EDFL Div 1 2019

I will be first to admit i know not much about the points system however can someone please explain to me how Dean Clare can be 4 points at Pascoe Vale , leave to go to Westmeadows and is still 4 points at Westmeadows. Is this correct . 4 clubs in 3 years .

Hey mate, he was 4 points last year at Westy and would have been 3 this season if he didn’t go to Paco hence the extra point so his 4 points. Think that’s correct mate..

Turbo you should be careful the way you critique players, or you must have been a past champion of the game to be able to offer such insight? I admire your enthusiasm for the league being a bit of a fan and you obviously get around to a few games each Saturday and most of your dribble on here is entertaining but pretty easy to pot players behind a keyboard. Remember its a bit harder on the other side of the fence.

It’s a footy forum mate and if I didn’t post stuff it would be very quite.
Basically this division is now fu#### due to the recent points issues where the league never stood up and properly dealt with the issue. So no one really gives a hoot atm. OP, TL and HS were disadvantaged and basically cheated against by EDFL and EK combined. Full stop.

Understand it’s easy to pot players behind a keyboard but remember when you spruik up a recruit you must expect some criticism at times. It’s not a personal attack on integrity or off field just a way I see the game. He is a $250 player and anymore is just another overpaid footballer running around ruining football.
Dion had his first game where he didn't dominate his position,(rd1 only one goal but kicked 9 behinds I think and would have taken 10 plus marks) he still kicked 3 and battled well . WM obviously rated him as he was double and tripled up against many times. EK forward 5o entries were very bad also, shallow and wide practically all day, doing all the forwards no favours.
He is still leading the goalkicking avg. a tick under 5 a game and I am looking forward to him responding this week and having a big one.
If he kicked a bag this week and EK win would you stop bagging him then? (doubt it)

And don't be concerned that your posts are used as pre game motivation, that is laughable. But if you throw enough s--t some will stick .

This is why I respond. He wasn’t double or tripled teamed at all. Had 1 opponent. Yes at times forwards compete against multiple players in marking contests but he had 1 opponent and was clearly beaten. The ball coming in wasn’t perfect but I’m sure it wasn’t much different to other games. EK have decent mids and got there share of clearances so it’s not necessarily there fault.

If you watch both forward lines you see the difference in movement and ground coverage. Put a gps tracker on both key forwards and you would see a marked variance..

I’m happy to leave it at that and you know I’m right if you watch footy closely enough.

Basically this division is now fu#### due to the recent points issues where the league never stood up and properly dealt with the issue. So no one really gives a hoot atm. OP, TL and HS were disadvantaged and basically cheated against by EDFL and EK combined. Full stop.

Understand it’s easy to pot players behind a keyboard but remember when you spruik up a recruit you must expect some criticism at times. It’s not a personal attack on integrity or off field just a way I see the game. He is a $250 player and anymore is just another overpaid footballer running around ruining football.

This is why I respond. He wasn’t double or tripled teamed at all. Had 1 opponent. Yes at times forwards compete against multiple players in marking contests but he had 1 opponent and was clearly beaten. The ball coming in wasn’t perfect but I’m sure it wasn’t much different to other games. EK have decent mids and got there share of clearances so it’s not necessarily there fault.

If you watch both forward lines you see the difference in movement and ground coverage. Put a gps tracker on both key forwards and you would see a marked variance..

I’m happy to leave it at that and you know I’m right if you watch footy closely enough.
100% correct.. Can you imagine if op or tl get relegated just say by %?? I know you’ve mentioned this before turbo but that is going to be the issue here!!
Going down a division could potentially ruin a club.. Not saying it’s going to happen but it has the potential..
Could the league not give a hoot because of the rumours going around about no relegation??

Apologies mate, if it sounded like I was discredited Saad. Just saying it helps with a few good tall forwards plus throw in Castello and I think #2 who is a another tall type. 👍
all good mate
Apologies mate, if it sounded like I was discredited Saad. Just saying it helps with a few good tall forwards plus throw in Castello and I think #2 who is a another
Apologies mate, if it sounded like I was discredited Saad. Just saying it helps with a few good tall forwards plus throw in Castello and I think #2 who is a another tall type. 👍
all good mate
100% correct.. Can you imagine if op or tl get relegated just say by %?? I know you’ve mentioned this before turbo but that is going to be the issue here!!
Going down a division could potentially ruin a club.. Not saying it’s going to happen but it has the potential..
Could the league not give a hoot because of the rumours going around about no relegation??

i don't know why everyone blaming EK for the points and there over 47 but isn't the league job to check the players points when every club submit the list every Friday so league officials got plenty of time to check if every club is under the 47 if not they ring the club and tell them if their over or not.and didn't the edfl came out and said they made a mistake so EK got nothing to worry about.

all good mate

i don't know why everyone blaming EK for the points and there over 47 but isn't the league job to check the players points when every club submit the list every Friday so league officials got plenty of time to check if every club is under the 47 if not they ring the club and tell them if their over or not.and didn't the edfl came out and said they made a mistake so EK got nothing to worry about.
You maybe correct that EK has nothing to worry about. What is being missed/overlooked is the integrity of the competition. Through the EDFLs own admission they have compromised the integrity of the season. The only action is to enforce the correct penalties. Of course this will not be well received by EK. However we are talking about the integrity of the competition.

