Review Dogs 115 def Suns 67

How much of the huge turnaround can we blame on the AFL's ridiculous round 0 advantage given to Melbourne?

This was how we expected the side to play when we started the season. Not saying we would have won but we probably would have got a lot closer to Melbourne if we'd both played (or both NOT played) Round 0.
Certainly an element of it no doubt. Hard to judge how much influence it had though

On SM-S926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

How much of the huge turnaround can we blame on the AFL's ridiculous round 0 advantage given to Melbourne?

This was how we expected the side to play when we started the season. Not saying we would have won but we probably would have got a lot closer to Melbourne if we'd both played (or both NOT played) Round 0.
It seems more than a little unfair. Melbourne are a good side notwithstanding.

But, let the baby have it's bottle in the first few rounds. T'is a long season. Let's see how Clarry is travelling after 24 rounds off the gear.

Key takeaways:
1. Libba: inspirational - like a fine wine: is getting better each year;
2. Flea: no more to be said;
3. Our backline: record number of intercept marks (thank god for Liam; Buku takes another step; Richards is a gun; I like Williams back): bravo to the coaches.
4. Darce could be anything. unbelievable potential (zero concern if we don't retain English);
5. Fringe players: liked Gags and Poulter; Baker is my boy!
6. Absolutely filthy with the ALF and their BS Zero round. What a F'king disgrace.
7. VDM: watched it on the tele so can't assess his pressure contribution (but loved his sniping/diving to give us a 50m/goal).

Our intensity today was much improved on last week.
We looked soft against Melbourne.
I didn't like Gawn roughing up Harmes with no response.
It reminded me of JJ getting the treatment from Sydney with no response.
Today, at least, we were prepared to throw our weight around.

Key takeaways:
1. Libba: inspirational - like a fine wine: is getting better each year;
2. Flea: no more to be said;
3. Our backline: record number of intercept marks (thank god for Liam; Buku takes another step; Richards is a gun; I like Williams back): bravo to the coaches.
4. Darce could be anything. unbelievable potential (zero concern if we don't retain English);
5. Fringe players: liked Gags and Poulter; Baker is my boy!
6. Absolutely filthy with the ALF and their BS Zero round. What a F'king disgrace.
7. VDM: watched it on the tele so can't assess his pressure contribution (but loved his sniping/diving to give us a 50m/goal).

1711267830039.jpeg

Yeah really happy with today, as I said in the game day thread, a couple of things we did right today from the coaches:

A plan for Rowell, hala flipping lulah, we never do this but today there was a clear plan and whadya know it worked. Massive props for this.

Midfield rotations were great.

We just had a lot more urgency and executed better so maybeeeee it was just a week 1 blunder, I dunno we’ve seen this all before so I need to see consistent change but very happy with the defensive intent and willingness to run and support.

Didn’t think our forward line was great, Naughty and Marra had their moments and Darcy is just a beast - but on way too many occasions it was still very disorganised, jurys out on this it needs improvement, we’re surely the only team that can force a turnover at half forward and still not have anyone to kick to inside 50. Don’t lead at the ball carrier either which is frustrating. Cody’s such a weapon when he’s o.

Baker was purely awesome, just a great game. Bramble too I wasn’t big on but he looks so comfortable. Buku, massive game. Very impressive.

If we can drop Poulter, bring JOD back in push Buku to third tall and Williams back to the wing, Clarke in forward - I think that’s a much better mix. Red is such a massive loss luckily it may only be next week, and Coff is just depressing, the way he was acting screams it could be a genuine AC joint and a big set back. Really feel for him.

Libba massive, Bont massive thought English really built into the game too.

All in all good day out, more of that please

Edit: Vanders was much better, he’s still probably not good enough but big improvement. Loved his attitude today even if his offensive play was still lacking at times

It's been discussed before but it's defensive pressure that Vandermeer brings. If we want to be able to shut down space quickly he helps.
If there was a player that put on as much pressure as him but was an offensive weapon they would get a game.

As it stands we value pressure highly and he gets a game because he’s better at it than the alternatives. I think the coaches are willing to tolerate the odd skill error or poor decision.

We were so slow last week. The saints, swans, and gws have raised the standard in this area. It's our one major weakness.
Today JJ running from half back, constantly breaking lines, dramatically changes what is otherwise our slow plodding style. Baker another speedster coming on early and playing like that was also a godsend and left the Suns with no where to go.

Pace is great, pace is essential and if we get that kind of performance from JJ and Baker consistently it puts us in the running. I believe Bevo is aware of this team weakness and it is why he plays Vandemere. But where Vandemere has pace and adds pressure he butchers the ball, is a poor shot at goal and consistently makes tackling errors.

Didn’t think our forward line was great, Naughty and Marra had their moments and Darcy is just a beast - but on way too many occasions it was still very disorganised, jurys out on this it needs improvement, we’re surely the only team that can force a turnover at half forward and still not have anyone to kick to inside 50. Don’t lead at the ball carrier either which is frustrating.

Doggiesftw you are correct. I could very well be wrong but the more I watch our forward line, it is a forward line of individuals with similar traits. There is a strong possibility that no matter the coaching it is the mix of players in the forward line that is the issue, not there ability.

The better forward lines have players with different strengths working together as one. Not sure Naughts, Marra and Flea will ever be able to do it.

