Rumour Draft Rumours 2024 - No rumours allowed

I also doubt they will, but stranger things have happened, so we’ll just have to wait and see. I’m sure they would also get something else thrown in with 15.

They’ve potentially painted themselves into a bit of a corner, leaving themselves with only picks 2 and 62, and with so many seemingly quality tall options looking like going between about pick 8 and pick 40 or so.

They seem very keen to get back into the first round, but to do so they either split 2 for picks that probably don’t appeal, or they trade their F1 for a pick (and change) that probably doesn’t appeal. I don’t think any of the teams with picks inside 15 will be keen to trade it for an F1, unless Essendon come offering two of them.

So it will all come down to just how much they want it.

Plan B would presumably be to trade their F2, most likely for a pick in the 30’s.
If you believe the Richmond supporting media, sure. They get their crumbs of information based on pushing the clubs interest to the masses. Some of us can see right through it, some of us can't.

It's the way of the world we live in, rightfully or wrongly.

As I said previously, you can't always get a Carey and Longmire for only $10k, we're due a few losses in trades. Those of us who can remember a bit longer understand this.

Of course we want to win more and be better, of course we do, but with Tassie coming in and our best player being 20, we can wait and get a little bit better before we start motoring up. And we should, it's in our best interests to do exactly that.

Will you trade 7&8 for 2? You should want to if you want to fill the missing quota of A-Graders in your midfield.

If you believe the Richmond supporting media, sure. They get their crumbs of information based on pushing the clubs interest to the masses. Some of us can see right through it, some of us can't.

It's the way of the world we live in, rightfully or wrongly.

As I said previously, you can't always get a Carey and Longmire for only $10k, we're due a few losses in trades. Those of us who can remember a bit longer understand this.

Of course we want to win more and be better, of course we do, but with Tassie coming in and our best player being 20, we can wait and get a little bit better before we start motoring up. And we should, it's in our best interests to do exactly that.
The talk about North trading down from 2 or offering a future first to get back in didn’t come from media pushing ‘Richmond’s agenda’. It came from Rawlings himself.

Yes, but not at any cost! He actually said we're willing to slide a few spots (that's it).

The any cost has been because of our would-be trade (linked to acquisition of Houston) - not because we value 2025 R1 @ 13 or the market told us it wasn't even worth that (that you boys seem to be running with constantly).

Yes, but not at any cost! He actually said we're willing to slide a few spots (that's it).

The any cost has been because of our would-be trade (linked to acquisition of Houston) - not because we value 2025 R1 @ 13 or the market told us it wasn't even worth that (that you boys seem to be running with constantly).
Brady has said that he has options with all future picks as well. He’s come across as open to finding ways to get more picks in this draft. Don’t you agree?

I also doubt they will, but stranger things have happened, so we’ll just have to wait and see. I’m sure they would also get something else thrown in with 15.

They’ve potentially painted themselves into a bit of a corner, leaving themselves with only picks 2 and 62, and with so many seemingly quality tall options looking like going between about pick 8 and pick 40 or so.

They seem very keen to get back into the first round, but to do so they either split 2 for picks that probably don’t appeal, or they trade their F1 for a pick (and change) that probably doesn’t appeal. I don’t think any of the teams with picks inside 15 will be keen to trade it for an F1, unless Essendon come offering two of them.

Plan B would presumably be to trade their F2, most likely for a pick in the 30’s.

How exactly have we “painted themselves into a corner”?

Last I looked we’ve got multiples of young prospects over just about everyone in this discussion thread.

I’d argue the other clubs are the desperate ones, with Tassie looming.

Everything I’ve heard recently is, it’s Draper North are so keen on, not Tauru. It’s Draper who North will pick at 2 if they keep it.

I’d love some logical reasoning from you how this is a doomsday scenario….

How exactly have we “painted themselves into a corner”?

Last I looked we’ve got multiples of young prospects over just about everyone in this discussion thread.

I’d argue the other clubs are the desperate ones, with Tassie looming.

Everything I’ve heard recently is, it’s Draper North are so keen on, not Tauru. It’s Draper who North will pick at 2 if they keep it.

I’d love some logical reasoning from you how this is a doomsday scenario….
I’m pretty sure I’ve covered it sufficiently in previous posts, so I’m not going to go to the trouble of re-writing it. You can read those ones if you’re that interested, or that keen to pick an argument.

