Disgusting Behaviour

Was watching North Melbourne V Sydney in 2005 at the (then) NMFC Social Club at Ethiad Stadium. Within the first minute of play, one nearby gentleman saw fit to let fly with 'grab the **** (think the worst swear word possible, one that represents female genitalia)', all within earshot of a table of senior citizens.

Without doubt the most disgraceful thing I've been a witness to in my 20 years following VFL/AFL.

Just to offer a different perspective .. my first AFL game was the 2004 H&A Port v Geelong at AAMI. Sat directly behind the Port cheer squad, next to some Geelong supporters. Very tight game and the guy next to me, who'd been quite pleasant, saw an umpiring decision to his distaste, and like all good footy fans, loudly pointed this out .. I'd heard far worse at NRL games and thought nothing of it, but his wife immediately remonstrated with him saying "there are children around", and there wasn't a peep out of him for the rest of the afternoon

I must admit though when I go to the footy I try and sit in a "dry" bay - it's great to have banter with oppo fans, but on the grog you never know how people will react.

Was anyone sitting near Level 2, Aisle 37, Row E on Friday night?

This absolute tossa of an Essendon supporter was making the biggest c*** of himself that even his own mates didn't want to be seen near him.

A classic case of his stupidity was the fact that for the first quarter all he did was call Thomas a ******. Not until Thomas took it on the wing, baulked and delivered inside beautifully to assist a super goal from Dayne Beams did he sit down and stfu. Two minutes later though he was banging on about how DT was only playing on a rookie.

Anyway, by the end of the night some other w***er (Collingwood supporter) had decided he wanted a punch on with this bloke and they just starting hurling abuse at each other.

The worst part about it was that F-Bombs, C-Bombs etc were being thrown around at leisure over the tops of old ladies and children with their parents.

If you are on this board Bomber Bogan, you should be absolutely f**** ashamed of yourself!!!

yeah everyteam has their share of uneducated or otherwise unintelligent bogan fans

mind you when im at the footy i get pumped up (a la rafael nadal fist pumps), especially when we score a goal or do a great tackle, but this is obviously not the same as ppl who just lose their ****ing mind hurling abuse and starting shit with other people

Was watching North Melbourne V Sydney in 2005 at the (then) NMFC Social Club at Ethiad Stadium. Within the first minute of play, one nearby gentleman saw fit to let fly with 'grab the **** (think the worst swear word possible, one that represents female genitalia)', all within earshot of a table of senior citizens.

Without doubt the most disgraceful thing I've been a witness to in my 20 years following VFL/AFL.

Yeah thats not great form, but if thats the worst thing you have ever witnessed at a game of footy then you have led a very sheltered life...
I go to the footy and for the most part i am well behaved, but i have been known to get fired up over a few umpiring decisions or other supporters abuse. Thats all part of footy, wheather you like it or not. Its a passionate game and some people take it seriously. 90% of people who go to the footy are ok, its just the 10% who cant handle their grog who go over the edge.

Studies show that a fetus can stop breathing for up to 60 seconds just from inhaling second hand smoke if in an enclosed room......

Studies show that bananas can cause cancer.......
A $200,000 study in the US conclusively proved that girls who had sex before they were 13 were 50% more likely to become pregnant before marriage, well go work that out......duh!

"Studies show" should be banned from use in any argument unless the actual documentary evidence and a peer review of the evidence are both available to all parties at the time of the discussion.

Having said that I would not smoke near young children or pregnant women out of simple courtesy.

yeah everyteam has their share of uneducated or otherwise unintelligent bogan fans

mind you when im at the footy i get pumped up (a la rafael nadal fist pumps), especially when we score a goal or do a great tackle, but this is obviously not the same as ppl who just lose their ****ing mind hurling abuse and starting shit with other people
Im like you i get into the game and support my club but never try and start anything with oppo supporters.

