GO THE GORILLAS
BigFooty Newbie

Re: EDFL moves Part 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back at ya
Apparently there are clubs after the services of the Aberfeldie coach.

His record of:
1 win in 2007 with KP
6 (or so) wins in 2008 with Abers
3 wins in 2009.
Thats 10 out of 47.

so what is your point idiot. Dean is a very good coach but he doesnt want to coach a team that has bought a side. Give him time loser it is his first year at club with a very young list. lets judge him in three years time and then see how he is going
user_offline.gif

You still so sure about your comments, time is almost upon us as in the 3 years is almost up.
And its-
2007 - 1 win
2008 - 6 wins
2009 - 3 wins
2010 - 4 wins

Believe he has already informed the club that he won't be coaching next year.

Forget Dean - the real issue is the club hierarcy - how do they stay in charge? The results over 4 years speak for themselves. Time for a complete restructure from the top only then can you start looking at the current coach. If Oak Park can come up from B Grade & get themselves competitive at the top end of the comp then it is possible and it doesn't start with the onfield people.

I love it. The "hill" syndrome that continues at Abers. We have more people who seem to know what to do yet they all have short arms and long pockets. The ladies still tell me it is hard to sell raffle tickets on a match day.

Time for a "re-structure" - what does that mean? That you want to have a new club structure...maybe we could have 2 presidents?

I think you would find both Arty & John would love for someone to step up and have a crack.

The simply fact is Abers stay in A-Grade because of the work of the few people who actually put their hand up. The reason we finish 7th & 8th is money pure & simple. We have had countless top line players who want to come to the club but we get blown out of the water by Strathmore, Greenvale & Marby.

Oak Park are a good example because they are still an old fashioned club who work together and have great support. That is why they have come up and done so well.

Perhaps some of the people who sit back at Abers might actually provide some sponsorship or even just buy a membership! We had very few members of the Aberfeldiens last year yet we should have a couple of hundred judging by the hill each week.

People think because they by a couple of pots on the weekend they are entitled to judge the club and people who run it. Instead of whinging do something to contribute.

Interesting on the edfl site that there are 2 interleague games on tonight at Keilor. The add also says free of charge. Free of charge as opposed to what? were they thinking of charging entry fee. Please correct me if i'm wrong, but last time i checked the Keilor football ground was actually classed as CROWN land. Which inturn means what ever event is being held there, then they are free to ask for a donation upon entry (or disguised as entry fee), however CROWN land means any Tom, Dick and Harry can walk through the gates with out being hassled for a donation (entry fee).

Who did you check with?

i think you'll find that the ground is actually owned by Brimbank City Council and not her majesty.

I love it. The "hill" syndrome that continues at Abers. We have more people who seem to know what to do yet they all have short arms and long pockets. The ladies still tell me it is hard to sell raffle tickets on a match day.

Time for a "re-structure" - what does that mean? That you want to have a new club structure...maybe we could have 2 presidents?

I think you would find both Arty & John would love for someone to step up and have a crack.

The simply fact is Abers stay in A-Grade because of the work of the few people who actually put their hand up. The reason we finish 7th & 8th is money pure & simple. We have had countless top line players who want to come to the club but we get blown out of the water by Strathmore, Greenvale & Marby.

Oak Park are a good example because they are still an old fashioned club who work together and have great support. That is why they have come up and done so well.

Perhaps some of the people who sit back at Abers might actually provide some sponsorship or even just buy a membership! We had very few members of the Aberfeldiens last year yet we should have a couple of hundred judging by the hill each week.

People think because they by a couple of pots on the weekend they are entitled to judge the club and people who run it. Instead of whinging do something to contribute.

Well said pig pumper.

Agree with everything you have said. John and his team have done a fantastic job running this club, and don't forget they are volunteers. I'm sure John would much rather be spending his time jogging around the suburbs, but he isn't, he is putting in his valuable time and effort to keep this great club of ours running. It's time the "fairweather friends" of this club put up or shut up.

Regards,

Paid up!!

The EDFL have had finals games played at Keilor in the past where there was a entry fee charge, this will again happen this year.

Looking forward to the finals, anyone in the top 4 and throw in Strathmore can win the premiership on the day, hoping its Marby, back to back in 2010
Go Marby

Are Marby at all worried about the state their 18's and Ressies are in?
They played with 14 players in the 18's and lost by 260 odd points and not one of their ressies players look capable of playing any role in a Senior side. If the Seniors come down with any injuries leading into finals they will find it very hard to compete with the others which have plenty of depth, hence the reason their Reserve sides are all playing good footy.

Also any chance of putting a fence around the ground? The paddock like atmosphere makes you think you are watching Auskick kids running around.

