Review Dogs 93 def Saints 36

Understand the excitement about the young blokes, particularly Adams, who has had an awesome start to his AFL career. However the player that really stood out for me tonight was Bob Murphy.

His composure under pressure and ability to find people in space is often the difference between us capitalising on our possession instead of coughing it up. Another great Captain's game.

Saints deserve a bit of credit for their ability to apply such consistent pressure around the ball.

Reckon we actually played some arrogant football today. Over-possessed the ball at times (for Toyd's first goal from that free kick, came after Hunter bloody kicked the ball deep in or forward line rather than over-possessing it by sideways movement which we did a fair lot, I thought to myself thank god he has a bit of sense, pretty much for the entire game we were over-possessing it and unnecessarily taking indirect avenues to goal) and also we obviously went for a few dribble kicks etc. We switched the ball too often, and looked to give off an extra handball at times when the first bloke could have been the one kicking it. (Guys, Roughy was taking contested marks around the round, just bloody kick it to him).

Came away from the game thinking - gee, or offensive efficiency or "clinical" way of kicking goals in the forward half was a bit meh, needs improvement, but I'll be buggered if we aren't the best defensive team so far this year. And by defence I don't just mean intercept possessions and defending the goal (like Adams beasting it), I mean the whole aspect of it - limiting your opponent's ball movement, right from the word go, through sticking your tackles and having systematic pressure. Watching other games this week... other teams just don't stick their tackles as much as we do, let alone apply constant pressure which forces turnovers and poor decision making through "perceived" pressure. Efficiency in front of goal - poor - all aspects of defending - elite.

Not getting a lot of love is Roughy. Hickey came into this game into form - had 25 hitouts to advantage last week no less - and Roughy just didn't beat him in the ruck. but beat him around the ground as well. For a bloke who had a poor pre-season and only played because theoretically our two first choice rucks before the season begun in Campbell and Minson were injured, he's done an awesome job.

And also - depth. DEPTH!!! We've got to find a way to get Dickson into the team (Dunkley probably to get a rest)... and Dale kicked 7 for Footscray. Depth!!!!
Hope we play more arrogant footy. The best teams are supremely confident as individuals and in a group, to the point of arrogance. I'd agree that we did over possess it, but it didn't cost us much in terms of them scoring.

Special shout out for JJ's intercept and resulting goal for stringer, and also Caleb Daniel's beautiful selling of Candy to get rid of 3 defenders and his beautiful right foot snap 35 out ! ( cult hero)

Lov'n it !

Hope we play more arrogant footy. The best teams are supremely confident as individuals and in a group, to the point of arrogance. I'd agree that we did over possess it, but it didn't cost us much in terms of them scoring.
I sort of get what you're saying, but we were arrogantly indirect at times. This means that given how good our team defense was to force turnovers through systematic pressure, we took unnecessarily indirect avenues to goal at times, and were not clinical in finishing off offensive thrusts on multiple occasions.

This is an incredibly simplistic view of things - but just look at the points for and points against for the game. Whilst it's good, 93 points in a match isn't really impressive in and of itself, especially on a higher scoring ground that is Etihad - we were actually more impressive offensively in many games last year when we put teams to the sword with great, clinical offensive efficiency. Credit to the team defence, pressure, tackling and of course Marcus Adams who all helped us restrict the opposition to just 36 points, but there's nothing wrong in being somewhat disappointed in the inefficiency in front of goal and the indirect arrogance with ball in hand that led us to "only" kick 93 points - which isn't an impressive number in an of itself.

Special shout out for JJ's intercept and resulting goal for stringer, and also Caleb Daniel's beautiful selling of Candy to get rid of 3 defenders and his beautiful right foot snap 35 out ! ( cult hero)

Lov'n it !
Cult hero, soon to be recognised league wide as a genuine star. Am more confident with the ball in the hands of this 12 gamer than I am with anyone on our list except Bob Murphy.

Just read back over the Saints preview thread and then their gameday thread.

Absolutely beautiful how quickly their tough talk gave way to the stark realisation they were totally out of their depth and their team is plop. Descended into umpire and Boyd bashing by the second quarter.

Through two games we are a +9 (-64 2015) in contested marking (McLean!!! Adams!!! Roughy!!!). If this improvement is real which with the best 22 we are currently playing I think it just might be, it will be extremely beneficial for our long term prospects this year.

Can Shane Biggs get a bit of appreciation? Played as a key defender tonight and did it with aplomb. Was on St Nick for a large portion of the game and rarely lost. Also floated in front of the leading player many times taking grab after grab. What a brilliant pick up he's been.

