EDFL Div 1 2019

I only caught the very end of it as I was leaving the game at EK but I believe he brought up the goal umpiring debacle.

Firstly hats off to EK for kicking the last 7 goals after the game appeared lost. The grabowski’s sniffed half a chance and took it in the last qtr. Tulla appeared rattled by some questionable decisions but teams need to be able to deal with this so no excuses.

However I’ve never seen anything like the performance of the goal umpire at the car park end in the last half. I rarely criticize the umpires as field umpiring local footy is a tough gig but goal umpiring is pretty straight forward.
Just before 3/4 time he ruled 2 clear goals for Tulla as points. Then in the 4th quarter he managed to get in the way of the ball and stop it going over the line. This was ruled a goal, not sure if that’s the correct ruling. I’ll put his mistakes aside but the most staggering part was the goal umpire running onto the field to confront a player who questioned his decision. He then decided to get involved in verbals with crowd and also players after the game.

Manof, I hope it wasn’t the same goal umpire that umpired the East Keilor v Hillside game a few weeks ago. Everyone jumped down my throat for saying the goal umpire on that occasion clearly cheated but he clearly did. I hope Tulla complain and if it’s found to be the same goal umpire then an investigation must be held immediately.

As I mentioned at the time during the EK v HS game the ball was clearly touched by a HS player and therefore a behind. All players started setting up for a kick out with the EK FF standing on the mark when the goal umpire signalled a goal. It was laughable!! Gave EK a decent break on the scoreline.

Then when HS were fighting back and about to win possession on the line and have a snap at goal between goal & point post (about a metre in) he signals a behind to allow EK a kick in.

Btw - if I’m correct, if the ball hits the goal umpire prior to going over the line it’s deemed to be a point. Even if it’s heading over the goal line.

What is going on in this division!!

Manof, I hope it wasn’t the same goal umpire that umpired the East Keilor v Hillside game a few weeks ago. Everyone jumped down my throat for saying the goal umpire on that occasion clearly cheated but he clearly did. I hope Tulla complain and if it’s found to be the same goal umpire then an investigation must be held immediately.

As I mentioned at the time during the EK v HS game the ball was clearly touched by a HS player and therefore a behind. All players started setting up for a kick out with the EK FF standing on the mark when the goal umpire signalled a goal. It was laughable!! Gave EK a decent break on the scoreline.

Then when HS were fighting back and about to win possession on the line and have a snap at goal between goal & point post (about a metre in) he signals a behind to allow EK a kick in.

Btw - if I’m correct, if the ball hits the goal umpire prior to going over the line it’s deemed to be a point. Even if it’s heading over the goal line.

Clearly the game has past him
Why would he be scheduled for a 1 vs 2 game??!!
The EDFL will pass the buck as usual

While his decisions were bad it was his conduct after them that was even more ordinary. The young field umpire looked certain to overrule the 2nd poor decision but the goal umpire was so riled up that the field umpire backed down.

Back to the game, I agree that king was good for EK, kicked the first two and was a physical presence all day. EK’s ruckman competed well against the Scott brothers, much better than Philpott did the first time round.

For Tulla Bartrop was clean all day in poor conditions, Allen was causing headaches for the EK defense and I thought Marcy wound the clock back with some class in a few pivotal moments. Kicked a goal and set one up in the 2nd qtr that got Tulla going and then kicked both the goals that were ruled points in the 3rd that would have probably iced the game.

Ek beat tulla with a few big names out,

cburn able to rest a few and get the job done against OP and

HS get over the line against WM....

All bullshit aside this finals series will be a cracker.

I'll correct you. You're wrong.

The rule used to be if the football hit the umpire in the field of play and didn't cross the goal line it was play on.

The rule was changed a few years ago when there was about to be a certain goal except it hit a goal umpire. I think it was Eddie Betts.

The rule was changed after that incident and if the umpire believes a certain goal would have been scored, then the score is to be awarded.

100% balls up, if Brodie hasn't played 150 junior games there he's definite near 100.

We would have changed him to the correct points but we are still only at 37 so there was really no need!!
U/17 boy played well and will feature a lot in the seniors next year I reckon

Loving turbo back and also loving the EK folk getting sucked in to his posts
I’m laughing at you I can only imagine how turbo is when he reads your posts having a go back

Ek beat tulla with a few big names out,

cburn able to rest a few and get the job done against OP and

HS get over the line against WM....

All bulls**t aside this finals series will be a cracker.

It will be a cracker final series
One all tulla v EK both giving up big leads
As for the outs I think they were equal for each team with tulla having a few top liners out

So your saying goal umpires are cheating.

Did the goal umpire cheat in the Colletta shot at goal against West Coburg?

Every match I have been to this season goal umpire decisions are challenged by players.

Most of the goal umpires are aged over 65, and struggle doing the job.

Unless you have younger people wanting to do the job then you have to accept mistakes will continue to occur.

Even goal umpires in AFL are making mistakes, maybe the job is not as easy as everyone makes out.