Oscar Baker needs to regularly find the level he did today becuase his red bouffant and tache are too good to not be in the seniors.
If he regularly finds that level he’s the best winger in the league tbf 😂 but yeah agreed. He’s a ripper bloke never gonna doubt his effort and brings lots of comedic value

Didn’t think our forward line was great, Naughty and Marra had their moments and Darcy is just a beast - but on way too many occasions it was still very disorganised, jurys out on this it needs improvement, we’re surely the only team that can force a turnover at half forward and still not have anyone to kick to inside 50. Don’t lead at the ball carrier either which is frustrating.

Doggiesftw you are correct. I could very well be wrong but the more I watch our forward line, it is a forward line of individuals with similar traits. There is a strong possibility that no matter the coaching it is the mix of players in the forward line that is the issue, not there ability.

The better forward lines have players with different strengths working together as one. Not sure Naughts, Marra and Flea will ever be able to do it.

I get where you’re coming from as in on paper the traits don’t necessarily gel, but I think that’s a bit of a cop out. Why aren’t they coachable? Like these are all very good footballers, I think saying they’re not able to learn how to play a role is probably an insult on their ability. I really think the coaching is subpar, we’ll never know but **** we’ve given the keys to a rolls Royce to Spangher. I’d like to see an experienced, successful forward coach have a crack at these guys because the talent is immense.

We’ve got a 40 goal small forward, a 50 goal CHF, possibly the best contested mark and 2nd ruck in the league and an athletic beast of an all round forward threat in Marra - surely they can work it out?

I must say, when the skies are blue and the sun is shining, I love watching games in Ballarat. You are so close to the action, and the ground has that suburban character of old. Helps to win, of course, but what a pleasant day it was!
The crowd was immense today too, that was nice to see - whilst I punched 12 Asahis on the couch mind you, but was nice to see

Since 2000 when Champion Data started recording stats
It’s actually quite amusing to pull that out the week after we were so poor in that area.

Obviously it’s disappointing they couldn’t execute last week but one of that bobblehead Cornes’ talking points was ‘they’ve failed to recruit an intercept marking player’.

Knocked off work in the city at 5am, followed by a two hour trip home, and a measly 3.5 hour sleep. And then up again, for an hour or so trip to Ballarat. Was hoping that myself and the team wouldn't be flat today.

But what a great day it was.

Firstly, the reactions and over the top melts through out the week. Are normally reserved for if we were 0-5, or 1-4. Not one freaking game in the season. People saying they hope this player gets injured, or that you hope that we would lose. Was all pathetic as. Do better!

Back to the game. First time in Ballarat. Not even sure what is up with some of the criticisms of the venue. Surface was immaculate, views good, could smell the grass, the weather amazing. Had a real suburban footy vibe to it, unlike that soulless venue we call Marvel. Was the best game day vibe I have gotten to experience in years.

That first quarter. Was exactly how I want us to play. Direct and with dare. Ended up being our best opening quarter in awhile. But I was still nervous. Because even last year, we had many good opening quarters, only to let teams back into it in junk time during the second quarter. And then come out flat in the third and be run over for the rest of the game. For a moment it felt like the same script. So I was impressed we were able to put our foot down in the last quarter, whilst kicking into the wind.

All three inclusions played well today. Loved the work of the defence. Thought they played well last week as well, but were left exposed by the rest of the team being poor in the last quarter last week. Richards, Jones and Khamis picked off heaps of the footy today.

Saw someone laugh off Darcy, Sanders, Gallagher in the game day thread. Not sure what game you were watching. But they won like two clearances and had an eventual goal when they were together. The Suns got the run on when the experienced heads returned, and because we made stupid decisions and gave away free kicks every where. Thought it was great that we were able to lead by enough to put some developmental work into them.

I don't care if anyone thinks Gallagher isn't cut out to be an inside player. We all know he is predominantly a outside type. But nothing teaches you to improve your inside game, than actually being thrown in there. Sanders ball use improved this week, aside from one funny out on the full which went like 5m and sprayed very wide. Darcy picked off some hard park marks, where our other talls struggled at times.

Weightman had an insane opening quarter, and still found ways to keep himself relevant for most of the game. I thought he was going to end up with 10 goals at one point. Some of it was from flying for the ball, but some were from keeping his feet on the ground which was pleasing to see.

Loved Libba getting involved in heaps of scuffles. He probably starts most of them. Then acts innocent as he is being dragged along by his jumper along the ground, looking at the umpire for a free haha. But the best thing was, post game he ran up to his opponent and shook off with him. Libba vs Rowell was fun to watch.

Tackling numbers massively improved this week. As well as ball use. Still reverted to poor decision making, giving the ball off to team mates under pressure etc, in the middle parts of the game. The key will be to find some consistency, to do it for four quarters. Would love for us to stop killing forward runs, with off target kicks/hand balls, handballing to a team mate under pressure, or fumbling handball receives, giving away free kicks etc. Reckon that cost us a bigger win, and was the reason why we only managed one goal in the second quarter.

Treated myself to a detour and mini hike on the way home, to see a waterfall that I have never seen before (I love them). That looked nice as in picture. Only for there to be no water, and no waterfall :( But the walk, the fresh air, the view. All capped off a good day.

Review Dogs 115 def Suns 67