EDFL Division 1 - 2012

The league clearly stated what is happening at the start of the season

This year is sink or swim

if EK wanna sook up about it you should have WON MORE GAMES OF FOOTBALL

i think regardless of which team went down to C grade in that 6th position they would "sook up" about it. Can see EK's frustration. Have one down year in the seniors and all teams drop down. Not fair to the reserves and 18s that have a chance of playing off in finals in Division 1

Is the EDFL going to inform the public that in the 70s and 80s there was a third division in the EDFL
The reason that it now does not exist is that the clubs that competed in it are now all gone.
Unfortunatley, whether we like it or not, clubs that end up in third division wil be targeted by A and B grade clubs, along with the actual kids not wanting to play in C grade themselves , and we will find that the numbers within these clubs will drop until finally they are gone as well.
Something the EDFL have not mentioned

Is the EDFL going to inform the public that in the 70s and 80s there was a third division in the EDFL
The reason that it now does not exist is that the clubs that competed in it are now all gone.
Unfortunatley, whether we like it or not, clubs that end up in third division wil be targeted by A and B grade clubs, along with the actual kids not wanting to play in C grade themselves , and we will find that the numbers within these clubs will drop until finally they are gone as well.

My son also got out of a now c grade club and playing in an A grade club in a different comp and has played in more winnings games than that c grade has had in 4 years....and is doing it for free and enjoying footy again,some of his mates already have said they will join him next season as their sick of always losing.

Also watch as the under 18`s will be picked off by the bigger clubs as has happen already this year

My son also got out of a now c grade club and playing in an A grade club in a different comp and has played in more winnings games than that c grade has had in 4 years....and is doing it for free and enjoying footy again,some of his mates already have said they will join him next season as their sick of always losing.

Also watch as the under 18`s will be picked off by the bigger clubs as has happen already this year

Sounds like he rec'd the gift of loyalty from his Father!

I haven't always been the biggest fan of a third division but with the money being thrown these days it has become necessary. We can all go on about young players being poached etc but a third division I think, will mean there is a comp
Where blokes that play for the live of the game can continue to do so without copping 150 point drubbings from overpaid ex-professionals. Give it 2-3 years, a few more clubs and the stigma of 'c grade' will die down. What's the alternative? Lopsided games every week? No thanks.

Sounds like he rec'd the gift of loyalty from his Father!

no i played for the same club when i played with no awards or finals to speak of ,where he has won b & f at a an a club up the road as a junior went back to play with mates ....and like i said he just plays for nothing and enjoys the feeling of winning again..i`m all for loyality but thats all gone now mate as there is no guarentee that every junior playing with their mates will get to play to play senior footy at his current club for free or as a paid player

Players get poached every year, from all clubs, in all Divisions...including juniors
And players also move around from year to year on their own accord

no i played for the same club when i played with no awards or finals to speak of ,where he has won b & f at a an a club up the road as a junior went back to play with mates ....and like i said he just plays for nothing and enjoys the feeling of winning again..i`m all for loyality but thats all gone now mate as there is no guarentee that every junior playing with their mates will get to play to play senior footy at his current club for free or as a paid player
why not tell us what club he left and/or where he went so we can make our own judgement

30 to 40 years ago???

Hope its not wrfl their telling their clubs the are going 3 divisions next year 8 in a grade 7 b grade and 6 c grade

30 to 40 years ago???
30 to 40 years ago = Correct
So what has changed in that time except

Kids options for sport are far greater
Young men realise that work is a little more important than local football
Money has crept into the game in a big way
The cultural poulation of certain areas has changed immensely
There are just less kids and young men wanting to play local football

Agreed players get poached every year, the same as 30 to 40 years ago, and the end result will be the same, and that is that C Grade clubs will end up with an ultimatum. Get players or get out
Let me know if you want your kid playing against old men trying to reignite there lost dream of playing AFL by filling in with a C Grade Club because that club have lost everyone else.

This idea may work further down the track once the likes of Greenvale and Craigeburn can support another side or two, as these areas are expanding, however the areas of East Keilor, Pascoe Vale, Oak Park, Glenroy,Airport West etc and the like are not getting any bigger.

Surely we can learn from the mistakes of the past

Its not that long ago that Greenvale and Maribynong Park were in the same position as Jacana,Roxy etc, and they are now the yardstick of our competition.
Lets set some goals for these clubs that are struggling ,get the EDFL involved with them and see if they can aspire to be as good as a Greenvale or Marby

30 to 40 years ago = Correct
So what has changed in that time except

Kids options for sport are far greater
Young men realise that work is a little more important than local football
Money has crept into the game in a big way
The cultural poulation of certain areas has changed immensely
There are just less kids and young men wanting to play local football

Agreed players get poached every year, the same as 30 to 40 years ago, and the end result will be the same, and that is that C Grade clubs will end up with an ultimatum. Get players or get out
Let me know if you want your kid playing against old men trying to reignite there lost dream of playing AFL by filling in with a C Grade Club because that club have lost everyone else.

