Roast Do our supporters actually *get* football?

LondonCalling

Suspended
Jul 3, 2003
By the river
Church of Simon Wiggins
Whilst at first assesment of the last few years, I can think of several times where I've found myself slightly embarassed to be a Carlton supporter, at least only in light of other supporters behaviour.

Whether it be that time at the Swans game a few years back when the cheer squad had a massive punch on amongst themselves and the majority of them failed to notice we'd actually kicked a couple of goals, whether it be how many bandwagon supporters we have who still only know of Kouta, and that new rookie bloke, Fev, or even the incidents where supporters en masse just fail to understand modern football (see: supporters booing when we try to play tempo football, or wonder why we hadn't signed Judd already, or when we did, we actually had to give up something in return.)

The reaction to whatever happened during four quarters of football on Saturday night, that ended up with Brendan Fevola being stranded on 99 goals for the season, topped it all. Some of the supporters ringing SEN last night can probably count themselves lucky that they just happened to land in the part of history not occupied by Hitler or Genghis Khan, as they probably would have been rounded up, and used for pet food.

Not just the reaction on SEN, but the general reaction on Carlton supporter forms toward Hawthorn supporters offering their perspective on the matter, as well. As usual the massive "Opposition supporter" neon sign only seems to draw the lowest common denoninator out of the woodwork.

I for one, thought that Fev ending up on 99 was the best result that could happen for this footy club. I generally believe that the majority of those cracking the shits over it, were doing so, solely because they didn't get to run out on the ground, and play with their camera phone and wave to the big TV cameras. Anyway, here's why:

* - Since when were we focused solely on individual honours, or even anything BUT premierships? The minute we start focusing on irrelevant individual milestones, is one minute less toward a premiership. I dare say it's no coincidence that despite 16 premierships, only one bloke on our list has ever kicked the ton. Besides, let's say he got that one extra goal, what does it achieve? Absolutely nothing. He still finishes second on the Coleman table anyway.

* - It's a good wake up call for the bloke. To paraphrase one of his quotes. It's not all about the Fev. He either learns this, and comes out next season a more team orientated player.....or the more likely option occurs, and he comes out, tries harder and ends up with an extra 10 goals for season 2009. Those sort of goals are the ones that are relevant and worth striving for, not to mention actually in the better interests of the team.

* - Those who slam Hawthorn's involvement in denying Fev's 100th don't seem to make a whole lot of sense to me either...

1 - Would you expect us not to put 3-4 other blokes on Lloyd if he was on 99 in a similiar position? I'd have 18 blokes on him, I'd have the runner filling space, and I'd have Sydney's interchange steward pulling strings for the other 4 blokes who aren't doing anything.

2 - Why should Hawthorn having 3-4 other players on him be criticized any more or less than the million other times it happened this year? Why did it stop Fev from kicking the ton, but not Buddy?

3 - Could you honestly in good faith cheer a ridiculous accolade like that if the Hawks practically gave him his 100th, knowing fully well that the 100th wasn't really earned? (and really, the 2 before it weren't exactly hard earned either) There's a reason why Stephen Bradbury isn't listed alongside Ian Thorpe, Murray Rose and Dawn Fraser in terms of Olympic gold medalists..

4 - Can anyone tell me why Hawthorn would have a particular vendetta against Brendan Fevola, and be particularly against the idea of him getting to 100, any moreso than any other figure? If you were in Hawthorn's shoes, having played 4-5 weeks of relatively meaningless football, knowing full well who you'll be playing in week one of the finals, that the best test you can give a side in the lead up to the finals, is the challenge to stop the best full forward in the competition from kicking X amount of goals, when the sole purpose of the opposition is to get the ball to him, no matter what, win/lose/draw?

Be content that there were 99 relatively legitimate goals kicked by Fev this year, that there's less chance of him coming into next year with a big head about it and under performing, especially with a new contract recently inked, and more chance of a want to get there to three figures next year instead.

Well done Hawthorn for playing a game out till the very end. Well done to Fev's teammates for giving him a hand to get what looked otherwise impossible (I don't think any one player has kicked more than 5 in a game against the Hawks this year).