View attachment 2157090
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This still feels like the outcome where everyone is happy. Results in:

Rich: 1, 2, 6, 15, 18, 23, 24
- Richmond move up to 2, while keeping 6

GWS: 13, 20, 21, 37, 56, 74
- GWS move ahead of Richmond (who would be inclined to take a risk due to their many 1st-rounders) and Freo (another finals contender) to take a potential A-grader (Hotton), which could be well worth it considering they have 3 first rounders

Port: 10, 36, 50, 62
- Port have someone they really like at 10 (Travaglia I believe); so they secure him and pick up an extra late pick (which will come in to the 50s once bid-matching happens) for points if a bid on Rome Burgoyne comes.

Saints: 8, 11, 29, 32
- The only potential "losers" IMO, but if they view North, Melbourne, and Port as not targeting who they want before pick 11, then they get a free ~15 pick upgrade into the valuable top 30ish that this draft has.

North: 7, 16, 47
- Turn 2 and 62 into Tauru, another KPP (Armstrong, Shanahan, Trainor, Whitlock), plus 47 becomes very useable once the Ess/GC/Bris bids for Kako/Lombard/Ashcroft/Marshall happen (becomes pick 39ish)
So let me get my head around that deal, not only do we not get pick #6, but we don't get picks #10 or #11 either, now if I was on the Star ship "Enterprise" and I asked Spock to research AFL football and recruiting and then showed him that scenario I reckon he would simply raise his eyebrows and say "TTS, that does not seem like a logical deal, does not the power of pick #2 command greater power than other picks, even in this draft"?

"In the end, logic must prevail"! Just for the record, the deal doesn't look to bad, just the fact it favours Richmond heavily, they get that pick #2 in the draft as well as keeping pick #6, and while we do get pick #7, our second pick is way out to {looks off into the horizon} pick #16? So many possible pick trades that could happen but won't, it has to benefit both teams to a tee.

Will you trade 7&8 for 2? You should want to if you want to fill the missing quota of A-Graders in your midfield.
No, for the same reason you don’t want to trade your F1 for 15. It’s too much of a price to pay, as much as I would love FOS in particular.

I’m not sure I’d even pay the 7 and F1 that we’ve supposedly put on the table for it.

And a big part of the reason for that is that I’m extremely confident that, all-things-being-equal, we already have that one genuinely elite guy that you build your midfield around, in Phillipou, so I don’t think we need to sell the farm for another one of that calibre.

If we can get a couple who have A-grade (but not necessarily as elite as I think Pou can be) midfield talent/potential, to go with him, that will take us a long way.

And then we’ll keep throwing open chequebooks at the likes of LDU and Finn Callaghan, until we land one.

We’ll just keep steadily adding pieces. I like the fact that we seem to be resisting the urge to overpay to be seen to be doing something in the last couple of years. Or to try and take shortcuts.

So let me get my head around that deal, not only do we not get pick #6, but we don't get picks #10 or #11 either, now if I was on the Star ship "Enterprise" and I asked Spock to research AFL football and recruiting and then showed him that scenario I reckon he would simply raise his eyebrows and say "TTS, that does not seem like a logical deal, does not the power of pick #2 command greater power than other picks, even in this draft"?

"In the end, logic must prevail"! Just for the record, the deal doesn't look to bad, just the fact it favours Richmond heavily, they get that pick #2 in the draft as well as keeping pick #6, and while we do get pick #7, our second pick is way out to {looks off into the horizon} pick #16? So many possible pick trades that could happen but won't, it has to benefit both teams to a tee.
It’s probably not as far off as you think mate. Maybe swap Richmond’s 6 with the 7…….but it’s all gunna happen or not soon which is great.
It’s better than some of the other stuff that somehow results in us also giving up a F1 which is bizarro world. Stranger things have happened I guess

Richmond supporting media?

So you reckon the media is bias and is barracking for outcomes pro richmond ?

And are reporting things in favour of Richmond?

Are you for real mate?

SO every single scribe that is saying Future picks are not much value this year, are saying it because they support Richmond? You do not think for a second that, it might actually be true?

And every single journo talking about how you are actively trying to trade Pick 2, is saying it to help richmond leverage Nth, like any list manager GAF what the media says ? You do not think that looking at your draft hand 2, 64 that this also is very obviously and reasonably true ?

But you reckon the whole thing is just a conspiracy against Nth lol?

Mate, you need to chill

Brady has said that he has options with all future picks as well. He’s come across as open to finding ways to get more picks in this draft. Don’t you agree?
I'm not in the war room so I wouldn't know. If this thread is anything to go by, then of course we have options as who wouldn't be interested in a top 4 pick in 2025 for cents on the dollar?!

