Review Dogs defeat Giants 86-71

Spot on, I reckon if you go through my posting history Iā€™ve said this exact thing at least 15 times šŸ˜‚

Tbf I didnā€™t expect this difference though, heā€™s genuinely class - on a few occasions tonight he had a handle on the ball that no one else even Bont showed.

I thought his ceiling was solid but geez he actually has very few weaknesses, for some reason at AFL level he doesnā€™t fumble and has been spot on by foot - his two biggest weaknesses, to go along with his tenacity, athleticism and surprising overhead stength, heā€™s a pretty well rounded little player.

Heā€™ll obviously never be big but If he can just get a bit stronger through the core, which he should, then honestly Iā€™m not sure how good he can be. Thereā€™s something a little bit special about him
I mean he obviously improved a lot from last season to this pre-season, that much has been said by Bevo, Arty himself and others, can't put it all down to him being able to show his class at the higher level, last year he was nowhere near it in a lot of areas, but he's worked hard, learned from Cody and improved his game immensely.

Some dot points about tonight
  • the Bont is the best Footscray player ever
  • Arty Jones is better than I thought. Deserves his spot
  • Lobb is a forward. Not a forward/ruck. Loses every contest.
  • Baker stop fumbling and falling over. Just stop it.
  • it is pointless handballing to a player who has an opponent beside him. Havenā€™t we figured this out yet?
  • Jones is easily our best kpd

I donā€™t mind a half glass full approach to our teams performances as my posting over the years suggest, but our performance was poor and it had nothing to do with conditions or injuries.

You donā€™t need dry weather to be better positioned around a contest, or move in better directions to assist the ball user. Or even move from a flat footed stationary position at all. You also donā€™t need dry weather to close up the opposition quickly when itā€™s clear giving them time means theyā€™ll find a player out in space. Our decision making for large parts was poor and down right lazy. Donā€™t need dry weather for that.

This was through a lot of the game long before Treloar was injured.

Besides some standouts in Bont, English, JJ even. Arty as well. Naughts for 5min in the last. We were s**t.
CB were you at the game tonight to get a full appreciation of the conditions?

On SM-G996B using BigFooty.com mobile app

CB were you at the game tonight to get a full appreciation of the conditions?

On SM-G996B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Nup, at home on the couch with my hands down my pants Al Bundy style.

I understand what wet weather can do to skill execution, but our poor application in several areas not related to ball use was shithouse. It was a mile behind what weā€™ve served up the last 4-5 weeks.

Banking the points, yeah happy as Larry. How we went about it, not overly.

345206561_547286187596228_6262296191583566541_n.jpg
The Office Lol GIF by NETFLIX
That's such an intimidating banner. I suspect our players and fans at the game were dreading the opening bounce! :laughing:

Pffft. What a bunch of p1ssants.

YOU'RE NOT EVEN A REAL CLUB, YOU D1CKHEADS!

If Bont gets 2 for that Iā€™ll ******* s**t my pants, having the same argument with a mate currently. Yeah look at the stat sheet sure Green had 38 & 3 but Bont absolutely, without a doubt, had more impact on that game.

14 clearances and 25/32 CP says it all, he was the most influential player on the ground. Iā€™ll be livid.

Umps vote before seeing stats I believe? I would wager my life that he gets the 3 here

For me I wondered if the umpires would reward Green's scoreboard impact. Three goals from a ball-winning mid, especially when he almost single-handedly pulled the Giants back into it, is big. Bont's clearances and contested work were undeniable though, and obviously I want him to get the three.

I mean he obviously improved a lot from last season to this pre-season, that much has been said by Bevo, Arty himself and others, can't put it all down to him being able to show his class at the higher level, last year he was nowhere near it in a lot of areas, but he's worked hard, learned from Cody and improved his game immensely.
Yeah no doubt heā€™s improved heā€™s 20yo after all, but I dunno - if he played VFL tomorrow how do you think heā€™d go? Honestly I donā€™t think heā€™d show too much. VFL is just a wasteland for a lot of players, someone who plays the game like Arty he needs skilled players on his level for support and a fast paced game, he just gets lost playing in the congested, rolling maul with 180cm/95kg VFL battlers on the receiving end of his passes/or feeding him.

Darcy & Buss will be the same, leave them there whilst they get their bodyā€™s to the level required for AFL but when talented kids can cope with AFL they need to come in, because VFL footy these days does **** all for their development IMO

Reckon Bailey Smith's best position is on the outside.

