Do supporters of "poor clubs" get sick of their club's plight?

Patronising discussion, and not surprising coming from a Collingwood OP and an Essendon media hack.

How about:

- giving each club the same commercial arrangements, regardless of ground
- giving each club a fair share of blockbuster games
- giving each club a fair share of free to air telecasts
- having each club play each other once

Of course Vlad won't do it, because his bonus is linked to immediate attendances and TV rights. Such short term thinking leads to this kind of unequal rubbish - and the special assistance and whatever else required to prop up clubs.

A fair competition will go much further than special assistance to ensuring supporters do not get disillusioned.

Nice to see a supporter of a big four club admitting the bleeding obvious...

whats this got to do with this thread ? ....now can you let the grownups have this conversation about norths unique situation without your childish posts

Freo joined the comp in '94, since then... zero premierships, and what... 3 finals? North in that time has won two flags, and played in probably 20 finals games.

What's the point of football? Is it to get 35,000 blow-ins dressed up in purple to watch a bunch of clowns run around Subiaco playing like high schoolers? Or is it to win flags.

I will always respect in highest regard those that fight and give their all that their club will survive rather than some poncy ****ters who think the world owes them a living because there is a commensurate number of similarly brain dead ****wits amongst their number.

Patronising discussion, and not surprising coming from a Collingwood OP and an Essendon media hack.

How about:

- giving each club the same commercial arrangements, regardless of ground
- giving each club a fair share of blockbuster games
- giving each club a fair share of free to air telecasts
- having each club play each other once

Of course Vlad won't do it, because his bonus is linked to immediate attendances and TV rights. Such short term thinking leads to this kind of unequal rubbish - and the special assistance and whatever else required to prop up clubs.

A fair competition will go much further than special assistance to ensuring supporters do not get disillusioned.

REALLY surprised that all of the negative posts since this one have chosen to ignore it?

Quality reading here. Where do I begin you have certain people here who are making comments (eg. The colli-flog post about a match 15 years ago) regarding certain clubs "situation" when infact you have absolutely no idea at all. You follow the biggest club in the afl kudos for you my man I on the other hand support a poorer club, does it worry me? ... No ,sure I'd like them to successful off field. But I don't let this shit get to me I go to the games support the club I love and always will. Funny though that the negative comments regarding the smaller clubs are all dished out by the "big" boys (eg. Collingwood , Essendon supporters and the like , not all but the vast majority) Fact is everyone at the club is working there arses off for a better future for us and the opinions of the haters will make it all the more sweeter when we succeed.

IMO it's despicable to see people wishing for clubs to fold. It's easy when your club sits in a position of relative security to scorn those whose club does not.

What's not easy to do is comprehend how you would feel if it was YOUR club that had financial issues, and genuinely could have moved interstate. Thankfully for me, I wasn't born when South moved to Sydney, but loving the club now, I can (sort of) imagine what it would be like.

Horrid!

I think Ports issues this week have shown alot of BigFooty to be all talk and no substance.

People constantly trolling with "lolfoldrelocatetrolllolol" but as soon as a club is in jeopardy every single person said they never want to see any club fold.

The Dogs have barely received a mention so far in this thread. That's odd as we aren't much better off then North. In 3 or 4 years our situations could feasibly be reversed.

I'm not sure why it is that Doggies supporters don't tend to get involved in these fights, or why people tend to leave us out during them. It might be a chicken and egg thing.

Anyway - to the OP, I feel as long as your team has a reasonable shot at a flag, i don't begrudge richer teams being richer. Everyone knows that the cycles down the bottom of the ladder are shorter for Collingwood and West Coast because of the resources they can put into player development. But that doesn't stop the Dogs, the Roos or the Dees winning a flag. It just means we get slightly less time to strike, and we need to make it count.

That's OK. That's life. And it makes success sweeter when (if!!!) it comes.

Besides, I like that there are differences between the clubs. If every club were equalised and identical, like an NBL franchise, it would be a far more boring competition. The balance is pretty close to fine right now, as far as I'm concerned. Just shore up the bottom clubs a smidge more and we're there.

Let's be realistic here, what would happen if the AFL gave teams like North/WB more primetime night matches, do you automatically think crowds will boost to 60k+ and ratings 800k+ ??

I agree that they should definately get a bigger slice of the primetime slots but to argue that a lack of 'em is holding the club back and is the cause of its dire situation, shows ignorance.

Let's be realistic here, what would happen if the AFL gave teams like North/WB more primetime night matches, do you automatically think crowds will boost to 60k+ and ratings 800k+ ??

I agree that they should definately get a bigger slice of the primetime slots but to argue that a lack of 'em is holding the club back and is the cause of its dire situation, shows ignorance.

