Review Dogs defeat Giants 86-71

Why does Jamarra get so much criticism on here? He is a 21-year-old, 197cm key forward playing in atrocious conditions for a tall forward and he kept at it all night. He was so far from our worst player that it's embarrassing to read the criticism on here. JUH has plenty of influential moments and works his arse off during the game. I wonder sometimes if I have watched a different game than some of you.
I have the exact same argument with my Dad. I just have to agree to disagree with him. I didn’t think Marra was great tonight but he kept presenting and he wasn’t suited by the conditions. He is important to the team and I’m backing him to have a big one next week.

Why does Jamarra get so much criticism on here? He is a 21-year-old, 197cm key forward playing in atrocious conditions for a tall forward and he kept at it all night. He was so far from our worst player that it's embarrassing to read the criticism on here. JUH has plenty of influential moments and works his arse off during the game. I wonder sometimes if I have watched a different game than some of you.
Because BigFooty is filled with all sorts of people from all different walks of life. Some people fail the ability to contextualize and understand.

Arty is a player that will always be better in the 1s than the 2s. Needs to be around classy players where the ball moves to showcase his talent rather than a dung heap in the vfl
Spot on, I reckon if you go through my posting history I’ve said this exact thing at least 15 times 😂

Tbf I didn’t expect this difference though, he’s genuinely class - on a few occasions tonight he had a handle on the ball that no one else even Bont showed.

I thought his ceiling was solid but geez he actually has very few weaknesses, for some reason at AFL level he doesn’t fumble and has been spot on by foot - his two biggest weaknesses, to go along with his tenacity, athleticism and surprising overhead stength, he’s a pretty well rounded little player.

He’ll obviously never be big but If he can just get a bit stronger through the core, which he should, then honestly I’m not sure how good he can be. There’s something a little bit special about him

The Canberra night game is a get the 4 points and get the hell out of there with as few injuries as possible. As a form reference and because of the weather conditions, I rule a line through it every year.

On JUH, I agree, he looked like he worked hard throughout the match in trying and testing conditions that didn't favour a developing tall. Nothing to see here.

LONG LIVE THE KING!!

344906916_1409455229911142_3881285867772987486_n.jpg

I’ve read through this whole review and haven’t really thought he was critiqued. Not like Keath and Gardiner or Weightman have been. There have been a couple of real ‘negative nancies’ on the club and the game generally but most have said and I agree the Giants are better than their ladder position it was interstate and bloody wet so a hard fought win really.

Two Brownlow votes for Bont I'd wager.
If Bont gets 2 for that I’ll ****ing shit my pants, having the same argument with a mate currently. Yeah look at the stat sheet sure Green had 38 & 3 but Bont absolutely, without a doubt, had more impact on that game.

14 clearances and 25/32 CP says it all, he was the most influential player on the ground. I’ll be livid.

Umps vote before seeing stats I believe? I would wager my life that he gets the 3 here

If we’re hanging our hat on the fact that Brisbane beat them by 21 pts, then we sound more like Gold Coast supporters than the supporters of a team that should be pushing for a top 4 spot.

Most of our last 4-5 weeks have been great. Bar a poor period against the Hawks last week. Tonight was a couple of steps back from what I watched.

Bank the 4 pts and hope for better performances over the next few weeks. We’ve got a massive opportunity to get a decent ledger between now and a potential finals birth. We need to be playing better than we did tonight though.
Those conditions also don't lend themselves to pretty football.

It usually ends up in a scrap and heavy legs. I think it was fairly noticeable in how the team played once Treloar went off.

But it also showed maturity to steady a bit at the end... something Sydney couldn't do last week

I’ve read through this whole review and haven’t really thought he was critiqued. Not like Keath and Gardiner or Weightman have been. There have been a couple of real ‘negative nancies’ on the club and the game generally but most have said and I agree the Giants are better than their ladder position it was interstate and bloody wet so a hard fought win really.
Game day thread posts mainly, some pretty pathetic shit posted but yeah probs best to just not count them as everyone’s allowed a game day thread melt (except me I’ve never melted in a game day thread…)

Was at game. Arty fantastic. His running off the ball to cover space and plug holes was fantastic and when ball in hand so clever and dangerous. We have been wanting a crumbing hard chasing harassing speedy forward for years. We’ve finally got one!!! Weightman very quiet. Keath WTF! Seriously heart in mouth stuff with ball in hand. Gardner was much more reliable although only a serviceable game from him. JJ good, English absolutely dominant. He just totally worked over their lump of a ruck (whoever it is)..

If Bont gets 2 for that I’ll ******* s**t my pants, having the same argument with a mate currently. Yeah look at the stat sheet sure Green had 38 & 3 but Bont absolutely, without a doubt, had more impact on that game.

14 clearances and 25/32 CP says it all, he was the most influential player on the ground. I’ll be livid.