Shame Garcia is injured because he would've got a run in the guts next week.

Really intriguing conversation between a journalist (unsure of their name) and Bevo in the press conference. Very refreshing. Encourage everyone to check it out if youā€™re a stats nerd like me.

Fox footy upload them on YouTube but they didnā€™t upload the full presser. Check it out on the AFL app or website.

Interesting

Beveridge said Treloar was taken out of the game as a precaution and they're hoping it's minor as to whether he plays next week or not.

But admitted it's an injury to the hamstring but that he's been able to play through similar in the past.

Doubt any risk is taken but hopefully a short layoff

Really intriguing conversation between a journalist (unsure of their name) and Bevo in the press conference. Very refreshing. Encourage everyone to check it out if youā€™re a stats nerd like me.

Fox footy upload them on YouTube but they didnā€™t upload the full presser. Check it out on the AFL app or website.
Scruffy looking character but asked some very insightful questions. Made for an unusual presser by AFL standards. I think Bevo kind of enjoyed it and perhaps even had a little respect for the journo who'd clearly done his homework....how often could you say that!

If Bont gets 2 for that Iā€™ll ******* s**t my pants, having the same argument with a mate currently. Yeah look at the stat sheet sure Green had 38 & 3 but Bont absolutely, without a doubt, had more impact on that game.

14 clearances and 25/32 CP says it all, he was the most influential player on the ground. Iā€™ll be livid.

Umps vote before seeing stats I believe? I would wager my life that he gets the 3 here
They are 100% aware of the stats. They get blasted all over the scoreboard during games. The emergency umpire sitting on the bench is definitely aware of the stats and feeds into the votes discussion.

Icing the hammy in Canberra would keep the hammy warmer but good spot.
LOL

I know you're only joking but let's get a few things clear about the conditions tonight:
  1. They were difficult conditions for slick football because there was intermittent light rain from fairly early on which made the ground and the ball slippery. That became more obvious later in the game.
  2. I read reports of "driving rain" and "terrible conditions" but although I was sitting out in the open I only got slightly wet and the BoM reported no measurable rain in the gauge until after I got home. Whoever wrote that must have been sitting at home, guessing. (i.e. a journo)
  3. It was not cold. Freezing Canberra makes a good trope but it simply wasn't the case tonight. Yes the forecast was for somewhere around 3 to 5 overnight but the arrival of the rainclouds meant the temperature didn't plummet like it does on a clear starry Canberra night. In fact here is the BoM temperature read out for the duration of the game in Canberra and Melbourne tonight:

1683383750833.png

So if you wanted to freeze your nuts off tonight you needed to head to Melbourne, not Canberra. šŸ˜‚

Or maybe to the new home of footy, Hobart, where it ranged from 5.8 to 5.0 over that period. šŸ„¶

A nappy and a life insurance policy on and before Brownlow night would not go astray....

Not clear cut. Green, the good one without the superfluous "e", was excellent and was lauded by both Bevo and Bont in post game interviews.

I'd favour Bont though ... slightly.

In no way shape or form was Tom Green better tonight than the Bont. If GWS got up he would get the 3 but they didnā€™t so no chance.

TG doesn't necessarily have to have been better, he just needs more votes. I think it's close but favour Bont slightly. What the umpires think is unknowable till September.

In TG's favour, he kicked 3 goals, 38 disposals etc and GWS spent 57% of match time in our forward half in slippery conditions. He made a significant contribution to that but didn't win.

I like a punt, but I think I'd stay out of this one.

Ruck Contests (Hitouts / To Advantage / Sharked)
80 - English (40 / 0 / 0)
23 - Lobb (12 / 0 / 0)
1 - Naughton (0 / 0 / 0)
1 - Ugle-Hagen (0 / 0 / 0)

Hitouts To Advantage
WB: 15
GW: 7

English v Flynn (36 contests)
Hitouts: 11 / 20
To Advantage: 4 / 3
Clearances: 19 / 13
Score: 2.3 (15) / 0.1 (1)

English v Himmelberg (28 contests)
Hitouts: 21 / 3
To Advantage: 5 / 0
Clearances: 12 / 9
Score: 0.1 (1) / 2.1 (13)
Is this a typo OG.

Also, what were Tom Greene's player ratings?

Thanks in advance.

Review Dogs defeat Giants 86-71