Eddie offers up Queens Birthday to North

You need to have a lie down mate.

A fair draw won't result in the death of the Collingwood footy club.

Relax.

Do you not see the big picture.

Say they shorten the season to be 17 games or use a yearly rotation system and have an equal draw as far as teams you play.

It will lessen your cause to have Friday Night and blockbuster timeslots.

Or you can have timeslots but no handouts. Well all fall over!

Either way this is bad for the majority.

I can see why JB is complaing though nothing to lose.

Maybe he can see north can not survive on the current draw and his only chance of saving the club is a fairer draw.

Good luck. Wont happen

Apologies. I expected you to have a semblence of an understanding of the situation.

We sell games interstate because the financial advantages to certain clubs under the current system grant them an unfair advantage.
So you guys have less money than other clubs, you want more, so you sell games to get more. Gotcha.

Are you North fans supportive of the Tassie deal by the way?

So you guys have less money than other clubs, you want more, so you sell games to get more. Gotcha.

Somewhat correct.

We want a fair and equal chance at market exposure.

Are you North fans supportive of the Tassie deal by the way?

I'm supportive of Tasmanian football in general.

Are you Collingwood fans supportive Tasmanian football?

I don't think even Eddie intended for this to be taken seriously

He said it... which means it's offered. Can't wait to see 35k worth of Dees supports there next year. The crowd will be neally 40k. (P.S:- I assume the gate will be given to Melbourne as we have done for years??? North???)

You need to have a lie down mate.

A fair draw won't result in the death of the Collingwood footy club.

Relax.

Hows about not trolling. I quoted you, responded to you on topic and on specifics... stick to the point please or otherwise mods have to shut the thread down.

If you are willing to actually respond to any fact I've put to you then great. Otherwise start asking for $1.10... (you can include GST nowadays!)

yes of course it all comes down to the AFL in the end, who are favouring some teams over others.

its the attitude of Eddie, and a lot of pies supporters (esp in this thread) that they deserve to be favoured that is pissing people off

i honestly can't wait for the pies to fall just so i can stop reading some of the shit the supporters spew on here, the collingwood football club is not god!

Nice work with the white font (now bolded) - (P.S- like we all did with Hawthorn)

Exactly. Good point about the AFL, but I don't see Brayshaw and Scott week in week out attacking the AFL about their unfair support (not handouts) to other clubs... it's just North whinging about Collingwood.

Whinge 1. Collingwood Friday Night games (1 Friday night home game each)

Whinge 2. The Home jumper against Collingwood (That they traded for 5 or so years... "THEIR DEAL" for the gate against Collingwood)

Whinge 3. Blockbuster games. Calander events (Eddie offered them Queens Birthday today... P.S Has been Melbournes gate for years)

Whinge 4. ANZAC day - built over 20 years. Brad Scott doesn't want to play then... he just wants a piece of the gate (as per "The Insider" this year)

So... What is Norths' big indiffernce? Bad business decisions? Lack of income? Not getting blockbuster games (Collingwood just gave you one of their 2... any others I don't know of???)

P.S:- Can't believe how crazy North have been carrying on about not being involved in Dreamtime at the G, ANZAC day and Carlton v Richmond season opener. Essendon are Richmond are copping an absolute barrage from Brayshaw and Scott at the moment!

It's not Eddie's decision who plays that game. But even if it was, North wouldn't take it up because they know they wouldn't make much from the game, and then wouldn't have an angle to complain about how Colliingwood and the AFL "screw them". Geez, the whinging attitude on display from most North supporters in this thread is almost enough to make you hope the club goes to the wall.

Whinge 1. Collingwood Friday Night games (1 Friday night home game each)

Whinge 2. The Home jumper against Collingwood (That they traded for 5 or so years... "THEIR DEAL" for the gate against Collingwood - that they have now lost.... because they blamed the AFL for the deal they made!)... then want a handout from the same people!

Whinge 3. Blockbuster games. Calander events (Eddie offered them Queens Birthday today... P.S Has been Melbournes gate for years)

Whinge 4. ANZAC day - built over 20 years. Brad Scott doesn't want to play then... he just wants a piece of the gate (as per "The Insider" this year)

So... What is Norths' big indiffernce? Bad business decisions? Lack of income? Not getting blockbuster games (Collingwood just gave you one of their 2... any others I don't know of???)