Umps vote before seeing stats I believe? I would wager my life that he gets the 3 here
You could probably be livid without shitting your pants.

If Bont gets 2 for that I’ll ******* s**t my pants, having the same argument with a mate currently. Yeah look at the stat sheet sure Green had 38 & 3 but Bont absolutely, without a doubt, had more impact on that game.

Only reason Bont won’t get 3 is if the umps have some recency bias I.e Bont dominated the first half but Green was amazing in the last quarter

Our talls at either end don't do everything perfectly but I'd rather having 3 structurally competent talls at each end than either being too short or having to play some developing tall.

We win the game in part because there was not one kick for the entire game that we were stretched for height.

He’s the weakest 207cm ever to pull on a jumper not his fault just a poor recruit. Sam Darcy would be doing the same thing if given the same opportunity
Maybe in a year or two but absolute bullocks now

On SM-G996B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Everyone knows I love a bloody melt and I still have a few major concerns mainly around the coaching and set up of this team which haven’t been addressed but geez I just don’t see it tonight.

That was a pretty gritty win IMO, we all lament the inability to stop run ins, but we did exactly that tonight? We were a touch complacent coming into the last and looked to protect our body’s and our lead, and they got a bit of heat into the game (let’s not forget that the first 3 of their 4 goal run honestly happened due to poor umpiring decisions) but we shut it down and kicked the next 2 or 3… that’s exactly what we want our team to do is it not? 3 or 4 goals in the modern game isn’t exactly rare, it’s the 6, 7, 8 unanswered goal runs which are a problem.

We lost our 2nd best player on the ground early in the game, as others have pointed out we’ve gone to Adelaide, Perth, home & now Canberra in the last month, it was another wet weather slog in which we’ve played many in the past 2 months. We tried to save the legs a bit in the last for good reason, when we realised we had to we switched on. That’s a massive positive IMO. I honestly don’t get why so many are taking that as a negative.

I’ve watched us play hot & cold, inconsistent footy & beat up on shit teams by 100 points multiple times over the past few seasons (most 100 point wins out of any team over past few seasons IIRC?) but play a brand of footy where if we’re not at our best playing 100% perfect footy we lose, where has that got us?

Personally It’s ****ing genuinely refreshing to see us not dominate or play our best footy, yet still be banking solid wins early in the season. Which is what 99% of premiership sides of the last 2 decades has done. **** the champagne footy we usually try to play, again where has that gotten us? Bank easy wins where we barely get out of 2nd gear for the first 2/3 of the season, then kick into gear for a run at the flag.

The first two weeks were a disaster, there’s some decent challenges to come in the next month which will tell us a lot about where we’re actually at, but honestly we’re doing what we need to right now there’s really nothing to complain about. There’s a stability in this side which we haven’t seen in flipping years.

Easy wins where we’re never reallllly troubled, whilst maybe not pretty, is good footy IMO

Game the **** on

Just made a rare visit to the main board game day thread. So many salty supporters of other teams that seem to genuinely despise us.

Plotting The Simpsons GIF

This is so much better than being everyone's second team.

Those conditions also don't lend themselves to pretty football.

It usually ends up in a scrap and heavy legs. I think it was fairly noticeable in how the team played once Treloar went off.

But it also showed maturity to stead a bit at the end... something Sydney couldn't do last week

I don’t mind a half glass full approach to our teams performances as my posting over the years suggest, but our performance was poor and it had nothing to do with conditions or injuries.

You don’t need dry weather to be better positioned around a contest, or move in better directions to assist the ball user. Or even move from a flat footed stationary position at all. You also don’t need dry weather to close up the opposition quickly when it’s clear giving them time means they’ll find a player out in space. Our decision making for large parts was poor and down right lazy. Don’t need dry weather for that.

This was through a lot of the game long before Treloar was injured.

Besides some standouts in Bont, English, JJ even. Arty as well. Naughts for 5min in the last. We were shit.

Was an interesting game to be at.

Even when we were not in control of the game it was one we still looked like winning.

Our handballs back into pressure when we are out are getting a bit infuriating as they swing momentum against us.

Personel wise there are only changes around the edges so we just.need to keep getting the 4 points and keep working on gelling together.

Some.of the criticism here and on the game day thread is a little baffling to say the least.

The.season is back in our hands. I personally don't believe our list is strong or deep enough but make the finals and who knows.

Just on football, over 10,000 here tonight on a coldish wet evening when the day was perfect. GWS need to work out where they represent (well the AFL actually) as.a.team in Canberra is a more likely success story than Western Sydney. In saying that we did have a good support up here tonight

On SM-G996B using BigFooty.com mobile app

My only critique on Marra tonight was when he was pushed out of a marking contest and almost looked like hed either given up or dropped his head. It happened at least 4-5 times.

Review Dogs defeat Giants 86-71