EDFL Division 1

West are my favourites for the flag! watched them play the past 2 weeks and I am very impressed. were very unlucky to lose to EDS a lapse of 10 minutes in the last quarter cost them the game.
They were relentless against cburn on the weekend and ran them ragged. cburn I think rely on the 2 cloke boys way too much Page was a clear standout in the ruck while young tried hard all day but was well held by peters also thought saliba and courouzou played a role. Wests run from the backline was the standout the way they moved the ball and linked up across the ground made it look easy at times.

Last week was easily the best performance I've watched this year. Had us beaten well before halftime.

If it's not East Keilor this year, it'll be them next.

What do you think of promoting 2 clubs from div2 and relegating 1 side from div1. Could put some extra interest in the div2 finals and give clubs something to play for.
It's an interesting one, or if a new club comes in that are pretty good why not put them straight into div1 instead of starting in div2 but depends on there standing I suppose. A Rockbank or Parkside are div2 but maybe try to entice either Melton or Melton South across and they could start in div1. Both clubs are struggling in the BFL so it could be an option.
Anyway just a thought to get rid of the bye.

Maybe BlueJet might have a thought on the Melton sides.

Easy guys, why dont we talk about the fantastic final round we have in front of us, 3 teams fighting it out for 2 finals spots with each team a genuine chance. Going to be one very unlucky team, if results go as expected oakers could drop out but im giving them a real show to knock off EDS only due to the stars secured top 2 and will most likely have one eye on the first final, as will craigieburn. Massive week. As for relegation i get the feeling there is none and we will see 10 teams in this division next year and so we should
I surely hope the EDFL listen to us "mere mortals" and even div 1 up and push the bye back to div 2. Spot on Bissa about this weeks games you would expect Tulla to account for a gallant EK, IMO EDS have to many match winners and should narrowly defeat OP. OP are a different animal at JP Fawkner but EDS in a cracker, CB just need to put Lakes away and send a message to the rest of the comp especially at DS Aitken in front of their big contingent of supporters. The big one is WM v HS. WM are on fire and HS seem safe from relegation unless EK smash Tulla. I reckon we could see WM win this game by 100+ and send yet another warning to the other finals contenders. As we all know momentum is massive in footy and as confidence grows within a playing group anything can happen especially in finals. Let hope the sun comes out and dries these grounds so these boys can put on a show during the finals series. The teams playing deserve great conditions and that makes for an enjoyable day for the lovers of local footy.

The ladder shows a 4% difference in percentage between Oak Park and Tullamarine. Lat's assume Westy beat EK and finish up on 50pts so they are locked in to finals. If EDS beat OP and Tulla defeat EK, do any of the maths geniuses out there know what the points win/loss ratio would need to be for Tulla to leapfrog OP? If the EDS/OP game is close then OP percentage wouldn't drop by too much so the question is what do Tulla need to win by to gain the 4%?

On the player front, is Macallester the form player at the moment after kicking bags of 6 over the past 3 games? A shame for Tulla he hasn't played all year as I have no doubt they would be higher on the ladder.

The ladder shows a 4% difference in percentage between Oak Park and Tullamarine. Lat's assume Westy beat EK and finish up on 50pts so they are locked in to finals. If EDS beat OP and Tulla defeat EK, do any of the maths geniuses out there know what the points win/loss ratio would need to be for Tulla to leapfrog OP? If the EDS/OP game is close then OP percentage wouldn't drop by too much so the question is what do Tulla need to win by to gain the 4%?

On the player front, is Macallester the form player at the moment after kicking bags of 6 over the past 3 games? A shame for Tulla he hasn't played all year as I have no doubt they would be higher on the ladder.
The magical no is 42 points. so for example if EDS win by 10 then Tulla must win by 32 or more. If EDS win by 1 then Tulla must win by 41 or more. Make sense?

Nice story this one.

Well done, Jim.

Link

JIMMY Ainsworth confidently strolls into EDFL headquarters and takes up a vacant chair after sharing a quick hello with his old mate, Kenny Waters.

