EDFL Division 1 2016

It was in great nic on Saturday and it's a good spot to watch a game of footy on top of that it was ladies day,but tullas centre wicket area is heavily grassed and the facilities get the nod IMO

Good Luck Big Sticks but OP will win with a leg in the air 70 plus i reckon
Taylor's have almost a full list t pick from, a few injuries but nothing too major.
Surely they will want to help out old coach burns with a tiptop effort. Either way 10 wins from a club with an average off 23 yrs old is a good effort for the sharks. Come on boys get it done

Caught the Saints boys singing the song with absolute gusto on fb today. Great stuff and hopefully the start of a turn around which will have them back in div 1 in 2018 unless the EDFL finally even up that division next year.

So many videos and pictures taken. One hell of a celebration. Club is up and about even though they are last and face relegation. From what I saw they have a very close playing group from u16, 18, reserves and seniors all celebrating the win. Un believable scenes to be honest. The boys have toiled all year and finally deserve to win a game, although u think they started celebrating a little to early which made the last few minutes too exciting. Well done fellas, and to the club, great feel. Shame as a club they will be relegated because the club is in a good place, but maybe a lower div is what they need in the short term? Lots of photos on fb..

Was at Diamond Creek on sunday arvo and you wouldn't think we'd have had any rain at all this year.
It feels like we have had a very wet winter... Not sure if anyone feels the same way but most grounds have held up really well this year. I am happy to stand corrected but i think Glenroy is yet to have their surface upgraded such as other grounds. I haven't been their this year but from memory it is still the old style grass not the new summer grass they now sow. The facilities at Glenroy are pretty damn good in regards to the change rooms and social rooms

Was their early in the year and had plenty of surface water and muddy spots. If it rains it will be a mess, but very good otherwise, although like most clubs away rooms are too small.

Most if not all the grounds in Moreland city council are in bad condition due to the fact they refuse to spend money on facilities or ground. Apart from Glenroy when did a football club get a facility upgrade in the past 20 yrs.

Fawkner Soccer ground had over $5 Million spent on it last year including taking some of the schools grounds for it's grandstand.
Hoskens Reserve the old North Coburg ground has a few millions spent on it being redeveloped for the soccer Club to make better use of it.

Fawkner Soccer ground had over $5 Million spent on it last year including taking some of the schools grounds for it's grandstand.
Hoskens Reserve the old North Coburg ground has a few millions spent on it being redeveloped for the soccer Club to make better use of it.
Was referring to football clubs.
Glenroy
Oak park
Pascoe vale
Hadfield
Northern Saints
West coburg
Coburg Districts
Apart from Glenroy not one of those clubs have had a facilities or ground update in 20 years.
Clubs in Moonee Valley council
Strathmore
EDS
Marby
Airport west
Avondale
Moonee valley
Have all had new or improved club rooms
East Keilor and abers are due to have upgrades in the next 2-3 years

Was their early in the year and had plenty of surface water and muddy spots. If it rains it will be a mess, but very good otherwise, although like most clubs away rooms are too small.

Hey Mel, the away rooms at Glenroy are pretty good and have recently been renovated by the looks.

Another thing I would like to raise is most clubs are moving towards the new electronic scoreboards but they all should have the time clock on them, as if you do something, do it properly I say..

Not sure Glenroys scoreboard is in a good spot? Can you see it from inside the social rooms?

Glenroy
Oak park
Pascoe vale
Hadfield
Northern Saints
West coburg
Coburg Districts
Apart from Glenroy not one of those clubs have had a facilities or ground update in 20 years.
Strathmore
EDS
Marby
Airport west
Avondale
Moonee valley

Great points here EDFL. However I do believe Oak Park have had some upgrades as they have a great new scoreboard. The social rooms are still pretty good and modern and the home rooms are good. I think the away rooms are reasonable for an older type building.

Agree with everything else you have mentioned. Governments want to increase kids activities so improve the facilities as there are less parks around these days so at least improve the grounds. To much bloody red tape as well.