The purported incidents ALL occured before Tulla had the best part of a 6 goal lead early in the last quarter, so Tulla fans whining about this are missing the really big point here. They completely folded for the last 20 minutes of the match, and could not play decent possession/tempo footy.

Anyone listen to DC from tulla on on EDFL match of the round radio? took huge shots at the EDFL - brought up the points issues and a few others
I just listened to his interview, the only thing he said was the split round is pointless.

And his side gave away some undisciplined 50’s.

Nothing about points or umpire decisions.

The purported incidents ALL occured before Tulla had the best part of a 6 goal lead early in the last quarter, so Tulla fans whining about this are missing the really big point here. They completely folded for the last 20 minutes of the match, and could not play decent possession/tempo footy.

Yes agree Tulla should have still been able to win the game despite the questionable decisions. Momentum is a strange thing in football and they weren’t able to stop it in the last 20 mins.

My comments on the goal umpire were the thoughts of a bemused spectator who has never seen a goal umpire get so fired up and involved in the game following some odd decisions. Not an excuse for Tulla losing.

The last round will be interesting with the CB v EK game. A CB win would likely see them finish top 2 with Tulla finishing 3rd on % and a repeat match up in the first week of finals. While an EK win would likely see Tulla move back into 2nd.

Yes agree Tulla should have still been able to win the game despite the questionable decisions. Momentum is a strange thing in football and they weren’t able to stop it in the last 20 mins.

My comments on the goal umpire were the thoughts of a bemused spectator who has never seen a goal umpire get so fired up and involved in the game following some odd decisions. Not an excuse for Tulla losing.

The last round will be interesting with the CB v EK game. A CB win would likely see them finish top 2 with Tulla finishing 3rd on % and a repeat match up in the first week of finals. While an EK win would likely see Tulla move back into 2nd.

I witnessed 3 quarters of one side playing smart footy, and the other playing dumb footy, relevant to the conditions.

EK were hopless in the 2nd & 3rd quarters, and Tulla were hopeless in the last.

The coaches will want to get to work on some basic wet weather fundamentals.

My hunch is that EK will be the better dry weather side.

We would have changed him to the correct points but we are still only at 37 so there was really no need!!

I’m laughing at you I can only imagine how turbo is when he reads your posts having a go back

There was plenty of laughing at EK rooms last night :D :D :D

I just listened to his interview, the only thing he said was the split round is pointless.

And his side gave away some undisciplined 50’s.

Nothing about points or umpire decisions.

I think they must’ve cut it out then. He was asked about the 2 goal umpiring decisions and said it was a disgrace and said that the league has had an absolutely stinker of a year and mentioned points as well as poor umpiring.... doesn’t surprise me if they did not include that in the interview they posted

you obviously heard the live feed so they must have.

While his decisions were bad it was his conduct after them that was even more ordinary. The young field umpire looked certain to overrule the 2nd poor decision but the goal umpire was so riled up that the field umpire backed down.

Back to the game, I agree that king was good for EK, kicked the first two and was a physical presence all day. EK’s ruckman competed well against the Scott brothers, much better than Philpott did the first time round.

For Tulla Bartrop was clean all day in poor conditions, Allen was causing headaches for the EK defense and I thought Marcy wound the clock back with some class in a few pivotal moments. Kicked a goal and set one up in the 2nd qtr that got Tulla going and then kicked both the goals that were ruled points in the 3rd that would have probably iced the game.
The goal umpire hopefully isn't in charge for any of the finals games, as it was one of the more bizarre situations I have witnessed in local footy ever in my time.

I was watching from near the edfl van that they were calling the game from and the goal umpire had a shocker with 4 incidents.

1. The first incident was Marcy roving a ball in the goal square and dribbling a kick over the line for a goal (which he called a rush behind) and young field umpire went to over rule him but didn't.
2. Second incident was about 10 minutes later, Marcy again having a set shot from 30m out on a slight angle. From where I was standing and based on the radio call again looked to clearly go through the goals, to which the goal umpire didn't signal anything then after about 30 seconds later called it a behind. This time the field umpire was confused on the call, ran to the goal line and called the boundary umpires in as I'm sure he and everyone else at the ground knew it was a goal. The young field umpire then decided against over-ruling the goal umpire.
3. Third incident was in the last quarter with this time a EK shot on goal which he turned side on to the goal line to watch the ball go through and instead the ball hit the umpire on the shoulder and bounced back into play. Again confusion on the field but was called a goal.
4. Forth incident was probably the worst of them as the goal umpire began remonstrating with players after the game and started walking after a Tulla player rather than walking to the center of the ground to meet the other goal umpire.

The incident definitely swung the momentum of the game with Tulla players seeming to lose focus and be more concerned with arguing with the umpires than playing footy. They must have given away 4 x 50m penalties in the last quarter and completely imploded.

In the last EK went long a direct every time they got the ball and Jy King was massive in the last quarter up forward. Tulla's backline has always been one of it's greatest strengths and bombing the ball in high and long was never a good plan, but their back 6 really panicked and couldn't stop the big man.

