D3 Division 3 2011

Well here we go. The last six rounds will sort out this division.

Prahran visit East Caulfield Reserve for the first time and with Adrian Flowerday in fine form might get more than they bargain for. I'm going with the Gryphs to upset the juggernaut.

I'd agree with this tip S/W. It was a very physical game against YV on Sat. and there will be a few still nursing sore bodies and I think PA are now close to dropping a game - playing away won't help them either so it wouldn't surprise if the Gryphs got up. It's a bit like tipping against C'wood - their gotta lose sometime....

Hi guys,
Sorry for the intrusion, just wondering if anyone here can give me a bit of a heads up on the standard of the comp and the 2s? I'm currently located in Ballarat and haven't played footy for a couple of years... Was just a 2s playing in the central Highlands comp round here,
Moving to Melbourne in the near future and wanting to get back into playing footy next year... I have a mate who basically has never played footy who is playing 2s in one of the teams and I will most likely end up going for a kick there... Just wanting to make sure that I am not going somewhere well out of my depth!!! :D
I played a year of Under 19s for St Leo Emmaus Wattle Park (its such a long name i could have it wrong) about 10 years ago... No idea what division they were in..

Is there anyone that knows how different leagues compare? Or just a heads up for what to expect i guess would be much appreciated. :thumbsu:

Prahran visit East Caulfield Reserve for the first time and with Adrian Flowerday in fine form might get more than they bargain for. I'm going with the Gryphs to upset the juggernaut.quote]

Sorry sidewinder, have to disagree with you there, the gryphs are pretenders and stuggle to beat sides below them. The have won all the close ones so far which would have gone either way. No chance this week against the comps best!

and johnnyonthespot, elsternwick are a good team who will beat the gryphs again and push yarra they may win 2 from the next 3 is my tip along with gryphs to drop out of the 5 by years end.

Agreed, top4.

I have seen and heard about Monash this season and they are lucky to be in the top half of the ladder.

Elsternwick made very light work of the gryphons a few weeks ago....

Apparently, the gryphs have a few key players coming back this week but it wont be nearly enough to get within 10 goals of PA.

Simply.....Gryphs are Pre...ten....ders!

quote] and johnnyonthespot, elsternwick are a good team who will beat the gryphs again and push yarra they may win 2 from the next 3 is my tip along with gryphs to drop out of the 5 by years end.[/quote]

The wicks were smashed by Yarra by about 80 points last time, what makes you think it will be different this week??

quote] and johnnyonthespot, elsternwick are a good team who will beat the gryphs again and push yarra they may win 2 from the next 3 is my tip along with gryphs to drop out of the 5 by years end.

The wicks were smashed by Yarra by about 80 points last time, what makes you think it will be different this week??[/quote]

Grinders, Yarra coming off a hard game last week in which i think wicks will PUSH them and MAY win. Yarra droped a game to the hoes afew weeks back and this shows they might have a couple of slip ups toward the end of the season.

Agreed, top4.

I have seen and heard about Monash this season and they are lucky to be in the top half of the ladder.

Apparently, the gryphs have a few key players coming back this week but it wont be nearly enough to get within 10 goals of PA.

"If" the Gryphons kicked straight in that Elsternwick 1st quarter game you could be talking about the team thats second on the ladder right now. I understand the frailty of an "If Only" discussion but Monash are 9-3 and played both top teams away. Id say they are going pretty well.
And Ill eat my shorts if they get done by 10 goals this week!
As for Elsternwick, with the next 4 rounds against the top 4 they most likely will not make the 5 unless they can win at least 2 of them and cant see that happening.

Yarra Valley host Elsternwick. The visitors will remember the last visit to Park Orchards and will, no doubt wish to attain for their game last year. Expect a tough game from the 'wicks. Bushrangers will want to reduce risk of injury so I'm tipping a close game. Gotta go with home side, just.

Prahran visit East Caulfield Reserve for the first time and with Adrian Flowerday in fine form might get more than they bargain for. I'm going with the Gryphs to upset the juggernaut.

Ivanhoe host Power House. House form hard to pick. Hoes just.

UHS VU v Albert Park. Where's Jason Murchie? The Falcons have hit form.Will hit the students with bigger bodies. No room for small running on ballers here.Falcons.

Kew v West Brunswick. Bears, sorry 'pies.

Hawhorn v MtLilydale. Rathmines catering crew to pull out that old spit roast machine (possibly responsible for burning down their club rooms) and serve Souvlaki on Sat night.

Yarra v wicks - Wicks dont travel well so yarra by 26 points.
Prahran v monsh - two blues by plenty monash are going going gone
Hoes v house - hoes 6 goals
Uhs - Ap - Ap to beat the nomads
Kew v westB - kew by plenty
Haw -Mt lily - could be a nil all draw.

