EDFL Div 1 2020

Why would you go for a playing coach ? its so old school .With the speed and complexity of the game today even at our level I reckon the days of a playing coach are done as you need to be across so many facets of the game to be successful and to top it off worrying about how you are playing as a coach .its just my opinion.
Dumb Post... So you wouldn't take Lyndon Dunn as Playing coach, Robbie Costello? Doesn't matter if you're a playing or Non Playing coach , it comes down to your ability to get all the players moving in the same direction with intent... Coaching on Game day is only a small part of the job , 95% of the work is done during the week.
I'm hearing APW are at the cross roads - J House was the right man for the job and had the players & club galvanized,, Huge Loss .....

Dumb Post... So you wouldn't take Lyndon Dunn as Playing coach, Robbie Costello? Doesn't matter if you're a playing or Non Playing coach , it comes down to your ability to get all the players moving in the same direction with intent... Coaching on Game day is only a small part of the job , 95% of the work is done during the week.
I'm hearing APW are at the cross roads - J House was the right man for the job and had the players & club galvanized,, Huge Loss .....
Who was the last premiership playing coach in division 1 or premier.
I agree playing coaches aren’t the way to go moving forward unless you have a very capable bench coach who runs the show game day.
Look at Strathmore under Grima. He was coach but relied on his understudy now current coach Horne to run the show game day.
then you have to go back to Marby’s back to back premierships. But they also had a very good assistant in clinnick running the show from the boundary.

Why would you go for a playing coach ? its so old school .With the speed and complexity of the game today even at our level I reckon the days of a playing coach are done as you need to be across so many facets of the game to be successful and to top it off worrying about how you are playing as a coach .its just my opinion.
I guess if his out of AFL he still is able to play so why wouldn’t you take a playing coach. Think it’s a great idea for a div1 side. Get 2 for 1 type of thing. Player gets extra coin.

Great points also raised by Survey. 👍 Especially the mention of Castello. Did very well at Marby as playing coach.

Who was the last premiership playing coach in division 1 or premier.
I agree playing coaches aren’t the way to go moving forward unless you have a very capable bench coach who runs the show game day.
Look at Strathmore under Grima. He was coach but relied on his understudy now current coach Horne to run the show game day.
then you have to go back to Marby’s back to back premierships. But they also had a very good assistant in clinnick running the show from the boundary.
But Grima wasn’t straight out of AFL when he got appointed coach. I do understand your views and a I agree, but still believe there is a place for playing coaches if you get the right one. I guess you take each interview and access each candidate. Not to many coaches like McGaune, Rock etc just floating about.

Survey you might think my post is dumb however it is a legit question I saw abbers loss a grand final with Mel Michael as playing coach and a pretty hand bench backing him lose to Greenvale coached by Anthony rock who out coached abbers in a tight last quarter I know that that was a few years ago now but it was a great example of a playing coach against a non playing coach . I am constantly talking a couple of friends who are coaching at different levels and in different leagues and they are mentally knackered after game day as there is so much to be on top of on game day so if you reckon its only 5% then I like to know where you draw that figure from.

Hey mate, I know this response was for survey however I just wanted to say comparing Mal Michael to Anthony Rock is not the best example as Rock would outcoach most coaches. He was a pretty good operator with a good record.
We are talking div1 and the coaches in this division you can’t compare to Rock.

But off course I would take Rock, McGuane, Morelli however a decent playing coach in div1 I think is a great idea especially if they are respected. Sometimes a great opportunity for a player who wants to get into coaching but still capable of playing good footy. Div1 a great launching pad.

House was the only “senior” coach with a decent resume/background in div1 but now his gone.

Anyway respect everyone’s opinion 👍

This Division in a great spot
Some already good players running around as seen in the top 20 released by the HS
Next years will be completely different showing the improvement in this grade
One of the best b grade comps in local footy

Hey mate, I know this response was for survey however I just wanted to say comparing Mal Michael to Anthony Rock is not the best example as Rock would outcoach most coaches. He was a pretty good operator with a good record.

But off course I would take Rock, McGuane, Morelli however a decent playing coach in div1 I think is a great idea especially if they are respected. Sometimes a great opportunity for a player who wants to get into coaching but still capable of playing good footy. Div1 a great launching pad.