Sure friendly banter and whatever, but its still a game in the end

I arrived in Bay 43 last night and sat two rows in front of this lone woman. To my horror, she was an Essendon supporter with a huge foghorn voice with which she proceeded to abuse the Collingwood team and players in the foulest language at every opportunity. After 5 minutes of this woman shouting obscenities from just behind me, I moved to the end of the row and sat behind some other Essendon supporters. To my dismay, this galah, in a #9 Essendon jumper started abusing his mate, a Collingwood supporter. This went on with #9 standing up regularly, yelling obscenities, and pushing and shoving his "mate" who was sitting in front of him; and this went on throughout the match, with his gestures and antics becoming more obscene and bizarrre as the match progressed.

The situation was made more embarrasing by the fact that both these persons were sitting next to a huge contingent of Collingwood supporters who were very well behaved. I can tell you this behaviour was far more humiliating to neaby Essendon supporters than the fact that Collingwood dominated the game.

I noted that the this behaviour continued unabated despite the fact that Telstra Dome security personnel walked down the passage past them many times. What I want to know was why Security did not ask them to calm/quiet down, and when they didn't, then have them ejected from the stadium.

If I was you, I would have stood up, turned around and slapped the bitch across the face :)

threads like this are why the AFL is tinkering with the rules and catering to the mum & dad crowd.

what they want is parents and families spending their money and cheering when appropriate.

not the bitter and twisted types who are quite cynical about the game/afl/costs etc.

the afl honestly wouldn't give a shit if the fans in the OP were lost to suburban footy and replaced by mum, dad and the 3 kids.

Essendon supporters are the worst that I have experienced. I've been started twice in different games for just supporting my team. But they just talk the talk, when I stood up to both, they never completed the walk.

Your awesome buddy:thumbsu:

Geez there is alot of precious people on here. I understand that there is a line that can be crossed (Abuse for example) but surely just swearing at the football isnt ''disgusting behaviour''. If you are offended by swearing, stfu and dont swear.

Personally I don't care about swearing but it's the lack of respect some people show to just stand up and call someone a 'F**** C***' right in front of 3 kids and their grandmother.

Seriously Rainman, if you think that is acceptable in any forum, you are deluded and are probably the ones showing disrespect in the first place.

Personally I don't care about swearing but it's the lack of respect some people show to just stand up and call someone a 'F**** C***' right in front of 3 kids and their grandmother.

Seriously Rainman, if you think that is acceptable in any forum, you are deluded and are probably the ones showing disrespect in the first place.

I wouldnt take part in that scenario myself but it is the football after all, since when do you go to the football expecting nobody to swear and telling someone off if they do?

People should be able to contain themselves with their bad language when out in public, and that includes the football....of course it is expected that people will be calling out insults to the opposing team/supporters, but that does not mean it is o.k to include swearing..

Common good manners should refrain a normal person from using such words in front of kids etc....

People who show absolutely no regard to those around them, should be shown the exit..

Exactly.

Not to mention the knobhead Essendon supporter who I asked to stop swearing in front of my son (his 4) and he wanted to then punch on! My 4yo went crazy, this guy loved it. All we yelled out the whole time was to cheer Buddy (his fave player) Even his own supporters stood and applauded security when they escorted him out of the Buddy skills clinic. All supporters have them, its not a club thing but an IQ thing IMHO.

Don't even talk to me about supporters who mouth off when walking out of a ground. Fool I'm not interested in your rubbish.

Speaking of mouthing off after the game... Early 90's, Collingwood V Footscray at the G. Collingwood won by a goal. This Complete nut of a dogs supporter, who'd been mouthing off all day, absolutely does his nut. He was about 50, and rather large, and he's yelling and flailing his arms around so much that the police came to restrain him, about 4 of them. As we're walking past him to get out, I heard him say to the cops, "You take a video of this game, and show it to those umpires, and you get them to explain themselves. And if you can't, then it's them you should be arresting, not me".

Funniest thing I've ever heard someone at the footy say whilst making a tool of themselves.

I remember being at a Nth v Coll game and a bloke sitting across the way was so frustrated he actually punched the guy sitting in front of him in the back of the head. No warning, no arguement, just wack. A decent belt too.

The poor innocent guy had no clue what the hell was going on, just turned around said a few words, but basically did nothing.