Your right crowd size and tv audience would not be bigger everyone knows this. But using North for example we get one Friday night match this year (aswell as last year). And correct me if I'm wrong but i don't think we play a home Saturday night game as i said i may be wrong. So while we wouldn't pull bigger crowds or huge ratings don't you think we deserve a little more than that even if it were 2 extra big games we got to play it would still be a step in the right direction. It's not asking for to much

The Dogs have barely received a mention so far in this thread. That's odd as we aren't much better off then North. In 3 or 4 years our situations could feasibly be reversed.

I'm not sure why it is that Doggies supporters don't tend to get involved in these fights, or why people tend to leave us out during them. It might be a chicken and egg thing.

Anyway - to the OP, I feel as long as your team has a reasonable shot at a flag, i don't begrudge richer teams being richer. Everyone knows that the cycles down the bottom of the ladder are shorter for Collingwood and West Coast because of the resources they can put into player development. But that doesn't stop the Dogs, the Roos or the Dees winning a flag. It just means we get slightly less time to strike, and we need to make it count.

That's OK. That's life. And it makes success sweeter when (if!!!) it comes.

Besides, I like that there are differences between the clubs. If every club were equalised and identical, like an NBL franchise, it would be a far more boring competition. The balance is pretty close to fine right now, as far as I'm concerned. Just shore up the bottom clubs a smidge more and we're there.

The Bulldogs should be fine as the population out West is booming and tipped to house approx 35% of Melbournians in the next decade (up from 25ish). You would hope that the club will and already is taking advantage of this, heaps of young families moving in, send them a bulldogs pack and encourage them to come down to family days etc

Your right crowd size and tv audience would not be bigger everyone knows this. But using North for example we get one Friday night match this year (aswell as last year). And correct me if I'm wrong but i don't think we play a home Saturday night game as i said i may be wrong. So while we wouldn't pull bigger crowds or huge ratings don't you think we deserve a little more than that even if it were 2 extra big games we got to play it would still be a step in the right direction. It's not asking for to much

While Friday night games should be shared around (Blues getting 6 annoys me :cool:), clubs must earn it through strong on field performances and attendances. If North are pulling 25k crowds there is no way the AFL will risk having them on in primetime slots, the loss of revenue will be too great (sad, but thats the nature of sport/business).

And regarding previous posts, blockbusters are not made, you cannot simply put north and WB together and label it a blockbuster. Clubs and fans of those clubs create their own blockbusters by voting with their feet - look at Dreamtime at the G for example. It doesnt help when your club is underperforming though.

While Friday night games should be shared around (Blues getting 6 annoys me :cool:), clubs must earn it through strong on field performances and attendances. If North are pulling 25k crowds there is no way the AFL will risk having them on in primetime slots, the loss of revenue will be too great (sad, but thats the nature of sport/business).

And regarding previous posts, blockbusters are not made, you cannot simply put north and WB together and label it a blockbuster. Clubs and fans of those clubs create their own blockbusters by voting with their feet - look at Dreamtime at the G for example. It doesnt help when your club is underperforming though.

North invented Friday night football for all you whipper snappers.

How sustainable is it from the AFL's point of view to have underperforming clubs on the biggest weekly stage ?? How long do you reckon they can accept sub 40k crowds in primetime slots?

They may have invented it, and they definately deserve more than 1 Friday night game, but they need to earn it through attendances and a rise up the ladder.

Flashback to Carlton's mediocre years not so long ago - they only had 1 or 2 Friday night games per season. Its not impossible for North

How sustainable is it from the AFL's point of view to have underperforming clubs on the biggest weekly stage ?? How long do you reckon they can accept sub 40k crowds in primetime slots?

They may have invented it, and they definately deserve more than 1 Friday night game, but they need to earn it through attendances and a rise up the ladder.

Flashback to Carlton's mediocre years not so long ago - they only had 1 or 2 Friday night games per season. Its not impossible for North

Oh please, we made a prelim final not long ago and still got **** all Friday night games the next season.

And we've averaged 40K+ in the few we've had in the past 3 seasons. The fact that better timeslots equals better crowds obviously escapes you.

Oh please, we made a prelim final not long ago and still got **** all Friday night games the next season.

And we've averaged 40K+ in the few we've had in the past 3 seasons. The fact that better timeslots equals better crowds obviously escapes you.
Maybe that's cause you averaged mediocre crowds that season, and better timeslots simply can't be handed out.

Don't make it out as if the AFL are out to get North- high achieving clubs (on and off the field) are rewarded. Look at Saints, small supporter base yet they get around 4 friday night games this season.

