EDFL Div 1 2019

Lyon a "fair player" ? He is a hell of a lot better than that. Did you see EK in Rd 1 when he played? I don't think so. And yes they have played weak opposition so far but the next few weeks after Easter will show they are going to be very hard to beat.
I think what Turbo is inferring is that in the whole scheme of things he is just a fair player , maybe in B Grade he is a "Gun(B Grade)" , but in reality in EDFL there are hundreds of better footballers than him and all the blokes running around in B Grade playing B Grade standard footy for a wad of $$$$.. Not having a go at the bloke at all, he can do what he wants , he is choosing to play B Grade footy , but please don't try and pump his tyres up too much.. But good luck with the season!!!

100% the difference. It's easy to throw shit at a club without knowing what they have available. Nobody wants to come up and get hammered but if you ain't got the money in this league it's always tough. Jacana had money and still didn't win one game
Jacana had money but spent it on the wrong types of players like J.Cloke. Instead of spending $1200-1500 on a 36 year old that is clearly there only for the $$$ and best case 2 seasons or until he gets offered more from somewhere else. Why not try and find 4 or 5 players that are early-mid 20's and pay them $350-400 a game. Best case they may stay at the club for 5-10 years and help build a competitive side. Obviously a lot easier said than done.

Roxy never recruited anyone this year over 25, I think they know where the sit.

I’m just not sure it’s a great thing for teams in div1 to be beaten by 30goals and the team that beat them is not rated as favourites. It’s not an ideal situation.

I did hear the league will most likely promote 2 teams from div2 next season to eliminate the bye. I believe another club will enter our league and play div2 next season so no byes in any division..

The Cloke boys have been pretty good for Jacana and over recent seasons. I didn’t see this as a negative and it’s good for Jacana to have a “marquee” player. I don’t disagree with your opinions either but it’s a hard. At least Jacana had a crack and they gave it everything..It’s not easy to attract players out there as it’s predominantly an older area thesedays..

I think what Turbo is inferring is that in the whole scheme of things he is just a fair player , maybe in B Grade he is a "Gun(B Grade)" , but in reality in EDFL there are hundreds of better footballers than him and all the blokes running around in B Grade playing B Grade standard footy for a wad of $$$$.. Not having a go at the bloke at all, he can do what he wants , he is choosing to play B Grade footy , but please don't try and pump his tyres up too much.. But good luck with the season!!!

Cheers mate..

Lyon is a great pick up for a div1 club. Very good player who had previously stated he was retiring after leaving Sunshine. Good offer I believe so credit to EK..

I’m just not sure it’s a great thing for teams in div1 to be beaten by 30goals and the team that beat them is not rated as favourites. It’s not an ideal situation.

I did hear the league will most likely promote 2 teams from div2 next season to eliminate the bye. I believe another club will enter our league and play div2 next season so no byes in any division..

Further to Roxy Turbo.....I have friends who's sons play there so I get to hear of some things that go on.
Apparently about 6 or 7 premiership players notified the club in Jan/Feb that they no longer wanted to play this year after agreeing to terms at the end of last year, content with a Div 3 medal around their necks rather than stepping up to the next level. That did not leave the club much time to recruit. Furthermore they are have about 2 or 3 older, experienced players still to come in. Unfortunately they have lost their CHB for the year due to a knee injury. These losses hurt a club with not great depth. As previously mentioned by others the club is trying hard to get sponsorship $$$$. They would be lucky to be spending a third of this years cap allowance. Yeah tuff times ahead as I think it will be for any club that comes up from Div 3.

Further to Roxy Turbo.....I have friends who's sons play there so I get to hear of some things that go on.
Apparently about 6 or 7 premiership players notified the club in Jan/Feb that they no longer wanted to play this year after agreeing to terms at the end of last year, content with a Div 3 medal around their necks rather than stepping up to the next level. That did not leave the club much time to recruit. Furthermore they are have about 2 or 3 older, experienced players still to come in. Unfortunately they have lost their CHB for the year due to a knee injury. These losses hurt a club with not great depth. As previously mentioned by others the club is trying hard to get sponsorship $$$$. They would be lucky to be spending a third of this years cap allowance. Yeah tuff times ahead as I think it will be for any club that comes up from Div 3.

