EDFL Div 1 2018

Tips for this week

APW v HILLSIDE - Should be a great game of football. APW flying and Hillside coming off a poor loss to Tullamarine. Hillside are a bit up and down so id have to go with APW by 29 points. Also would not be surprised to see Hillside win.

OAK PARK v CRAIGIEBURN - Oak Park desperate for a win and Craigieburn coming off 2 straight losses. A fair bit at stake here for both clubs, im tipping Oak Park to get the upset by 2points

JACANA v TAYLORS LAKES - yet another great game. Taylors lakes doing everything right since the good Friday clash and I don't have any confidence in saying why or how Jacana can win. Taylors Lakes by 41 points

EAST KEILOR v TULLAMARINE - Sounds like a big week down at cougar town. Grigg gone! How do the playing group respond ? It could fire them up or go the other way. Tullamarine are probably the one side you wouldn't want to face this week as I am sure they will come switched on. Tullamarine by 33

4 terrific games of div 1 footy this week

I can’t see a close game this round, should all be margins over 40 points

Herald sun today quote from present of EK -

Contacted this morning, East Keilor president Geoff Nicholl said no decision had been made.

“Don’t know yet, mate, so we’ll just have to wait and see in the next couple of days,” Nicholl said.

“He’s just having a bit of time to think about things.

He'd know because most of it appears to be his doing! a lot of unhappy campers at cougar land

Definitely all is not well here at Cougar Land.

Unfortunately Nick Grigg has chosen to move on.

Strong football clubs are built on honesty and integrity.

Coach Arrowsmith and side kick Zac #cantcoach don’t possess either right now so it’s been very hard to create a productive environment for all to prosper, hence the clubs position on the ladder.

Watch this space unfortunately more exits to follow.
Must be two Nick Griggs the other one is listed to play tomorrow?

Maybe Grigg will join the boys on Shark TV and take over the canteen segment...lol
This is a great suggestion by you Ed Harken..... Nick is a fan of the show and always engaged in some banter out on the ground so happy to get him on board problem is we pay for the food at the canteens so our match fees are $0 not sure Nick will accept our payment terms. Perhaps he could be SharkTV's new boundary rider aka "Joanna Grigg" I'll have to check with the big fella and cameraman Postman Pat to get clearance on this.... All in a bit of fun..... Signing Off

Edfl onlooker here and always been close to a few at EK I don't this is a big surprise with Grigg I have heard he has had warnings over the last two years about his behaviour from the committee and obviously they have had enough?? I also heard this has happened from him being told to have one week off and he didn't like it??

that’s what i heard

oh really? what behaviour, told by who? make sure you've got your facts right gazza

Herald sun today quote from present of EK -

Contacted this morning, East Keilor president Geoff Nicholl said no decision had been made.

“Don’t know yet, mate, so we’ll just have to wait and see in the next couple of days,” Nicholl said.

“He’s just having a bit of time to think about things.

Surely not! I’d be thinking Nick Grigg has thought long and hard before deciding to move on. Hopefully it’s Arrowsmith who is having a good hard think about how he has handled this whole situation!

It’s obvious every week to all who watch the Cougars play that the off field dynamics of the coaching group is totally wrong, Zack has way to much control and continually says all the wrong things at all the wrong times.

The coaching group has been fractured for sometime due to a lack of timely honesty and integrity amongst each other, when the group is fractured things must change to get improvement.

For the clubs sake hopefully Arrowsmith can see through Zack’s verbal intimidation and move Zack on back to Strathmore which in my opinion would have an immediate impact allowing all to continue to develop in a more positive vibrant environment including Coach Arrowsmith himself.

I would like to know where your facts have come from From Within... I have heard from a very reputable source that what I said early is fact Grigg didn't want a week off after being told to so walked out on the club and teammates And especially out on a close freind in Arrowsmith! A little more blame needs to be put on Grigg here for very undisciplined acts on the field for a long time! Not great by a coach! In terms of coaching down there I think they are now in a very tough situation caused by this childish walkout!

Also From Within member of big footy since today? Not a disgruntled player or freind of Grigg are we??

Your reliable source isn’t very reliable Gazza! You still haven’t answered what behaviours, what warnings and who told him to have a week off?

There’s a bit more to this than your reliable source is telling you

Fair enough honest truth I did answer on what behaviours it was his bad discipline on ground by all reports . When told he needs to be a lot more disciplined on the ground since last year... and this year in 4 games has already given away around 7 goals to the opposition teams directly from 50 m penalties and free kicks directly from Grigg... as far as most people that know footy that's not exceptable from any player non the less a coach!!
From what I have heard that has come directly from the president that he had to miss a game.. Grigg did not agree and walked out... shows how much he really cares for the club and his mates.

I hope for my friends at EK they can get a win tomorrow against Tulla and turn a bad week into a good end!
On another note who's the fav's for the flag atm guys?

