in 12 days. And a wounded Cats following severe media criticism, after our elation a week earlier in Perth. I think we were simply flat and had run out of steam after an incredibly difficult year.
I think our best stacks up. I think our list is in good shape.
I reckon we also learned that we only play our best when we play with a positive intent and release the shackles. We did that far too often this season and last season too.
This isn't a time to burn the house down, however we do need to learn our lessons and make some adjustments.
Buckley & the coaches
I'm tired of our dour defensive game style. When we dominate we still struggle to score which leaves our opponent with a chance no matter how poor they play. It's also a bore to watch.
We have a great group of midfielders and a quality ruck yet are frequently beaten at centre clearances. This to me indicates we are either over rating our players are getting outcoached. I think it's the latter.
I think Walsh needs to step in here, as footy director and Buckley's boss. Buckley has a year to run on his contract and I think he will see it out. I would be giving him the strategic direction that next year he needs to play a more positive style of football. I would also refresh his assistants, Harvey has been in a senior or midfield role the entire time we have struggled and we seem stagnant and out of ideas. Give Bucks different and better support. If he can't lift in his final year a tough call needs to be made.
Guy & list management
It concerns me that Guy oversaw the Beams deal. It also concerns me that Ed is rumoured to have stepped in to pressure it to occur, which is totally inappropriate. The rumours of our salary cap issues continue to persist and its hard to know whether there is truth to it. I think we need to correct this and should be looking closely at how we deal with Beams, Langdons, Phillips (and if we recruit a key forward) Cox's salaries so we can get some breathing space.
It's also absolutely critical, that with the age profile of our list, that we need to strengthen our draft hand and replenish our youth. We are in an enviable position with Reef and Daicos which allows us to maximise our position. This should be our main priority.
Hine & recruiting
Hine is going well in his role and I disagree with his criticism, except where it relates to his reluctance to use early draft picks on key position players. That needs to change and again reckon Walsh needs to step in with direction here. I just hope we don't go chasing a quick fix through trade instead give him the tools to do his thing. We'll be rewarded for it.
Make no mistake. The Beams deal was well in tow by the time Ned Guy was officially allowed to start.
A romantic gesture by Ed, who told Beams when he left that he was one of us and with Steele working on Bucks, I gather. Guy just had to broker the deal with the Lions and get the finances to work with a deal that was front end loaded. The call to entice and add the player was already done by the time Guy started.
We willcompete forwin a GF again in the next couple of years. Stay positive Pies fans.
If you'd have said this, instead of just making up the numbers, then your last sentence could be taken seriously.
I am taking it seriously. We are a player or two short ofcontendinga premiership(s). Injuries have not helped..
Again, you're not using the right language. Pie fans aren't interested in just contending - we've been contending infinitum since the league's inception, a gazillion GF losses and only 2 flags in the last 6 decades is wearing a bit thin for most. Hopefully the club is not content with just contending and actually makes the not much required changes to actually achieve success.
Whatever mate, silly post from you. Contending means you're in with a chance. You do not get much better of a chance without being a contender.
The past is the past. If you would like to talk about the past. We dominated this competition for 50+ years
Well that is just fantastic.. what is your quick fix for our club?Why is a factual post silly? Ask most Pie fans the forever teasing and rarely pleasing is getting tiresome. We're always in with a chance cause we're forever contending but never succeeding.
If you want to hang onto the past that ended more than 6 decades ago then good for you. You're pretty much alone with that content though.
Well that is just fantastic.. what is your quick fix for our club?
Well not that my opinion will have any baring on what the club will do but here goes:
Replace Sanderson and Harvey, two key areas in development of game style (mid and forward) that has declined visually in the last two seasons.
Clear out some deadwood players, thanks for your services Varcoe, Dunn, Berg, Wills, Broomy, etc.
IF our cap permits it, target a KPF of note while developing Kelly - if not if we can fix our game Cox could be a weapon again.
There's really not much that needs doing in my mind that gets us a flag(s).
As far as the thread title goes, Dekka is not really the issue, certainly not one we need to concentrate our efforts on.
Most of what you're saying is obvious in what will happen. Don't know about Sanderson or Harvey though, and I doubt they're the problem..
We need to get rid of plenty of deadwood. Including Cox , Lynch, Cameron..look at trading one or two stars as well. I would not be giving DeGoey big coin just yet.. trade him if he or his dad do not come to terms.
We are on the same page brother.. I also like Cox. If a suitable trade was made for him or DeGoey I would not be as devastated as some folks here..It's not obvious it will happen but it's my opinion you asked for. I think Cox can be a valuable weapon, wouldn't sell him down the river just yet. Unless Harves and Sando change their development ways I doubt our game will suit him though.
We have finished 2nd, 3rd/4th and 5th/6th over the past 3 years.... we have a great list.
Hine is one of the best talent ID recruiters in the country, hardly to blame for the sides ball moment and constant injury problems.
I have seen plenty on here call out Hine - yes, some list management decisions were questionable when he was in that role, but he has proven to be an incredible talent identifier, time and time again. The only significant blemish on his record is the Scharenberg/Freeman draft, both of which were injury, not talent failures.