"If" the Gryphons kicked straight in that Elsternwick 1st quarter game you could be talking about the team thats second on the ladder right now. I understand the frailty of an "If Only" discussion but Monash are 9-3 and played both top teams away. Id say they are going pretty well.
As for Elsternwick, with the next 4 rounds against the top 4 they most likely will not make the 5 unless they can win at least 2 of them and cant see that happening.

JOHNNY, bad kicking is bad football! Looks like you are looking for excuses!
Monash didnt prove their home ground advantage by getting trounced by the wicks! All of PA's good players are playing this week, and they are hardened by last weeks tough encounter.
Make sure you bring a spare pair of shorts this week, as the first pair will be chewed up!

JOHNNY, bad kicking is bad football! Looks like you are looking for excuses!
Monash didnt prove their home ground advantage by getting trounced by the wicks! All of PA's good players are playing this week, and they are hardened by last weeks tough encounter.
Make sure you bring a spare pair of shorts this week, as the first pair will be chewed up!

Weren't PA's good players playing last week?

If the cat had kittens in the oven they wouldn't be cookies.!!!:footy:

Agreed, top4.

Methinks "Who am I and top4 had too many reds at lunch today. The Monash Boys will run some teams close at the geographically challenging ECR. You obviously have not see Mr Flowerday previously. GUN FOOTBALLER!!! The there is one Leigh Wells they have to contend with also. The Two Blues will have a torrid match this Saturday. Chew on that.

Got 5 out of 6 last week - Progressive 47 out of 72 - It is good to be ahead of Quasi....

Tips for this week -

Prahran - 26 points - I dont think the Gryphs are Pretenders but I give them no chance this week. The last game was a physical encounter and only got beaten due to one bad quarter of football.
Yarra Valley - 18 points - Not an easy game with Elsternwick in good form and kicking big scores. Elsternwick have a tough 4 weeks that will make or break their season
Ivanhoe 28 points - Power House are gone even with the good win last week.
Kew - 42 points - West Brunswick will be relegated.
Albert Park - 12 points - UHS are so unpredictable but dont see them winning this one.
Hawthorn - Mt Lilydale also back to D4 - I dont know how they can play and train on their oval. It is well below par.

Should be another great weekend of action.

Methinks "Who am I and top4 had too many reds at lunch today. The Monash Boys will run some teams close at the geographically challenging ECR. You obviously have not see Mr Flowerday previously. GUN FOOTBALLER!!! The there is one Leigh Wells they have to contend with also. The Two Blues will have a torrid match this Saturday. Chew on that.

Geographically Challenging ECR. Please remind me what happened when the gryphs hosted the last side at their home deck?

Mr Flowerday, wow, must of missed something because I the last time I saw him play, he spent more time throwing his fists around rather than playing footy.

The two blues wont break out of a light trot satdy, I assure you of that!

There was a rumour that they were planning on some list management this weekend. Their good players will be out there. Don't know why, as they only have training on satdy arvo at 2pm.......

Mr WhoAmI. Lets have $100 bet.
Monash will get closer to PA than Elsternwick will get to Yarra this weekend.
You in?
Ill collect (or pay u) at next weeks Elsternwick game.

Mr WhoAmI. Lets have $100 bet.
Monash will get closer to PA than Elsternwick will get to Yarra this weekend.
You in?
Ill collect (or pay u) at next weeks Elsternwick game.

Lets just say when PA beat Monash by more than they beat Yarra last week, you will write a genuine apology to me on this forum outlining how wrong you were and how your shorts tasted. That sounds fair. No need to come up with ramifications for me as I will not be proven wrong.....

Have to agree with you in regards to Mr Wells, is one of the best running around D3 this year (not bad for a fossil), but flowerday please mr no impact...

And Johnny, as a man from the gryphon camp, to get even close to PA this week aside from Wells, what names should i be looking for next week when reading the 'not quite there D3 analyst's' review from the weekends games, that will help the Gryphs get close.

Round 13 Selections:

Yarra Valley vs Elsternwick
Monash Gyphons vs Prahran
Ivanhoe vs Power House
West Brunswick vs Kew
Albert Park vs UHS-VU
Hawthorn vs Mt Lilydale

Round 12 Preview

Wicks over UHS-VU by 15 Pts (Elsternwick’s form is too good – 4 in a row – not to select them here but one feels they will not have it all their own way. Uni High were desperately unlucky against Monash and are still a most competitive side. A source close to the club also indicated to me that they are to unveil the major recruiting coup for the season in coming weeks. Apparently he is the best player in D3, but I have heard that one countless time before. In all seriousness, I feel that the Wicks disciplined play will thwart UHS’ sorties forward and they will hang on. Brian Mahony to be best afield).

