EDFL Division 2 2016

Sam O'Brien? Who is he? Pretty sure he wasn't at Roxy.
Short and Walker are quality boys and always going to be hard when you lose that, but they have do have some decent inclusions.
Saw about half their game on Saturday and noticed quite a few new faces and did hear they may still have a couple more to add. Still look like they'll be right in the mix again.
So who are the inclusions? If you watched half the game who played well? What are the names of the descent inclusions?

Sam O'Brien? Who is he? Pretty sure he wasn't at Roxy.
Short and Walker are quality boys and always going to be hard when you lose that, but they have do have some decent inclusions.
Saw about half their game on Saturday and noticed quite a few new faces and did hear they may still have a couple more to add. Still look like they'll be right in the mix again.

Hey 5th, how did team morale look under the new on field leadership? Interested to see how it all goes up there at Roxy.
I wonder why Roxy haven't had more success early years, as I was expecting that area to be flowing with good juniors and therefore some senior success, but nothing has really blossomed out there.

Hey 5th, how did team morale look under the new on field leadership? Interested to see how it all goes up there at Roxy.
I wonder why Roxy haven't had more success early years, as I was expecting that area to be flowing with good juniors and therefore some senior success, but nothing has really blossomed out there.
Hey turbo what do you mean the morale under the new on field leadership ? Have they had a big turn over?

What are the coaching changes? I thought Paul Derrick is still the coach?

Hey local, I think the coach is the same guy but he has appointed new assistants, so just wondering how this has changed the landscape out there. How has the new appointments been accepted by the playing group? As I've mentioned this club has got themselves into good positions in the past, and have been the nominated favourite in recent years, but seem to fall when finals come around.

Ohhhh I get ya. I didn't know he has appointed new assistants. Anyone shed some light? Did you watch the game on the weekend reserve_dud? And there was a couple of others that watch the game on the weekend . Any news?

Did you watch the game on the weekend reserve_dud? And there was a couple of others that watch the game on the weekend . Any news?

I did

roxy very even with a comparable side in a comparable division so should be there abouts again this year

Number 5 is a great young player... Will only get better too

Ohhhh I get ya. I didn't know he has appointed new assistants. Anyone shed some light? Did you watch the game on the weekend reserve_dud? And there was a couple of others that watch the game on the weekend . Any news?

Hey Turbo and Local, As far as I'm aware Louie, the ex Keilor Park coach is a playing assistant, but otherwise the coaching team is still the same. At least from what I saw the same guys as last year were on the sidelines.
I also see they have a couple of clearances in for 2 Hadfield blokes. Anyone know much about them?

Keilor Park taking on Eltham this Sat at KP. Probably one of the first times a div3 club has taken on a div1 club even if it's just a practice match. This is great for KP to be setting high standards and interesting to see how they fare. They are expecting another good turn out from there supporters, so good luck to KP.
I'm not attending due to other commitments, but hopefully someone can fill us in on the game..

Hey fellow footy fanatics, I'm just wondering people's thoughts about the Un18's this year and some new lethal players that clubs have picked up?

Any one on here that have talked up kp, there coach or recurits actually watched them in the pre season ? I seen a few people comment about last week vs Parkside but let's be honest Parkside turned over there whole club last year and aren't that flash. Seen KP yesterday and well to be honest can't see them getting above east Sunbury. Couldn't keep position of the footy couldn't put any pressure on and looked slow. Listen to the huddles at the break. There was no talk of structures or how to break the game down or little goals or defensive talk. YES I know they played a side who finished 3rd in div 1 of the northern league and yes much better side. But seriously if KP are what people on here say they are they should be able to defend for periods of time or lock the ball inside 50 credit to 4 or so players or actually looked fit enough to play 4qtrs. Not sure what recurits could play a higher grade as none of them look like it at all.

Hey mate, I wasn't there but hear the scores were 14 goals to 1. In all honesty no div 2 side and probably most of div1 would look ordinary against Eltham. I hear they had a reasonable side in so no wonder KP looked slow against them.
Believe KP had a few players out but it wouldn't have made any difference. Let's give KP some credit for playing them, as no other div2 club has played anyone of that standard.
Now on Parkside they are a club which played finals in 2015 at a similar level as KP and beat them pretty easy.
I'm still of the belief KP will be alright and much better than last season. You don't need to be full of speed to go well in div2. I haven't seen much div2 of recent seasons but probably only Moonee Valley were a quick side last season. Not sure there is a standout like Haddy were last season so it's going to be pretty even.

Btw- a few people on here reckon Coburg Districts are the pre season favorites, but they also seem a bit slow judging by there list and past history..

Oh well only a few weeks till we find out I suppose, but don't count KP out just yet.

Im interested in seeing which club is actually wanting or willing to go up and be competitive rather than go up and back down again. Which clubs have the funds to recruit for div1? My views are:
Jacana- no
Roxy- no. Missed there opportunity a few years back.
East Keilor- no. Been up but back down like a yo-yo.
MV- maybe? Club with history!
CD- maybe? Seem to throw $$ around and building junior program but competing clubs close by..
KP- not likely? Club with history but slowly building junior program. Not yet ready..
ES- maybe? Probably best placed with juniors..
BS- not ready..

keep feeding me... im hungry!

Eltham had at least 7-8 regulars missing from their senior squad. KP looked sluggish amd disinterested. Some of them were going the knuckle in the last, kind of a shame considering Eltham were playing so many kids on the day. Guess that's div3 football.

Blue Roos......coaches never talk structures in huddles during practice games with opposition supporters and coaches in ear shot. Surely you know that happens during the week and inside the 4 walls.
Do you know what there plan was for the day?

Do you know how many they had out?

And why do people continually put the boots into div 2 clubs looking to improve. KP won't play finals but they have brought back ex players who want to help keep the doors open.
If any div 2 clubs improve with limited budgets that's the important thing.

Drainbead......thanks for telling us how many Eltham had out. KP had 8 out...does it even matter?
Considering the difference in levels didn't you think it was a really competitive game of football. Eltham should walk away really happy with how competitive it actually was. They're a cracking football side....very professional. But saying KP looked disinterested when only one goal was kicked in the last qtr. That's disappointing. And the knuckle....that's ridiculous. A few young Eltham fellas didn't appreciate the solid tackling and got a bit lippy....fair enough too. It was a practice game and both sides got different things out of it I'm sure.

Blue Roos......coaches never talk structures in huddles during practice games with opposition supporters and coaches in ear shot. Surely you know that happens during the week and inside the 4 walls.
Do you know what there plan was for the day?

Do you know how many they had out?

And why do people continually put the boots into div 2 clubs looking to improve. KP won't play finals but they have brought back ex players who want to help keep the doors open.
If any div 2 clubs improve with limited budgets that's the important thing.
Zappas when you have that much of a turn over of players. I think that in some way with out giving away your plans for the year that there is a way to educate players at the huddle. Specially when playing a far superior side like eltham. Talking about a mid set up of forward structure to atleast try and stop the fluent supply. But also in saying that there was no energy up forward when the ball got in there. There best player for the day was the full back I think he name was jake. Good on them for keeping the club alive and players coming back. Not having a crack at them more direct and the blokes on here joumping on there back calling for coach of the year and premiership favourites. Maybe just let them put results on the board before jumping on board. As for the playin group from Saturday they have a long way to go. But good luck to KP f.c

EDFL Division 2 2016