Rumour Draft Rumours 2024

McLean - average
Mcinerney - average, overrated
Rowbottom - tick heart and soul player, too 25 pick though
Chad - tick a grader
McDonald - tick jury is out but it was the correct selection, hard to miss with pick 5
Matt Roberts - tick

What you haven’t included is the rest of the draftees over the last few seasons who haven’t looked anything like AFL players and have been delisted after 2 years

Not to mention his failures from the rookie list

Most Swans supporters wouldn’t agree with your assessment
So excluding the gun academy kids taken in your time. 25% of your runner up side was drafted by him.

He took over the recruiting in 2018 after arguably the greatest run in your history the previous 15 years and the back half of that run was a flag in 2012, runners up in 2016 and top of the H&A season in 2017.

But he was a poor recruiter for you.

And your reasoning is that your last 2 years of draftees are terrible. Even though they started to get games late and Konstanty was binned and not given an opportunity for his mad Monday antics.

Oh and the small fact you were top all year and finished runner up.

I’ll go with somewhere in the middle - which means he was decent.

Jeez I can’t keep up.
I know live trading can happen on draft night, but if these confusing “mega deals” happen, it would be likely they are all linked and need to happen concurrently, not independent of each other on the night.

So is there a deadline date for pick trading (noting it would reopen on draft night) or can 5 club deals happen right up to 6.00 on draft night?

I can then come back once the deadline passes so I can get my head around who has what picks and who I'm shitty at missing.

Are there any rumours besides North potentially trading back from pick 2?

It does seem like teams are running a tighter ship in terms of rumours in recent years. Even knowing which clubs interviewed state combine draftees seems less common.
I heard an unnamed club insider report that they have interest in a once in a generation talent that is a combination of Chris Judd and Both Gary Abletts. They expect him to be available at their pick in the late teens

Fair enough mate.

Again this just goes back to…

Big club doesn’t offer p6. But 2 mid teens picks and you think it’s a good deal because North get 2 picks they know about.

But 7+F1 is a bad deal from the small club because it’s irrelevant they get the player they want at 7. They might not get a pick back this year or they might have to do their own bidding to land one.

Christ it’s such a stupid argument 😂

If North trade pick 2 and want Tauru.

They trade with us for as long as p6 is off the table.

If they want mid teens picks ala west coasts deal. They trade with you.
Don’t worry stavro#4 , you’ll only have to state the above about 36 more times. Stay strong.

Some Tiger fans might be saying we'll give up picks that won't satisfy North but you can bet Blair Hartley is working on a way to get North what they want while securing what Richmond wants. Hence the talk of the deal with GWS and Port.

As a mate texted me earlier: "Blair does what you do if you always get the business. He finds out what the other party wants and he gets it." With his 8 early draft picks he's trying to create a world in which Richmond gets pick 2 and Smillie, and North gets Tauru and another good pick.

I'm not saying this is what will happen and happy to receive feedback from supporters of clubs involved, but I just worked up the below scenario:

Port:
Out: 13, 29
In: 10, 37

Why? They want Travaglia and so do West Coast. They now pick before West Coast.

GWS:
Out: 15, 37
In: 23, 24

Why? Brings their 4th pick into the deep section of the draft and gives them 16, 21, 23, 24 so some degree of control over who they bring in. Also gives them the option to trade for an F1 while still holding a strong hand in this draft. And the coveted first pick of night 2.

St Kilda:
Out: 7, 32
In: 13, 18

Why? Gives them an extra first round pick. Giving 7 instead of 8 assures Richmond they won't steal our guy (Smillie) (Heheh, see what I did there?).

Richmond:
Out: 6, 10, 18, 20, 23, 24
In: 2, 7, 15, 29, 32, F2

Why? Secures pick 2, doesn't really affect getting Smillie given North is picking Tauru.

North:
Out: 2, F2
In: 6, 20

Why? Get Tauru and a good pick where they'll have a stack of options.

Great! He's the one we want.
This is all great till the end bit for north richoatthedisco …..don’t you think we would want more than 20 with 6…….or you convinced we’d be ok with that. I’m not so sure.
I like that you think Blair is trying to get North want they want, but I reckon 20 not quite enough. Clearly you’ll disagree.

*Still laugh about that Footloose gif when I see your name pop up. So good. Funny dude.

Yep, easy to forget Leake as he went so late. Probably more countering the argument though with top end draft picks otherwise I would have said for every JHF there is a Tom Powell who stays.