Now if we can get the uneducated masses to understand tempo footy and this new fangled draft system.....

• Banned
And yet, 24 hours later people are still fuming about it as if it's the greatest injustice since that Pilate bloke strung up that carpenter. Probably will still be at it till the next time we play the Hawks too.

Why are you so snipy, anyway?

And yet, 24 hours later people are still fuming about it as if it's the greatest injustice since that Pilate bloke strung up that carpenter. Probably will still be at it till the next time we play the Hawks too.

It's her job.

Whilst at first assesment of the last few years, I can think of several times where I've found myself slightly embarassed to be a Carlton supporter, at least only in light of other supporters behaviour.

Whether it be that time at the Swans game a few years back when the cheer squad had a massive punch on amongst themselves and the majority of them failed to notice we'd actually kicked a couple of goals, whether it be how many bandwagon supporters we have who still only know of Kouta, and that new rookie bloke, Fev, or even the incidents where supporters en masse just fail to understand modern football (see: supporters booing when we try to play tempo football, or wonder why we hadn't signed Judd already, or when we did, we actually had to give up something in return.)

The reaction to whatever happened during four quarters of football on Saturday night, that ended up with Brendan Fevola being stranded on 99 goals for the season, topped it all. Some of the supporters ringing SEN last night can probably count themselves lucky that they just happened to land in the part of history not occupied by Hitler or Genghis Khan, as they probably would have been rounded up, and used for pet food.

Not just the reaction on SEN, but the general reaction on Carlton supporter forms toward Hawthorn supporters offering their perspective on the matter, as well. As usual the massive "Opposition supporter" neon sign only seems to draw the lowest common denoninator out of the woodwork.

I for one, thought that Fev ending up on 99 was the best result that could happen for this footy club. I generally believe that the majority of those cracking the shits over it, were doing so, solely because they didn't get to run out on the ground, and play with their camera phone and wave to the big TV cameras. Anyway, here's why:

* - Since when were we focused solely on individual honours, or even anything BUT premierships? The minute we start focusing on irrelevant individual milestones, is one minute less toward a premiership. I dare say it's no coincidence that despite 16 premierships, only one bloke on our list has ever kicked the ton. Besides, let's say he got that one extra goal, what does it achieve? Absolutely nothing. He still finishes second on the Coleman table anyway.

* - It's a good wake up call for the bloke. To paraphrase one of his quotes. It's not all about the Fev. He either learns this, and comes out next season a more team orientated player.....or the more likely option occurs, and he comes out, tries harder and ends up with an extra 10 goals for season 2009. Those sort of goals are the ones that are relevant and worth striving for, not to mention actually in the better interests of the team.

* - Those who slam Hawthorn's involvement in denying Fev's 100th don't seem to make a whole lot of sense to me either...

1 - Would you expect us not to put 3-4 other blokes on Lloyd if he was on 99 in a similiar position? I'd have 18 blokes on him, I'd have the runner filling space, and I'd have Sydney's interchange steward pulling strings for the other 4 blokes who aren't doing anything.

2 - Why should Hawthorn having 3-4 other players on him be criticized any more or less than the million other times it happened this year? Why did it stop Fev from kicking the ton, but not Buddy?

3 - Could you honestly in good faith cheer a ridiculous accolade like that if the Hawks practically gave him his 100th, knowing fully well that the 100th wasn't really earned? (and really, the 2 before it weren't exactly hard earned either) There's a reason why Stephen Bradbury isn't listed alongside Ian Thorpe, Murray Rose and Dawn Fraser in terms of Olympic gold medalists..

4 - Can anyone tell me why Hawthorn would have a particular vendetta against Brendan Fevola, and be particularly against the idea of him getting to 100, any moreso than any other figure? If you were in Hawthorn's shoes, having played 4-5 weeks of relatively meaningless football, knowing full well who you'll be playing in week one of the finals, that the best test you can give a side in the lead up to the finals, is the challenge to stop the best full forward in the competition from kicking X amount of goals, when the sole purpose of the opposition is to get the ball to him, no matter what, win/lose/draw?

