Difference is in motivation. Hyundai sponsor to increase sales. What is the motivation for Ampol?
So you’re saying Hyundai want to sell more cars to take more of the fossil fuel pie?
Difference is in motivation. Hyundai sponsor to increase sales. What is the motivation for Ampol?
Do you go to a specific servo to fill up or do you just go to the closest one?Huh?
Not sure on relevance here mate, though I appreciate the replyDo you go to a specific servo to fill up or do you just go to the closest one?
I guess my thinking is that it comes down to intent. Hyundai sponsor because they want to sell more product and think it will help them to achieve that goal. Ampol isn't providing sponsorship to sell more product - they are attempting to launder their reputation. The Club/Board have decided they are comfortable in putting a value on laundering that reputation through us - they are obviously comfortable with that decision. It doesn't mean everyone else needs to be.Not sure on relevance here mate, though I appreciate the reply
My point is that how is it wrong to be sponsored by a maker of fuel...but ok to be sponsored by a maker of vehicles that turn the fuel into the nasty stuff?
I dont think anybody revoked their membership over Hyundai............
I guess my thinking is that it comes down to intent. Hyundai sponsor because they want to sell more product and think it will help them to achieve that goal. Ampol isn't providing sponsorship to sell more product - they are attempting to launder their reputation. The Club/Board have decided they are comfortable in putting a value on laundering that reputation through us - they are obviously comfortable with that decision. It doesn't mean everyone else needs to be.
Exactly.I think you’re very naive in relation to service stations, 7-eleven changed the model many years back, Coles took it to another level and service stations effectively became a convenience store
That’s where the money is made, it’s not made selling fuel as the margins are very thin
Why aren’t BP, Shell, Caltex, 7-eleven et al doing the same thing to “launder” their reputation ?
Ampol are clearly doing it for brand recognition and to get a bigger slice of the pie
So you'd walk past a 7/11 to go to a Foodary?I think you’re very naive in relation to service stations, 7-eleven changed the model many years back, Coles took it to another level and service stations effectively became a convenience store
That’s where the money is made, it’s not made selling fuel as the margins are very thin
Why aren’t BP, Shell, Caltex, 7-eleven et al doing the same thing to “launder” their reputation ?
Ampol are clearly doing it for brand recognition and to get a bigger slice of the pie
So you'd walk past a 7/11 to go to a Foodary?
There's an article on The Age website right now about a person being sent to jail for laundering money on behalf of a crime syndicate. It might be a good idea for you to read it so that you can get an idea as to what launder and laundering actually mean. Whether or not you agree with the Ampol sponsorship or not there is no way that they are "concealing the origins of money obtained illegally".I guess my thinking is that it comes down to intent. Hyundai sponsor because they want to sell more product and think it will help them to achieve that goal. Ampol isn't providing sponsorship to sell more product - they are attempting to launder their reputation. The Club/Board have decided they are comfortable in putting a value on laundering that reputation through us - they are obviously comfortable with that decision. It doesn't mean everyone else needs to be.
So Ampol is previously Caltex because Chevron refused the company permission to use the Caltex name which Chevron owns?whereas caltex
Caltex pays $5.7m to workers for underpayments
Caltex has paid out more than $5 million to underpaid workers in its franchise network after auditing half its sites.www.afr.com
Launder also means to wash my clothes?There's an article on The Age website right now about a person being sent to jail for laundering money on behalf of a crime syndicate. It might be a good idea for you to read it so that you can get an idea as to what launder and laundering actually mean. Whether or not you agree with the Ampol sponsorship or not there is no way that they are "concealing the origins of money obtained illegally".
So by the definition that you have provided you are saying that they are trying to cover up "unethical, corrupt or criminal behaviour" by this sponsorship?Launder also means to wash my clothes?
Certainly not only an allusion to crime.
Reputation Laundering is a whole thing
Reputation laundering - Wikipedia
en.wikipedia.org
On Pixel 7 using BigFooty.com mobile app
If I had a company like that the last thing I would be doing is plastering its name on the biggest club in the lands jumpers...............So by the definition that you have provided you are saying that they are trying to cover up "unethical, corrupt or criminal behaviour" by this sponsorship?
Besides...The more money we take from Ampol means they have less money to spend on fossil fuels.
ipso facto, we are helping the environment.
Yes, lobbying to prolong fossil fuel use is unethical.So by the definition that you have provided you are saying that they are trying to cover up "unethical, corrupt or criminal behaviour" by this sponsorship?
Lobbying (of all types) is legalised corruption? This seems straightforward? So if a greenpeace lobbies to stop a new dam for example that is legalised corruption?Yes, lobbying to prolong fossil fuel use is unethical.
It's not illegal, arguably lobbying should be as it is legalised corruption.
This seems straightforward
Lobbying (of all types) is legalised corruption? This seems straightforward? So if a greenpeace lobbies to stop a new dam for example that is legalised corruption?
I swore to myself that I wouldn't enter this debate as people (such as yourself) are so convinced that their arguments are absolute that they lose all perspective.
Fossil fuel companies are run by intelligent people with huge bankrolls. Yes it is in their interests to continue with fossil fuels as long as possible. It is also in their interests to understand that things are changing however slowly that is. They know that in 20 years they will either adjust and find a niche in the "new" energy market or shut up shop.
Anyway I respect your opinion but cannot understand tolerance of our club receiving pokie money but ripping up a membership due to a sponsorship with a company that claims to be keen to (eventually) move away from fossil fuels and help with new energy sources. I guess that's the problem with absolutism though, some things can only be 100% wrong.
Anyway over and out for me.
So there are different levels of lobbying and ones that you agree with are O.K.?You think Greenpeace lobbies like the Australian Petroleum Lobby?
I have already compared pokies and fossil fuels as social ills.
I have taken pains to express nuance but people can only imagine that I am extreme. Easier to write off than argue with, I guess
So there are different levels of lobbying and ones that you agree with are O.K.?
You cancelled your membership due to Ampol sponsoring but left it in place when we received income from poker machines so have indicated that you see petrol companies as more evil than poker machines. That's the thing about absolutism, it doesn't allow any nuance at all. I don't see you as extreme, just someone that has painted themselves into a corner.
I can understand ripping up your membership, but why the kids? What did they do? Poor little things, it’s hard to put them back together!I've ripped up my membership and my kids in protest. My wife's membership card is still intact, she can do it her self