Do We Want To Make Finals?

Apr 3, 2007
Victoria
I know it’s a bit premature, but there’s been heaps of talk around in the past few days that there is still a chance that we could make finals.

What I want to know is, do we want to make Finals?

If we do make finals all I can see is that we go into the game and then leave in the first week after a hammering to a side like Sydney or Hawthorn, so that there was really no point of making the finals in the first place.

I want the club to stay near the bottom for a 3-4 years period and develop the kids while also getting some good draft picks. Getting the players like Rich or Hurley, and hopefully causing upsets and destroying finals hopes to teams like Carlton.
If we do this, in 5 or 6 years time we will be able to have a real crack at the flag.

But on the other hand, this would boost up the young players spirits knowing that they can compete with the teams that will be playing football in September.

So who agrees with me or more to the fact, Do you want to make finals?

We won't so it doesn't matter.

But to answer the question, it doesn't matter either way.

Honestly, the lowest I think we could finish this year is 13th, and probably ending up with picks 4, 24, 40 etc if the bottom 3 all have less than 5 wins

If we make the 8, we'll probably have pick 9, 29, 45 etc

So I guess considering the big hole that the Gold Coast will put in the draft starting next season and then West Sydney the year after, earlier picks this year would be handy.

That said, I want us to put the best 22 out each week and I want to win every week.

It's an interesting question you pose and I can best answer it by saying, I just want us to improve and fight for the points every game. Finals will come to us when we're ready.

EDIT: I don't see why we'd be 6 years away from having a crack at a flag either.
Sheedy might not have given the kids a decent crack, but under his watch, Essendon recruited the Reimers, Lonergan, Davey, Gumbleton, Jetta etc that are the future of our club.

We've been down for a while now, and now that Knighter is there and giving the kids a go, I think we're starting to see that we have been building a solid foundation. We don't need to do what Carlton did. We don't need spoons to bounce back!

I know it’s a bit premature, but there’s been heaps of talk around in the past few days that there is still a chance that we could make finals.

If we do make finals all I can see is that we go into the game and then leave in the first week after a hammering to a side like Sydney or Hawthorn, so that there was really no point of making the finals in the first place.

I want the club to stay near the bottom for a 3-4 years period and develop the kids while also getting some good draft picks. Getting the players like Rich or Hurley, and hopefully causing upsets and destroying finals hopes to teams like Carlton.
If we do this, in 5 or 6 years time we will be able to have a real crack at the flag.

But on the other hand, this would boost up the young players spirits knowing that they can compete with the teams that will be playing football in September.

So who agrees with me or more to the fact, Do you want to make finals?
Of course we would prefer making finals. We have been picking up high picks for the past 3 years and it will be 4 after this year assuming we finish in the bottom 6. After getting Houli, Reimers etc late in the draft I would have thought you had learnt that high quality players can be picked up late in the draft.

Are you having a laugh? 6 years before we are legitimate contenders? Ridiculous. We don't need another 3-4 years near the bottom. Considering a few of those years are worthless down the bottom makes your argument even weaker. Finals next year and further up the following year.

Finals + 1st round pick = WIN/WIN situation IMO.

Not likely to happen but if it does I won't be complaining.
Making finals would be a brilliant jump in confidence for our young bruisers, The way the Bombers play under Knights is very confidence oriented, making the finals would be a great little boost for season '09.
Kids like Dempsey, Davey, Lovett, Jetta, Hislop, Lonergan, Reimers and Monfries all need that sort of confidence within the team to really get their hard at it, head over the ball, full pace game style to its peak.

If I hear another pre-mature draft comment saying "we're going to draft Daniel Rich, Naitanui or whoever"....

Then I'm gonna have to punch someone in the face (Not Literally:thumbsu:). Its so annoying how people talk "Draft Talk" before the season has even bloody ended.... For all I know we could end up in the top 8, get to the preliminaries, get flogged by Geelong, and end with a good season. (Deep Breath)

I obviously want to make the finals, but we have to win something like 5 of our next 7 games... big ask

Yes, for many reasons. Forget the draft picks.

Even if we don't make it, the pressure and intensity of the last 6 weeks trying to make finals will really help our young players in coming years.

