EDFL moves Part 2

Just checked the EDFL site and the mores kicked 6 goals to nil in the last to win and other results were

Marby over Abers by 22 points

C/Burn by 155 points against Glenroy

Very windy everywhere I would have thought.
Shit house day for footy.

And windy everywhere except Keilor Park i reckon,never windy up there :)

Douttas won by 45 points,the score was 1.5.11 each at half time,yes it was a shootout :D very very windy and sh1t conditions but yeah would have been the same verywhere i guess,but in the second half Douttas were very good and the score ended up 12 goals to 3 i think.Big ruckmen for DS was really good and W.C ruckmen didnt play which would have helped and Douttas kids were great just kept runinng and chasing all day and were hard at it,old boy Docs was very good and Garth at fullback did his usual job on Hakim but not letting him get a kick so a great win.

Heard that Avaondale were up by 4 goals against the mores late but got done by around 2 goals.

THE DREBSTER
Please take advantage of spell check once inibriated Bernie..............

Yeah mate. Went down and watched my team Abers down at the river in extremely Windy conditions and Marby really just got us in the 1st quarter. Smashed us actually. Mick Egan, Van Reit and Sam Watson were fantastic for us, but Marby are a quality outfit. With Heath Ayres and Holland in the middle you just can't negate all of them. The big Avondale Full Forward looks much fitter than other years I saw him at the Heights.

It was great to see all the Ex Abers boys come down and support Donza on his 300th. Saw Mat Pillios do an interview with him in the Marby social rooms in front of everybody. It was funny as Donza was shattered about the loss and Matty Boy had a big smile on the pretty boy head of his. Good of him and Marbo to acknowledge one of Abers most loyal.
Also, I can't believe the Glenroy coach has been bagged. It should be their committee for not even having it as a priority to be competitive.
DISGRACEFUL. But, hey they have nice rooms for people to hang out in.

Just checked the EDFL site and the mores kicked 6 goals to nil in the last to win and other results were

Marby over Abers by 22 points

C/Burn by 155 points against Glenroy

And windy everywhere except Keilor Park i reckon,never windy up there :)

That's right and its much bigger then "B" thank u bender.

Did some analysis for you Billy...

A Grade had a total of 114 Goals and 106 points scored for the day. Gives you a conversion rate of 51.8%

B Grade had a total of 170 Goals and 142 points which gives you a conversion rate of 54.4%

Might be bigger Billy...but they can't handle the wind :p

Heights very dissappointed they couldn't hang on. Had Strathmore on their knees but couldn't quite knock them out in the 3rd and went too defensive in the last.

Bricksta and the boys played it low key all summer but after a narrow loss away to a much improved Crazyburn they have now smacked Wests who needed that win but came up way way short. Already a few rumblings down there.

A very fit young Jets side out ran Keilor. Clinnick reported twice in two seperate incidents. The last one apparently was a very ordinary inncident. He was sent off for the game after that

Watched the first half at Glenroy yesterday, its sad to say but the Roys were disgraceful, they were clearly a class below but it was there lack of effort and commitment that was worse. They are clearly the worst side to have played A grade for a long time, prob worse than Moonee Valley when they were relegated. Is going to be a very long year for them.

Haven't posted for a while but just wanted to point out an observation.

Although there is constant negative banter on this site regarding player payments and clubs spending too much money i believe that this season has the makings of being the most even once you take Glenroy out - no disrespect just fact!

The most pleasing thing is that most clubs and even the top 2 sides in Keilor and Greenvale are playing plenty of home grown kids.

The reference to imports and big payments can't be bestowed onto the likes of Keilor, Greenvale, Douttas and Abers this year as they have plenty of their "own" having a kick

Good to see and just strengthens the comp, similar to how Vermont have gone about their business over their history in the EFL.

Watched the first half at Glenroy yesterday, its sad to say but the Roys were disgraceful, they were clearly a class below but it was there lack of effort and commitment that was worse. They are clearly the worst side to have played A grade for a long time, prob worse than Moonee Valley when they were relegated. Is going to be a very long year for them.
They did not play very well , but at least they can play with there heads held high , not many teams would do that. Glenroy still have a few players out and one that is out for a while is adam sayers. Glenroy know that its going to be a long year the commitee know it the supporters know it. But thats where glenroy differ as a club the supporters will stay by week in week out and watch them win loose or draw.

A very fit young Jets side out ran Keilor. Clinnick reported twice in two seperate incidents. The last one apparently was a very ordinary inncident. He was sent off for the game after that

Judging by the state of his mellon after the game maybe he's already been punished enough.

A lot said on coaching but Super was all over McGuane with the matchups and initiative with a very young side. Deserves plenty of credit again.

Judging by the state of his mellon after the game maybe he's already been punished enough.

A lot said on coaching but Super was all over McGuane with the matchups and initiative with a very young side. Deserves plenty of credit again.

Apparently the 3/4 time address from John Barnes was inspirational.( Was having a look at the Douttas Website)

Just wondering if clubs will now only start looking at appointing people who have been in the AFL/VFL/TAC Cup system? Super and McGuane have been there and coached premierships. Barnes is still there and Brodie just out? Will this be the trend in the next couple of years?

hey bricksta can you tell me who this new ruckmen is? and where he came from? Looks like barnes isn't leaving any stone unturned

They did not play very well , but at least they can play with there heads held high , not many teams would do that. Glenroy still have a few players out and one that is out for a while is adam sayers. Glenroy know that its going to be a long year the commitee know it the supporters know it. But thats where glenroy differ as a club the supporters will stay by week in week out and watch them win loose or draw.
And hopefully follow whats left of the Club in tatters back to B grade where they can languish for another 15 years or so The Shame The Shame The Shame will Ash Manning still be the coach then.