Will be a cracker of a finals series, and can't wait to see a bit of sunshine on a Saturday.

The post game live show was also a very interesting listen (compared to the garbage edited version posted on the EDFL website).
  • The commentators spoke of the goal umpire debacle and were all in agreeance that it was a shocker
  • Pat Christofi was more reserved than I expected not wanting to be called flag favourites, and concentrating on 'one week at a time'.
  • Dave Connell was fuming and when asked on his thought of the situation, the split round byes and rightfully commented on what a disgrace the EDFL has been this year and that administration has had a shocker this year.
  • Adem Saricaoglu who is one of the most respected media people in the EDFL spoke straight after DC and what he had to say was the biggest surprise to me which was also edited out. After DC had finished his thoughts on the EDFL, Adem then went onto say something along the lines of 'I can't comment on what he (DC) said as I'm in a compromised position, but I'm glad he said what he said'.

The post game live show was also a very interesting listen (compared to the garbage edited version posted on the EDFL website).
  • The commentators spoke of the goal umpire debacle and were all in agreeance that it was a shocker
  • Pat Christofi was more reserved than I expected not wanting to be called flag favourites, and concentrating on 'one week at a time'.
  • Dave Connell was fuming and when asked on his thought of the situation, the split round byes and rightfully commented on what a disgrace the EDFL has been this year and that administration has had a shocker this year.
  • Adem Saricaoglu who is one of the most respected media people in the EDFL spoke straight after DC and what he had to say was the biggest surprise to me which was also edited out. After DC had finished his thoughts on the EDFL, Adem then went onto say something along the lines of 'I can't comment on what he (DC) said as I'm in a compromised position, but I'm glad he said what he said'.

I’m hearing today that EDFL not happy and DC may be introuble with league headquarters for his criticism of the EDFL and naming Stephen Webb on the post match interview.
Amazing if true, what happend to freedom of speech

Some ripper kids coming up from the 17s up there, Luke Reichelt, Cody Chircop (brock's brother) , Brodie Griffiths, Jack Stevens, Mason Bowden, Jacob Langbourne just to name a few..... Craigieburn has a bright future and an abundance of good players in the junior ranks.

On CPH1921 using BigFooty.com mobile app

So your saying goal umpires are cheating.

Did the goal umpire cheat in the Colletta shot at goal against West Coburg?

Every match I have been to this season goal umpire decisions are challenged by players.

Most of the goal umpires are aged over 65, and struggle doing the job.

Unless you have younger people wanting to do the job then you have to accept mistakes will continue to occur.

Even goal umpires in AFL are making mistakes, maybe the job is not as easy as everyone makes out.

Coletta kick was a point and the umpire paid the right decision. Think Coletta tried to con the goal but he made the correct decision. No HS player complained..

Am I saying goal umpires are cheating? No, all I’m saying if that goal umpire was the same one as did the EK v HS game then yes it’s possible as it’s biased decisions favouring 1 club. It should definitely be looked into 100%. Does this umpire have some affiliation to a club now or in the past..It must be checked out that’s all I’m saying.

Let’s say I umpired next season and they gave me Hillside v Roxy or EK.. I wouldn’t be biased. 😉😉😎

What exactly have you got against Roxy Turbo? When is the last time you came down and spoke to anyone there? You love potting the place but no idea what it is they have done to you to make your hatred Sonia vile. Man up and get over whatever it was you hated about the place 10 years ago. Ask one of Hillside Royalty in Tumay Hamza what he thinks of Roxy. He loves the place and is a former league BnF winner with hillside. You probably don't even know who he is
Coletta kick was a point and the umpire paid the right decision. Think Coletta tried to con the goal but he made the correct decision. No HS player complained..

Am I saying goal umpires are cheating? No, all I’m saying if that goal umpire was the same one as did the EK v HS game then yes it’s possible as it’s biased decisions favouring 1 club. It should definitely be looked into 100%. Does this umpire have some affiliation to a club now or in the past..It must be checked out that’s all I’m saying.

Let’s say I umpired next season and they gave me Hillside v Roxy or EK.. I wouldn’t be biased.

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

What exactly have you got against Roxy Turbo? When is the last time you came down and spoke to anyone there? You love potting the place but no idea what it is they have done to you to make your hatred Sonia vile. Man up and get over whatever it was you hated about the place 10 years ago. Ask one of Hillside Royalty in Tumay Hamza what he thinks of Roxy. He loves the place and is a former league BnF winner with hillside. You probably don't even know who he is

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

The Hammer. Good bloke I hear. Playing supers at HS. 👊

Actually I’m sure we have meet once if your name starts with T, and I think your alright and set a good example. But the place needs more people like that. Other than that I’m not a fan sorry to say, as seen some things in the past that we’re not good. But I think your “senior” coach (and captain) are pushing the club in the right direction just need to continue to recruit good players and coaches to help them push forward the right attitude.

Anyway getting back to my comments, it was only a joke but I knew it would stir you up. You need to get a sense of humour UTR.

Gee this div1 keeps me up late. 😂😂