Traded Dion Prestia [traded to Richmond with pick 24 for pick 6 and 2017 second rounder]

Settle pettle I'm not arguing that we will keep him just that my choice would be Prestia over pick 6

I take offence to the inference we are bending you over I would suggest you have bent yourself over by offering a 5 years to get a player to say yes, if you don't pull it off now is anyone else going to nominate you in the near future?
What we offer Prestia is mutually exclusive to what we offer GC. Don't try the muddy the water on what he is worth in trade value. At the moment GC are being unreasonable. Would need to give a better deal otherwise the deal is dead. You lose a player for nothing so not like GC come out unscathed also.

Known quantity and not worth 6.
He is not contracted that argument doesn't stick about keeping him. The deal will go through as soon GC stop trying to bend us over.

Rubbish. $700k a year for 5 years says pick 6 is unders. It's Richmond's credibility as a destination club that is on the line

Is that the same feeling you had about paying 2 first draft picks for Treloar, making him the most expensive player as far as draft picks in history?

More expensive than Judd and Dangerfield.

Is it a similar feeling, I hope so

Mate facts are pretty easy to understand. The Treloar deal is not up for conjecture as it has already happen. Look up the deal and then come back, it will stop you embarrassing yourself. I'd still be happy if in fact it was two first rounders for just Treloar but of course it wasn't. Put it this way we wouldn't have also got Aish if we didn't get what came back our way in addition to Treloar.

It would be like me saying you paid pick six for Prestia, despite getting Prestia and pick 30 for pick 6 if that was to happen.

Rubbish. $700k a year for 5 years says pick 6 is unders. It's Richmond's credibility as a destination club that is on the line
So the contract's value is how you judge a players football worth? Chris Mayne must be a gun then. The same logic here (although different circumstance) we outbid other clubs to get him to nominate us but what we negotiate is what he is worth.

Don't care about your emotive rhetoric, the club has do a deal in it's best interest. Would rather Bowes from the Gold Coast Academy for pick 6.

how do u know he getting $700 per year??
If Prestia had been an all australian like Jake Carlise, sure pick 5 or 6 is fair. But he's not and pick 6 is overs..

What we offer Prestia is mutually exclusive to what we offer GC. Don't try the muddy the water on what he is worth in trade value. At the moment GC are being unreasonable. Would need to give a better deal otherwise the deal is dead. You lose a player for nothing so not like GC come out unscathed also.
Disagree that we are in anyway unreasonable and the Tigers are not going to walk away, you know that as well as I do.

Rubbish rubbish.
A contract does not dictate a player's trade value.
Is Kurt Tippett worth pick 6? Not sure too many clubs would be willing to do that deal, and he even gets on the park most weeks.

If the suns hold out on sending a 2nd round pick back even though they can't actually take them all to the draft, then who is the disruptive party here?

And if richmond comes up with a pick around 10 - 15 (which is what most reasonable people put his value at) and they refuse that then again who is the dispruptive party?
Tony Cochrane has publicly stated that he's going to make things difficult, so why should the other clubs who have been around for more than 5 minutes pay overs for out of contract players to appease the ego of a franchise administrator?

I hope rfc prioritizes recruiting quality players for fair value above perceived credibility among footy nuffies.

how do u know he getting $700 per year??
If Prestia had been an all australian like Jake Carlise, sure pick 5 or 6 is fair. But he's not and pick 6 is overs..

Yeah but I think everyone has agreed that it is not going to be pick 6 straight. There is going to be other picks in there. So its not like Prestia=#6.

And out of curiosity, what could Richmond realistically offer besides #6 and swap? Next years 1st? That will most likely be around what you have now, no? You don't have 2nd round picks to combine. Players? But it would be hard to find players who are of the right value and want to come.

Pick 6 is too high. especially given the quality at the top of the draft. Pick 6 and pick 27 for Prestia and 10 (gives him a value of pick 18).
Well good luck with that, hopefully for Dions sake sanity prevails

Pick 6 is too high. especially given the quality at the top of the draft. Pick 6 and pick 27 for Prestia and 10 (gives him a value of pick 18).

He is definitely worth more than pick 18

Pick 18
2015: Jade Gresham
2014: Heeney.. not legit (so 17. Langford, 19 Boekhorst)
2013: Dunstan
2012: Grundy (17. Josh simpson, 19. Ben Kennedy)
2011: Brad Mckenzie
2010: Matthew Watson
2009: Luke Tapscott
2008: Luke Shuey

Have to go back to 2008 to find someone better than Prestia, more value than Prestia, would trade for over Prestia. Grundy is the only other candidate that would even consider a close call.

