• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

D3 Division 3 2013

Not sure why Kew came into this debate... One of their blokes (#21) wears a different colour of chinos every week.

Also, @oiwatchout, I understand you can represent your club proudly either way but I don't think it should matter if you are Div 3 or premier in terms of what you can and can't wear. If clubs want to look professional then there is no reason why they shouldn't have a policy to wear pants together. Of course, I kind of agree that it looks a little, how shall I say it, 'floggy' but I think it looks good when a team at least has the same shirt on. Sure, we play in a league that is relatively low but I don't know why that is being brandished as a reason to not take our football seriously. I've played in U19 premier for the Old Xavs previously and have found the lust for the contest is comparable at every level of competition albeit with gaps in class in regard to ball use and poise.

Also, completely agree with bigwaz on the impact looking professional in lower divisions has. There is an expectation on clubs in higher divisions to look like a CLUB so why not for the lower leagues? Footy should never be serious to the point of it ruling your existence but who wants to lose and be depressed on Saturday night? Not me. So if looking professional even gives you a minor advantage, why shouldn't it be implemented? Surely a CLUB that looks like a CLUB rather than just a team is one that sticks together and becomes successful even if it is success in a lower division.

Not sure why Kew came into this debate... One of their blokes (#21) wears a different colour of chinos every week.

Also, @oiwatchout, I understand you can represent your club proudly either way but I don't think it should matter if you are Div 3 or premier in terms of what you can and can't wear. If clubs want to look professional then there is no reason why they shouldn't have a policy to wear pants together. Of course, I kind of agree that it looks a little, how shall I say it, 'floggy' but I think it looks good when a team at least has the same shirt on. Sure, we play in a league that is relatively low but I don't know why that is being brandished as a reason to not take our football seriously. I've played in U19 premier for the Old Xavs previously and have found the lust for the contest is comparable at every level of competition albeit with gaps in class in regard to ball use and poise.

Also, completely agree with bigwaz on the impact looking professional in lower divisions has. There is an expectation on clubs in higher divisions to look like a CLUB so why not for the lower leagues? Footy should never be serious to the point of it ruling your existence but who wants to lose and be depressed on Saturday night? Not me. So if looking professional even gives you a minor advantage, why shouldn't it be implemented? Surely a CLUB that looks like a CLUB rather than just a team is one that sticks together and becomes successful even if it is success in a lower division.

Well said Willie_Bee21! Back to the drawing board for you oiwatchout and your mate

Back on the Footy front now. Here are my tips for this week:
Aquinas to get back on the winners list against Powerhouse
UHS VU to knock off La Trobe in tight one at the Zoo
Richmond Central to smash South Mornington
Elsternwick to end Kews run of good form
Swinburne in a low scoring affair at Albert Park
Old Westbourne at home against the X Men

Good idea!

Aquinas v Powerhouse (Aquinas will win but on current form, not by much)
UHS-VU v La Trobe (impressive couple of weeks by La Trobe but UHS are a top 4 side)
South Mornington v Richmond (South Mornington cannot put four quarters together. Richmond by 10 goals)
Elsternwick v Kew (Anticipating a ripper.... Reckon Kew will by 10 points)
Albert Park v Swinburne (Swinburne really need to work on their goal kicking. Cost them a very winnable game last week.. should win though)
Old Wetbourne v SFX (SFX have been scratchy but will smash the struggling OW lads.)

Something tells me you don't support/play for any football team based on your opinions. Maybe teams feel more unified rocking up in the same dress code, even if it does include slacks. You clearly wouldn't know #muppet

Thats my point, why do wearing the same pants make you feel unified? How do they have a kick and a run around before the game?
While I never played for Hawthorn, I live just behind the ground and take the kids regularly to watch their home games - so 'yes' I would call myself a supporter.
Even I'm bored of this conversation.....

Thats my point, why do wearing the same pants make you feel unified? How do they have a kick and a run around before the game?
While I never played for Hawthorn, I live just behind the ground and take the kids regularly to watch their home games - so 'yes' I would call myself a supporter.
Even I'm bored of this conversation.....