House was the only “senior” coach with a decent resume/background in div1 but now his gone.

I agree but with you turbo but that game still stands out as the abbers bench was all over the place and Greenvale's was calm I think if Mal had of come off and coach abbers could have probably won the game but he stayed on. There is an old adage good players don't always make good coaches. Just because you played at the highest level does not guarantee that you can make the switch too coaching, take chapman at Greenvale that was a fail and he was not even playing. Coaching sides now is 50/50 knowledge and then man management .It took Nathan Buckley quite a few years to work out that everyone is different and to learn empathy for his players as he expected them to train like he did which was also his problem as a captain .

Even House wasn’t a stand out in this division although he did coached a Flag in NFL b grade. Curious to read who everyone thinks is the best coach in the division ? Dale May certainly the most decorated as a player.
The irony is the worst coach in the division is the most likely to be holding up the cup in 2021 😂

Even House wasn’t a stand out in this division although he did coached a Flag in NFL b grade. Curious to read who everyone thinks is the best coach in the division ? Dale May certainly the most decorated as a player.
The irony is the worst coach in the division is the most likely to be holding up the cup in 2021 😂
BANG!!!! Cop that Pat

I’ve said this many times before but it amazes me that any div1 club that harbours ambitions to go to premier must go and poach the best coach they can. It’s a non negotiable in my eyes. It’s been proven in the past with Whitnall and the likes of Morell.
Otherwise the coach fails in premier or the div1 club sacks them and goes after a more appropriate premier coach and the previous coach leaves and takes players. Spend money out of your budget on a coach for div1 rather than players.

I think the real issue going forward is whether a playing coach comes within the ambit of the salary cap. Isnt the cap for players alone? Bulk of playing coach payment may be coaching and outside the cap. We could have many many assistant coaches running around to beat the cap. Just Sayin.

Playing Assistant coaches payments are included in the cap.

Plus your only allowed 1 playing coach or assistant coach to be outside the cap. Plus that is only a certain amount too.

Off to Tulla

its slightly unusual to see players leave without a playing a game for there 2020 club. Was recruited by the coach who moved on but it’s unusual. Reduced cap would have some affect but Tulla wouldn’t be able to fit his 2020 salary in. His not the only player as it’s happening in a few leagues just find it a bit unusual as surely APW would have tried hard to hold him. Not having a coach might not have helped either. Anyway not having a go at the player in any way.

Tulla can easily fit his 2020 salary in their cap, since he’s working for the president as well as 15 other players 🥴🤦🏼‍♂️ but #undercap they reckon.

Just for you Roxy, couldn’t be bothered stirring the pot since it’s been peaceful recently, but you insisted.

hey Turbo,
He has gained employment through the club. The president runs a large refrigeration business and Limbach is a refrigeration mechanic who was looking for work post covid.
Before old mate Bashen keeps bashing on about it footy clubs have been getting guys jobs for decades, amo clubs do it all the time. Tulla very lucky to have those resources at their disposal.
Big difference between that and just throwing wods of cash at blokes 😉

hey Turbo,
He has gained employment through the club. The president runs a large refrigeration business and Limbach is a refrigeration mechanic who was looking for work post covid.
Before old mate Bashen keeps bashing on about it footy clubs have been getting guys jobs for decades, amo clubs do it all the time. Tulla very lucky to have those resources at their disposal.
It’s smart by tulla and any club that can gain employment for a recruit. Especially at the moment. Ammo clubs have been doing it for years as you said. Bashen just jealous that his club can’t offer the same. Not sure what’s refrigeration mechanic makes but I’m sure it’s a lot more than what clubs can offer these days. I just hope Tulla do the right thing and not sack him if he decides to leave in 2022 because that would be wrong.

hey Turbo,
I agree and good on Tulla. Looks like they could seriously challenge EK and that will make some people at EK very nervous I reckon..

I saw your earlier post you took down. Not sure others did
Tulla can easily fit his 2020 salary in their cap, since he’s working for the president as well as 15 other players but #undercap they reckon.

Just for you Roxy, couldn’t be bothered stirring the pot since it’s been peaceful recently, but you insisted.

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app