Rumour Draft Rumours 2024

Lol - it's hilarious reading the Richmond supporters try to convince themselves pick 6 is somehow fantastic.
It’s hilarious that some of their posters think 6 is rolled gold and can’t possibly be traded, but 2 is meh in this incredibly even super draft, so take some late first rounders and like it.

What a horrible predicament for North to be in. Imagine having to settle for just using pick 2 instead.

It’s hilarious that some of their posters think 6 is rolled gold and can’t possibly be traded, but 2 is meh in this incredibly even super draft, so take some late first rounders and like it.

What a horrible predicament for North to be in. Imagine having to settle for just using pick 2 instead.
This’ll go well

You might be right, mate. But 6 and 20 might be the best offer you get. It's better than 7 and St Kilda's F1.

I reckon Trainor's a good chance to be at 20 and if not, other good talls will be.
When do you think we blink?
My son is mates with Luke T, he’s a ripping kid. Gun player but even better bloke. Would love him at North. Don’t think he gets to 20.

When do you think we blink?
I have no idea when or if anyone will blink, Snake. The supposed multi-club deal will need to be locked in by the 8th, you'd think. If nothing's done by then we can assume Blair and Brady are taking their tractors to draft night.

I don’t think anything will happen, or be released anyway, till draft night.
Fun times.

Tauru >>> Trainor
Interestingly that wasn’t the case all year though. Trainor was projected around pick 6 until his last concussion. Gotta feel for the kid. He will get drafted, no doubt, but he definitely appears to be sliding a bit. Couldn’t speak highly enough of him, just an all round terrific fella. Would love him at North. Maybe he slides to 62. :D

I just don’t think this draft is the Supa-Draft it’s talked up to be.
But maybe I’m wrong. I think a lot of people have drunk the Kool-Aid.
You don’t think Cal Twomey is going to talk this draft up? He’s got a syndicated show about the draft.
Johnny Ralph? Wonder why he talks it up. It’s a mystery.
Heaps of kids with upside, sure, but doesn’t mean it’s all the media have talked it up to be. It’s their job to do this.
North is also in a different position to most clubs. Been shocking for way too long with a small supporter base. We need more talented and driven individuals, not just more players. I think the tigers having such a large hand in this draft has driven the price down on F1’s, because they also need to restock their list.
They are also probably the most vocal group about the control of the draft order, and rightly so, they’ve got 8 of the first 20 picks, I think…..so we are being repeatedly told this narrative of what their picks are worth. But ours isn’t worth much, weirdly. That’s ok too. I like their confidence as long as it’s not abusive, then I switch off. It’s all fun and banter, none of us really have a clue what conversations are going on behind closed doors.
Half of my posts in here are tongue in cheek too, because we don’t know. But it’s hilarious how fast some things are taken as fact.

For all we know North has given away pick 2 and our F1 for 6+11, but watch how many people will tell me it’s not true and Tigers already knocked that back. They will state it as fact, but then tell you 3 posts later that Richmond are very tight lipped about what they do. So what do you believe.
Richmond, through people like Benny Gale, have become a behemoth club. 100K members. You don’t think that they manage that membership like a business? Membership is investment in your business. So possibly you feed your investors information to gauge the market too. It’s absolutely brilliant. I used to marvel at Damian Hardwick’s press conferences, ran rings around evey other coach with managing to praise the supporter base and sponsorship mentions, the bloke was/is a genius. Go back and watch one his press conferences from 3-4 years ago, it’s impressive.
I’m not knocking Richmond at all, it’s part admiration. I think years ago they worked out what they actually had and put it to great use.
I even think the trade period this year was brilliant by them….rip off the band aid and reset properly. They won’t flounder around down the bottom for years and years, maybe a couple, but that’s not the club they are now, they used to be like that. They don’t want 30K at games, just all the die hards, they want the bandwagoners too, good on them. It’s clever.
Benny Gale leaving might be small trouble, but you’d think he’s trained up the next bloke in.
Anyway, TLDR…..I think we hold for now. Let’s see
It’s pretty clearly much more than just those in the media talking it up. The likes of Kinnear Beatson have also been saying how good it is and all you have to do is look at what the clubs are doing.

They’re clearing the decks of the types of players that wouldn’t normally be delisted, so that they can load up on picks for the draft.

It’s a very good and deep draft.

Interestingly that wasn’t the case all year though. Trainor was projected around pick 6 until his last concussion. Gotta feel for the kid. He will get drafted, no doubt, but he definitely appears to be sliding a bit. Couldn’t speak highly enough of him, just an all round terrific fella. Would love him at North. Maybe he slides to 62. :D
Extraordinary that he’s slipped so far.

I can't believe I'm finding myself bored and late posting about Tauru but here we are... is it definitely a case of Alix Tauru - No Matter What on a post it note? I'm guessing yes.

So if the Dees genuinely have an interest in Tauru, it's got to be pick 5 doesn't it? In which case it wouldnt matter if it was 6 or 7 traded down to.

Let's assume Dees are happy to miss Tauru, isn't it generally accepted that the Tiges are keen on Smillie at 6 if they keep it?

So if Dees go mid at 5, Tiges go Smillie, then 7 will still get Tauru.

Assuming the above is correct, Tauru and 6 or 7 would be a given - so all that matters is the extras.

I'd still suggest Saints will want something back if they offer 7 & F1, my preference (obviously) would be Norths F2. I think either St Kilda or Norths F1 would be worth a pick better than 18 in this year's draft.

Richmond realistically shouldn't be offering more than 6 & 18, especially if the Smillie talk is real.

End of the day, Cadman was never a consensus pick 1 but the Giants were happy to take him early. Tauru at 2 is a few picks higher than his range but it's not an impossible reach.

The extra spot for North now suggests a pick swap is at least likely if not definitely happening. At this point, I've used a lot of ifs, maybes, assumptions and the likes - if nothing else, it's giving us all something to think about in the lead up to the draft.

considering both Melbourne and Saints are into him. Ur probably right
It's a good strategy even if it wasn't a genuine option for these teams.

Melbourne grabbed pick 9 thanks to rumours they (and Saints) were keen on Kako.

Now Melbourne (and Saints) might be keen on Tauru. So do North call the Dees bluff and do the trade down to 6 or 7, or they take Tauru at 2 - which in essence means Dees are picking the 4th 'live' mid instead of the 5th. Keeping in mind if Saints/Tiges grabbed pick 2, that would mean Dees have access to the 5th best 'live' mid.

I could be way off the mark, but if I was a list manager I'd absolutely use those tactics and play it out in the media to my advantage.

It's a good strategy even if it wasn't a genuine option for these teams.

Melbourne grabbed pick 9 thanks to rumours they (and Saints) were keen on Kako.

Now Melbourne (and Saints) might be keen on Tauru. So do North call the Dees bluff and do the trade down to 6 or 7, or they take Tauru at 2 - which in essence means Dees are picking the 4th 'live' mid instead of the 5th. Keeping in mind if Saints/Tiges grabbed pick 2, that would mean Dees have access to the 5th best 'live' mid.

I could be way off the mark, but if I was a list manager I'd absolutely use those tactics and play it out in the media to my advantage.
it's keeping north honest

Rumour Draft Rumours 2024