Side note I wonder what happened to Leake in his first year, I know North was real fond of him and hoped he'd get to that later group of picks we had in the first round.
I thought Leake looked sensational too. Go watch his draft vid now, he’s gunna be a very good player IMO.

I would think 6 and 20 for 2 is a perfectly reasonable deal.

Sure North would want more, but it would all come down to whether they’re there to do business, or whether they’re there to rob the other party.

And if they really want Tarau, they ought to be there to do business.

And as I said earlier, if Ashcroft is considered the best or second best in this draft, Norths pick is really pick 3.

3 for 7 and 21 is a fair price in this draft, with picks around 20 considered very valuable. You get to grab yourself say a good KPP, as a bonus, for moving back 4 spots at the pointy end so that you can get the guy you ideally want the most.

If you’re not being greedy, that’s a fair deal.

Sure North would want more, but it would all come down to whether they’re there to do business, or whether they’re there to rob the other party.

And as I said earlier, if Ashcroft is considered the best or second best in this draft, Norths pick is really pick 3.

3 for 7 and 21 is a fair price in this draft, with picks around 20 considered very valuable. You get to grab yourself say a good KPP, as a bonus, for moving back 4 spots at the pointy end so that you can get the guy you ideally want the most.

Yeah fair enough. Feels 5 picks short for me. But that’s ok. As you and others have mentioned, it’s not really about the number but about the players, so maybe we’d be confident in who is there at 20. Feels a long way off surety/confidence though that pick 20.
I’m not greedy, at all, I just think pick 2 is a ripper and don’t buy into the “pick 2 is same value as pick 6” vibes. It’s not. Picking exactly who you want is worth a fair bit. But that’s me.
We will see what happens. Wish the draft was tomorrow or tonight.

I'd personally do that deal as I think Finn is better than Smillie plus whoever is available at 20. The question is whether Richmond think the same. If they think Smillie isn't much less better to get than Finn, then they should stand pat where they are.

I've been to the future .... Saints win the draft by a long way as all their picks turn out to be draft studs ..... Tigers do ok ... get one super mid gun and a really good forward but draft a few duds/injury busts ..... Melbourne get some nice players but nothing generational .... Adelaide happy with their pick at 4 but again no superstar .... Blues should have kept their teen picks

Not going to give anymore away as everyone will find out soon enough

I've been to the future .... Saints win the draft by a long way as all their picks turn out to be draft studs ..... Tigers do ok ... get one super mid gun and a really good forward but draft a few duds/injury busts ..... Melbourne get some nice players but nothing generational .... Adelaide happy with their pick at 4 but again no superstar .... Blues should have kept their teen picks

Could most clubs “not believe their guy was available at their pick”
Who was the latest pick(boy) by number in the draft that Shifter thought was the next Bont? Please be pick 62……..which came into 46 with all the academies.
How many Dusty Martin or Nat Fyfe references were there?
So many questions.

Hearing similar

This is all great till the end bit for north richoatthedisco …..don’t you think we would want more than 20 with 6…….or you convinced we’d be ok with that. I’m not so sure.
I like that you think Blair is trying to get North want they want, but I reckon 20 not quite enough. Clearly you’ll disagree.

*Still laugh about that Footloose gif when I see your name pop up. So good. Funny dude.
You might be right, mate. But 6 and 20 might be the best offer you get. It's better than 7 and St Kilda's F1.

I reckon Trainor's a good chance to be at 20 and if not, other good talls will be.

Yeah fair enough. Feels 5 picks short for me. But that’s ok. As you and others have mentioned, it’s not really about the number but about the players, so maybe we’d be confident in who is there at 20. Feels a long way off surety/confidence though that pick 20.
I’m not greedy, at all, I just think pick 2 is a ripper and don’t buy into the “pick 2 is same value as pick 6” vibes. It’s not. Picking exactly who you want is worth a fair bit. But that’s me.
We will see what happens. Wish the draft was tomorrow or tonight.
I mean it could also be 18, instead, if they have that. And that trade wouldn’t be valuing pick 2 the same as pick 6, otherwise you wouldn’t be getting pick 20 with it.

And don’t forget, your next pick isn’t currently until 60-odd, and you want another pick in the top 20. That’s not going to come out of the clear blue sky.

Trading 2 for 6 and 20 might not knock your socks off, but does the idea of trading your F1 for what will probably be a sub-par return knock your socks off? To get that other top 20ish pick you want?