Monash over Rams by 11 Pts (I see this as a real danger game for the Gryphs after their awesome win last week. Coming down from a high to play a team on the bottom of the table on their swamp – been raining all week in the Yarra Valley – is not what coach Osborne would see as ideal preparation as we approach the finals. Expect the Mountain Men to be most fiery if things do not go their way and if they have a bit of luck, they are right in this. Monash do normally win the close ones, so I will have to stick with them with Daniel McConville relishing the conditions).
Kew over Albert Park by 21 Pts (The vagaries of the draw in our section suggest that the Bears have the easiest run of the three teams on five wins, so they may be prone to be being lazy in their approach to this. However their form has been sound and players of the calibre of Brazzale and Tinetti will ensure the Falcons remain precarious placed in or around the drop zone).
Hoes over the Hawks by 31 Pts (Hawthorn have been perhaps the most inconsistent side in the competition. Their best has been good, but they have leaked goals like a sieve and cannot be selected with any confidence. These two teams met at Hoe Park just 5 weeks back with Ivanhoe scoring comfortably. Can’t see the Hawks reversing that result, but I expect the margin to be a little closer as Rathmines is often tricky for visitors. Jimmy Collins and Eilan Healy were amongst the best in late May, so why not expect the same again).
House over West by 10 Pts (Who knows who will come up trumps in this one? My gut feel is to stick with the Pies as they had a resounding win last weekend and were the victors when these two clashed at McAlister. However, Powerhouse were more than competitive against the Wicks and simply have to win fixtures such as this if they are to stay up. Whoever fails at Ross Gregory is up against it in terms of the relegation stakes and I feel this is more likely to be West. Paul Edwards to bag a ‘Half D’).
Four Blues over YV by 22 Pts (Match of the day although most would contend that this is merely round 2 of 4 likely contests between these heavyweights in 2011. It was Prahran that held off the fast finishing Bushrangers in April at Park Orchards, so I see no reason how this could differ at Toorak Park. The best players are normally the ones who step up in the big matches, so expect big games from many or all of Christoforo, Sleight, Furness, McIntyre and Pell. Yarra cannot afford to go defensive at any stage as this will simply play into the Blues’ hands and will need huge games from the Yeo boys and Cam Britt. I’m sure they’ll look the winner at some stage but the class of Prahran will ultimately prevail).

Round 12 Review

5/6 (45/72 cumulative) was a more than respectable return in such an unpredictable section, however, I am still well behind colleagues Matthew Richardson and Terence Stamp. If there were any doubt about the credentials of the Four Blues and Bushrangers they were surely quashed after the superb display of tough and accountable football at Toorak Park. Little more than two goals separated the teams all day in a contest that had many remarking that they thought they were watching C Section! A tight finals style play for three quarters really opened up after lemon time as players became a little tired and Yarra hit the front in a barnstorming finish only to be denied by two late goals from Adam Sleight. Cardinal Pell was amongst the best for the home side and the Trend boys were in fine form for the Old Boys. Round 2 of 4 indeed…

Elsewhere, wins were achieved by the Gryphons, Wicks and House as expected, but perhaps the magnitude of these wins were a surprise, particularly at Ross Gregory, where Paul Edwards had a field day. The Bedingfield boys had destroyed Uni High by the main break and Adrian Flowerday turned back the clock with a dominant performance in the mud at Lilydale. For the losers, the Rams and Pies were particularly disappointing and would hence be favourites for relegation, however, they still have many weeks to regain their mojo and if there is to be one lesson learned from this season so far, it is to take nothing for granted. The Falcons were the big surprise packets of the round with a crushing win against a disappointing Kew, who, as predicted, may have taken Albert Park as a given. Poor move as McIndoe and Muscat cashed in for the home team. Could be very costly for the Bears come late August. Finally, at Rathmines, The Hoes took three and half quarters to shake off a valiant Hawthorn who are crying out for a key backman – 22 goals against just doesn’t cut it – a Lee Wells or Declan Healy would make a hell of a difference.