Thanks for that.

I know this would never happen but if Roxy were struggling in Late Jan/Feb they should have went to the league and seen if there was any chance of going back down if 1 (only 1) side from div2 wanted to go up. Let them play again in div2 without contesting finals.
I’m not sure this is the right process as it can create issues but I don’t like seeing huge one sided results in the 2nd tier comp and by the sounds of what your saying it could get worse.
Also not good for Roxy as other than on-field the crowds drop off and revenue is below forecast..But agree with another poster that being between Greenvale and Craigieburn is tough especially Greenvale as they are a strong successful club with awesome facilities..
Roxy like many other clubs have there social rooms in a horrible position and with 2 adjoining grounds surely they should have built something between the 2 ovals and not in the pocket..Another great council decision..

Yes understand that money plays a big part but you also need to have a plan for that. Not sure going up and copping hidings is good for the club or the division. Jacana were reasonable competitive in division 1 but just lacked a bit of polish but they do it tougher than most in that area with no juniors..Can’t sustain that. Also they are now struggling after coming down from division1 after 1 season. So that’s my point it can put you back years if you don’t have a long term plan..
So what do you do? Not win a flag when it's there? When a club has never win a senior flag before it's a pretty big carrot to go after. There was planning in place but sponsors were still hard to find. As I said, tough living between the 2 big clubs around the area

There’s big clubs in every area

I do feel for Roxy, but they will be more competitive against some other teams Im sure. They had a crack, especially early. However while they might be struggling to compete financially it would help if they raised their fitness levels across the board,THIS COSTS NOTHING. Too many beefys Im afraid! Second half showed that.

Very good points however when players are being paid well they tend to train more..😂😂

although they’re not getting the results, it’s good to see a more disciplined roxy that aren’t looking to start a brawl at every contest like they have a reputation for

Think you’ll find credit for the discipline goes to the coach Michael Farrelly. Word has it he was pretty stern after a few weeks last season and all the players came up with a pretty harsh penalty for giving away 50m penalties as it was costing them games early. Has it been confirmed that Roxy get a free hit this season with the league not wanting to relegate from this division so that the promoted club will give it an even team allocation? Haven’t seen anything in concrete.

It is a big carrot, but maybe the EDFL need to incorporate a rule that the WRFL have for clubs in lower divisions. If you win a flag then you have the option to stay down but if you win it twice on a row then you must go up. I’m pretty sure Deer Park unexpectedly beat Parkside and decided not to go up until they beat Albanvale the following year and had to (stand to be corrected.) A pure business decision rather than an emotional one and combined with a few other things, look at them now.

Really interesting concept GITB.

(Just generally curious as I hadn't heard of this before) What happens if we rewound back to say last year and Roxy won the flag in Div2 yet opted they weren't ready yet & Jacana who won 1 game in Div1 were hell bent on coming back down a division but weren't able to as no one was coming up to take their spot. What happens then? Is the decision left in the flag winners hands or the team who was supposed to be relegated hands? Interesting topic.

Think you’ll find credit for the discipline goes to the coach Michael Farrelly. Word has it he was pretty stern after a few weeks last season and all the players came up with a pretty harsh penalty for giving away 50m penalties as it was costing them games early. Has it been confirmed that Roxy get a free hit this season with the league not wanting to relegate from this division so that the promoted club will give it an even team allocation? Haven’t seen anything in concrete.

The free hit was raised but it’s not going to happen. I’m told if another club joins the league then the 2 grand finalist in div2 will be given the option to go up to even up the divisions and eliminate the bye. Otherwise it will stay as is for next season with a bye in div1.

I think allowing a free hit will cause major issues especially as the current bottom team in div1 is losing by big margins. Apparently Jacana did enquire after last season and was told NO the system stays as is..
Plus can’t have another season like this one is heading as in div1 % can often decide a place in the top 4 as per previous years..

