D1 Division 1 - 2019

Bit of a joke the Therry vs SMS 3's prelim final isn't a curtain raiser to Therry vs WB 1st semi at Elsternwick. Ah well, what can ya do?

Maybe they know therry and west bruns stacked their 2s to make finals?
Probably, but that doesn't really explain why you wouldn't put the Therry vs SMS 3's prelim as a curtain raiser? I would have thought it would be better for Therry to have both games on at the same ground.

Yep, Preston kicked with a very strong breeze, it was 23 to 0 at 1/4 time. UHS had most of the play in the 2nd but could not score heavily enough and it was 24 to 14 at 1/2 time. Preston made the most of the breeze late in the 3rd and pulled away to a 41 pt lead at 3/4 time. UHS got a couple of goals at the end of the game but never really challenged Preston with Preston winning 79 to 45. Preston's ball use was outstanding all day. Their pillars in defence stood up when UHS had the breeze. Preston were way too good and will be a strong favourite in the GF no matter who they play

I’m backing in Kew today, with the Bears to beat UHS-VU next week. I still think the Bears are the team to beat, pretty even all over the ground and they play a good brand of footy and are really well coached.

Congratulations to preston for making it to the grand final and premier c, in a somewhat out of nowhere surprise this season, they’ve done well to get to premier C after starting as a club in D4 in 2013
Their coaching staff and committee have done a good job

Very West Brunswick thing to do. Didn’t work out for them yesterday.
I mean, one it was clear they'd be going down, why wouldn't you? Try to get something out of the season.

So Kew choked, hard. Lose their top 2 spot last round after losing 2 of your last 3 games and then get hammered in the first semi final.

I mean, one it was clear they'd be going down, why wouldn't you? Try to get something out of the season.

So Kew choked, hard. Lose their top 2 spot last round after losing 2 of your last 3 games and then get hammered in the first semi final.

Good luck to West Brunswick. Didn’t work for them and they won’t be missed in D1. Therry didn’t stack its twos though. Beat Kew in 1s and 2s in Round 18.

Yeah, that's true. I enjoyed Therry beating Kew's ones last week.

And I don't mind West Brunswick as a club. Found that they were one of the better ones at sticking around and having a beer despite being on the other side of town and only having the solitary win at that point whereas another club much closer didn't have one player stick around after the game and only a couple of officials. Hope they do well next year, felt they were unlucky to get a very strong offensive year in D1 with a suspect defence, in my short time watching it I hadn't seen as strong a forward grouping as this year.

Good on you eth-dog!

Hardly a choke but call it what you want. 3 very even sides at the top end. Peninsula storming home too, very solid top 4. Desperately disappointing result but that’s footy. Peninsula the better side on the day. UHS seem to be stuttering like Kew - Could be Preston vs Peninsula in the big dance.

For the club to be saved from double relegation because Ivanhoe and NOBs were so bad last year to turn it around and get all 4 men’s sides in finals was a success, so despite the disappointment of today, there’s still plenty to take out of the season and look forward to supporting the 19s, Thirds and Reserves.

I must say, the standard of Div 1 footy this year was the best I’ve seen. From 2015 when we won, and compared to last year as well, it’s so much better. There were 7 good to very good sides and Prahran who I think have the core to be a strong side. (As shown by their 5th position in 2018)

Good luck to the three sides left in the seniors.

Good on you eth-dog!

Hardly a choke but call it what you want. 3 very even sides at the top end. Peninsula storming home too, very solid top 4. Desperately disappointing result but that’s footy. Peninsula the better side on the day. UHS seem to be stuttering like Kew - Could be Preston vs Peninsula in the big dance.

For the club to be saved from double relegation because Ivanhoe and NOBs were so bad last year to turn it around and get all 4 men’s sides in finals was a success, so despite the disappointment of today, there’s still plenty to take out of the season and look forward to supporting the 19s, Thirds and Reserves.

I must say, the standard of Div 1 footy this year was the best I’ve seen. From 2015 when we won, and compared to last year as well, it’s so much better. There were 7 good to very good sides and Prahran who I think have the core to be a strong side. (As shown by their 5th position in 2018)

Good luck to the three sides left in the seniors.
Bad luck mate .

Making finals the year after finishing eighth is far less of a choke than coming down from C grade and not firing a shot all year :/

Losing 2 of your last 3 to give up your double chance and losing the first final is the definition of a choke. As for coming down from C and not firing a shot, you won how many games did you win last year?

You've made no inclination to hide how much you hate my club this year with your cheap shots throughout the year. Now when I pop up and say one bad thing about your club you have a whinge. I'll enjoy being in the same grade as you guys next year.

No choking from Preston Clearly the best side in it. no one rated Them at the start of the year proberbly even less so after round 1 loss to West Brunswick ! George a class coach and worked through the situation to win a lot of games at the end of the season Well done to the committee staff and players & coaches ! Div 4 - Premier C in a matter of years ! simply a remarkable effort Red hot favourites On grand final day who ever they play they have been there before many times ….

Well done to them. But beware the GF experience of UHS, they've gone B2B for a reason, and Peninsula are also very good on their day. Should be a cracker either way!

Huge effort by Preston. George Wakim seems like a ripper bloke and ripper coach

Losing 2 of your last 3 to give up your double chance and losing the first final is the definition of a choke. As for coming down from C and not firing a shot, you won how many games did you win last year?

You 👏🏼 didn’t 👏🏼 make 👏🏼 finals 👏🏼

It’ll be a pleasure playing against you... well not you, you obviously don’t play... but your side next year. Another couple of easy wins!