If you go back to the Big Footy forum page you'll see there is a D4 thread

What a ridiculous response. I actually support a team in the lower divisions, a division lower than this one actually. It wasn't an insult, but a fact. Am I missing something or is D3 not a lower division anymore??
Being a professional club has nothing to do with wearing pants, if it creates buy-in then great.
Maybe I should rephrase my question, why do clubs feel need to wear pants to show buy-in? Surely, turning up to training every night, on time to games and team meeetings, following team instructions, putting the team ahead of your own ego are all better forms of buy-in than wearing slacks and dress shoes to the game.
And, the reason you don't see teams in the higher grades doing this is because its a wank and doesn't make an ounce of difference.

Ordinary Post again! If doing what higher grades do was a good reason for anything then I might go with you but alas no! I wonder why AFL & some EFL/NFL & EDFL clubs do it?? Maybe their lower than higher VAFA grade clubs?​
Really you are just a fan ... so offer something better. Personal club choice is allowed. So be it!​
In answer to your question above [Am I missing something?]
I think we all know what you are short off!
The Eye
:oops:

What a ridiculous response. I actually support a team in the lower divisions, a division lower than this one actually. It wasn't an insult, but a fact. Am I missing something or is D3 not a lower division anymore??
Being a professional club has nothing to do with wearing pants, if it creates buy-in then great.
Maybe I should rephrase my question, why do clubs feel need to wear pants to show buy-in? Surely, turning up to training every night, on time to games and team meeetings, following team instructions, putting the team ahead of your own ego are all better forms of buy-in than wearing slacks and dress shoes to the game.
And, the reason you don't see teams in the higher grades doing this is because its a wank and doesn't make an ounce of difference.
Post of the year! Exactly what I'm saying!

Another great contribution. No opinion on anything, just bag others for theirs.
Interesting way to be involved in social media.

If you read up I've clearly got an opinion on most things. Just don't see the good in staying in a thread if you're 'bored of this conversation' and still ranting on about something that's done when we're read to talk about this weeks matches #backtofootyplease

Justafan......
Not sure what your club does before a game?? I would have thought that most clubs have a quick chat on the ground during the half time break of the previous game. Then get changed and do a warm up on the ground at 3/4 time. Which club are you associated with?? I'd be interested in coming down and watching you guys have a kick and run around in your civvies.

Hank, not sure what its like now, but back when I played all player would go onto the ground and half time of ressies and kick a few footys around. Not quite sure you can do that in slacks and shoes!

Richo, in regards to being bored, I was bored with my own comments not the thread. Apologise for the miscommunication.

Ah, it was the Tiger-Snakes that stopped me from getting a full house last week, but this week looks a bit tougher.

Aquinas vs Power House
UHS-VU vs La Trobe Uni
South Mornington vs Richmond
Elsternwick vs Kew
Albert Park vs Swinburne Uni
Old Westbourne vs St Francis Xavier

Some surprises this round:
Aquinas season went from bad to worse as they got smashed by Powerhouse
The Bears surprised a few with a win away from home over the wickers

UHS-V, Kew and Richmond are all on 20 points. Huge game in round 8 when the Centrals host the Bears at KB

Centrals v Kew will be at Victoria Park, Collingwood. In the mean time, we have a pretty large game this week v Swinburne.

Checked out the ELS V KEW game on Saturday. It was quite surprised at the high stand given the division.

Very little between the two teams, but it was Kew's ability to convert at telling times which won them the game.

#13 (K) & #26 (E) the best for either side

another brilliant game from the vafa's 46th best u/23 nick rowland on the weekend another 30 touch & a couple of goals
For the safety of young Nick, I wouldn't tell the D3 Scribe about this. He'll base his whole write up on Rowland n we won't hear anything about the great form of Kew and Richmond

BTW... Poor form shown down at South Mornington... Once they got 10 goals down they started to throw punches... One of our players was knocked out, and their player was red carded and copped a 2 match suspension. There was another incident as well, but the umps didn't want to pursue the charge.

That's what VAFA Investigations are for - tell your President to show some "nuts", BACK UP HIS INJURED PLAYERS [IF HE CARES] and follow the process rather than tossing in acusations that will go nowhere.

THE EYE
:(