P.S:- Can't believe how crazy North have been carrying on about not being involved in Dreamtime at the G, ANZAC day and Carlton v Richmond season opener. Essendon are Richmond are copping an absolute barrage from Brayshaw and Scott at the moment!

Anyone?

Night mate

Why are you only including home Friday night games? The thing North wants about Fri night is the exposure, and that doesn't matter if you're the home team or not.

Also when did Brayshaw/Scott say anything about Essendon/Richmond and the Dreamtime/season opener?

You mean like do something innovative like Good Friday? I think thats close on 10 years we've been tring or you mean something like FNF? think?

Yes, and guess which team you will want to play on Good Friday, that's right Collingwood, book mark it !!! And it will be just like the first game on a Friday night where we beat you.

It's not Eddie's decision who plays that game. But even if it was, North wouldn't take it up because they know they wouldn't make much from the game,

No, we wouldn't swap a game v Melbourne in Melbourne in a prime time slot for another game vs an interstate side at 4:40 on a Sunday afternoon.:rolleyes:

......and then wouldn't have an angle to complain about how Colliingwood and the AFL "screw them". Geez, the whinging attitude on display from most North supporters in this thread is almost enough to make you hope the club goes to the wall.

An unavoidable fact permeating from these kind of threads is that Collingwood supporters don't believe their club could win a premiership on a fair and level playing field.

I mean, otherwise, why all the drama and carry on?

I didn't know Collingwood had a mortgage on Queens Birthday and that it was their's to offer??? How fricking arrogant.
It's not arrogant considering the club always allows Melbourne to host that match instead of taking turns. Collingwood can request not to play Melbourne on Queen's Birthday and suggesting they play another team on that day to share that day around. I think the AFL would comply in that case.
The AFL however should take note of Eddies generosity with the fixture and leave Collingwood with their current QB arrangement and have a North V Essendon ANZAC day.
He didn't mention ANZAC Day though, and never would either, but I think it would be great if Melbourne played a different team on Queen's Birthday, and I hope Collingwood doesn't play on Good Friday either.

didn't we have a totally balanced draw for nearly a century before the competition expanded beyond 12 teams? well, not really i suppose because richmond and melbourne got to play most of their games at the G which has established them as superpowers. anyone how did north go with that extended run with a blanced draw? oh, that's right - you were on skid row with a portable as your club rooms.

round and round we go. this thread is done, stick a fork in it.

there's a definite tone of defeatism now about the comments and actions from the north camp, and the tone is set by their fearless leader. it's like they know that the number of melbourne teams has to reduce and they know that they are coming last and falling further behind and they've run out of ideas and feel hopeless. all they can think of doing now is comnplaining about the competition and other clubs. the difference between them and melbourne, richmond and the dogs is stark. the other teams seem determined to fight their way out but north have almost given up the ghost. they're going to go down the drain screaming "but it wasn't fair". pathetic really. at least south and fitzroy gave a yelp.

Far from defeatism Pnut as you put it, we're in solid shape and growing. If we look back where this current thread stems from its 2 other clubs whinging about how the AFL distributes its money. Brayshaw simply had a crack back, geez some people around are unreal, i bet they wouldnt be so steadfast on dog eat dog capitalism if it meant their welfare payments went bye bye and they didnt have large corporations subsidizing their health care system, roads, schools - every damn thing.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Its clear from this thread supporters from certain clubs believe the only way for the AFL to be successful is to make the most from anything they can, here and now. Short term vision profits by feeding of a couple of highly popular clubs. Its also clear many supporters of these clubs believe these imbalances are fair, any mention of anything is shouted down as whinging.

If its the only way forward why has the NFL model worked so well?

The NFL finally achieved a respected status as an indisputably major professional sport in the 1950s, even then it was still dwarfed by MLB.

NFL owners, who traditionally made their profits almost entirely from the gate revenues generated by selling game tickets, initially viewed TV as a curiosity at best and a threat at worst. If people could stay home and watch the game for free on television, some owners reasoned, why would they pay good money to come out to the stadium? But Rozelle foresaw that television could not only grow the game by exposing the NFL to fans unable to attend in person, but it could also provide its own significant revenue stream by allowing the league to sell valuable broadcast rights and advertisements.