Round 13 Preview

Hoes over House by 13 Pts (There a number of danger games this weekend and the visit of Powerhouse to Hoe Park is one of these. Perhaps I am being influenced by their recent return to form, but every team out of the five is only one loss away from being in the drop zone, so I suspect the House will be playing for keeps. Ivanhoe will look to Ben Plowman and Jack Rolfe for inspiration and may do just enough in front of their home fans).
Yarra over Wicks by 5 Pts (Current form suggests Elsternwick is the best side outside the top two and I really think they will push the Bushrangers all the way However, they may find themselves wanting in the final quarter as their crash and bash style of play begins to take its toll. Yarra Valley will have to be at the top of their game, but will do just enough at home. I will take any ‘Trend’ for best afield).
Kew over West by 32 Pts (I suspect Kew will jump out of the blocks and look to put this one away early. Coach Aitken will ensure there is no weak mental approach to this contest as they must win to stay in touch with the Wicks in 5th. Big Adam Brazzale will need some help up forward though if the Bears are to kick a winning score and I suspect West will also be looking for atonement after last week’s drubbing. Too much on the line for Kew to tip against them though)
Hawks over Rams by 55 Pts (Mt Lilydale hit new lows last weekend – one goal in two games and only 18 players in the reserves – and one cannot see them troubling the Hawks away from home. This may be a 40 goal shootout, but I expect bug Dan Lauletta to enjoy the ease of delivery and kick 6 to 8 in a comfortable win to the home side).
Prahran over Gryphs by 28 Pts (Many are giving Monash a big chance of an upset win at home against the all-conquering Four Blues. I am not one of these. Monash generally beat the sides below them, but have fallen well short of the top 2 in their encounters this year. The Gryphs will look to tag key players such as Pell and Furness in order to quell the clearance count, but, even if this is successful, Prahran have the depth to be able to sustain this and still win quite comfortably. Wells may get the job on Sleight, but then Christoforo will be hard to stop. Unless Monash get a six goal game from Kye Cherian or Daniel Wills, they will fall well short).
Falcons over UHS by 20 Pts (I keep expecting Uni High to find their early season form, but perhaps that in an exercise in futility as their form over the last six weeks has been ordinary at best. Still, they harbour finals aspirations and mathematically are right in the mix, but Albert Park arguably played their best footy for the season last Saturday and if they can find that level again will be far too strong. I expect the ‘Killer Bees’, Brick, Barker and Brown to be amongst the Falcons best as they perhaps end Uni High’s season for good).

Good luck to all

Quasi

Lets just say when PA beat Monash by more than they beat Yarra last week, you will write a genuine apology to me on this forum outlining how wrong you were and how your shorts tasted. That sounds fair. No need to come up with ramifications for me as I will not be proven wrong.....
Hang on PA only beat Yarra by less than 2 goals. And you are convinced they will beat Monash by 10 goals.
In perfect conditions tomorrow there should be no excuses.
So give me 5 goals in. If Monash get within 5 goals you will publish a written apology to me aka Johnnyonthespot on Monday morning right here on this forum.
If Monash get spanked Ill eat my shorts and post the humblest of apologies.
Agreed?

BTW I also think Quasimodo is a tool and his research skills are very poor.

Progressive 47 from 66.

Elsternwick vs UHS-VU - 12 points.
Mt Lilydale vs Monash Gryphons - 22 points.
Albert Park vs Kew - 36 points.
Hawthorn vs Ivanhoe - 44 points.
Power House vs West Brunswick - 3 points.
Prahran Assumption vs Yarra Valley - 10 points.

Progressive 51 from 72.

Great to see some true banter this week on the forum. Are Monash pretenders? We'll find out 5pm on Saturday. I have a feeling there may be 1 or 2 upsets this weekend but don't have the balls to tip it.

Yarra Valley vs Elsternwick - 12 points. If this was at EP02 I would tip the Wicks. I think they'll go very close here and wouldn't be surprised if they win. Very improved unit and on current form deserve to play finals. A pity they started the season slowly. The Bedingfield's and Grace's form still wont get them over the line.

Monash Gryphons vs Prahran Assumption - 24 points. I'm hoping Monash get up here just to show the rest of the comp it can be done. But I think Johnny will be sipping vodka and pineapple juice to wash down the shorts. Monash have a good record at home (even though losing to the Wicks) and will be no walk over.

Ivanhoe vs Power House - 36 points. Ivanhoe too strong over a disappointing Power House. They are only a two man show with Edo and Burnside. Collins to have a day out for the home side.

West Brunswick vs Kew - 45 points. Kew too strong for WB and will be wanting that 5th spot. The Brazzale/Bagnall combo up forward should kick plenty.

Albert Park vs UHS-VU - 3 points. Both of these teams lack any consistency which makes this a very tough game to tip. I'm not sure which team will come to play today so flipped a coin. The coin says another close loss to UHS.

Hawthorn vs Mt Lilydale - 36 points. Battle to get out of wooden spoon. Mt Lilydale are just a shadow of their former selves, will go back to D4 to recruit and have another run at the GF. Hawthorn are too strong here and will be run away winners. I've rated Hawthorn since the start and they are not a bad team. Well drilled and coached, but cannot seem to win. They just need a bit of luck to go there way and start to instil that winning belief.

For all your guys tooing and fro-ing about the Gryphs v. PA game check out the Prahran web-site and comments made about last weeks' game and injuries to their players...I'm tipping Cristoforo won't play for sure and maybe up to 4 others that will surely test their depth against a finals side on their home turf....an upset on the cards IMO....I'll leave the shorts-eating to others though....:)