Really interesting concept GITB.

(Just generally curious as I hadn't heard of this before) What happens if we rewound back to say last year and Roxy won the flag in Div2 yet opted they weren't ready yet & Jacana who won 1 game in Div1 were hell bent on coming back down a division but weren't able to as no one was coming up to take their spot. What happens then? Is the decision left in the flag winners hands or the team who was supposed to be relegated
hands? Interesting topic.

It’s my understanding in that league that if the above happened then the option would then be handed to the losing grand final side to be promoted. If however all 3 parties declined to partake in Div1 the following year then the decision would be left with the league itself to make and would take in to account who they think would be best suited according to finances etc..
From memory many years ago in that league Sunshine was promoted to the highest division even though they weren’t premiers as West Newport who had won the flag then folded.
Anyway only my understanding guys and definitely an interesting topic for our league.

It’s my understanding in that league that if the above happened then the option would then be handed to the losing grand final side to be promoted. If however all 3 parties declined to partake in Div1 the following year then the decision would be left with the league itself to make and would take in to account who they think would be best suited according to finances etc..
From memory many years ago in that league Sunshine was promoted to the highest division even though they weren’t premiers as West Newport who had won the flag then folded.
Anyway only my understanding guys and definitely an interesting topic for our league.

I like this idea. I think East Sunbury would have been better suited than RP and if you look over in the WRFL too Point Cook went up when really they probably weren't/aren't ready and Yarraville would have given a much better account of themselves.

Fully agree, if the game and flag is there to be won, surely it is in the best interests to win it. It is then on the club to organise itself in the next off season to start to prepare for the step up in class. If you sit back forever waiting for the "right time" how do you ever know that you are there. Take the leap, worst case is you step up and get beaten soundly each week, but surely this is still a learning opportunity, and even if you then get relegated again, you are better armed, for if, and when you get that opportunity again. I know its going to be a tough year for RP, but they will be better for it in the long run, and they have broken the drought, and now have a flag to look back on. Good on them for taking a look at Div 1.

Yes I agree with this and the coach does seem to be setting examples but where they fall down is there junior program. Roxy don’t have much junior wise thesedays compared to about 5-7 years ago. Yes they have girls/women’s footy in a few grades which is great!! but the male juniors is not in good shape.
I don’t think this can be blamed on more successful clubs around them as Roxy Park in a newer area and with Jacana having no juniors surely they can draw from as far as meadow heights and now broadmeadows. I know what the problems are as I’ve experienced it over the years and there comes a time where you need to draw a line in the sand and set standards. This is apparently what the senior coach is doing 👏👏👏 so hope it flows on to the juniors and off field supporters.
I recall watching the legend Heath Ayres at Marby one Saturday. A bunch of Marby supporters who were standing on the boundary line (apparently from the cricket club) and were verbally abusing opposition players from Craigieburn. So when the ball went out of bounds he walked over to them and said “stop yelling out abuse and enjoy the game. Show some respect” and they pulled there heads in from embarrassment. Great to see a highly regarded player SPEAK UP and not tolerate that type of behaviour..Sporting clubs must be a place for families and kids to enjoy themselves on a Saturday arvo or Sunday. Clubs need to teach this and they will see the rewards..

I have watched much premier div footy survey and if there are "hundreds of better players" I haven't seen them. In fact premier division has dropped off plenty in last decade or so. The interleague games show this with southern and eastern leagues miles ahead these days. There was a time when EDFL dominated. Of course money in those leagues is very good and attracts more recently retired AFL players, and these are the players that make the difference. at suburban level. I'm told marby park played Frankston pines in a practice match and got beaten in a close one and they are a top club in Mornington league. They beat them by a couple of goals. EK also played them and got beaten by about 4 goals without a senior ruckman that day and Lyon was fighting out B.O.G honours with Pines ruckman who destroyed them. Take what you will from that.

Yeah I'll take nothing from that thanks , Praccy Matches mean zero....