In 1961, Rozelle moved the league's offices from sleepy Bala-Cynwyd to the epicenter of America's growing media and advertising industry: New York City's Rockefeller Center. Almost immediately, he struck a pair of deals that changed the NFL's economic fate forever. First, he convinced the league's owners (and Congress, which had to approve a special exemption to antitrust law) to agree to a new revenue-sharing plan that allowed the NFL to sell its league-wide broadcast rights as a single package then distribute the proceeds in equal shares to all teams. The NFL's unique (and, critics charged, vaguely socialistic) revenue-sharing plan guaranteed that small-market teams like the Green Bay Packers could remain financially competitive with teams located in larger and more lucrative media markets; the economic parity thus established helped to maintain the on-field competitive balance that has long distinguished the NFL from other sports—most notably Major League Baseball, where cash-strapped small-market teams typically know before the season even begins that they have little or no chance to compete against wealthy ball clubs like the New York Yankees.

And fast forward to today

Want to Repair the NBA? Start With Revenue Sharing. (Forbes)

If owners really want to repair the league, however, revenue sharing is where they should start.

The last four championships have been won by teams from the first, second and seventh largest media markets in the country: Los Angeles, Dallas and Boston (respectively). That’s not an accident.

---------------------------------------------------------

Yeah these guys are all idiots, no way that should work, the Collingwood supporters here have told me so! The only way for a healthy vibrant competition is to allow market forces decide which teams can compete and which teams cant.

OB-JX136_Popula_NS_20100908224102.gif

As can be seen in the above table the NFL has 2 x very popular teams, why arent they spitting dummies? The system took their sport to higher levels is why.

So here we have system that many on this forum say just doesnt work, it managed to go from tiny sport to the clear nation No1 code, while we cant make inroads into 2 of the 3 largest states in the country? Yeah we certainly have the NFLs measure with our superior model.

of those 32 clubs, which 9 are based in the same city? also, which of those clubs sell home games to other club's cities?

Since when is it "Whinging" to want a fair draw?

We don't want a token 'big' game that isn't even collingwoods to give away. We would prefer a truely random fair draw.

Would be good for the game too :eek:

An unavoidable fact permeating from these kind of threads is that Collingwood supporters don't believe their club could win a premiership on a fair and level playing field.

I mean, otherwise, why all the drama and carry on?
The resaon for equalisation which upends a fair and level playing field is to stop the Collingwood's from dominating. Take away the draft and salary cap and
even out the draw so it is a fair and level playing field and see who comes out better.

The resaon for equalisation which upends a fair and level playing field is to stop the Collingwood's from dominating. Take away the draft and salary cap and
even out the draw so it is a fair and level playing field and see who comes out better.

As I recall, the draft and salary cap came in because you sent yourselves broke in the 80s with ridiculous transfer wars and the like.

Since when is it "Whinging" to want a fair draw?

We don't want a token 'big' game that isn't even collingwoods to give away. We would prefer a truely random fair draw.

Would be good for the game too :eek:
I don't know who "we" is but it isn't the North Melbourne football Club.

The resaon for equalisation which upends a fair and level playing field is to stop the Collingwood's from dominating. Take away the draft and salary cap and even out the draw so it is a fair and level playing field and see who comes out better.

So, you're conceding that the difference between Collingwood and everybody else is money?

This is basically what I have been stating all along.

of those 32 clubs, which 9 are based in the same city? also, which of those clubs sell home games to other club's cities?

It doesnt matter, they foster and grow their product by having a an equatable and interesting competition. With that system all clubs are in profit so shouldnt need to sell games.

It works for a club like that Cowboys whos cheerleaders generate more revenue than Collingwood why wouldnt it here? How many non Collingwood supporters do you think would prefer the teams of the comp be more even so all teams have a good chance at success?

Im sure we all recognize Collingwoods greatness in the AFL, remove the caps and all and they'll smash it along with WC. That would be the comp though, people say the Crows but their population isnt going anywhere quickly. But that model would be doomed for failure.

Eddie offers up Queens Birthday to North