D1 Division 1 - 2019

both reserves and seniors called off preston were unhappy, middle of the ground was dangerous, however preston offered to play at their home or Kew's top oval (vafa approved) i belieieve but the bears said no - just didnt want to play. be interesting to see who gets the point.

Clearly either stirring the pot or just have completely wrong info.

Preston reserves had left the ground prior to 11:30 🤷🏻‍♂️

Use your brain champ. You reckon the top side doesn’t want to play against a side sitting fourth that they beat by 10 goals five weeks ago?

Alright champ, Preston on a roll, Kew don’t like it in a scrap. Can see why they didn’t want to play
If they were actually keen they would have played in my opinion

Alright champ, Preston on a roll, Kew don’t like it in a scrap. Can see why they didn’t want to play
If they were actually keen they would have played in my opinion

Duty of Care

Can’t believe that a club sitting in a double chance position wouldn’t want to play against a possible ‘contender’ due to ground conditions! Work with the council for God’s sake! Two grounds available so train on the ‘non-preferred’ ground and force your juniors to use the same ground I order for your senior team to show their worth ondays that it counts! Not rocket science!

Or do we look forward two rounds at note the sides Kew is up against?

Joke, but the Ammo’s will give them 2 points each rather than make a statement, which is a shame. Would be interesting to know what the umpires thought or part they had to say play!

Can’t believe that a club sitting in a double chance position wouldn’t want to play against a possible ‘contender’ due to ground conditions! Work with the council for God’s sake! Two grounds available so train on the ‘non-preferred’ ground and force your juniors to use the same ground I order for your senior team to show their worth ondays that it counts! Not rocket science!

Or do we look forward two rounds at note the sides Kew is up against?

Joke, but the Ammo’s will give them 2 points each rather than make a statement, which is a shame. Would be interesting to know what the umpires thought or part they had to say play!

Hahaha mate you’ve got no idea what the club has done. Have you ever tried to “work” with boroondara council?? Or any council for that matter. No one touched the middle of the ground all week at training, it was roped off. Club asked the council to help get it right and they didn’t. End of. Unfortunately the club has no control over the surface and what can be done apart from avoid the worst spots during the week, which the club did. Blokes are taking the p1 if they reckon any of this has to do with not wanting to play. It’s BigFooty I know, but come on :drunk: FFS

No club is any Position to jeopardise 2 or even 4 points.

Hahaha mate you’ve got no idea what the club has done. Have you ever tried to “work” with boroondara council?? Or any council for that matter. No one touched the middle of the ground all week at training, it was roped off. Club asked the council to help get it right and they didn’t. End of. Unfortunately the club has no control over the surface and what can be done apart from avoid the worst spots during the week, which the club did. Blokes are taking the p1 if they reckon any of this has to do with not wanting to play. It’s BigFooty I know, but come on :drunk: FFS

No club is any Position to jeopardise 2 or even 4 points.
My point exactly! Why not play?? F@&k the council! You pay ground fees for a reason!

Surprised I played any footy in the 80’s, 90’s & 00’s considering the condition of the grounds!

Precious somewhat!

Who made the call?? Both clubs? Umpires? Uninformed committees? Wouldn’t be the VAFA!

My point exactly! Why not play?? F@&k the council! You pay ground fees for a reason!

Surprised I played any footy in the 80’s, 90’s & 00’s considering the condition of the grounds!

Precious somewhat!

Who made the call?? Both clubs? Umpires? Uninformed committees? Wouldn’t be the VAFA!

Imagine Preston miss finals by 2 points.. I would be filthy

Imagine if they got in by 2 points though
4 pts may get them in. 2 may not! It’s a big IF, and in this day and age, not good enough. Kew not solely at fault as the council have a big say in who can and can’t use the ground but FFS, clubs only want use of the ground for 9 home games a year which should be easy enough to manage.....even if it means training on sub-standard grounds or doing indoor training!

Both Kew and Preston to now go 3 weeks without a game!!

If both sides wanted to play, and If Preston offered there ground why didn’t kew take it?

Where was the breakdown there?

4 pts may get them in. 2 may not! It’s a big IF, and in this day and age, not good enough. Kew not solely at fault as the council have a big say in who can and can’t use the ground but FFS, clubs only want use of the ground for 9 home games a year which should be easy enough to manage.....even if it means training on sub-standard grounds or doing indoor training!

Both Kew and Preston to now go 3 weeks without a game!!

Play next week????

I played games at Victoria Park (Kew) back in the late 90s. A large part of the ground would be a massive mud pit in the winter and not only did games go ahead, but no one batted an eyelid.

I’m interested to know exactly what “ duty of care” issue caused a game to be cancelled. Surely can’t have been a just a slippery or muddy part of the ground.

I played games at Victoria Park (Kew) back in the late 90s. A large part of the ground would be a massive mud pit in the winter and not only did games go ahead, but no one batted an eyelid.

I’m interested to know exactly what “ duty of care” issue caused a game to be cancelled. Surely can’t have been a just a slippery or muddy part of the ground.

Surprised I played any footy growing up!! Kews centre area on the weekend.

Attachments

• F50B54BE-D382-43CD-97D0-E44281505E52.jpeg
    F50B54BE-D382-43CD-97D0-E44281505E52.jpeg
    207.4 KB · Views: 259
Surprised I played any footy growing up!! Kews centre area on the weekend.
Clearly I’m a bit long in the tooth and nostalgic these days. Those conditions look pretty ordinary, but not sure why it stops a game of footy. Sure the score might be very low, and the skill level horrible but it’s a winter sport played in winter weather.

Do you have a photo of the whole ground ?

Clearly I’m a bit long in the tooth and nostalgic these days. Those conditions look pretty ordinary, but not sure why it stops a game of footy. Sure the score might be very low, and the skill level horrible but it’s a winter sport played in winter weather.

Do you have a photo of the whole ground ?

FWIW is it because they don't make long stops anymore???