Over his right shoulder is a list of the EDFL’s Life Members.

J. Ainsworth is among them.

It’s a Monday afternoon in early August, the league’s busiest time of year and here’s Jimmy, regaling the room with some of his best yarns from an umpiring career that currently sits at 1998 games.

Yeah 42 point differential and yes his on fire the big boy

What do you think of promoting 2 clubs from div2 and relegating 1 side from div1. Could put some extra interest in the div2 finals and give clubs something to play for.
It's an interesting one, or if a new club comes in that are pretty good why not put them straight into div1 instead of starting in div2 but depends on there standing I suppose. A Rockbank or Parkside are div2 but maybe try to entice either Melton or Melton South across and they could start in div1. Both clubs are struggling in the BFL so it could be an option.
Anyway just a thought to get rid of the bye.

Maybe BlueJet might have a thought on the Melton sides.
Mate, you'll get nothing but a biased response from me on this one unfortunately, I'd rather they not leave the BFL as they'd leave our comp a little short if they were to leave.
If the "Eastern Bloc" sides were to the leave the BFL as has been rumoured for some time, I'd imagine the EDFL would be interested in getting them across as it'd really hep to grow this comp by taking in a few traditionally strong clubs and expanding into new areas.

Mate, you'll get nothing but a biased response from me on this one unfortunately, I'd rather they not leave the BFL as they'd leave our comp a little short if they were to leave.
If the "Eastern Bloc" sides were to the leave the BFL as has been rumoured for some time, I'd imagine the EDFL would be interested in getting them across as it'd really hep to grow this comp by taking in a few traditionally strong clubs and expanding into new areas.

Hey BJ, thanks for your reply. Fair enough understand. Just think if one Melton side in the BFL were to come into the edfl it might give the clubs a different option and standard.
I don't like seeing a club like Melton Sth struggling as they have a bit of history and were a top notch club. (I say we're as haven't been down there for many years)
The thing with the Melton clubs in the BFL as there is a bit of travelling involved.

Anyway just a discussion point with regards to the bye but I understand this is the edfl div1 thread.

Cheers.

The magical no is 42 points. so for example if EDS win by 10 then Tulla must win by 32 or more. If EDS win by 1 then Tulla must win by 41 or more. Make sense?

Thanks for that. 7 goals you would think on Tulla's recent form is achievable although still need EDS to win. Any truth to the rumour a couple of kegs were seen on the back of truck leaving Spring St. and making their way down Cooper St? Ah, the good 'ol days.............

Weather looks ok for Saturday and been reasonably dry this week so most grounds should be in a better
state.

Councils need to lift there game with regards to grounds. The edfl should provide some help. I'm not saying redo them but maybe at least check them and roll some grounds after rain.
I recently wrote a letter with regards to the perimeter of a local ground due to puddles of water & mud behind the goals. The kids can't even kick a footy without it going in bloody mud. Even if the weather is ok it sits in uneven ground. Couple of loads of soil could fix it.
Councils need to step up. They talk a lot about increasing people's activities but really do stuff all..

Councils need to lift there game with regards to grounds. The edfl should provide some help. I'm not saying redo them but maybe at least check them and roll some grounds after rain.
I recently wrote a letter with regards to the perimeter of a local ground due to puddles of water & mud behind the goals. The kids can't even kick a footy without it going in bloody mud. Even if the weather is ok it sits in uneven ground. Couple of loads of soil could fix it.
Councils need to step up. They talk a lot about increasing people's activities but really do stuff all..
Sadly you're right, councils generally won't do a great deal unless you either break their balls about it or sell it in a really compelling manner, even then it is generally a drawn out process. The joys of bureaucracy..

My opinion will not change about this year, maybe I feel biased, but the way westmeadows have handled themselves this year has been quite remarkable. Both onfield and off field, all coaching staff have showed us why westmeadows are a big threat coming into the next 4 weeks.