From what I’ve heard there will definitely be promotion and relegation. Then again it changes by the day if the rumours about at least 2 new clubs entering the EDFL in 2020 are true.

You maybe correct that EK has nothing to worry about. What is being missed/overlooked is the integrity of the competition. Through the EDFLs own admission they have compromised the integrity of the season. The only action is to enforce the correct penalties. Of course this will not be well received by EK. However we are talking about the integrity of the competition.

Correct.. I also never blamed ek .. But yes it could have a massive impact on a club if they were to be relegated after a big mistake like this ..

What a load of crap. All I hear is the integrity of the competition. For years the league have said that club's need to have seniors, reserves and under 19 teams otherwise they would be relegated. Craigieburn and Oak Park don't have any yet they stay up again. Club's that are unfinancial with the league for multiple years have never been relegated, even after warnings. There is way too much grey area in the league nowdays.

Div 2 would be a good div as there is 14 clubs who don’t have 19s throughout the edfl!! You want them all relegated??

everybody gets the four points for the byes, no different than if they didn't at seasons end?
I cant see how that ruins integrity? Fact is there should not be byes and hopefully that will be the case next year.
If every club has the same amount of byes why even bother giving points? It just makes no sense. The ladder after RP beat OP showed OP on top because they had 4 points, the same as RP but a better %. It's just a false view of the ladder and doesn't even out until the final round. You could have a team outside the 4 in the final week make finals with a bye if the team above them loses. It just creates confusion. Make it no points then its just down to wins and losses

Think it has to do with sports TG.
They automatically give 4 points for a bye. The edfl would have to ask them to change the system. Probably easier to just leave it how it is

There is no grey area in the points system my friend, there is a limit and you can not go over it. The facts are 3 teams lost to EK this season while they were clearly over the points cap, this fact will never go away. Those clubs were cheated! EK folk will tell us it’s not there fault, how in this day and age can you go and recruit 20+ new players to your club and expect to not have this problem. You cant tell me a blind eye wasn't turned when a few players came back with lower than expected points. Yes, the integrity of this division is gone for 2019.

F*ck me this thread has become as boring as the WRFL one re Deer Park.

Just going around in circles. League has made their stance clear and it is what it is.

Move on.

Tips for this weekend?

I’ve been watching this forum for years and months and have enjoyed the debates and comments......BUT.
I’ve been involved at EK for 20yrs in various roles and recently watched a few people potting my club, probably some of you never been on a football committee or involved in anyway running a football club.
When the edfl split the competition into 3 divisions we were forced to become part of C grade .
WE were financial
WE had senior, reserves , u18s, juniors in each age group, strong Auskick numbers. All the criteria needed by the edfl at the time , yet many other clubs had not met these requirements yet stayed up .
We won the 1st c grade flag yet stayed down.
. The players walked
. Our best juniors we poached by rep coaches to play at better clubs
. WE HAD NO PLAYERS
. WE HAD NO MONEY
. WE HAD NO SPONSORS
. WE HAD 3 JUNIORS TEAMS SOME MERGED FOR A SEASON
. WE JUST ABOUT CLOSED THE DOORS .
. Over the last few years the current president and committee and previous committee members have worked their asses off to get the club back on track . 2 senior premierships with little resources, 2 19 premiership, strong juniors in every age group,
Great coaches , and senior coach last season who played 15 u19s players
. A new senior coach who has got every player buying into what we hoping to achieve as club , not as a senior, reserves and 3rds ... AS A CLUB. To think all this crap that after 9 years of hard work that you muppets think that we would as a club and our coach cheat to throw all we’ve worked for out the window . Come and spend a few weeks at my club you think you know so much about us . We are making our way back .. it might not be this year or it might be , mark my words we are .
This topic is done , winge and moan all you like , EK have earned there right to be competitive and some of you just don’t like !!!

Dion had his first game where he didn't dominate his position,(rd1 only one goal but kicked 9 behinds I think and would have taken 10 plus marks) he still kicked 3 and battled well . WM obviously rated him as he was double and tripled up against many times. EK forward 5o entries were very bad also, shallow and wide practically all day, doing all the forwards no favours.
He is still leading the goalkicking avg. a tick under 5 a game and I am looking forward to him responding this week and having a big one.
If he kicked a bag this week and EK win would you stop bagging him then? (doubt it)
I've only seen a few games this season, and went and watched EK vs Westmeadows and Hill was kept very quite by Callegari (who is a big key defender, but I wouldnt be putting him in the top 3-4).
I was more impressed with Westmeadows after seeing them play in Round 1 vs Tullamarine, and will be interested to go and watch the EK vs Tullamarine game this week. I can't see Hill kicking many against Tullamarine and maybe he can respond in a few weeks when EK play WC or TL.

