• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

DIVISION 1 2013

Great win by the Friars out at Prahran. The Prahran coach must be very upset with the number of undisciplined acts from his players today, continually giving away stupid undisciplined frees. Even though they had the umpires in their corner for the first 3 quarters they weren't able to get on top as a result of their misplaced hardness by giving of silly late bumps, and unnecessary holds and grabs off the ball. A good team, but full of individuals playing for themselves not the club. Maybe instead of their usual strippers before the game they had Jarred Waite as a guest speaker??

Credit to the Friars for being hardest at the football and putting in a great team effort.

Hampton Rovers continued on their great start to the season by thrashing Glen Eira to the tune of 188 points. In fact, the Saints went goalless for three quarters until they kicked 3 goals in the final quarter.

I'm hoping glen eira don't fold before we get our chance for the % boost.

I reckon we have all been in GIs position before (BT won 1 game in 2011, Hampton last few years, Prahran 09,10) and to their credit that elected to stay in D1 when possibly the best thing for them would have been to go down a grade to rebuild confidence.

Ammo footy has a way of levelling out - and also coming back to bite the arrogant on the arse....

I for one respect the Saints players and committee for having a crack and hope they have a win soon (just not this week thou)...

Hampton Rovers continued on their great start to the season by thrashing Glen Eira to the tune of 188 points. In fact, the Saints went goalless for three quarters until they kicked 3 goals in the final quarter.
You must be salivating at the clubs turnaround Jase. The lids well and truly off.:)

That said, it's an entirely different outfit than the one Barney was able to put on the park last season.

Is there a big divide in standard between C and D1??

No point worrying about it, k. You won't be up there anytime soon. Onto this weekend now. Me & my mate Boris the blade have been waiting a long time for this day. We owe those Hampton jerks one from '07 when they called up our great mate Ben McGee after we lost the prelim final to them. I hope that little junior muppet is still running around for them like I've heard a few of their has-beens are. We'll be serving up some serious curry to him and his mates. Our season starts now. #pantherpower

The question about C grade was directed at one of the clubs that had a clue about it.

Hampton seem to be steam rolling in D1, just wondering how big the jump is out of curiosity.

Agree about your season starting now though, there wasn't much "pantherpower" on show a couple of weeks ago.

The question about C grade was directed at one of the clubs that had a clue about it.

Hampton seem to be steam rolling in D1, just wondering how big the jump is out of curiosity.

Agree about your season starting now though, there wasn't much "pantherpower" on show a couple of weeks ago.

Looks like another hampton alter ego to me kruzering. Can't imagine anyone down there would be chirping after their efforts against Prahran and Whitefriars.

Log jam between 2nd and 9th could get even tighter if Willy and Ormond have wins at home - tipsters nightmare this season!

Looks like another hampton alter ego to me kruzering. Can't imagine anyone down there would be chirping after their efforts against Prahran and Whitefriars.

Log jam between 2nd and 9th could get even tighter if Willy and Ormond have wins at home - tipsters nightmare this season!

True, should have been able to spot that one.

Looks can be deceiving. With all due respect to the side we've played, our opponents thus far have been both sides that came up from D2 and the bottom 3 placed sides from 2012 that remained in D1.
The next month will be a far greater test of where HR is at. We've been fortunate enough to have a swell of players return this season on the back of a great coaching appointment. And whilst 5-0 is a pleasing start to the season, you don't win flags in May.

But to answer your question, yes. There is a reasonable gap between C & D1 from what we've (I've) seen so far.

DIVISION 1 2013