Not sure on many players the under 18 had, but I know there was a couple under 18's that played in the seniors vs Greenvale, the ressies do have players that played in the seniors in the side and the fence around the ground is council issue.

top class game of footy up at greenvale today, considering the state of the ground both teams got all they could out of the contest. Was back and forth for most of the day, with greenvale kicking away late to win by 6, Randello cut us to pieces through the middle and Thompson and Lucas were crucial all day, i will say that i thought scotty was pretty well looked after by the umps but theres really no point crying over spilt milk.
The boy's can hold their heads high as Greenvale were very close to full strength and we gave them a great run for their money, i think it show's that we can definately dance with the big boy's come finals and we can take alot out of a supurbe game of local footy, Pascu was very good along with higgs and hooper and also thought tripp was great running out of defence, if the finals are played the same way that the 2 teams played today i think we are in for a great specticle

Douttas got flogged by West Coburg today,not sure of final score but around 12 goals.

I seen the 2nd half of this match and Doutta were disgraceful, I have never seen a side put so little effort in, it appeared only Jimmy Hollow who was having a crack and the rest were rubbish. Clearly Barnes has lost the players.

But the more interesting result was the Marby v Abers, 2 very ordinary performances in a row, maybe not everything is not happy with the Marby Army.

I reckon West Coburg would give them selves a chance against C'burn this week,if the game were at West Coburg i think Douttas would have been in alot of trouble,Unfortunately i would expect Douttas to lose the last 3 unless something dramaticaly changes they may be a chance against Abers in round 18 but recent form has been poor.

And re Marby whats going on with them,i guess Avondale have been in really good for the last 6 or so weeks but i would have expected Marby to win by 5 goals on a bad day oh well credit to the Heights on what would seem a great win :)

THE DREBSTER

Thank God for Ben Collins' goal a few weeks ago on the final siren at West Coburg otherwise Abers, Douttas and West Coburg would now only only be separated by a tiny amount of %!

geez those Marby supporters have quietened down a bit lately?
To be fair My North has still been posting. Hopefully it's cause for some humility from Marby people from here on in though. Understandably jumping on here isn't high up on any to do list after a loss.

Top 4 are all as good as each other. Will come down to little things on the day and slices of luck (maybe umpiring judging by the standard this yr). Each of those 4 sides would back themeselves to beat each other.

Still think Marby have the best list so if forced would put my money on them

See Keilor have been doing 6k Sunday time trials and heavy running sessions on a Tuesday as have Greenvale.

As a spectacle I hope there are no big injures before they all role out onto Windy Hill

Marby very disapointing lately, supporters not used to losing, it might turn out to be a good thing as still a fair way to go.
Have not heard much from you git! who do you follow mate?:D

Craigieburn Mick......... havent had too much to cheer about this year (or the past 4-5) so i get on here to throw some stones ......even though i live in a glass house. :thumbsu:

Lets give Avondale Heights some credit for last weeks victory. We all know marby had a couple out but that still doesnt excuse them losing by 5 goals to a team with more than 10 players under the age of 20. The future is looking bright at Avondale with home grown talent coming through to play seniors.

credit where its due, avondale were 1-8 if im correct? good finish to the season and a well deserved a grade team for 2011 :thumbsu:

To be fair My North has still been posting. Hopefully it's cause for some humility from Marby people from here on in though. Understandably jumping on here isn't high up on any to do list after a loss.

Yes Blue Jet still posting on here, and will continue to do so no matter what the result is on the Saturdays. Not sure what happened last round, looking forward to this week game against Abers, we need to need to re-group, any of the top 4 + Strathmore can win on grand final day

Yes well done to Avondale in the second half of the year a great effort :D

And re: finals well i would have to agree with Hutchy in terms of the top 4 being fairly even,over the years we have all witnessed what would seem unbeatable teams getting knocked off in the granny but i cant remember the last time the top 4 going into a finals series was so even which is great and i for one work pending will try and get to a couple of the finals matches :D

On another note how valuable is finishing top 2 do you think? I dont mean to ask a stupid question as it obviously gives you a double chance but im not sure if its as valuable as say the AFL so i guess im saying that it wouldnt surprise me if 3rd or 4th won it.Or do you think its crucial to finish top 2??? You would think Greenvale are a monty for 1st or second but the other 4 teams could all finish 2nd.

Big game this week S'more v Keilor and i guess Oakers v Avondale may be closer then what we would have thought.The mores have Marby next week and the Oakers in round 18 so a huge 3 weeks for them as they could go as high as 2nd or not make it at all.If the Mores can perform then we could have 5 legit contenders going into round 18 with one unlucky team missing out :)

THE DREBSTER