Westmeadows by 15 points (It wouldn't surprise me if Westmeadows dropped this game after a big win last week though)
Craigieburn by 76 points (Can't see OP troubling them and will be over by half time)
Tullamarine by 36 points (If this was at EK it would be much closer)
West Coburg by 18 points (Could go either way, but I'm going with West Coburg)

There is no grey area in the points system my friend, there is a limit and you can not go over it. The facts are 3 teams lost to EK this season while they were clearly over the points cap, this fact will never go away. Those clubs were cheated! EK folk will tell us it’s not there fault, how in this day and age can you go and recruit 20+ new players to your club and expect to not have this problem. You cant tell me a blind eye wasn't turned when a few players came back with lower than expected points. Yes, the integrity of this division is gone for 2019.

Bissa we have been known to argue a bit over the years but this is a great post and very true. A lot of clubs in this division are over it and very disappointed in the way it has been handled..
FACT: The EDFL and EK were aware of issues prior to the HS game yet EK choose to continue playing over the points maximum. “And way over” The EDFL just sat idle and failed to act swiftly..

Surely that game vs HS was played outside the rules.

The EDFL wasn’t happy but they can’t take just 4 points off them, as they played 3 games over the limit so that’s 12points. If they reversed 1 result it’s totally unfair on the other 2 clubs even though the margins were big. It could derail the EK season.

Div1 season in total chaos imo.

I’ve been watching this forum for years and months and have enjoyed the debates and comments......BUT.
I’ve been involved at EK for 20yrs in various roles and recently watched a few people potting my club, probably some of you never been on a football committee or involved in anyway running a football club.
When the edfl split the competition into 3 divisions we were forced to become part of C grade .
WE were financial
WE had senior, reserves , u18s, juniors in each age group, strong Auskick numbers. All the criteria needed by the edfl at the time , yet many other clubs had not met these requirements yet stayed up .
. The players walked
. WE HAD NO PLAYERS
. WE HAD NO MONEY
. WE HAD NO SPONSORS
. Over the last few years the current president and committee and previous committee members have worked their asses off to get the club back on track . 2 senior premierships with little resources, 2 19 premiership, strong juniors in every age group,
. A new senior coach who has got every player buying into what we hoping to achieve as club , not as a senior, reserves and 3rds ... AS A CLUB. To think all this crap that after 9 years of hard work that you muppets think that we would as a club and our coach cheat to throw all we’ve worked for out the window . Come and spend a few weeks at my club you think you know so much about us . We are making our way back .. it might not be this year or it might be , mark my words we are .
This topic is done , winge and moan all you like , EK have earned there right to be competitive and some of you just don’t like !!!

Hey 1971, no one is disputing all the hard work that EK have done over the years to get back to being a solid club. It’s great to see you have a thirds side and juniors back up & running. The footy world was happy to see Arrowsmith return to his junior club and get them moving again. The guys very competitive and still a good player.

HOWEVER no one likes what has occurred here. It’s fine to put blame on the league but surely EK MUST accept some responsibility and be held accountable as if your club is like you say it is then you must of knew in Jan-Feb that you will be high on points throughout the season so it’s important to put resources into getting it right..

I will again leave this subject but I’m sure people (including me) won’t be impressed if:
- EK were to scrap into the top 4 by 4/8 points.
- Or make the top 2 and therefore disadvantage the other finalists from a double chance.

Just to many what if’s..

If the league was to take 12 points off EK are you still good enough to make the top4. Ummm maybe, who knows..
I think that would have been a fair outcome!! I know you wouldn’t be happy but 99% of the div1 footy followers would be and THEN yes we all move on..

WE were financial
. The players walked
. WE HAD NO PLAYERS
. WE HAD NO MONEY
. WE HAD NO SPONSORS
That’s all fantastic well done. Not sure any of it has anything to do with what has occurred this year but yeh good stuff... I think deep down anyone at EK could understand the anger from the rest of the clubs about what has happened. But i guess you are right, it’s done.

WE were financial
. The players walked
. WE HAD NO PLAYERS
. WE HAD NO MONEY
. WE HAD NO SPONSORS

I like your passion
But imagine if the shoe was on the other foot and ek were the side who could potentially drop to div 2 because of this ridiculous mistake.. How would your passion speak then?? Would you be asking for the 4 points so you can stay up?

Not worth going over again - EDFL have wiped their hands with it and wont change their decision.

EK will bounce back this weekend (under the 47 points) and comfortably account for Tullamarine

Dont think there has been any mention of Daniel Kerr playing for TL this weekend

Not worth going over again - EDFL have wiped their hands with it and wont change their decision.

EK will bounce back this weekend (under the 47 points) and comfortably account for Tullamarine

Dont think there has been any mention of Daniel Kerr playing for TL this weekend
happy to be proven wrong but tulla will beat east keilor by 5 goals +