Disgusting, Arrogant, Cocky Hawthorn Fans **MB Thread **

Re: Disgusting, Arrogant, Cocky Hawthorn Fans

Its funny, we see so many threads about Hawthorn fans nasty, cocky behaviour and they always say - oh, every team has them - and that's true, but it appears you just have so many, many, many more of them. To the point where it would be accurate to say some hawthorn fans aren't arseholes.

My parents have been going to the footy since the year dot, and have done pretty much every feral experience you can imagine - Victoria Park when the Krakeours were playing, Footy Park, the lot - and they said that the Hawthorn fans in Round 3 this year were the nastiest, most immature, up themselves for no reason, aggresively crap bunch they'd ever had the misfortune to encounter.

Go rattle a tin.

Clown.

actually not surprised by the OP. been to many games this year and without doubt the most obnoxious behaviour was at the Dorks game. plenty of teenage prats in brand new jumpers, foul mouthed kids and bandwagoners who make fools off themselves with their lack of understanding of the rules. All of course presided over by one of the most despised people in Victoria's history - definitely a culture issue here

Merchandising sales are soaring at Waverley Park and are on track to more than double last year's merchandising revenue of $1.45million.

In over 20 years of going to the footy, I've never had something as bad as the OP... I've heard of many ridiculous drunken run-ins, but never really suffered.

It stinks if people just can't go to the footy and be at least marginally civilised... f*cksticks

Its true, we have been at it all season.

However there does seem to be a significant element of the Hawthorn support who act like they are in online Bay13 at the actual footy, which is pretty crap.

I can guarantee that I am not one of them though. I enjoy the actual football too much to concern myself with others although I do get pretty vocal, win or lose.

Also, I just don't like beer that is in plastic cups.:eek:

At the Lions vs Hawks game up here at the Gabba me and my mate were contronted by Hawks fans at half time.

Summit to say Hawks fans have to be softest fans I've ever met, even softer than Fremantle fans.

Hawks fans talk the talk, but they dont walk the walk.

I can guarantee that I am not one of them though. I enjoy the actual football too much to concern myself with others although I do get pretty vocal, win or lose.

Also, I just don't like beer that is in plastic cups.:eek:

Its like with the Buddy phenomenon.

Had the Internet and BF been around in 93 when i was 17 and carey just burst onto the scene, I reckon I would have been annoying as all get out talking him up too.

Think we are a pretty good bunch overall at Hawthorn...but like any club there are bound to be a few idiots...I in no way condone fighting at the footy or drinking ridiculous amounts that lead to serious derogatory barbs...

Having said that, how many people want to acknowledge the 99% of fans that were well behaved, that cheered Harvs when he was carried through the Hawk guard of honour....not many.

Again, enjoy a friendly bit of banter and beer with the opp (not over them) but don't try to be a 20 beer hero. Had no problems where I was last night, the mutual respect for both sides was there.

Now bring on the big day!!! Go Hawks!

The new Collingwood....like the ring to that....perhaps we can go the double and be the new Collingwood/Carlton after we tear Geelong a new one on Saturday lol.

Nah being serious now (even on B13), look forward to a good game and having a bit of friendly banter and laughs with a few Cats over some beers on Sat!

I admire your clubs rebuild off field. But it can't be denied you've got loads of bandwagon supporters.

Of course.
We're winning.
What we have more of though, are a bunch of kids whose childhood was one grand final after another and premierships every other year, that are now old enough to buy memberships and merchandise for themselves.

I wouldn't question the integrity of our 40,000 too much: I've got a membership for your club, and so do plenty of other non-north supporters this year.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Most of the Saints supporters I saw were fine. Like any club there will always be a few total tools. I have no problems with some fun friendly banter but physical altercation is out of line...whether they be Saints or Hawks.

The bottom line is the retaliator is probably more likely to be kicked out than the instigator (so seems the logic of security today). If someone wants to 'go you', tell them to kindly 'clear orf' back to their territory. If they then continue to approach and touch you, hopefully the rest of the boys just back you up and hold the twit until security and the cops can throw him the book if he so much as lays a hand on you after you've told him to 'clear orf'!.

By all means again, engage in friendly banter, have a beer and shake hands at the end....but leave the physical crap from fans to other sports. Play the ball not the man as they say! Go the mighty Hawks!

For the record, I was with the cheer squad proud of the Harvey Guard of Honour and the conduct of fellow Hawks around me.

So if I went to the G in January and sat in the old Bay 13 area, I could then assume that ALL Australians are drunken idiots?

Please.

Disgusting, Arrogant, Cocky Hawthorn Fans **MB Thread **