Not many other clubs would have the balls to take on the super-sides in A-grade the way the roys have.
Theres no way to hide how bad saturday was, and it may get worse.
But the clubs been through harder times than this and bounced back.

What do you mean whats left of the club ? and in tatters? , if they go back to b grade they wont be in tatters. Its people like you who always put down other clubs a lot of people admire what glenroy are doing at least they have the balls to go out and have a go

Not many other clubs would have the balls to take on the super-sides in A-grade the way the roys have.
Theres no way to hide how bad saturday was, and it may get worse.
But the clubs been through harder times than this and bounced back.

They didnt have a choice! Can we stop talking about poor old Glenroy. They won the flag last and deserved their chance in A Grade, what they do with that chance is up to them.

Lets talk about the stand out sides. For me it will be Greenvale, Keilor, and Marby and throw a blanket over the next best 4 sides, probably Strathmore, Craigeburn, Avondale and Doutta. The rest will struggle.

I dont think Greenvale will have it their own way like they have in the past ( H&A ), with keilor and Marby right up their ass.

[
Congratulations to Belinda and Matthew Pillios on the arrival of young Duke Matthew at around 9am this morning. Hope all are well and special congrats to Grandpa Jim

What do you mean whats left of the club ? and in tatters? , if they go back to b grade they wont be in tatters. Its people like you who always put down other clubs a lot of people admire what glenroy are doing at least they have the balls to go out and have a go
Mate every club in the comp is having a go on saturdays how can you suscribe to the theory that being thumped every week by hundreds of points across your senior teams has some positives to come out of it ,all that will happen is more players will leave less spectators will watch and no-one will go back for a drink,if you thought Jacana was bad in B grade you are about to set some new records in Agrade that will break all others, my question to you as an insider is Who is to blame because its embarassing and the whole competition new this was coming.Enough about the Roys.

East Keilor Football Club Masquerade Ball
9th of May 2009 At Gardenhurst
$100 per ticket includes 3 course meal beer, wine, soft drink
Seniors players please see Eggie or Pat for more information and/or payment
Junior parents please see Janine or Damien for more information and or payment
Book your Tables of ten before Tickets sell out

Firstly, the highpoint end of the ground is actually behind the away interchange area - Have you actually ever ventured down to Marby numb nuts??

Brodie may not have had the best of days in your eyes, but i can tell you now there was no happier person at the club on Saturday night, he was rapt to get his first win under his belt and he had much more influence on the impact of the result than you did!

As for our so - called "sheep shed" - there may changes to our "sheep shed" sooner rather than later. Also, if you ventured in to our "sheep shed" on Saturday you may well have noticed some premiership flags on display - 3 of which were won by our junior sides last season - how many premiership flags have you got hanging in your bedroom?

How many new players do Marby have from last year? I'm sure you've done you research and know exactly how many new players we have brought into the club this year, compared to other clubs - please enlighten us with these figures.

Did you notice the 3 Under 18 players we had playing in our 1's on Saturday? Did you actually get to the game on Saturday? If you did, i'm sure even blind freddy could have worked out that it wasnt the best conditions for footy out there, for both sides and probably every other side that played on the day.

One thing you did get right is that Heath Ayres is star. Best player in the comp in my humble opinion.

Now get back to going to watch Essendon train at Windy Hill you peasant

Marbi seem to be having a go at improving their club, both the senior and junior side. I was in the rooms for a fair while after and they seem to have some decent people working hard to make their club better. Their juniors are now pretty good and despite the $$$ they throw around they did have a few young blokes playing for them. It was a good game of local footy.

Anyway back to the footy,good to see you back Puff ;) and mate its only Tuesday so i expect a full preview of the upcoming round by friday at the latest,thursday preferebly.Ill leave it with you mate :)

On this weeks game D.S. v Keilor i am expecting Douttas to put in a competitive performance and when i say that i mean a chance to win not a 4 goal galant defeat,i know im probably being stupid well i am in many regards but as a whole we havent performed to badly up there over the years,last year being the exception(pumped in the wet) but we have come a long way since then so im looking forward to it,i think we have Keilor,GV and Marby so a really tough 3 weeks ahead.

THE DREBSTER

Let me first say i think you went a little overboard with the money call. I do agree with some of your points though. I too was there on saturday and found myself becoming increasingly frustrated by the ball going onto the road down the FLEMINGTON RACECOURSE END. Especially when number 7 for marby went to get the ball then stopped and made Watson cross the road to get it. I believe that this was made worse by the cyclone tracy winds blowing that way. The 'sheep sheds' do look a little downtrodden but i must admit that i didn't venture inside after the game. I'm glad that the marby boys acknowledged the performance of Donza on reaching the 300 game milestone. He is a true champion of our side and i wish we had a few more like him. Once again i missed out on the marby barby and have heard nothing but glowing reviews. Didn't see much of holland but he got his boys over the line when abers were coming hard, so maybe his coaching expertise was his big impact on the game.

On to the footy, great game considering the conditions. There was about a 5-10 minute period in the first quarter where marby blew the game open and were never headed. I think abers tried hard and were beaten by a classier opposition who played the conditions better. Sammy Watson was best on for us, heath ayres is the best player in the comp, he was phenomenal. I think it was your big man who really hurt us, they just ran all day and always seemed to get to the right spots.