When we first grabbed him, I thought he'd just be some good flanker depth, and for the first half of last year I thought he just took the easy option with a bomb down the line or a 25m pass to a stationary target. But we can see he's grown in confidence immensely, obviously from having guys like JJ and Bob around to learn from.

Absolutely stoked for him, as I did plenty of media work with him when he first got to the swans and I initially thought he was absolutely no chance of making it. Way to make me look like a dick, Biggsy.

Can Shane Biggs get a bit of appreciation? Played as a key defender tonight and did it with aplomb. Was on St Nick for a large portion of the game and rarely lost. Also floated in front of the leading player many times taking grab after grab. What a brilliant pick up he's been.

When we first grabbed him, I thought he'd just be some good flanker depth, and for the first half of last year I thought he just took the easy option with a bomb down the line or a 25m pass to a stationary target. But we can see he's grown in confidence immensely, obviously from having guys like JJ and Bob around to learn from.

Absolutely stoked for him, as I did plenty of media work with him when he first got to the swans and I initially thought he was absolutely no chance of making it. Way to make me look like a dick, Biggsy.
Seeing how he's done for us its amazing to me that the Swans never gave him a run and then gave him away for virtually nothing, he seems to fit perfectly with a need they've been trying to fill for ages

I hate to be that guy but I find it so amusing that Doges and Saints fans alike thought Hickey was gonna give us a headache tonight after his big round one. I didn't say anything but was quietly confident all week that Roughy would more than match it with him. Very glad to be proven right. I knew Lobbe made Hickey look a lot better than he is.

Game started at 3:25am here, so couldn't stay up/get up. Just saw the highlights and Adams looked soooo good with JJ adding a dash to the side. I guess the JJ McBaldy look makes him stand out even more. Looks like next week's match is at a more reasonable time. Looking forward to it.

Are Saints supporters the most delusional supporters in the comp? According to their board Geary gave Dahlhaus a bath tonight.

Dahlhaus: 16 disposals, 13 tackles (next highest among both teams was 6)

Geary: 8 disposals, 3 tackles.

I guess when your season is already over you have to try to convince yourself there is a silver lining somewhere.

Where is that Sipposs character?????

Flapping his gums about blah blah

Have you read these muppets thread?? Apparently umpires and their bad disposal is the only reason we won and also if they kicked better they would have won.

Did the monkeys miss our bad kicking at goal??

We played cr@p and dismissed them like the bottom 6 team they are

NEXT

Game started at 3:25am here, so couldn't stay up/get up. Just saw the highlights and Adams looked soooo good with JJ adding a dash to the side. I guess the JJ McBaldy look makes him stand out even more. Looks like next week's match is at a more reasonable time. Looking forward to it.

Chicago, I'm in NYC, good to know there's another dogs supporter on this side of the globe!

not gonna bother acknowledging the full ****** comments made by full ******s (from every club, there's always a section)

too good for us fellas, and that's not even playing at your best. Marcus Adams will be a great player for the Dogs for a long time, in fact it's a long list of them sorts. Bont, Stringer, Hunter, JJ, Libba, and the rest. Boyd will destroy defenders in 3-4 years

well played and good luck for the rest of the season

not gonna bother acknowledging the full ****** comments made by full ******s (from every club, there's always a section)

too good for us fellas, and that's not even playing at your best. Marcus Adams will be a great player for the Dogs for a long time, in fact it's a long list of them sorts. Bont, Stringer, Hunter, JJ, Libba, and the rest. Boyd will destroy defenders in 3-4 years

well played and good luck for the rest of the season

Thanks mate. Good luck with the rest of your season and for the following years. Would like to see the Saints rise back up, just not before we win a few flags please.

Where is that Sipposs character?????

Flapping his guns about blah blah

Have you red these muppets thread?? Apparently umpires And there bad disposal is the only reason we won and if they kicked better they would have won.

Did the monkeys miss our bad kicking at goal??

We played cr@p and dismissed them like the bottom 6 team they are

NEXT

They are right mate they absolutely dominated us in general play. If it wasn't for a few missed goals and a few umpire decisions they win that game easy. We brought our absolute A game and they almost matched it with us.

/s

Although it was looking doubtful late in the 3rd, I managed to make it out of the ground and eventually home alive.

St.Kilda supporters are bar none the worst, most humorless, barely human and incredibly deluded supporters in the competition.

Thanks mate. Good luck with the rest of your season and for the following years. Would like to see the Saints rise back up, just not before we win a few flags please.
I'd happily watch the Dogs win a flag or 2. mum's side of the family are all Dogs fans so I like to see them do well. maybe if we're lucky we'll seea Dogs vs Saints granny in a few years

As long as it's not a prelim. But yeah a Dogs vs Saints granny in a few years would be fantastic. No team I'd rather face as the final boss.

Review Dogs 93 def Saints 36