Be content that there were 99 relatively legitimate goals kicked by Fev this year, that there's less chance of him coming into next year with a big head about it and under performing, especially with a new contract recently inked, and more chance of a want to get there to three figures next year instead.

Well done Hawthorn for playing a game out till the very end. Well done to Fev's teammates for giving him a hand to get what looked otherwise impossible (I don't think any one player has kicked more than 5 in a game against the Hawks this year).

Now if we can get the uneducated masses to understand tempo footy and this new fangled draft system.....

Brilliant post mate, maybe better suited on TalkingCarlton than Bigfooty tho, lol

or even the incidents where supporters en masse just fail to understand modern football (see: supporters booing when we try to play tempo football)

In my defence, we were up by 24 in the final minute of the game and I had a bet on a win by 25 points or more -they didn't have a tempo betting option...

I don't catch the radio after games so don't know what went down.

Those who slam Hawthorn's involvement in denying Fev's 100th don't seem to make a whole lot of sense to me either...

There is a valid point here in that Hawthorn were dominating the game with their game plan and structure, there's no problem if an opposition forward is kicking 8 goals if you're outscoring the opposition more than 2 to 1. It could be argued that their attempt to shut down Fev was an unnecessary risk in terms of the game's result, as forgone a conclusion as it may have already been.

There is another valid point here in that Fev's kicking 7 when he needed 8 leaves supporters feeling robbed, which creates the need to identify the thief.

Since when were we focused solely on individual honours, or even anything BUT premierships? The minute we start focusing on irrelevant individual milestones, is one minute less toward a premiership

In theory I think every supporter acknowledges this but surely last night constituted extenuating circumstances? Win, lose or draw Carlton would have finished #11 and Hawthorn would have finished #2 and the value of an inspirational unlikely victory (the likes of which we have already had a few of this year, which breeds confidence in the group belief in their ability to continue doing it) would have been predominantly psychological.

In any case, Hawthorn are a few years' development ahead of us, they are the #2 team in the competition for a reason. They ran harder, played more for each other and were more polished in their disposal, that is why they got the four points, not because an individual milestone was put before the team. Like Geelong and North (pre round 22), they are giants that we are developing ourselves to be able to slay in upcoming seasons, but not just yet.

And once the game was already won, Fev's ton chase provided a new target for the players to work towards in what would have otherwise been a gloomy one and a half quarters of junk time football to farewell an otherwise positive season. The boost it gave the players and the fans, the way they almost rose to the occasion to get their spearhead the near impossible target of 8 goals in less than a half against the #2 team in the competition, the excitement and energy it created, once the game was already lost, is a much improved outcome in terms of group mindset. In a sense the individual accolade became a group objective in the absence of any other.

I for one, thought that Fev ending up on 99 was the best result that could happen for this footy club.

As a supporter, after so many seasons of us having sweet FA to hope for in both games and the season from very early on, I'm just rapt that the boys managed to give us something to jump up out of our seats and cheer about right down to the last second of the season. This is what supporters have been deprived of more than anything recently and the boys delivered in spades in 2008, and cannot be acknowledged enough!

For the players, the result of 99, is an accurate reflection of the season: we displayed glimpses of such brilliance, that even in spite of the inexcusable errors we were almost always still in it with a chance. It will send them into the pre-season with the perfect blend of self belief in their ability to achieve the unthinkable, a taste for its rush and the hunger to do whatever it takes to get it. And this mindset going into the first pre-season in many many years where there's genuine quality competition for spots :thumbsu:

And while Fev didn't become the 29th AFL player to kick the ton this year, I think everyone walked away from the game with a sense of surety that he still will be. :thumbsu:

Fair points, BY.

However, let's not forget that Fev won the Coleman in arguably our shittest of shit years in '06. Didn't have the greatest of years the year after......

Fair points, BY.

However, let's not forget that Fev won the Coleman in arguably our shittest of shit years in '06. Didn't have the greatest of years the year after......

