Does the suburb of Hawthorn care?

Sep 17, 2004
Australia
Cats fans purring at flag hope

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,24381446-661,00.html

IN Geelong, the lid is ajar, if not exactly off. Banners spruiking the cats start 20km east, before Lara even. They are inescapable.

Pubs, sewing centres, camera shops, bedding warehouses and creches are plastered in Go Cats posters.

Cheering the Cats is so clearly a civic duty, there's probably a by-law.

Six days out from the most anticipated Grand Final in years, Geelong isn't going off yet - but it's sure thinking about it.

But in Hawthorn it's: "Finals? What finals?"

The song says they're a happy team at Hawthorn. Happy? Certainly. At Hawthorn? Not particularly.

Glenferrie Oval, once the epicentre of brown and yellow passion, is just another sports facility.

In Hawthorn, the lid might as well be welded shut.

An hour west along Princes Highway, Geelong is giving Hawk fans a lesson.

Val and Don Moors have their highway-front home decked out in blue and white.

"If both teams play to their potential it will be as good as the '89 Grand Final," Mr Moors tips.

He declared himself "quietly confident". "I'm not," Mrs Moors adds rather loudly.

She pats her cat Sumi, bought last year, and says it is a premiership omen.

The couple are Cats' members and are hanging on a ballot to decide whether they'll be at the game.

"If it was the old days I'd be camped outside of Myer's," Mr Moors says.

"By midnight tonight they'll be stretched down to Yarra St."

Second in that queue, Heather Jose, has been camped on a chair from 11.15pm Friday, straight after the Cats did the Dogs.

"It was freezing cold on Friday night - really cold, windy and wet," she says, and she's in for the long haul, until tomorrow morning.

The queue is killing time by remembering the good times, last year's flag and earlier.

"I've got memories of 1989, but I hope the result is reversed," Mrs Jose says.

"We had Gary Ablett last time and we've got Gary Ablett Jr this time.

"We're quietly confident and we're very proud of the Geelong boys."

Fire up Hawk fans, paint Glenferrie Road awash with Brown and Gold

Cats fans purring at flag hope

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,24381446-661,00.html

Fire up Hawk fans, paint Glenferrie Road awash with Brown and Gold

The reporter needed an angle or he didn't have a story - actually half the shops in glenferrie road have streamers and/or balloons (and the other half I will never go in again)!

But if anyone is to blame for the lack of outside "colour" it is boroondara council who despite charging a fortune in rates each year hardly celebrates anything - even xmas.

BTW I believe ch10 will be interviewing some locals for their news tonight.

Can someone who is headed that way take some pics and post them.

Journo must be one those whinging saints supporters lol.
(With apologies to the majority of respectable saints)

i live in Hawthorn - a bit ironic i concede - but there is very little in way of fanfare where i am. most people wouldnt even know when the GF was on - or where it is being held!
Head down to the Arcadia on Punt Road, South Yarra for a look at a trueluy obsessed Geelong fan!! Thats the ways its done!

I live in Hawthorn and I can tell you by Friday, the fever will hit Glenferrie Road and there will be Hawk fans eveywhere. In Handbag town there isnt much else to do, hence the reason they have jumped the gun. One premiership in 9000 years will do that to you.

At the moment my desk at work is covered in brown and gold streamers. I've got a few weird looks but stuff 'em!

I had brunch yesterday in one of the cafe's on Glenferrie Road near Linda Cres and the whole street all the shop fronts had brown & gold balloons, streamers and posters. There was one bold Geelong blue & white one as well.

Stupid journos some of them they seriously write articles for the sake of it.

im a rep in qld and my car is decked out in hawks stuff, and the warehouse i go back to is coated in brown and gold. nobody knows whats going on up here but i do and it is fantastic. loving life

Its a hawthorn nation not just a suburb. Glenferrie goes Ok and the pubs have had flags for a while now.

PS looking forward to the geelong bypass - when we can avoid them an they can avoid us

Was walking along Adelaide Street in Brisbane last week and saw a Truck driver driving a truck decked out in Hawthorn colours with a Hawthorn flag out the window.

Also where I work we have a geelong fan who has lined all the corridors (leading to the dunny) with advertiser recycle material.

He wasnt so loud last year but there weren't any port fans to annoy

i live in Hawthorn - a bit ironic i concede - but there is very little in way of fanfare where i am. most people wouldnt even know when the GF was on - or where it is being held!
Head down to the Arcadia on Punt Road, South Yarra for a look at a trueluy obsessed Geelong fan!! Thats the ways its done!

Have you done a survey to back this up?

I wouldnt even know where Geeong is if I didnt have to go through it to get to Lorne.

I have a chocolate coloured dog. He is getting the half yellow spray paint job done on him this Thursday.:p

heehee, I have a yellow lab, did think about spraying her half brown, but I am sure she would not be happy...lol, maybe we can just put our dogs together? they will compliment each other well. I do often put a hawks jumper on her, she has the broad shoulders and solid body of Campbell Brown, she looks so cute in the jumper.

I was talking to my postie this morning about hawks, we are both hawks supporters and chat a lot about footy during the year, he is going to put a hawks sticker on the back of his helmet :D:thumbsu:

We have already starting decorating our front window at home with hawks stuff and my mum is going to dress up the front window of her shop in hawks colours as well.

Does the suburb of Hawthorn care?