You'd have to question your club in that case, why haven't 'we' traded #11 to what would be #2-4 maybe #5 in 2025. Balanced our intake a touch, it appears (from my vantage point anyway), that you are putting a heap of faith in this years batch.

Maybe you're right, maybe this year is going to be awesome but ****, you need it to be.

Richmond supporting media?

So you reckon the media is bias and is barracking for outcomes pro richmond ?

And are reporting things in favour of Richmond?

Are you for real mate?

SO every single scribe that is saying Future picks are not much value this year, are saying it because they support Richmond? You do not think for a second that, it might actually be true?

And every single journo talking about how you are actively trying to trade Pick 2, is saying it to help richmond leverage Nth, like any list manager GAF what the media says ? You do not think that looking at your draft hand 2, 64 that this also is very obviously and reasonably true ?

But you reckon the whole thing is just a conspiracy against Nth lol?

Mate, you need to chill
I'm talking about John Ralph. Who does he support again? I meant Richmond supporters in the media... sorry.

In this draft, 2 (which is really 3, as Ashcroft is 1, or at worst 2) for 7 and 16 (which will also move back) isn’t too far off.

You say that 16 is “way off on the horizon”, as if this is a draft where 16 isn’t worth much, but in what is generally considered the deepest draft in years, 16 is probably the equivalent to 12 at worst in an average draft.

While the pointy end of this draft isn’t generally considered as strong as in plenty of other drafts.

What it really comes down to though is is say Draper on his own really worth more than say both Tauru and Shanahan/a Whitlock?

Especially with what clubs had to pay to get guys like Battle and a banged-up Barrass. There’s a real dearth of available quality tall talent on the trade table these days.

I think it’s easy to get too caught up in the numbers, and forget that they’re just numbers. Who you get at those numbers is all that really matters.

They dont need an extra R1 for what it would cost. You just trade a r2/3 to get back into the 30s.

If Nth go and use pick 2 on a midfielder. They will try and get back in this years draft using their future first as a carrot.
Problem is No team is willing to trade out of this years draft early anyway. And once Kako has been bid on Essendon will also be trying to get back in. They have Melbourne & their own future firsts available.
I can’t see GWS trading their first couple this year depending on who is available to them.
Future firsts will be used for late picks if the player is there that a club desires.

I take it you’re happy with the trade then Bill?
He’s worth a second rounder. Just happens our second round was high on the board because we’ve sucked for a long time.

Bringing someone with the CV/Leadership/skill level mentioned before is much more important than another young kid in the draft picked in the 20s/30s.

So yes, I am happy that we did the deal. Parker as well. Both are immediately in our top end of players.

I reckon this will be the first round
1 Lalor tigers
2 ashcroft lions
3 osullivan tigers
4 Langford blues
5 Draper crows
6 reid dees
7 Smith tigers
8 smillie saints
9 travaligia saints
10 Lombard sun's
11 armstrong dees
12 tauru North
13 kako bombers
14 hotton tigers
15 Allan wce
16 Whitlock port
17 trainor freo
18 Lindsay gws
19 Berry gws
20 hynes dogs
21 shanahan North
22 dattoli swans
23 Whitlock North

I did think Langford would drop but if osullivan is gone he's their best fit in the middle to complement walsh cripps, cerra
Look, its a good effort, just a couple of things, which Whitlock do you have us getting? Kako at 13, when bombers traded their first round pick because the hot mail was that he would be bid on before pick 9. Why does everyone think the Demons are heavily into Harry Armstrong?

First of all they have Van Rooyen, Fritsch who is only 27, Mathew Jefferson who the Dees got at pick #15 in the 2022 national draft, Harrison Petty is listed as a key forward but to me is a defender, still he can pinch hit and Luker Kentfield who was pick #11 in this years mid-seasons draft, either two things happening here, 1/ that Armstrong linked to the Dees is another smokescreen in this draft, or 2/ they are completely cooked! They need classy midfielders, and if anything Tauru appeals more because May is 32 and Lever is 28, 29 in March, so looking at the whole picture if they don't want to trade up with us to get a gun midfielder then Tauru and the next best midfielder is Melbourne's best bet with their two early picks.

Quality talls may be a stretch as much as interesting prospects. Top end seems either undersized or raw in the Whitlocks, Faul, Armstrong and Shanahan.
It’s a shame for Norths recruiting strategy that Walter unavailable, Cadman we didn’t rate for some reason. Only glaring spot in recruitment for me was Phillips over MacDonald. Even in that draft if JUH was available would we go Thilthorope?

Rumour Draft Rumours 2024 - No rumours allowed