Strategy Draft assistance 2023 [Twomey: NMFC get #19 in 2023, x2 end of 1st rd picks in 2024, and x2 extra rookie list spots in 2024; no Sanders/#11]

Gee that's a massive risk though, with Tassie coming in soon.

Also, NMFC have been slammed for only choosing midfielders at the top end of the draft in recent years. We would deserve to be absolutely ridiculed if we did it again this year.
2 Tasmanian midfielders
Prob lose Powell and Phillips to other clubs squeezed out of midfield, then lose these 2 to the new franchise not long after

Next years draft is very midfielder heavy we have used all our first round picks in the last 5 years on midfielders. If we take Mckercher and sanders it will be the worst list management decision since the Polec trade.

I'm a big fan of taking both McKercher and Sanders as I think they will finish off our midfield nicely. But I also agree with you that we need to make the most of what this draft has to offer in KPP's. Which is why I have suggested a few times already that we trade our future first for a bunch of first round picks in this years draft since we wouldn't be needing to draft a midfielder next year. If we could turn our future first and our draft assistance into say Croft, Murphy, Shoenmaker, a key forward and Edwards, we'll be doing pretty well.

Getting these KPP's in this draft will mean they will have been given the time they need to develop by the time our young mids are hitting their straps.

How much do you think loyalty plays a part here?
We have been talking with Sanders for years, we asked him if he would like to join, we asked him to prove his aboriginal heritage, we made him jump through a bunch of hoops.
Then at the last minute the afl pulls that assistance package, we still have a pick in that range, does loyalty mean we pull the trigger?
Personally I’d be happy with Sanders at North.

Next years draft is very midfielder heavy we have used all our first round picks in the last 5 years on midfielders. If we take Mckercher and sanders it will be the worst list management decision since the Polec trade.

We won't take both of them.

However, we would be absolutely brain dead to pass on McKercher. He compliments what we have beautifully.

You simply don't pass on midfielders with breakaway speed from stoppage, that can win it inside and then rack it up 30 times and kick goals on the outside.

We don't have a midfielder with his running power and engine with contested ability either. Wardlaw and LDU are both burst players. Scott is a winger and Jy isn't a top line midfielder. McKercher has a big tank where LDU and Wardlaw likely never will have massive engines.

Look at LDU, you don't need to kick it like Nathan Buckley to be ultra damaging when you have speed around stoppage.

LDU, Wardlaw and McKercher (along with Thomas, Phillips etc) is a young midfield with potential to rival what we built in the middle of the park in the 70's imo as the best the clubs ever seen.

Is it clear we wont get some form of access to Sanders? I find this strange given all the effort that was required to ensure he met the requirements of NGA. What have I missed?
Other clubs have had a sook.

rival what we built in the middle of the park in the 70's

Stop it.

We are more than just a single player away from rivialing the midfield of our best ever era.

we need all the help we can get for being historically bad. we need as much assistance as the AFL can give us.

We totally do not want to be in a position in 12 months where the AFL are acutely aware that they gave us too much.

;)

We have been talking with Sanders for years, we asked him if he would like to join, we asked him to prove his aboriginal history, we made him jump through a bunch of hoops.
Then at the last minute the afl pulls that assistance package, we still have a pick in that range, does loyalty mean we pull the trigger?
Is there any aspect of Sanders' game that you think North would benefit from more than McKercher's?

Is it clear we wont get some form of access to Sanders? I find this strange given all the effort that was required to ensure he met the requirements of NGA. What have I missed?
I think when Twomey says the AFL no longer has Sanders on the table, its pretty clear.

People don't usually misrepresent their own employer's position on stuff in public.

Is there any aspect of Sanders' game that you think North would benefit from more than McKercher's?
Get both? Hopefully we end up with picks 2&3

Sanders has pretty elite vision, skills and stamina, he could probably play the Sheezel role from round 1 and be quiet effective.

You simply can’t have enough elite ball users in the team. Would be a nice sight players who can hit targets on every line.

But that wasn’t the question. We’ve got a kid who we’ve been tracking for a long time, projected to go around one of our picks, do we pick him because of the relationship. 🤷‍♂️

Last year 2023 was going to be the key forwards draft. It's bad list management relying on a bunch of 16/17yo's keeping the same momentum.

If Sanders is off the table in terms of assistance and we don’t get pick #3 as a priority we should be in a mood to burn AFL HQ to the ground shouldn’t we? It would be an outrage that the worst win loss record over the applicable period that’s assessed in the recent era yields anything short of that.