Fev may not have much more development in terms of physical ability in him, but psychological development will take his game to another level again.

On the other hand, collectively our list would have more scope for development and improvement than any other in the game.

While Fev carried the bulk of the scoring hope for a team of underdeveloped kids it's no wonder the opposition scragging got the better of him (bearing in mind that the replay more often than not shows that he was infringed upon), but when Carlton are starting to touch teams up again Fev's going to be in his element pointing at the scoreboard, not sulking to the umps, so in a sense the scope for improvement in the rest of our list represents scope for further improvement in Fev.

Yeah 24 hours later people are still going on about it because they like their club and it's a conversation topic. Incase you haven't realised, this is a football forum where people talk about football. not everyone agrees, thank god, because debate is healthy.

And i'm not snipy at all, just because I didn't praise your post. you shared your view, I read a few sentences of it because that was all i could be bothered doing, and i wrote something in reply to one of your sentences.

Dont see anything wrong with that.

What else is there to talk about mate? Football is finished for Carlton? May as well have a complain and talk about what has happened. We got plenty of time sitting on our hands till next years season starts.

Why do you think we're the only team that has fights ? Complains ? arguments? fu*k it would be boring as bat sh*t if we all just sat here talking about nothing and not arguing / debating whatever you want to call it

I love this talk about "earned" so kicking 99 goals a year ever goal is earned? If he gets one more goal that isn't earned it make the 100 not earned? Stupid comment, there are plenty of goals in the year that are hand out goals, why would one make a bloody difference.

i think every team has supporters that dont understand football or are too one-eyed to really give a useful assessment of what is happening

for instance, one of the many crap remarks i have heard at the footy this year

Sat Night.....one of the blues players rushed a behind....this idiot of a Hawks supporter yells out next to me "Rush it in like a girl"

2 minutes later a Hawks player does the same thing the other end and me and a mate yell out "Rush it in like a girl"

He starts yapping saying the Hawthorn player was playing the game.....like what was the bloody difference???

This is the kind of stupidity i find at the games...or stupid people must find me!!!!

Ah, baconb I think you are missing the point. What you heard on SEN and what I heard on other radio stations including SEN was raw emotion. Whether it is right or wrong what they are saying, this is what the game brings out in people. Sat night is a clear example of what the game does to people. It brings out the happiness, nervousness, craziness, disappointment, etc etc in people.

Most Carlton supporters are disappointed on the eventual situation. To see someone kick 100 goals nowadays is a once in a generation occurance. To see someone from your own club do it.........well it might not never happen in their lifetime.

Now the most disappointing aspect of Saturday night was.

1. Fev was hardly double teamed on the night. Why did Clarko wait till the last 10 mins to put men back. The game was won by that time. Dont give me that crap that the challenge is to stop the best full forward as a lead up to the finals. After kicking 3 or 4 in the third qtr, surely Clarko could have put a few back then. Knowing our history this year with final qtr comebacks you would've thought it would have been done earlier. The fact he did it with under 10 mins to go, was as clear as the nose on Bill Lawrys face, he wanted to stop him from kicking 100. Now I dont agree about handing it to him on a silver platter (i.e. Hawks handballing it to him), but there was no need to do what he did.

2. Buddy was not double teamed on Sat as other reports might have suggested. In fact Bower had the job on him and was given a directive that he will be his shadow for the whole night. I know this because I spoke to his manager who was standing behind us. If it looked like he was double teamed it was because of the contest created. He was always going to kick the two goals. If Ratts wanted to be spiteful, he could have flooded the backline like never before. He didnt. Gave Bower a job which I was happy with, develop Bower more as a key backmen to be ready for next year.

