Rumour Draft Rumours 2024 - No rumours allowed

Just come on over mate....it's nice in here :cool:

Have always loved how Parker went about it.......he's got a bit of nastiness, which we haven't had in a long time. Think he's going to be exactly what Wardlaw needs
He's still good, I think. He'll play that defensive protect against blokes tearing out the front of the pack role really well for you guys whilst LDU, Wardlaw and Sheezel can hunt or attack. It'll make a big difference for North. It's a role for a wily old pro who doesn't need the ego of proving themselves anymore.

I dont get the North must go KPP train of thought.

FOS I think ends up a half forward or half back so slots in well with the current group. I suspect he doesnt become a fulltime mid (and North dont need him to be). While hes great at swooping on loose balls he just doesnt look natural around stoppages.

That said, if North pick him I hope its because thats who they want, not because they are afraid to be seen as reaching for Tauru.

Nobody remembers that Bontompelli was a slight reach at pick 4 but everyone remembers the Saints blowing pick 3 on Billings (even though he was concencus top 3 and most clubs would have picked him there).

Reaching or not reaching gets forgotten pretty quick. Its the result thats remembered.
He's classy, but I wouldn't pick him at 2.

Agree pick 8 is the first choice of the next tier which could go in a multitude of ways.

I would be very shocked if Tauru fell to 7 though, just don’t see North passing on him let alone Melbourne.

Saints want to move into this draft not out of it so a f1 for 8 just won’t happen
You don't see North passing on Tauru? The speculative athletic undersized key defender who has been ranked anywhere between 5-30 across the last few months? I think it is very easy to see North passing on him.

Wishful thinking from the Saints draftheads.

Scratch the Tahru thing North ain’t doing it and Melbourne have to be bonkers to go there at 5.
We were mad when we took Oliver at 4, Jackson at 3, Pickett at 12.

And no-one expected Windsor to be taken at 7, but we took him there.

We apparently reached for all of those.

I'll let the cobblers cobble.

You don't see North passing on Tauru? The speculative athletic undersized key defender who has been ranked anywhere between 5-30 across the last few months? I think it is very easy to see North passing on him.

Wishful thinking from the Saints draftheads.

That's one way to put it I get it from Saints fans so they have two premier mids to choose from. North can just trade into the later first round with their f2 or f1 depending on how early they want to get a tall. North have options

He's still good, I think. He'll play that defensive protect against blokes tearing out the front of the pack role really well for you guys whilst LDU, Wardlaw and Sheezel can hunt or attack. It'll make a big difference for North. It's a role for a wily old pro who doesn't need the ego of proving themselves anymore.
I actually don't think we've had anyone to look after our young kids, physically, for a long time.....since Scotty Thompson or Firrito, which is a long time ago. Parker's no assassin type, but he also won't put up with garbage from oppo players.
People will knock Thompson and Firrito, of course, but you need those fly-the-flag types that are just a tad dangerous out there. We have missed players like that. We always had them. Archer, Duck, Rock, Schwass, even Kingy........just blokes that were a little bit nuts.

I'll let the cobblers coble.

To be fair Windsor was in that range though wasn't some Hail Mary reach, I just don't get people thinking Melbourne don't have talls. End of the day you won't make the 8 nowadays without mids and a lot of them and especially ones that use the thing at a high level.

I actually don't think we've had anyone to look after our young kids, physically, for a long time.....since Scotty Thompson or Firrito, which is a long time ago. Parker's no assassin type, but he also won't put up with garbage from oppo players.
People will knock Thompson and Firrito, of course, but you need those fly-the-flag types that are just a tad dangerous out there. We have missed players like that. We always had them. Archer, Duck, Rock, Schwass, even Kingy........just blokes that were a little bit nuts.

He also won't put up with rubbish internally, looking from the outside it has seemed players have got away with a bit both during the game and also their preparation. No way will Parker cop that, he is the perfect guy to keep them in line and he can potentially do a coaching thing post career.

I'll let the cobblers coble.
Yeah I don't get it. Surely footy fans have not only watched enough drafts but also seen the outcomes of them in terms of career to know that what might appear as a solid hierarchy of ability when a whole lot similar phantom drafts are posted is often not how it plays out in the real draft and more importantly this clear hierarchy of talent is not how it plays out in the future careers of these blokes.

To be fair Windsor was in that range though wasn't some Hail Mary reach, I just don't get people thinking Melbourne don't have talls. End of the day you won't make the 8 nowadays without mids and a lot of them and especially ones that use the thing at a high level.
Until Melbourne was linked to Windsor I don't remember anyone having him in their top 10.

