• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

EDFL Div 1 Discussion 2023

Why ask our clubs? we have no say, they have no say, the EDFL board are puppets run by the 3 powerful clubs. End of story. the people that support a Roxy, HS and any other insignificant team aint going to change anything. period.
Just have to put up with what's going on, if you have been around the league the last 10 years you will see thats how it operates and how it will stay.
The old Diamond Valley League had a horrendous violence problem on and off the field that’s been eroded with a complete change of direction after throwing out the incumbent governors of the competition who tolerated the behavior.
It can change if it’s pressured enough to be.

One of the main things that attracted me back to local footy last season was being able to listen to the coaches address at quarter time and three quarter time.

I'm not sure whether they really will be able to stop people from going to the huddles and I suspect it's a rule that won't be actively enforced meaning after a few weeks the huddles will look the same as they do now.

Anyway there's about 10-15 pages here about this stupid brawl between two clubs who both obviously don't understand that it's just a game of footy. How about we move on and start talking about more important things such as the games that are going to be played this weekend?

What was s**t?

The atmosphere at the game. Hope the campaigners who ruined it for the rest of us are happy.

It was like your visiting a graveyard..the atmosphere at local footy well and truly dead atmosphere..
It was so boring mate. It was like everyone was too scared to say anything and they didn't.

I've seen the vision from the incident where no 60 from St Albans got 4 weeks last week absolute disgrace by the edfl .....

Great win by Deer Park today

I was at the MCG watching the Dees v Freo game.
Not sure what the issue is with mentioning what game you watched but each to their own.
Sorry, just really angry right now. Apologies.

I'm at Rupertswood games most weekends.

Good contest at Hillside. Goal for goal until last quarter when DP kicked away.

Both teams played hard and fair and DP probably looked the better side on the day and deserved the win.
Was a shoot out for smaller forwards with DP #5 kicking 7 good goals and #29 for HS with 5 of his own.

Less people than expected at game I was at today.
Good luck to clubs trying to find a Match Day Manager next week.

General consensus was why are all clubs getting punished for the actions of one club. And why the hell is investigation still ongoing.

What game were you at?

We actually had a very good crowd, they were just standing there watching.

I get they wanted to make a stand, but a better stand would've started with a two week suspension for their senior side. I don't know anyone who doesn't think the same. It should also have come with the EDFL making a statement rather than relying on the clubs to do it first. I just think they've really dropped the ball badly here.
Few tough games

Any match reports out there
Close game all day. I reckon our guys will be kicking themselves for not getting it done. Injuries will test them in the next 2 weeks.

I get they wanted to make a stand, but a better stand would've started with a two week suspension for their senior side. I don't know anyone who doesn't think the same. It should also have come with the EDFL making a statement rather than relying on the clubs to do it first. I just think they've really dropped the ball badly here.
Very well said.

EDFL Div 1 Discussion 2023