At the game on Friday we had a really rowdy abusive Essendon supporter behind us. His abuse was aimed at the field which was fine but he was constantly standing up even when his mates were telling him to sit down, spilled his beer all over my sister and hit her in the head hard twice. He didn't mean it and apologised both times but it should not have happened more than once. Is it really that hard to control your behaviour?

Oh didn't read this before but this is the guy I just wrote about. He was sitting directly behind us.

Was anyone sitting near Level 2, Aisle 37, Row E on Friday night?

This absolute tossa of an Essendon supporter was making the biggest c*** of himself that even his own mates didn't want to be seen near him.

A classic case of his stupidity was the fact that for the first quarter all he did was call Thomas a ******. Not until Thomas took it on the wing, baulked and delivered inside beautifully to assist a super goal from Dayne Beams did he sit down and stfu. Two minutes later though he was banging on about how DT was only playing on a rookie.

Anyway, by the end of the night some other w***er (Collingwood supporter) had decided he wanted a punch on with this bloke and they just starting hurling abuse at each other.

The worst part about it was that F-Bombs, C-Bombs etc were being thrown around at leisure over the tops of old ladies and children with their parents.

If you are on this board Bomber Bogan, you should be absolutely f**** ashamed of yourself!!!

If the alternative is having security throwing out people for alleged bad language, the definition of which is of course subjective, or having nosy bogans telling you off for getting a bit passionate, then i'm inclined to say let's just accept it as a part of sport. It happens all around the world in any sport people genuinely care about.
21st century Aussies are just so damned precious.

I go to the footy with my kids (3-5 year old's) every week and I dont mind if some drops an F bomb over a bad decision, or a few 5hits etc, but if becomes every seconds word i usually say something there no need for it, i;m not being "precious" its just that i dont need my kids exposed to that sort of thing, if people cant contol their language, or drinking (another issue altogether) then they should not go to the footy or be banned. Even when I did not have kids and went with my two brothers I/we use to tell these sort of people off all the time. Families with kids are the future of the game, hence why AFL is so dominate over NRL which IMO still tries to appeal to the boofheads and bogans. If your're one of the "not like it used to be people" go watch the VFL/WAFL/SANFL

last year against essendon, this cats supporter in front of me at the top deck of telstra dome with 2 young teen sons, saying the most disgusting things toward Matt lloyd etc, i felt sorry 4 his kids he was so loud getting alsorts of dirty looks and his kids were so shy..i just thought wheres the guys head at..

Idiots like that need to take up another hobby to get their misguided aggression out. I'm sure Lloydy could hear him from level 3. Pure and simple embarassment.

I went to one of the rugby world cup matches at subiaco in 2003. England v South Africa. I paid about $150 for my ticket and went with my mate's dad and uncle. There was a really good atmosphere and I was chatting to some South African supporters that had flown in for the match.

There was a guy in front of us who was not really watching the game and just chatting with the people that he was with. Then just as a South African broke down the wing and beat a couple of English players, this guy stands up and starts checking for change in his pockets. He was standing for about a whole minute and the South African supporters missed the whole incident.

I leaned forward and politely said, Do you mind not standing up like that when the game is in play. "F##k off, ya pommy **** "was his response.

I said, "mate, you were not in my way but these guys have flown in for the game and they just missed the first bit of action, I am just asking for you to show a bit of courtesy".

Are you gonna f##cking make me ?

I was pretty annoyed at that stage and I said "Just try standing again during the next bit of action and see" I said.

Then one of the South Africans leaned over and said to this guy. "He asked you nicely, We have flown over just for this match. Stand up again and you deal with us !" This guy looked along the row of seats and there was about 20, 6ft 5 guys that all looked like front rowers from the 1970s. He remained seated for the rest of the first half, went to get a drink at half time and never returned.

It should not have taken the threat of violence for a person to just act decently at a game, no matter the code. Some people believe that going to the footy means that normal behaviour goes out of the window. They are wrong. I lose my voice at pretty much every game that I go to, but shit would be the worst word that I say.

Oh didn't read this before but this is the guy I just wrote about. He was sitting directly behind us.

Bit of a disgrace wasn't he!!!

I'm actually surprised he was able to apologise considering how f**** he was!!!

Disgusting Behaviour