Predictions this week.
Seniors:
EDS by 36.
CRAIGIEBURN by 15
WESTMEADOWS by 80
TULLA by 55

My opinion will not change about this year, maybe I feel biased, but the way westmeadows have handled themselves this year has been quite remarkable. Both onfield and off field, all coaching staff have showed us why westmeadows are a big threat coming into the next 4 weeks.

Predictions this week.
Seniors:
EDS by 36.
CRAIGIEBURN by 15
WESTMEADOWS by 80
TULLA by 55
Why has it been remarkable

Billy- you know I'm trying hard to stay of big footy especially div1, but this type of comment is what drags people in to conversations with you. I think nitemare is alluding to the fact that West were close to relegation in recent years, so full credit to them for turning their club around very quickly.
Personally can't see them beating either Douttas or Craigieburn but who knows. There probably not ready to go up to premier as yet anyhow, but they might have a plan, as they seem to be on the right track.

Let me ask you if Tulla happen to make finals, which they should, and happen to win it how would they go in premier? I'm not expecting they would play finals or anything, but could they be competitive and stay up? What's your opinion?

Billy- you know I'm trying hard to stay of big footy especially div1, but this type of comment is what drags people in to conversations with you. I think nitemare is alluding to the fact that West were close to relegation in recent years, so full credit to them for turning their club around very quickly.
Personally can't see them beating either Douttas or Craigieburn but who knows. There probably not ready to go up to premier as yet anyhow, but they might have a plan, as they seem to be on the right track.

Let me ask you if Tulla happen to make finals, which they should, and happen to win it how would they go in premier? I'm not expecting they would play finals or anything, but could they be competitive and stay up? What's your opinion?
I was asking him but anyway

There turn around is not in the same extent as CB who where very ordinary last year and will more than likely win the flag I'd say there coaching staff and committee would be feeling good about themselves

We stay in div 1 deals been done same as extra points as we have no 18/16s done deal

I was asking him but anyway

There turn around is not in the same extent as CB who where very ordinary last year and will more than likely win the flag I'd say there coaching staff and committee would be feeling good about themselves

We stay in div 1 deals been done same as extra points as we have no 18/16s done deal

2013 Westmeadows finished on the bottom with 2 wins and if not for Burnside Heights would be in Div 2 . Id say that's a significant turn around. CB, yes ordinary last year and then have probably doubled their playing budget from last year and are rightly reaping the benefits. Both done it different ways, but cant see how what Westmeadows have been able to do is any less significant to what CB have done.

On the Tullamarine issue, first off they should be in div 2 if they cant field a 18s side as it wrecks the 18s draw. This year have had no 18s and been handed 18s games scheduled at Tulla. Cant see how that is fair ? Lastly why should they get benefited with having extra points because they don't have 16s and 18s ?

Seems like an unfair free kick to me!

PS - I am the parent of a former junior of Tulla who is now at Westmeadows because they couldn't field an under 16 side, and I can tell you that Westmeadows run their juniors a hell of a lot better than what Tulla ever did. Cant see why Tulla are now getting allowances for poor management

2013 Westmeadows finished on the bottom with 2 wins and if not for Burnside Heights would be in Div 2 . Id say that's a significant turn around. CB, yes ordinary last year and then have probably doubled their playing budget from last year and are rightly reaping the benefits. Both done it different ways, but cant see how what Westmeadows have been able to do is any less significant to what CB have done.

On the Tullamarine issue, first off they should be in div 2 if they cant field a 18s side as it wrecks the 18s draw. This year have had no 18s and been handed 18s games scheduled at Tulla. Cant see how that is fair ? Lastly why should they get benefited with having extra points because they don't have 16s and 18s ?

Seems like an unfair free kick to me!

PS - I am the parent of a former junior of Tulla who is now at Westmeadows because they couldn't field an under 16 side, and I can tell you that Westmeadows run their juniors a hell of a lot better than what Tulla ever did. Cant see why Tulla are now getting allowances for poor management
Now there's a good idea put the team that's the most consistent in the comp in the lowest div

It's hard to have a good junior program if you don't have juniors

EDFL Division 1