Your Stephen Bradbury comment is a ripper because you are opening another can of worms. He isnt thrown in with the likes of Thorpe and co because he isnt all that marketable. Thats why sportspeople are put high up in the media because they are marketable. (i.e. make money). Why isnt Bartel now mentioned along the likes of Hird, Voss etc. Its still the Ablett show at Geelong. Its like Ablett won the Brwonlow, the Coleman, the rising star etc etc. Like he is the only player there. Its because of the marketing aspect. Why is Mark Webber portrayed as the best thing since slice bread when he has done SFA?? MARKETING!!!! What Bradbury did was, though luck was an element in it, he used a tactic. Funnily enough he picked it like a dirty nose that the front runners would probably fall. He did what any sportspeople/team would do. Used a tactic! You know the hare and the tortoise story. The fastest doesnt always win! Why did the pies beat the cats this year? Not because they are a better side, they used a tactic and it paid off.

In any levels of sport you use a tactic to win. Whether it be a hit an giggle or serious competition, you do whatever you can (legally) to win. If the tactic pays off, you're a genius. If it doesnt...better luck next time.

To end this post, I'd like to think most people understand football. As mentioned before, its the emotion that brings out the nuf nufs or the nuf nuf comments. Once everything settles people become more realistic.

P.S. Pamam, the stupid people find us.

Ah, baconb I think you are missing the point. What you heard on SEN and what I heard on other radio stations including SEN was raw emotion. Whether it is right or wrong what they are saying, this is what the game brings out in people. Sat night is a clear example of what the game does to people. It brings out the happiness, nervousness, craziness, disappointment, etc etc in people.

Most Carlton supporters are disappointed on the eventual situation. To see someone kick 100 goals nowadays is a once in a generation occurance. To see someone from your own club do it.........well it might not never happen in their lifetime.

Now the most disappointing aspect of Saturday night was.

1. Fev was hardly double teamed on the night. Why did Clarko wait till the last 10 mins to put men back. The game was won by that time. Dont give me that crap that the challenge is to stop the best full forward as a lead up to the finals. After kicking 3 or 4 in the third qtr, surely Clarko could have put a few back then. Knowing our history this year with final qtr comebacks you would've thought it would have been done earlier. The fact he did it with under 10 mins to go, was as clear as the nose on Bill Lawrys face, he wanted to stop him from kicking 100. Now I dont agree about handing it to him on a silver platter (i.e. Hawks handballing it to him), but there was no need to do what he did.

2. Buddy was not double teamed on Sat as other reports might have suggested. In fact Bower had the job on him and was given a directive that he will be his shadow for the whole night. I know this because I spoke to his manager who was standing behind us. If it looked like he was double teamed it was because of the contest created. He was always going to kick the two goals. If Ratts wanted to be spiteful, he could have flooded the backline like never before. He didnt. Gave Bower a job which I was happy with, develop Bower more as a key backmen to be ready for next year.

Your Stephen Bradbury comment is a ripper because you are opening another can of worms. He isnt thrown in with the likes of Thorpe and co because he isnt all that marketable. Thats why sportspeople are put high up in the media because they are marketable. (i.e. make money). Why isnt Bartel now mentioned along the likes of Hird, Voss etc. Its still the Ablett show at Geelong. Its like Ablett won the Brwonlow, the Coleman, the rising star etc etc. Like he is the only player there. Its because of the marketing aspect. Why is Mark Webber portrayed as the best thing since slice bread when he has done SFA?? MARKETING!!!! What Bradbury did was, though luck was an element in it, he used a tactic. Funnily enough he picked it like a dirty nose that the front runners would probably fall. He did what any sportspeople/team would do. Used a tactic! You know the hare and the tortoise story. The fastest doesnt always win! Why did the pies beat the cats this year? Not because they are a better side, they used a tactic and it paid off.

In any levels of sport you use a tactic to win. Whether it be a hit an giggle or serious competition, you do whatever you can (legally) to win. If the tactic pays off, you're a genius. If it doesnt...better luck next time.

To end this post, I'd like to think most people understand football. As mentioned before, its the emotion that brings out the nuf nufs or the nuf nuf comments. Once everything settles people become more realistic.

P.S. Pamam, the stupid people find us.

and people tell me i have too much time on my hands!!! :p:p

The OP makes some pretty fair points.