Maybe I'm blindly optimistic...no wait, I am blindly optimistic, but if Essendon make the finals, anything could happen.
The media harp on how only the top four have a chance but as recently as 2006 Sydney missed out on the flag by a point after finishing 5th and mathematically 8th has just as much chance as 5th. And if we play well enough to win the games to get in we'll be taking good form (and presumably good health) into the finals.
Sure I might be deluded, sure it's a (very) long shot but while there's any kind of chance I enjoy believing in it.
So, yes, I'd love the Dons to make the finals.

We wouldn't play Sydney or Hawthorn, both teams are going to finish top four.

I don't think we'll make the finals, it's too much to ask of our young players to play the kind of footy across the remaining matches to win enough games to play finals footy. We're going to have another patch where we don't get near it, we'll string together 3-4 losses.

And that's okay, as long as we keep playing the footy we've played over the last three weeks.

BUT - If that doesn't happen and we were able to sneak into 8th, the ladder right now would have us playing Adelaide. A team we lost to by less than a goal, if we had the momentum and the form to win enough games to get there, you'd have to give us a chance.

Then we'd cop a smashing by Sydney or Hawthorn in the second week of the finals (although I'd give us a sniff against the Dogs).

Pipe dream though.

I looked through our run home this week and i think we can win 2-3 out of our next four games then we will have to knock off WCE over there plus another win against Adelaide here then it would come down to Essendon v Saints in the last round for the final 8 spot. BIG ask, but of course i would love it to happen. Confidence it huge in footy, look at Geelong in 2006-2007, or bulldogs this year to last. For the sake of a slightly higher pick, it really isn't worth it.

LOL

It's not like it's your choice... Settle down, beating Eagles, Dockers and Blues doesn't exactly make you top 8 material. Enjoy the draft picks and leave pride at the door, only way to get ahead in this comp, unfortunately.

LOL. What the hell would you know about getting ahead in this comp??

What has years and years of early drafts picks put in the Saints trophy cabinet lately? :eek:

i would prefer to make finals.

mainly because i have a bet with a mate about who will finish higher out of us and carlton and if we make the finals chances are carlton won't.

having said that i think we should be a little realistic. it is incredibly uncommon for a club to come from the bottom four halfway through the season and make the finals. in fact i can't think of it ever happening. further to that this time last year we were all talking about how we are still "a mathematical chance" and we still finished 12th. i expect we'll finish about 11th or 12th again.

but if it came down to it i would prefer to see us go out and have a real crack at making the finals (even if it means we end up 9th) rather than finishing in the bottom 4.

What has years and years of early drafts picks put in the Saints trophy cabinet lately? :eek:

don't you remember? the saints won the pre season cup this year and sent a message to the footballing public and all of the gullible media fools that they are the big threat to geelong. :cool:

Carlton...

Thats what happens when you tank...

This is how it happens:

3 Seasons of not trying to win a game, to obtain high draft picks.
1 Season of trying to make finals once you have obtained your future stars.
Then 1 more season to make you realise that your team is still horse shite.
Then you lose all your supporters respect for the team.
The team then throws cash around to try and obtain a high AFL profiled player in a trade.
The team Drafts another top prospect in the draft.
The fans get excited about the new players and purchase memberships.
They have one big (lucky) win for the season, get prospected to be in the finals race.
Get absolutly shut down. (By us!)

And After all that, they're still horse shite.

kilda10dvd.jpg

Of course we want to make finals.... sheeesh.

How about we make finals and players like Watson, McVeigh, Stanton, etc,etc move into the upper echelon.

Kids like Myers, Neagle, Reimers, Lonergan, etc, etc start having bigger influence on games.

Play finals this year and aim for finals/top 4 next year with Davey, Dempsey, Winderlich + a few others all primed!

I'd rather take the optimistic approach than the pessimistic. Not many successful pessimists out there. ;)

It'd be a miracle if we got there but I'd rather be there than bottom 4.

I'd rather take the optimistic approach than the pessimistic. Not many successful pessimists out there. ;)

I really liked this Kelv :) Well said mate!

I'd prefer an ordinary finish, so we could have an 'under the radar' 1993-style Baby Bombers flag next year.

Of course 2000 was awesome, but somehow I think 93 was more rewarding - instead of watching an elite team demolish the competition, we watched idealistic kids who never resigned themselves to defeat.

Do We Want To Make Finals?