I'd like a mid at pick 5, but apparently they've got slows on Draper's kicking. So if it comes down to Tauru or Draper they'll pick Tauru. If it comes down to Langford and Smith or Tauru they'll pick a mid.

Until Melbourne was linked to Windsor I don't remember anyone having him in their top 10.

I'd like a mid at pick 5, but apparently they've got slows on Draper's kicking. So if it comes down to Tauru or Draper they'll pick Tauru. If it comes down to Langford and Smith or Tauru they'll pick a mid.
How good's Windsor gunna be......Robbie Flower MK2. Smoooooooth. Love him

Won't be shocked if you go Smillie anyway, just seems a mid that would compliment your side well.

Wasn't Tholstrup the one that was the biggest wow selection so to speak anyway?

Then take the next best tall or even a Hotton, berry, Lindsay. Personally makes zero sense for Richmond trading anything until they get to pick 18 where they can flip one to next year (whether it be 18, 20, 23, 24). Pretty sure with list spots you have to move one, could be wrong there but you know your sizes more than I do and what number you run with.

Tigers probably look at the talls from 11 onwards, 11 being the high end, feel you take 1-2 talls max.
There will be a stack of talls around our 18-24 picks. We might take one at 11 but 10 would get us a second tier mid or a small forward. I'd rather FOS.

I'd say we'd do 10 and 18 for 2 if North wants it. (If they're on the clock we might squeeze them for 10 + 20.)

It makes plenty of sense for us because we have Lalor and FOS as 1a and 1b.

He also won't put up with rubbish internally, looking from the outside it has seemed players have got away with a bit both during the game and also their preparation. No way will Parker cop that, he is the perfect guy to keep them in line and he can potentially do a coaching thing post career.
Agree - what he adds off the field will be worth just as much - if not more than anything on field.

Then take the next best tall or even a Hotton, berry, Lindsay. Personally makes zero sense for Richmond trading anything until they get to pick 18 where they can flip one to next year (whether it be 18, 20, 23, 24). Pretty sure with list spots you have to move one, could be wrong there but you know your sizes more than I do and what number you run with.

Tigers probably look at the talls from 11 onwards, 11 being the high end, feel you take 1-2 talls max.
I really do hope that's the case. I don't see any of the KPP's in this draft that project to be No.1 KPF's or KPD's, they all look like 2nd and 3rd talls to me.

We're currently stacked for 2nd and 3rd KPF's with LeFau, Fawcett, Bauer, Gray and even Koshitzke. We haven't been able to see how they project because of LTI's but LeFau and Bauer have shown a bit.

Same with defence, Balta, Gibcus, Young, Blight and Miller are more solid as a line though.

We don't really have a decent ruck back up though, I don't have much faith in Ryan (although the club must after giving him a contract) then there's a couple of Cat B rookies in Colina and Hayes-Brown.

I can see us having a crack at a ruck/forward but probably not a pure ruck that doesn't have versatility. There could be a big possibility that we pair up the Whitlock twins, but I don't see the potential, the list managers will be all over it though and I'll be happy with whoever they go with.

Lol, here we go again. These are the talls on our list:
  • JVR - developing nicely
  • Jefferson - was always going to be a project, led Casey's goal kicking this year
  • May - granted, only a year or two left
  • Petty - is the long-term KPD, and was a bloody solid player at that end previously
  • Adams - another development project as a KPD
  • Gawn - re-signed until 2027
  • Lever - still has four years left at least
  • Fullarton - VFL depth
  • Turner - has looked promising at both ends at AFL level
  • Campbell - Gawn backup
  • Verrall - long-term Gawn replacement
  • McDonald - nearly done
  • Kentfield - development project KPF
So that's basically a third of our list as KPPs, and it's looking likely that we'll also add Riak Andrew (academy) in the rookie draft and Kalani White (F/S) next year in the ND. You could also argue that Fritsch, Hore and Howes are 'talls' too.

We don't need another young, developing tall. We've got plenty.

Petty, Turner and White (assuming his trajectory holds) will be what the club is planning our key defensive pillars around.

In terms of the forward line. JVR is an absolute ripper and Fritta is one of those blokes that will play for years, especially given that he was drafted as a "mature age recruit". Kentfield and Jeffo are the developing key forwards on the list, could add another but that's a lot of list spots on untried KPF. What i can see the club doing is targeting a more mature forward next year (ie. have another crack at Wade Derksen, or someone of that elk).

I'd also love to see the Dee's play Truck out of the goal square more, but we'd need to dramatically improve our midfield depth.

Verrall looks to be coming a long pretty well in the ruck. But i do think we need to find at least one more young developing ruckmen. Surely Mark Jamar has punched out 14 kids out by now.

Rumour Draft Rumours 2024 - No rumours allowed