Maybe that's cause you averaged mediocre crowds that season, and better timeslots simply can't be handed out.

Don't make it out as if the AFL are out to get North- high achieving clubs (on and off the field) are rewarded. Look at Saints, small supporter base yet they get around 4 friday night games this season.

Ahhh.....so it actually is an equal playing field........

Good one mate.:thumbsu:

North and others give up timeslots in order for rich clubs to maximise their profits. If you can't see the cyclical nature of this situation then you are only acknowledging part of the equation. This is primary school economics.

Well, primary school economics is a whole lot different than tertiary economics.

I'm sorry, but the problems of North and Port are DIFFERENT.

Port suffers from the fact that it was a hated club (ie. Collingwood, Carlton, Essendon) brought into a higher league. It can only bring its existing supporter base - the rest hate it.

This problem was exacerbated by the fact that a NEW Port was created in the SANFL. Way to hamstring a side..... :rolleyes:

The SANFL is an utter disgrace. I am both sickened by its actions, and impressed by the AFLs response, who (lets not kid ourselves) could BURY the SANFL into nothing if it chose to do so.

North on the other hand, simply have no supporter base.

Essendon did it, removal of Friday night did it, lack of success did it. OR, you just don't have enough people in blue and white vertical stripes.

Ahhh.....so it actually is an equal playing field........

Good one mate.:thumbsu:

It definately isn't, but North can't blame all their problems on the league's executives - it isnt their fault North have low membership and attendances.

Yes, better timeslots will improve this but when you get sub 25k to home game on a Saturday arvo, by how much will it improve? 10-15k max ? Or are 30k more North fans going to miracously turn up Saturday night?

I understand they are a small club and will never have the pulling power of a Carl/Coll, but surely 35k to home games should be a minimum, regardless of their position on the ladder.

Averaging 35k a game is much better for the club's finances than 20k/ week and the odd 60k 'blockbuster'

Well, primary school economics is a whole lot different than tertiary economics.

I'm sorry, but the problems of North and Port are DIFFERENT.

Port suffers from the fact that it was a hated club (ie. Collingwood, Carlton, Essendon) brought into a higher league. It can only bring its existing supporter base - the rest hate it.

This problem was exacerbated by the fact that a NEW Port was created in the SANFL. Way to hamstring a side..... :rolleyes:

The SANFL is an utter disgrace. I am both sickened by its actions, and impressed by the AFLs response, who (lets not kid ourselves) could BURY the SANFL into nothing if it chose to do so.

North on the other hand, simply have no supporter base.

Essendon did it, removal of Friday night did it, lack of success did it. OR, you just don't have enough people in blue and white vertical stripes.
The root of PA's problems are due to its belated entry to the league - the fact that the Crows were created and marketed as 'the team for all South Australians' doesn't do them any help entering 4yrs later.

That and the SANFL bleeding them dry with the worst stadium deal in the league - how it has gone on for so long is beyond me and you wouldn't think PA could survive like this until their move to the Oval

Well, primary school economics is a whole lot different than tertiary economics................

................OR, you just don't have enough people in blue and white vertical stripes.

You've nailed it without probably knowing it.

North have, if nothing else, the most kid friendly mascot in the comp.

Think Captain Kangaroo, a national treasure, in his blue and white stripes in the educational .pdf files you buy the rights for and 'donate' to primary schools for them to print out in grades 1-3 as the curriculum.

I honestly think it is their best hope - if they cannot build a supporter base they are buggered.

And then just hope you can hang in there for a further 20 years.

Whats not to love, thousands of know all people ready to tell you how worthless your team is. Interesting how the biggest clubs from each state are the ones that started in the comp first, that must just be a coincidence since the only factor is hard work and good marketing. Or so say the footy experts.

See even this thread just turns into it. The footy experts cant help themselves, its just never ending cycle of trolling from here to the media. All designed to smear clubs, since we live in era where we feel better about ourselves by putting others down.

Demetriou has grown the game massively, has all the stats, figures, knows the population growth ect. He knows what he's doing and what works! He says all clubs are staying put, that if anything we'll have more clubs not less. But thats not good enough, 2 out of every 3 people (so it seems) could do a better job, since they obviously know better. Or do they?

What would be nice, but totally unrealistic (given the era we live in), is to let these clubs get on with their struggle while everyone else focuses on the actual footy.

That 'put your head in the sand' attitude would see you a North Coast Kangaroos supporter now.

It was North people that turned that around, not you, not the media, not your club. Our clubs includes its members, I but i hear ya, lets play on words. You look after your shit i look after mine, is that better?

Do supporters of "poor clubs" get sick of their club's plight?