Glenroy
Oak park
Pascoe vale
Hadfield
Northern Saints
West coburg
Coburg Districts
Strathmore
EDS
Marby
Airport west
Avondale
Moonee valley

The powers that be at northern tell me the council are great at putting things off. Great at telling the club all the reason why not. As part of merge council pledged redevelopment of mutton reserve, but instead they have spent the money on soccer at both CB smith and Hoskins reserve so footy and cricket miss out always. They have had enough and I think will be starting a petition and backing a new local candidate for council. Not just northern fc but most afl facilities north of Moreland road and definitely east of Sydney rd, bar glenroy and Pacco need urgent updates.

Great points here EDFL. However I do believe Oak Park have had some upgrades as they have a great new scoreboard. The social rooms are still pretty good and modern and the home rooms are good. I think the away rooms are reasonable for an older type building.

Agree with everything else you have mentioned. Governments want to increase kids activities so improve the facilities as there are less parks around these days so at least improve the grounds. To much bloody red tape as well.
I think you'll find that the club paid for the scoreboard not the council. Most of the upgrades that Oak Park have had are due to funds from there two supporter groups the Platium club and past players group. Only reason I know this is a friend of mine is a past player

Great points here EDFL. However I do believe Oak Park have had some upgrades as they have a great new scoreboard. The social rooms are still pretty good and modern and the home rooms are good.

Surely that is taking the absolute piss - "The social rooms are still pretty good and modern and the home rooms are good"

The worst away rooms by far in metro footy. How could a club redevelop a home change rooms facility and leave that putrid excuse of a change rooms facility.

Surely that is taking the absolute piss - "The social rooms are still pretty good and modern and the home rooms are good"

The worst away rooms by far in metro footy. How could a club redevelop a home change rooms facility and leave that putrid excuse of a change rooms facility.

I agree, shocking away rooms. Atleast they got a new hotty so we didn't have to shower in freezing cold water after the game this year. But hey at least we can see the score clearly from that side... What a joke

If Westmeadows get knocked out 1st week of the finals surely the coach needs to be moved on. They are spending more than they've ever spent for no finals wins - nothing against the bloke but he needs to do the right thing and fall on his sword, Club to get a coach in who will bring success.

Hey Bang I kind of agree with you but they were last on the ladder only a few years back. 2014 I think!! So they have been pretty good. Losing Shagga Broadbent & Mullins early season hasn't helped there cause. But maybe it's a blessing as no one will beat Craigieburn so are they going to reload next season?

2 questions for you mate:
1/ How much would they be spending?
2/ Is the coach a good teacher/educator as they do seem to have decent juniors starting to flow through.

Cheers

Hey Bang I kind of agree with you but they were last on the ladder only a few years back. 2014 I think!! So they have been pretty good. Losing Shagga Broadbent & Mullins early season hasn't helped there cause. But maybe it's a blessing as no one will beat Craigieburn so are they going to reload next season?

2 questions for you mate:
1/ How much would they be spending?
2/ Is the coach a good teacher/educator as they do seem to have decent juniors starting to flow through.

Cheers
Yes you are correct , down near the bottom when he came, spent $180k last year and will tip over $200k this year. Now thats $100k more than they were spending before he came. His efforts are not in question here and to be fair winning games has created some excitement around the place, what I am saying is anything less than winning a final this year and the plan/coach has under delivered..
Won't get any easier next year for the Div 1 clubs with APW saving up the $$$'s this year, very successful balance sheet 2016, blooded a lot of young players who have committed, will add with some experience next season and will be hard to beat....

Yes you are correct , down near the bottom when he came, spent $180k last year and will tip over $200k this year. Now thats $100k more than they were spending before he came. His efforts are not in question here and to be fair winning games has created some excitement around the place, what I am saying is anything less than winning a final this year and the plan/coach has under delivered..
Won't get any easier next year for the Div 1 clubs with APW saving up the $$$'s this year, very successful balance sheet 2016, blooded a lot of young players who have committed, will add with some experience next season and will be hard to beat....

What planet are you on ? 180k last year and 200k this year LOL. Try half that!

Been decimated with inj, with probably 7 of their best 10 out for year with season ending injuries.

Coach has resigned for another 2 years and has played 5 under 18 players for most part of season, 9 goals on the weekend coming from under 18s. I'd say the club is on the right track.

EDFL Division 1 2016