I would like to know where your facts have come from From Within... I have heard from a very reputable source that what I said early is fact Grigg didn't want a week off after being told to so walked out on the club and teammates And especially out on a close freind in Arrowsmith! A little more blame needs to be put on Grigg here for very undisciplined acts on the field for a long time! Not great by a coach! In terms of coaching down there I think they are now in a very tough situation caused by this childish walkout!
Simply a long time supporter who has formed an opinion from what I have seen and heard with my very own eyes and ears on a regular basis..
Many supporters don’t even bother to venture out at the breaks any longer as the same rant and dribble is delivered with venom, rarely an educational word spoken! Hardly an environment for quality development for a club that has a number of home grown talent being bereft of opportunity.
I agree undisciplined acts have proven costly on many occasions in recent times but it would be an ill advised person who would single out any one individual for being the sole culprit this has been an issue at the club long before the current coaching regime.
If you want to speak facts work has played a major factor in Griggs decision to move on along with the fact close friend! Arrowsmith choose to ask the club president to raise the issue that work commitments possibly restricting club training opportunities could affect match day opportunities! Once club presidents start getting involved in team selection things really become compromised.
Hence my reason to express the concerns of a fractured coaching group! Surely Arrowsmith or Zack should have had the inner strength to instigate any such discussion!
As I said previously the coaching group has been fractured for some time on a number of different occasions with Zack being the one constant in the varying disputes.
No source needed as this is common knowledge, no apologies either for becoming a recent member to voice my opinion as you to have chosen to do the same.

Fair enough honest truth I did answer on what behaviours it was his bad discipline on ground by all reports . When told he needs to be a lot more disciplined on the ground since last year... and this year in 4 games has already given away around 7 goals to the opposition teams directly from 50 m penalties and free kicks directly from Grigg... as far as most people that know footy that's not exceptable from any player non the less a coach!!
From what I have heard that has come directly from the president that he had to miss a game.. Grigg did not agree and walked out... shows how much he really cares for the club and his mates.

I see now, so the president is overriding the leadership group and coaches and making selection decisions? Wow what a well ran club when the scotch swilling president is involving himself in team selection!

Isn’t that what you have coaches and leadership groups for???

The facts are on Tuesday night the president said that due to Griggs work commitments changing that if he couldn’t train the he can’t play, again going against the leadership group and coaches, then on Wednesday night said he can play but in the twos!

You either can or can’t play if you can’t train due to work, you can’t make it up as you go along so Grigg can’t train so he accepted he can’t play. There’s not one rule for one and another for others!

As I said Gazza make sure you’ve got all the facts before you go slagging people off anonymously

imploded; imploding

intransitive verb

1 a : to burst inward a blow causing a vacuum tube to implode
b : to undergo violent compression massive stars which implode

2 : to collapse inward as if from external pressure; also : to become greatly reduced as if from collapsing

3 : to break down or fall apart from within : self-destruct

imploded; imploding

intransitive verb

1 a : to burst inward a blow causing a vacuum tube to implode
b : to undergo violent compression massive stars which implode

2 : to collapse inward as if from external pressure; also : to become greatly reduced as if from collapsing

3 : to break down or fall apart from within : self-destruct

Spot on smurf, driven by an interfering president who I believe has been told to right the wrongs or more departures will happen.

Presidents role is to administer, I reckon I know how Mick McGuane would react if his president started to interfere with selection or on field matters. Strong well ran clubs don’t have such issues

Simply a long time supporter who has formed an opinion from what I have seen and heard with my very own eyes and ears on a regular basis..
Many supporters don’t even bother to venture out at the breaks any longer as the same rant and dribble is delivered with venom, rarely an educational word spoken! Hardly an environment for quality development for a club that has a number of home grown talent being bereft of opportunity.
I agree undisciplined acts have proven costly on many occasions in recent times but it would be an ill advised person who would single out any one individual for being the sole culprit this has been an issue at the club long before the current coaching regime.
If you want to speak facts work has played a major factor in Griggs decision to move on along with the fact close friend! Arrowsmith choose to ask the club president to raise the issue that work commitments possibly restricting club training opportunities could affect match day opportunities! Once club presidents start getting involved in team selection things really become compromised.
Hence my reason to express the concerns of a fractured coaching group! Surely Arrowsmith or Zack should have had the inner strength to instigate any such discussion!
As I said previously the coaching group has been fractured for some time on a number of different occasions with Zack being the one constant in the varying disputes.
No source needed as this is common knowledge, no apologies either for becoming a recent member to voice my opinion as you to have chosen to do the same.

Sorry I agree with Gazza, I only see 1 player continually let the team down giving away 50's costing goals changing momentum of games.

Regularly at huddles I don't see ranting and raving and think Ash and Zac communicate well.

These are the only 2 things I see and have knowledge on.

The rest of the issues don't know.