Every club has its nuffies, and fans/posters on BF vary widely in terms of their ages, life experience, intellect and football knowledge/experience - hence the fact that you can sometimes cringe at what comes out of your fellow Blues supporters' mouths/keyboards at times.

We don't get anything Carlton-related on the radio stations over here, but I've been on the main board and Bay 13 numerous times where i've had to distance myself from embarrassing/uneducated/biassed rubbish from Blues supporters (delist player X now; the umpires cost us the game; Gibbs is already better than Hodge etc etc).

That said, i wouldn't trade it for the "let's set fire to Terry Wallet's house" Richmond fans, the "why was that a free kick to Fev when all Rutten did was punch him in the face as he tried to mark the ball ?" Crows fans or any others.

Perhaps the best that can be done is for those who are a little more together to have patience with those who post a bit of crap from time to time and try to respond kindly with a bit of perspective/wisdom/knowledge-based information to help them see the light.

Go Blues.

Fair points, BY.

Let's not forget the circumstances. 2007 was as bad as any year I've seen. The boys had lost complete faith in Pagan, no leadership to speak of with VC Stevens out injured and Whitnall stinking up the place as captain (was a good servant, but last season was a disaster for him).

All the while, Fev was disillusioned at being overlooked for the captaincy and playing full forward in arguably the least competitive team we've fielded in those last five weeks under Pagan. He started off the season reasonably well and again picked up in form once Ratten took over (18 goals in four weeks), even though he was struggling with numerous injuries affecting all aspects of his game, rendering his marking and kicking well below his best.

As for your opening post, I agree by and large with everything you've said. However, while Hawthorn were within their right to play out the game anyway they saw fit, to change structure in the last five minutes when they were scoring 2+ goals to our 1 was more than a little perplexing.

I'm surprised how few of us actually look at it as a compliment that they double teamed Fev.

Like I said, best tune up a team in that circumstances could get, is that sort of inside 50 pressure, leading into a finals campaign, especially having played so many dead rubbers before hand.

Yes, we've got our ****** supporters, it's part and parcel with having such a large supporter base. Collingwood and Essendon have them too. However, it's modern football that seems to be lacking in knowledge from our supporter base. So many just don't get the draft system, don't get tempo footy, flooding in the backline, and it's not the best combination when so many of us think with our heart, not with our head.

In terms of "earnt goals", no matter how many before hand were earnt from unpaid freekicks, great snaps, bombs from outside 50, he'd always be remembered for the 100 that came from a bit of charity from the opposition or the man in white. No point having the asterix. There's always next year.

I'm surprised how few of us actually look at it as a compliment that they double teamed Fev.

Like I said, best tune up a team in that circumstances could get, is that sort of inside 50 pressure, leading into a finals campaign, especially having played so many dead rubbers before hand.

Yes, we've got our ****** supporters, it's part and parcel with having such a large supporter base. Collingwood and Essendon have them too. However, it's modern football that seems to be lacking in knowledge from our supporter base. So many just don't get the draft system, don't get tempo footy, flooding in the backline, and it's not the best combination when so many of us think with our heart, not with our head.

In terms of "earnt goals", no matter how many before hand were earnt from unpaid freekicks, great snaps, bombs from outside 50, he'd always be remembered for the 100 that came from a bit of charity from the opposition or the man in white. No point having the asterix. There's always next year.

Shows how much respect people have for a player when they do that. It is a compliment no doubt. :thumbsu: Just slightly annoying at the same time :)

Must you use that word? You obviously have a lot of anger built up in you to be so hung up on what fellow supporters think and say. Who cares! We all go for the Blues, whether we know every detail of AFL or not, who cares so long as we put our feet and money behind the club we love :thumbsu:

Having re-watched the final quarter again last night, the only instance I thought was poor, was Roughead as the loose man in defence just after he kicked a goal. But within a minute or two the runner went out to him and he went forward again. Well, that and people booing Gibbs when he scored a goal...what's with that?

And yes, every club has moron supporters that are totally one-eyed and have no concept of the game :)

Roast Do our supporters actually *get* football?