We have been talking with Sanders for years, we asked him if he would like to join, we asked him to prove his aboriginal heritage, we made him jump through a bunch of hoops.

A while back, seems like an eternity but was probably 2 weeks ago, it was mentioned by some scribe that North wouldn’t be handed Sanders directly, but would need to “get creative “. Getting a mid 1st round pick to combine with and existing pick or another piece of assistance to move up the draft order would certainly tick that box.

Get both? Hopefully we end up with picks 2&3

Sanders has pretty elite vision, skills and stamina, he could probably play the Sheezel role from round 1 and be quiet effective.

You simply can’t have enough elite ball users in the team. Would be a nice sight players who can hit targets on every line.

But that wasn’t the question. We’ve got a kid who we’ve been tracking for a long time, projected to go around one of our picks, do we pick him because of the relationship. 🤷‍♂️

If we can’t facilitate a trade for Reid, then I reckon Sanders & McKercher would be on the cards.

McKercher appears to be the 2nd best avail player after Reid and we’ve put a bit of work into Sanders.

A while back, seems like an eternity but was probably 2 weeks ago, it was mentioned by some scribe that North wouldn’t be handed Sanders directly, but would need to “get creative “. Getting a mid 1st round pick to combine with and existing pick or another piece of assistance to move up the draft order would certainly tick that box.
Do you think when the afl said it, they invited Brady, O’brian and who ever the goldcoasts list boss is out for dinner.
Then proceeded to stand us all up, leaving us there to talk?

Thinking about it, wouldn’t surprise me to see eagles pick up McKercher/Curtin and we end up with Sanders/Reid. Swallowing up GCS pick with additional currency.

2 Tasmanian midfielders
Prob lose Powell and Phillips to other clubs squeezed out of midfield, then lose these 2 to the new franchise not long after

Phillips and Powell are 21 and have played 32 and 45 games respectively and neither of them have played well enough to push out players like Simpkin, Greenwood, Shiels, etc. As much as we hope they take the next step, atm it is mostly hope. Seen good signs from both but we would need a massive improvement in output and consistency.

If they play well enough, there will be a place in the side for them.

I don’t know. It might be insensitive of me, but if I’m Clarko, and I’m helping Shnoz with the case to the AFL. I’m bringing in Doctor notes, Psychology reports and evidence about being treated unfairly by the general public. E.g that example of a person refusing to serve him at a petrol station. And showing how they filtered through the club because of the AFL’s handling of the saga.

A young club with no sustained leadership, uneasy turbulent times with this bomb. I don’t see how this goes unpenalised unless North and Clarkson don’t press it.

Do you think when the afl said it, they invited Brady, O’brian and who ever the goldcoasts list boss is out for dinner.
Then proceeded to stand us all up, leaving us there to talk?

Thinking about it, wouldn’t surprise me to see eagles pick up McKercher/Curtin and we end up with Sanders/Reid. Swallowing up GCS pick with additional currency.

Like being set up on a date….”hey, you two have a lot in common, you should get together “

People who think all midfielders are the same.

Oh no, we're picking another midfielder.

We don't have any midfielders like McKercher. Or Sanders for that matter.,

To win a flag you need a deep, balanced, high end midfield.

I have no idea how good any of the potential draftees will be but if we use our top two picks on more midfielders and Tasmanian ones, don’t anyone complain if our previous midfield draftees don’t develop or when we lose 1 or both to the new franchise
Tasmanian and WA kids huge flight risks for us

People have to accept the fact that some players wont make it regardless if there is a guaranteed spot or if there is competition.

As much as Simpkin has done an amazing job, I just don't feel he is premiership midfield quality given he doesn't use the ball well from stoppages. Greenwood I don't think will be around long, same as Shiels. Yes, Tasmania is going to go hard for both boys if they are any good and if there was an equivalent talent that was local I would be in favour of them but I value a midfielder with very early picks over flankers or small forwards.

IMO we have 3 options:
a) trade for Reid, will be expensive.
b) take a players like McKercher, Sanders or Curtin who are flight risks
c) trade 2 and 3 for multiple lower picks in the range of 8-15 and take a broad range of KPPs and other type of players.

The main reason we are a bottom four club is our midfield sucks, we can't get the ball enough, we can't hit targets, we can't tackle. I think our forward line is dangerous, we just don't go inside 50 enough or penetrate deep enough, quick enough to get favourable contests. We don't have enough elite ball users.