This idea may work further down the track once the likes of Greenvale and Craigeburn can support another side or two, as these areas are expanding, however the areas of East Keilor, Pascoe Vale, Oak Park, Glenroy,Airport West etc and the like are not getting any bigger.

Surely we can learn from the mistakes of the past

Its not that long ago that Greenvale and Maribynong Park were in the same position as Jacana,Roxy etc, and they are now the yardstick of our competition.
Lets set some goals for these clubs that are struggling ,get the EDFL involved with them and see if they can aspire to be as good as a Greenvale or Marby

You make some very good points that I agree with but "aspire to be as good as a Greenvale or Marby". Greenvale yes, but Marby give me a break. The money is drying up quick and they will be back in B Grade in the next 5 years where they will stay. Their success was purely based on paying big $$$'s, that model or plan cannot be sustained, so who the hell would want to be as good as Marby Park????????? Strathmore, although spending huge $$$'s at the moment have been in A Grade for years, so aspire to be like them, possibly Keilor, but not Marby

Hadfield won th C-grade flag in 1971 there first year in the EDFL and 41 years later there still going ok.

1960's- clubs in C Grade that are still with us
Airport West, Doutta Stars, Strathmore, Avondale Heights, Pascoe Vale. Could be more

1960's- clubs in C Grade that are still with us
Airport West, Doutta Stars, Strathmore, Avondale Heights, Pascoe Vale. Could be more
Just to clarify , these clubs had 3 senior teams so C grade was in effect an open age 3rds comp. New clubs of the time may have started in this comp I can't quite remember but essentially it was a 3rds comp.

Fair enough, although i think a few of the above mentioned clubs joined in this period and are still with us. A few got promoted to B Grade i think...

At the end of the day the new Division is here to stay, the only thing we can do is sit back and see how it works. From reports the majority of the 6 clubs in C Grade dont have a big problem with it except EK which is fair enough from their point of view.
More competitiveness, more wins, less 20 goal losses, more finals appearances, Grand Finals, more flags on the wall i think will only be a good thing. A positive for the loyal players who are already staying with clubs getting beaten each week in B grade.

You make some very good points that I agree with but "aspire to be as good as a Greenvale or Marby". Greenvale yes, but Marby give me a break. The money is drying up quick and they will be back in B Grade in the next 5 years where they will stay. Their success was purely based on paying big $$$'s, that model or plan cannot be sustained, so who the hell would want to be as good as Marby Park????????? Strathmore, although spending huge $$$'s at the moment have been in A Grade for years, so aspire to be like them, possibly Keilor, but not Marby

Why so hateful towards Marby ? Plenty of clubs are doing nowadays what Marby did 6-7 years ago ( Airport West, Pascoe Vale, Abers ). I smell a bit of jealousy.

With C grade now being implemented and with EK dropping down, if they do win the flag this year the obviously get promoted, correct ? Promotion for C grade is still being implemented for the new C grade correct ?

Incorrect. There is no promotion from div 2 or relegation from div 1. Promotion up from div 1 and relegation from premier is as per normal.

All this discussion about a third division being a negative for the league and clubs. Has anybod taken the time to investigate how the clubs in the northern football league feel, now, after 3 or 4 years of them splitting their 2nd division in the same way.
The southern footy league has 3 divisions.
The eastern footy league has 4 Divisions.
Wake up, You have too many teams to run 2 divisions. you have had 2 years to build and be competative enough to avoid c grade.If your proud clubs are going finish in the bottom 6, you have nobody to blame but your club Admin, Coachs or players. You cant point at the league and blame them, you knew it was happening.

What i find quite humerous, Correct me if i'm wrong. About 6 years ago, East Keilor lost players after planning to forfeit the last game to avoid a large percentage drop and relegation to B grade.

Ladder After Round 13

Div 1
1 Airport West ...13 12 1 0 0 0 2295 638 359.72 48
2 West Coburg ...13 11 1 1 0 0 2029 908 223.46 46
3 Taylors Lakes ..13 10 3 0 0 0 1421 883 160.93 40
4 Glenroy ............13 9 4 0 0 0 1816 940 193.19 36
5 Tullamarine .......13 9 4 0 0 0 1628 851 191.30 36
6 Northern Saints 13 8 5 0 0 0 1650 1120 147.32 32
7 Westmeadows.. 13 8 5 0 0 0 1412 1041 135.64 32
8 Hadfield.............13 7 5 1 0 0 1189 948 125.42 30

Div 2
9 East Keilor .....13 5 8 0 0 0 1276 1196 106.69 20