Because that’s the only other way you’re getting one. Unless you can get ours and flip it for one, which isn’t necessarily likely.

You're correct. That deal doesn't work without St Kilda.

You're not going to get much for your F1. A pick in the 20s at best.

You won't get 2 with 7 unless you sell your F1 first. And even then you won't get it if Richmond tells North we'll just take Tauru at 6.
20s? Don’t most people see us as bottom 4, at least media-wise?

You might be right, mate. But 6 and 20 might be the best offer you get. It's better than 7 and St Kilda's F1.

I reckon Trainor's a good chance to be at 20 and if not, other good talls will be.
I’m still not getting why 7 and F1 is such a bad deal for North? 7 and quite potentially 5-ish. Yep, could be a little worse with some academy players, but I don’t believe that the very top end of the draft is much different in capability. I get North will want more picks this year, but taking 2 to the draft means there have no other picks anyway and their own F1 will be hard to move in for anyone (someone here just said Saints F1 is a 20s pick). Pick 18 or 20 this year vs the high potential of the F1?

Fwiw, I’d hate it for us. Hold it and use it or a small slide.

I thought Leake looked sensational too. Go watch his draft vid now, he’s gunna be a very good player IMO.
They are very, very happy with him.
Quad injury interrupted last year, but internally they love last year's draftees

I mean it could also be 18, instead, if they have that. And that trade wouldn’t be valuing pick 2 the same as pick 6, otherwise you wouldn’t be getting pick 20 with it.

And don’t forget, your next pick isn’t currently until 60-odd, and you want another pick in the top 20. That’s not going to come out of the clear blue sky.

Trading 2 for 6 and 20 might not knock your socks off, but does the idea of trading your F1 for what will probably be a sub-par return knock your socks off? To get that other top 20ish pick you want?

Because that’s the only other way you’re getting one. Unless you can get ours and flip it for one, which isn’t necessarily likely.
I just don’t think this draft is the Supa-Draft it’s talked up to be.
But maybe I’m wrong. I think a lot of people have drunk the Kool-Aid.
You don’t think Cal Twomey is going to talk this draft up? He’s got a syndicated show about the draft.
Johnny Ralph? Wonder why he talks it up. It’s a mystery.
Heaps of kids with upside, sure, but doesn’t mean it’s all the media have talked it up to be. It’s their job to do this.
North is also in a different position to most clubs. Been shocking for way too long with a small supporter base. We need more talented and driven individuals, not just more players. I think the tigers having such a large hand in this draft has driven the price down on F1’s, because they also need to restock their list.
They are also probably the most vocal group about the control of the draft order, and rightly so, they’ve got 8 of the first 20 picks, I think…..so we are being repeatedly told this narrative of what their picks are worth. But ours isn’t worth much, weirdly. That’s ok too. I like their confidence as long as it’s not abusive, then I switch off. It’s all fun and banter, none of us really have a clue what conversations are going on behind closed doors.
Half of my posts in here are tongue in cheek too, because we don’t know. But it’s hilarious how fast some things are taken as fact.

For all we know North has given away pick 2 and our F1 for 6+11, but watch how many people will tell me it’s not true and Tigers already knocked that back. They will state it as fact, but then tell you 3 posts later that Richmond are very tight lipped about what they do. So what do you believe.
Richmond, through people like Benny Gale, have become a behemoth club. 100K members. You don’t think that they manage that membership like a business? Membership is investment in your business. So possibly you feed your investors information to gauge the market too. It’s absolutely brilliant. I used to marvel at Damian Hardwick’s press conferences, ran rings around evey other coach with managing to praise the supporter base and sponsorship mentions, the bloke was/is a genius. Go back and watch one his press conferences from 3-4 years ago, it’s impressive.
I’m not knocking Richmond at all, it’s part admiration. I think years ago they worked out what they actually had and put it to great use.
I even think the trade period this year was brilliant by them….rip off the band aid and reset properly. They won’t flounder around down the bottom for years and years, maybe a couple, but that’s not the club they are now, they used to be like that. They don’t want 30K at games, just all the die hards, they want the bandwagoners too, good on them. It’s clever.
Benny Gale leaving might be small trouble, but you’d think he’s trained up the next bloke in.
Anyway, TLDR…..I think we hold for now. Let’s see

Rumour Draft Rumours 2024