Prestia is definitely worth more than 18.

So the contract's value is how you judge a players football worth? Chris Mayne must be a gun then. The same logic here (although different circumstance) we outbid other clubs to get him to nominate us but what we negotiate is what he is worth.

Don't care about your emotive rhetoric, the club has do a deal in it's best interest. Would rather Bowes from the Gold Coast Academy for pick 6.
Exaclty.. would you have given a second round pick for mayne on the open market.

Honestly I would walk away from the deal, get him to put a massive price on his head front load the deal and take our chances in the PSD, if we miss out so be it but GC get nothing and the club that takes him takes a whack to the salary CAP...

I would ring GC today and tell them 6 is off the table and we are taking it to the draft and we want your academy kid, let's concentrate on the other deals to maximise our draft position.

Negotiating is all about leverage and GC has none in this situation as they are losing the player anyway, the player has nominated us and we are one of the few clubs that has the CAP space, we hold all the cards we just have to be prepared to walk away from the deal.

Nah he is worth more than that.

I reckon he is worth about pick 10-14 IMO.

The pick 6 will slide to pick 8 with academy picks.

29 to 24 (after academies) doesn't quite bridge that gap.

The main thing I am disappointed in is the club couldn't get more creative and downgrade pics ect.

Reckon it will end up being pick 6 and 27 for Prestia and 22.

Pick 6 is about right. Richmond don't want to pay the price. Prestia should look elsewhere or stay at Gold Coast and players should refuse to look at moves to Richmond

Careful, your hate toward Richmond is showing.

He is definitely worth more than pick 18

Pick 18
2015: Jade Gresham
2014: Heeney.. not legit (so 17. Langford, 19 Boekhorst)
2013: Dunstan
2012: Grundy (17. Josh simpson, 19. Ben Kennedy)
2011: Brad Mckenzie
2010: Matthew Watson
2009: Luke Tapscott
2008: Luke Shuey

Have to go back to 2008 to find someone better than Prestia, more value than Prestia, would trade for over Prestia. Grundy is the only other candidate that would even consider a close call.

Prestia is definitely worth more than 18.
Why not mention 2007 o_O 18 Alex Rance

There is the strategic importance of pick 6 and potentially having a few 3 hits before you match Bowes. That may not happen (depends on appeasing Brisbane as part of the Hanley trade and whether GWS can get pick 5.
This draft pool is rated highly, so not that unreasonable. Possible there would need to be steak knives added.

Honestly I would walk away from the deal, get him to put a massive price on his head front load the deal and take our chances in the PSD, if we miss out so be it but GC get nothing and the club that takes him takes a whack to the salary CAP...

I would ring GC today and tell them 6 is off the table and we are taking it to the draft and we want your academy kid, let's concentrate on the other deals to maximise our draft position.

Negotiating is all about leverage and GC has none in this situation as they are losing the player anyway, the player has nominated us and we are one of the few clubs that has the CAP space, we hold all the cards we just have to be prepared to walk away from the deal.
Chill out man you will blow a blood vessel, over what a draft pick that has no guarantee to be anything

Why not mention 2007 o_O 18 Alex Rance

There is the strategic importance of pick 6 and potentially having a few 3 hits before you match Bowes. That may not happen (depends on appeasing Brisbane as part of the Hanley trade and whether GWS can get pick 5.
This draft pool is rated highly, so not that unreasonable. Possible there would need to be steak knives added.

Because I went back to the last year their was a better player. Which was 2008 Luke Shuey.

We'll add the steak knives.

Pick 6 is about right. Richmond don't want to pay the price. Prestia should look elsewhere or stay at Gold Coast and players should refuse to look at moves to Richmond

Perhaps we should just cheat so we get pick 1..... the Bummers perennial cheaters, salary caps, brown paper bags, injections, what's next..... draft tampering? Oh I forgot you did that with Heppel.... you shouldn't even have a club in this comp.

Negotiating is all about leaving meat on the bone for the other party, particularly when the other party is bound to be someone you do business with in the future. It's not about 'winning' the deal.

Prestia is obviously someone you've courted for a long time, walking away now in a huff hurts your club in the long term IMO.

Chill out man you will blow a blood vessel, over what a draft pick that has no guarantee to be anything

The top 6 players in this draft are all very very good players, you have a very good but injury prone player that wants out, is uncontracted and has said he will not play for your club again, you should take what you can get before you get nothing.

Traded Dion Prestia [traded to Richmond with pick 24 for pick 6 and 2017 second rounder]