Larkey kicked 71 goals despite our shit ball movement. We had to bring Zurhaar out of the forward line into the midfield because we just couldn't win the ball, we didn't have the luxury of playing Sheezel forward because we are inept moving the ball out of defensive 50.

I wouldn't be surprised if Sheezel is moved forward and someone like Sanders is moved down back if we take him, he is more inside than outside and it will take him a few years to build a body for that role. We don't have any elite wingmen, I am sure if we get McKercher then he will go to a wing and if the GC game is any indication, perhaps Scott moves to a half-back role.

I think what has kept GWS strong despite a revolving door of mids leaving is the fact they continue to invest in mids in almost every draft.

People have to accept the fact that some players wont make it regardless if there is a guaranteed spot or if there is competition.

As much as Simpkin has done an amazing job, I just don't feel he is premiership midfield quality given he doesn't use the ball well from stoppages. Greenwood I don't think will be around long, same as Shiels. Yes, Tasmania is going to go hard for both boys if they are any good and if there was an equivalent talent that was local I would be in favour of them but I value a midfielder with very early picks over flankers or small forwards.

IMO we have 3 options:
a) trade for Reid, will be expensive.
b) take a players like McKercher, Sanders or Curtin who are flight risks
c) trade 2 and 3 for multiple lower picks in the range of 8-15 and take a broad range of KPPs and other type of players.

The main reason we are a bottom four club is our midfield sucks, we can't get the ball enough, we can't hit targets, we can't tackle. I think our forward line is dangerous, we just don't go inside 50 enough or penetrate deep enough, quick enough to get favourable contests. We don't have enough elite ball users.

Larkey kicked 71 goals despite our s**t ball movement. We had to bring Zurhaar out of the forward line into the midfield because we just couldn't win the ball, we didn't have the luxury of playing Sheezel forward because we are inept moving the ball out of defensive 50.

I wouldn't be surprised if Sheezel is moved forward and someone like Sanders is moved down back if we take him, he is more inside than outside and it will take him a few years to build a body for that role. We don't have any elite wingmen, I am sure if we get McKercher then he will go to a wing and if the GC game is any indication, perhaps Scott moves to a half-back role.

I think what has kept GWS strong despite a revolving door of mids leaving is the fact they continue to invest in mids in almost every draft.
GWS is pretty good at trading in one team's trash and turning them into assets such as Hogan & Bedford and also nailed on post first round picks such as Taylor, Buckley, Daniels, Briggs, etc. Even then last year they paid a lot just to secure a top KPP prospect in the draft. We don't have the same list building savvy that they do and it shows in the W/L column.

Our midfield sucks because it's really young and a lot of our better players weren't available for large parts of the season. No more than 15 games for LDU and Thomas, 17 for Phillips (2 subbed on and off) and only 8 for Wardlaw. When guys like Phillips, Sheezel and Wardlaw were running through there it looked much better. Hell, even Lazzaro looked good in the one game he was allowed frequent CBAs. Phillips, Wardlaw, LDU, Thomas and Sheezel have enough talent to complete what should be at the very least a good CBA rotation.

I think our biggest issues lie down back imo, every finals team remaining has at least one AA contending full back and I don't see one in our wings developing especially if McKay leaves (who i think doesn't has that in him in the first place). We need Curtin, I don't care about the flight risk because there's always a risk in taking none.

Take one midfielder in the first round, at the most, in my opinion.

Actually I believe Sanders told North he was not willing to be pre-listed, and the alternative- matching a bid- wasn’t something North were keen on, so instead they asked for picks.

Seriously, this kid is stuffing up the draft hand of a potential club he may be drafted by.

Unconscionable attitude. Would rather not have someone like that at our club, if this is at all true.

Seriously, this kid is stuffing up the draft hand of a potential club he may be drafted by.

Unconscionable attitude. Would rather not have someone like that at our club, if this is at all true.
Don’t listen to the above, he had to prove his aboriginal heritage, there’s no way he would’ve done that if he didn’t think prelisting was on the cards.
its the exceptional year that he has had, that made all the other recruiters cry, that changed things. No one would care if we’re even talking about a late first round talent here.

Strategy Draft assistance 2023 [Twomey: NMFC get #19 in 2023, x2 end of 1st rd picks in 2024, and x2 extra rookie list spots in 2024; no Sanders/#11]